Lane Limited Lane Limited Ready Rubbed

(3.22)
For years, smokers revered the dark blue tin and pouch of Edgeworth Ready Rubbed, widely considered one of the smoothest burley blends ever. Toward the end of its run it was made by Lane Limited, and Lane production was acclaimed, but Lane lost the right to use the name. Due to huge demand, Lane is bringing back this blend under the new name Lane Limited Ready Rubbed. An old favorite has returned.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Burley
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Molasses
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 14 ounce tin, 1.5 ounce pouch
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.22 / 4
26

18

6

4

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 54 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 18, 2015 Mild Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
A damn good smoke. If like me you can appreciate an old fashioned, solid, consistent all day burley you will like this. The smell from the tin is graham cracker and fig newton. The smoke itself is a nice warm burley taste with just a teeny tiny hint of cocoa and molasses, just like the description says. The topping or casing is just barely there though, mostly it tastes and smells like fine burley. It has a bit more body and strength than Prince Albert or SWR, and I believe that the leaf is of a higher grade. It is not nearly as sweet as Carter Hall (in fact I wouldn't call it sweet at all). It is one of the most uniform smokes I've ever had throughout the bowl. It also burns fairly quickly, like most blends in this category.

Never tried the original. Some of the older guys are saying that the cut isn't the same, and that this isn't a true cube cut. That makes me wonder if they've refined the cut since the initial batches, because the tin that I got couldn't be described as anything other than cube cut. By and large, the pieces are, well, cubes...with a few stray cut ribbon pieces here and there. It loads in the bowl like a dream, in accord with the mythology that we're all familiar with. It doesn't seem to light quite as quickly as most OTC burleys...I usually need an extra light or two to get it going. But once the pipe is lit, I've never needed a relight, not even once after going through several ounces. I'm sure that is due partially to the great cut.

So, all in all, I don't really care if it is exactly like the storied blend of old, because for my money it is the perfect meat-and-potatoes pipe tobacco, and it lives up to or exceeds all of the praise that the original blend got. The price seems a tad steep (all of the old school tobaccos seem to be rising in price, unfortunately). But when I'm enjoying a bowl of this stuff, I've got no complaints.
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: Fresh
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 05, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
Lane’s Limited Ready Rubbed is the best OTC, bar none. And if one considers the price, maybe best tobacco period. This is a REALLY great burley.

Pipe Used: Dunhill 5220
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Out of tin
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2016 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Wow! This was very similar to the original Edgeworth ready rubbed. This tobacco was lighter in color than Edgeworth.This tobacco was also lighter on the molasses than the original Edgeworth.I still would highly recommend this to all burley tobacco lovers.Now if only Lane would bring back the Edgeworth slice tobacco that would be tops!
Pipe Used: Ural Meershaum
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars
Age When Smoked: new
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Lane Limited Ready Rubbed is a staple of the classic "Codger" blend pipe tobacco. This is the original recipe that Lane used until it's demise in 2011 I believe. The only difference between this and Lane's Edgeworth is the cut. When Lane was making this under the name "Edgeworth" the cut was kind of a cube cut where this version is rolled, pressed and rough cut. Loading this is a breeze. You just put the pipe in the can or pouch and drag it through to fill it, tamp and repeat. It takes a light just like SWR regular and Velvet. Light it, tamp then do a true light and you're off. To me, this has a molasses and a light boozy smell to it. The room note is nice and pleasant. It smells like the classic old fashioned pipey aroma from childhood memories. My wife said it's just a classic basic sweet pipe smell. It burns great, not too many delights. When you get passed the midway point you might have to light it again but that's with many blends. The taste is mild to medium. This tobacco just like many of the other classic American Codger blends were developed for all day smoking. I get a little cocoa from the Burley, but the main player here is the booze and molasses. Its similar to Prince Albert in taste, but LLRR has a better room note to the Prince. I would make this my all day smoke if it wasn't that expensive. My all day is Prince Albert, and I absolutely love the Prince! But Lane Limited Ready Rubbed is easier to pack and the nicotine hit is more pronounced. If you like Prince Albert, Carter Hall and Burley light without the bite you will like LLRR. It's a great all day blend, it doesn't bite and its very satisfying! If you older guys are missing the original Edgeworth, I employ you to try Lane's resurrection of a classic!
Pipe Used: Kaywoodie 72B Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Cup of Joe's.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh to a year
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2019 Mild Strong Extremely Mild (Flat) Tolerable
Reply to Jim’s Inks review. Agree completely with your review up to 2017. Probably smoked 2-3 tins per year. But in 2019 ,something went terribly wrong. Returned 2 tins due to a very strong presence of P&G. Started buying the pouches and they seemed fine. Could anything have been done to the tin to minimize the strong odor and taste? Thanks in advance
Pipe Used: Cobs,Briars,Meers
PurchasedFrom: P&C
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 29, 2019 Very Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
This is going to be a short review because there is nothing worth nothing really except it’s like smoking hot air.

I hoped to like this as it is supposed to be the original formula, I have my doubts as it maybe the formula but certainly it can’t be the same quality. Too many people have told me how good the original Edgeworth was and how much they missed it and it wouldn’t have lasted as long as it did if it was as one dimensional as this is. And no it’s not because it’s a codger blend or any such silliness.

I am currently enjoying a bowl of Sutliff Edgeworth Ready Rub Match and it’s wonderful. I have smoked it in all the above mentioned pipes and more and have been enjoying it for months. When a pipe making friend of mine wanted to share the Lane version I thought wow this is going to be good and unfortunately I was so disappointed. Not sure if the Sutliff version is like the original but it’s enjoyable and smokable and in my daily rotation and the Lane version may end up in the trash(might use it to thin out some overly flavored aro)
Pipe Used: Bones CW, Pete 2019 POY, Pete2018 Summertime pipe
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2017 Very Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
My rating & comments are based solely upon the merits of this Lane rendition as I've not tried the original Edgeworth Ready Rubbed. From the accounts that I've read this version is purported to be very close to the original with regard to the tobacco's presentation (cut) and smoking qualities. This is a good quality blend that delivers a delicious light molasses & nutty flavor. Nothing complex here ... but IMHO there are times when one desires a simple smoke that's easy to enjoy without a lot of hoopla ... and this is a very good one for that purpose. The only negative comment that I should mention is that there seems to be more tobacco fines (very small pieces) that can be easily drawn into the mouth when puffing (as compared to the Sutliff version). Regarding the Sutliff version that I tried for comparison ... me thinks that it's ever so slightly more flavorful than the Lane version ... regardless both are a mild tasty treat. If I were to partake in a "blind smoke test" ... I doubt I could discern the difference. All said, this is truly a good smoke! 4 stars for taste minus 1 star for the dusty fines = 3 stars ***
Pipe Used: Briars & Meerschaums
PurchasedFrom: PipesandCigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2017 Very Mild Very Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I really hate to trash-talk a tobacco blend. It is not pleasant to disagree with so many laudatory reviews. Sometimes, however, it can't be avoided, if one is to offer an honest opinion.

I first started smoking Edgeworth in 1972, when it was still made by Larus and Brother, the originators of the blend. It was just beyond category. Then it went away, and I was left searching. It was not until many years later that I found it again as a Lane Ltd. product. And it was great! But about ten years ago, it vanished again. Try as I might, I could find nothing to compare, until Sutliff brought out their match. It was close...damn close! And since first trying it, I've smoked a ton.

But the Sutliff Match ain't perfect, and so when Lane purported to bring it back, I had to try it. Lane is now offering Edgeworth in a 1.5 oz. pouch, so my humble inquiry did not break the bank.

Upon opening, the contents looked and smelled scarcely different from Sir Walter Raleigh and (to a lesser extent) Half & Half, which are also Scandinavian Tobacco Group products. That might not be so bad, except Edgeworth costs so much more!

Cutting to the chase...if you love a good old-fashioned drug store Burley, then GO FOR IT!!! Smooth, companionable, generic. BUT, if you're looking for Edgeworth satisfaction and intrigue, go for the Sutliff Ready Rubbed Match: twice the pleasure at half the price

UPDATE: The longer the pouch is open, the better this blend gets. The top-note fades, and a truly earthy burley blend awaits! Not as flavosome as the Sutliff Match, but far smoother and more consistent.
Pipe Used: MM Washington MM Country Gentleman
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This was quite a tasty tobacco. I have the 14 oz. can, so it will last a while while I enjoy other blends. This is a pretty decent smoke, it has a slightly sweet smell and has a nice old pipe aroma from years past. I can see how this was an outstanding tobacco in years past. Today, I would consider it a codger blend. but it sure does hit the spot! I recommend it highly.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Back in the 1980's when I started pipe smoking I was advised by some Old Codger to avoid Burly tobaccos because they were "Bitter." So for years I eschewed any blend that had Burly in it. Over the years my trepidation gave way to start to include blends that had burly till finally to smoke burly blends. My overall assessment is that Burly blends are " not so bad!"

Which leads me to Lane's Ready Rubbed which IMHO one of the best OTC Burly Blends on the market. Cool smoking, flavorful - with a nutty, chocolately molasses taste that for the price just can't be beat.

Only available in 14 ounce tubs this was a pure leap of faith purchase - but I am certainly glad I did.

Recommended.
Pipe Used: John Hines Stacked Chimney
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: 6 months
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"