Forums

Hello from the wild...

Notifications
Clear all

Hello from the wild lands of DEATH METAL

DeathMetal.org
Topic starter
Estimable Member

I enjoy a good pipe along with a solid slab of apocalyptic metal like Carnage "Dark Recollections" or Sepultura "Morbid Visions." Somehow, they work together... for me. Your mileage may vary! I am a writer and editor from Texas who goes nuts for just about anything with dark fired Kentucky Burley in it.

22 Replies
CRASHtheGREY
Reputable Member

More of a Virginia guy, but I do not mind a good dark fired blend. Smoking some right now. Welcome.

6 Replies
DeathMetal.org

Estimable Member

I can go nuts for some Virginia blends too. "Royal Yacht" may be my favorite of all time, and if anyone breaks out Gawith Hoggarth stuff I tend to get all sweaty and buggy eyed. Their "Brown Twist Sliced" is going to be an eternal favorite, although it keeps getting prohibitively pricey.

CRASHtheGREY

Reputable Member

I keep a jar of Royal Yacht around most of the time. Really unique experience. 

Juan José Pascual Lobo

Noble Member

A vintage Royal Yacht or the Peterson version?

CRASHtheGREY

Reputable Member

Still working on some Dunhill, but the Peterson version is from the same recipe and factory. 

DeathMetal.org

Estimable Member

I noticed some differences and chronicled them in a blog post. I am not saying that anyone is incorrect in their public statements, only that maybe some things were not documented or had to change owing to availability of raw leaf.

CRASHtheGREY

Reputable Member

That is a possibility, but that could simply be a tin to tin difference, not a brand thing.

Ted
 Ted
Famed Member

Hello from Michigan! I find Opeth goes well with contemplative blends. 

5 Replies
DeathMetal.org

Estimable Member