Robert McConnell Pure Perique

(2.29)
A touch of this will add spice to any blend.

Details

Brand Robert McConnell
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Other
Contents Perique
Flavoring
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.29 / 4
3

5

3

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Although this is an enjoyable, fairly rich and flavorful version of Perique substitute, you can tell upon opening the tin that it isn't authentic (or entirely authentic) perique. It comes in thick, crinkly ribbons of not entirely uniform shades ranging from tawny amber to dark brown. Still, it has a wonderful aroma and is nicely packaged, but if you want authentic perique the obvious choice is "McClelland Blending Perique" (from their excellent and reliable "Tinned Blenders" line).

Conversely, is nice to blend with if you know what to expect. It has a rich, almost creamy/velvety feel and adds a taste that might be more easily enjoyable for those not ready to use St.James Perique for their own blends. Also, I find its nicotine potency a little less likely to overwhelm. It makes a nice sort of VaPer component, especially in taming some stronger Virginian bright tobaccos that might create a bit of a 'sharp' or overwhelming blend, especially in conjunction with an authentic Perique. Note that it's hard to assign this tobacco a really accurate room note because its aroma it is, by definition, blended with other components.

I haven't included a review of the McClelland perique for the simple reason that theirs "is what it is", nor have I listed the McClelland's under "similar to" because it is similar only in taste and not in actual species.
Pipe Used: meerschaum, Stanwell, Comoy
PurchasedFrom: online
Age When Smoked: unkown
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2019 Strong None Detected Full Unnoticeable
I bought two tins of this a week ago and tried one this evening. Upon opening the tin, I noticed an extremely moist doilie and this had the strongest worm dirt smell I have ever encountered. Before I begin my brief review, I have read quite a number of reviews that call this fake. This is my opinion and you can take it with a grain of salt if you wish. If it looks like perique, smells like perique and tastes like perique then it is perique. Is this Saint James Parish perique? Probably not as most perique is Acadian perique anyway. There is an excellent article from pipesmagazine.com dated Jan 2010 about perique and I am paraphrasing but to maintain supply and consistency many years ago Kentucky Green River Burley was mixed in with Saint James perique and processed. This was referred to as Acadian perique and was and is used in most pipe blends. Also, Saint James perique is a lot more expensive. I added some of the McConnell to Match Elizabethan and it really amped it up quite a bit. I also smoked a third of a bowl as is and did get somewhat of a head rush. This is good as a condiment to tobaccos and I am no expert but have bought pure perique in the past and to me this is perique. So you can put that in your pipe and smoke it. 😊
Pipe Used: Meerschaum Altinay Poker
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 01, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
The tobacco doesn't smell nor taste like Perique to me, but is quite good as it is! The tin note is rather cigar-ish, woodsy and somewhat smoky... with a bare hint of the signature "dark fruit" real Perique offers.

As it's marketed as "Perique", I'll only give it 2-stars! But by itself it's a solid 3-star blending tobacco, that spices up a blend quite nicely! 😉

Edit: Ah, people mentioning it to be "Green River Burley"? Isn't GRB supposed to be somewhat Cavendish-ish? This tobacco definetly isn't! It's a rather stout tobacco with some cigar-ish (mind the "-ish", no real cigar flavors in here) notes to it for me.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2010 Strong Medium Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I ordered three tins of this. If it isn't real Perique as others have noted then it is a very close clone. I have "real perique" from some years ago in my collection, a very small amount but I compared this to the McConnell's Perique and found it very similar in taste. The nicotine kick was slightly less. It blends well with a variety of other pure tobaccos. Burns clean and dry, do tongue bite(even straight). Cavendish with a pinch of this is a fine smoke in itself. I do recommend this to all Perique fans nevertheless.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2019 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Some reviews say this is not real perique, but whether or not this is real perique or a variation on it, it does what it's supposed to do. Provide a peppery, musty and fruity taste to your blends, change the PH to reduce tongue bite and add strength by making nicotine more easily absorbed.

It's a great thing to have on hand and the price is the same as any other tin. I think it's definitely worth it if you like perique. I didn't really notice a difference between this and the "real thing" when I added to blends vs other va/per blends I smoke.
Pipe Used: Briar and cob
PurchasedFrom: Schneiderwind, Aachen Germany
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2017 Very Strong None Detected Full Extra Strong
I smoked this straight from a freshly opened tin. It was very moist, and the paper "lid" soaked. The smell of the content is rather foul and sour. It is easy to pack. The smoke is warm, eventhough it is necessary to re-light the tobacco often. It burns quickly to fine ash. The taste in my opinion is very similar to a cigar, strong and spicy-peppery. It leaves and ashy taste in the mouth. The tobacco is not too strong nicotine wise, and it was okay to smoke it indoors on an empty stomach and three cups of coffee, although not to pleasant. As this is the only Perique I have smoked straight I cannot verify it's authenticity, regarding the other comments, nor can I recommend it for blending - yet. As for smoking it straight, I might do it again in a couple of months.
Pipe Used: Briar
Age When Smoked: freshly opened
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2015 Overwhelming Strong Overwhelming Overwhelming
Fake,nothing to do with most noble Perique.Hell into a tobacco tin.To save the stupid waste of money I tried mixing with some virginias,orientals only to finish them like manure for the plants.I can´t understand why this brand sell the most glorious syrian Latakia and in a similar tin this devilish stuff.If somebody can survive to this smoke will be among survivors of the next atomic war.
Pipe Used: unfortunate ones
PurchasedFrom: the devil
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 18, 2013 Strong Medium Full Strong
THIS IS NOT PERIQUE. As far as I know Perique this is not one of them....... But is a strong perique like tobacco and almost interesting one. Take care, is very moist and you should left a little for a better taste. Anyway is not a regular pipe tobacco and you should act accordingly.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2010 Strong Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I cannot recommend this as it's description says Perique. It is by all means a good processed green river Burley, but Perique it most certainly is not.

Blends well with golden VA's though, but then I'd really go for some pure Burley instead.

How do they get away with this stuff?
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 07, 2006 Very Strong Very Strong Overwhelming Very Strong
From my research, this is NOT the real stuff from St. James Parish but is a knockoff. I'm checking on this now to confirm it.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"