Rattray Jocks Mixture

(2.85)
A very dark and full-bodied, mild mixture of surprising flavor and very slow burning with exactly the necessary touch of latakia supported by a good portion of cavendish.

Details

Brand Rattray
Blended By Kohlhase, Kopp und Co. KG
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.85 / 4
9

13

8

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 33 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
Immediately upon opening the tin, you are hit with the aroma of high quality leaf. You just know it when you smell it! I wasn't disappointed by the smoke, but I wasn't blown away by Jocks Mixture either. The Virginias are woody forward with some grassy notes lingering in the background. No nonsense great tasting Virginias. The quality of the leaf is very apparent.

It was the Latakia left a little to be desired. This was even more apparent to me after lighting up a different blend immediately after that had a more flavourful Latakia component in equal proportion. I would have appreciated a more herbaceous Latakia that could have added a little more complexity to this blend.

I also found that this blend smoked a little too hot even though I wasn't puffing it quickly. I put my pipe down to rest and it kept heating before taking several minutes to cool off. This is definitely a blend for a patient smoker. All in all, I have to give this a 2.5 rounded up to a 3, on the account of the heat. Rattray never seems to skimp on quality so it doesn't deserve lower than that, but this blend left a little to be desired.
Pipe Used: Chacom Atlas
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2009 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
After finishing a 15 year old tin and about half of a new K&K tin, I have to say that K&K did an excellent job of recreating this blend, which might just be the most "genius blend" of the entire Rattray stable. Is it my favorite? No, HOTW and Red Rapparee share that honor. But this is a wonderful mixture that requires a deft hand in blending, where all the tobaccos contribute to the final flavor. Not my favorite Rattray but just possibly the undersung hero of the line.

The virginia is the lead player... sweet and with nice depth and color. The cavendish provides a nice burley-like body to the smoke and the lightly applied latakia tags along for spice and a hint of zest. The result is a rich and flavorful yet mild blend (how do they do that??!!?) that never failed to deliver. I got the best results from a half-hour drying time, as the newer version did come somewhat overmoist.

I do not typically care much for light latakia fare but this one is so skillfully blended that I found myself smoking several bowls over a few days. I probably won't smoke this nearly as often going forward (too much competition!) but it will be part of my regular rotation when I want something different. Ol' Jock, whoever he was, is no doubt proud to have his name on this one.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
The Virginias are a little grassy and earthy with some citrus, dark fruit, and a light fermentation note. They form the base of the blend as the main component. The Virginia-style black cavendish provides some brown sugar, stewed fruit, and a mild creaminess in a support role. The smoky, woody sweet Cyprian latakia is a background player. I’m not sure where the ever present hint of spice is coming from, unless it is how the black cavendish was processed. The nic-hit is a shade past mild. The taste level is a couple of steps closer to medium than it is to mild. No chance of bite or harshness. The tobacco is a bit moist, and may need a short dry time. Burns cool, clean, and slightly slow with a fairly smooth, rather sweet, consistent flavor from start to end. Leaves some moisture in the bowl, and requires some relights. Has a very pleasant, slightly lingering after taste. Can be an all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
My review of Jock’s is based on about two ounces from a four ounce tin that was at least 15 years old. Although listed as a ribbon cut, mine was definitely a ready rubbed with sizable chunks of flake, however it may be different in its current version. Overall, I think that DK’s review really nails it as I agree with much of what he said in his review. Jock’s is a really well blended, Virginia forward English blend that smokes fuller than many other light English blends. Jock’s has a spicy component that I find keeps me from pushing it. The Cavendish IMO adds depth to the blend and is not the sticky sweet American style black Cavendish. The Cavendish almost gives it a buttery quality. Overall though, this is a very flavorful, slightly sweet blend that occupies somewhat of a unique niche in the marketplace. Not quite a four star blend for me, but close.
Age When Smoked: at least 15 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2005 Mild None Detected Full Very Pleasant
Because I respect our reviewers and do appreciate Jock's Mixture for it's ability to please some of my pipe smoking friends, let me just say gently that it did mightily please my palate!

The Latakia/Cavendish flavor was tangy and delicious. The quality of the Virginia leaf was evident and provided a nice touch.

I do not often drink beer. So, when I do, I sure don't mess around with "light" brews. I go for the gusto.

I do not often smoke Latakia laced pipe tobacco. So, when I do, I sure don't mess around with "light" versions of that leaf. I go for the gusto.

Jock's Mixture is like drinking stout beer. It tastes great and makes me pee.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2018 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Tolerable to Strong
If you are looking for a real Scottish blend, here it is. Virginia, Black Cavendish (unflavored) and a little bit of Latakia and the deed is done (Orientals are important but not fundamental). In my personal opinion Robert McConnell Scottish Blend is far more tasty and intriguing, but anyway Jocks Mixture is a good example of a Scottish blend. Really pleasant the sugary nuances coming from the Black Cavendish. Mild to medium strength. So, if you like Scottish blends, sure this is for you and, if you like just a hint of Latakia (not too much), sure this is for you. Not suitable for Latakia lovers. In my personal rating system (from 1 to 10) my score is 8 and three stars.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Rattray - Jocks Mixture.

When I open this I think straight away "this appears to be a very standard looking Tobacco": it's a very even distribution of Cavendish, Latakia and Virginia, with a moistness that can't be argued with, which makes it superb for someone less patient like myself as NO time is needed to let it dry out. I can't wait to get started!

Getting this one lit is a real simple task, it ignites awesomely and the burn is marvelous throughout the whole pipe .... even, cool and consistent. Flavour? .... again very even in its distribution of tastes, none of the tobaccos particularly stand above the others, which I find a touch disappointing as I actually enjoy it when the Latakia takes the front seat but with this one it remains a tad subdued as the spread is too even for a blend with Latakia (for me). Another negative is this gives a little tongue, but that is subjective, we all vary for that! The fact it bites is cancelled out by the Vitamin N/inhalation ease as it is easy to inhale with neither a great amount nor a small amount of N. Room note is prominently Virginia and fairly light, so it can be enjoyed without upsetting any anti smokers around you. I think that this will be great if you like your Latakia flavour to be more "mild smokiness" than "blazing furnace". Please note, the 3 star vote is based on my preference for more Latakia taste and not the quality!

Three stars.
Pipe Used: Britain's Best Briar
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 28, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
EDIT 2/27/2017

I opened a tin of this a few years back and just finished it up. For me this is kind of weird blend in that I hold to my earlier assessment that this is the best tasting thing when I am outdoors hunting, but at all other times it is just an OK blend.

For that, I am taking a star off this so as not to mislead anyone, but if you are a deer hunter, I would still recommend trying this one to see if you have the same phenomena. I have added quite a few tins of this to the cellar and look forward to trying this with some age on it.

ORIGINAL REVIEW 5/28/2013

I find this to be the greatest treat to be had while sitting in my tree climber while deer hunting. I guess you can say that this is a contemplative blend as there is no better place for me to enjoy such a smoke.

I purchased my 100 g shortly before the opener in October and finishing my last bowl during a cool Sunday Night on Memorial Day weekend, I am saddened that it is done.

It is great and definitely warrants a repurchase in bulk before the next hunting season. This is something I always want to have on hand when the leavews start to turn. It was great in any pipe I used.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2008 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
It is a mistake to try and judge this blend for something it is not. What it is, is a blend wherein the Virginias and Cavendish are dominant and the Latakia serves as a CONDIMENTAL flavoring (ie not the main course). The overall effect is a very fresh sturdy smoke, redolent of the outdoors or strong black tea. No the Latakia will not be the dominant note, but it helps round out the sweetness of the Virginas and add deeper tone to the flavor. If you want a Balkan or straight Latakia look elsewhere. If you want a good, if eccentric smoke, give it a try.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Unnoticeable
A fellow pipe club member brought this gem in today. This has a really nice fermented raisin smell, lots of black tobacco with some brown mixed in. My first few puffs released a really pleasant deep, dark, rich flavor. This smoke has a nice spiciness taste to it. A really rich tasting blend. One I would buy. Some have referenced this as a Scottish mixture.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
Age When Smoked: 2 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 04, 2010 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Full Very Pleasant
I agree with the previous reviewer that this tobacco is, essentially, 'Old Gowrie Plus.' But, for me, this makes it as close to the quintessential all day tobacco as I've ever encountered. As much of a cliche as it is, if I could only smoke one tobacco for the rest of my life, this would probably be it.

Old Gowrie is, by far, my favorite Virginia flake, delicious, albeit monochromatic. Jock's adds the perfect amount of condimental spice. It is sweet (much more so than Highland Targe) and full-flavored without being cloying or overwhelming. For me the latakia line between 'just enough' and 'yuck' is a fine one and Jock walks it perfectly. I love Turkish and appreciate it in English/Scottish/Balkan blends but, strangely, I don't miss it at all in Jock's.

Fortunately, I don't have to smoke only one tobacco for the rest of my life so I can enjoy Old Gowrie when I'm in the mood for a straight VA, Squadron Leader when I feel like something a little more spicy, one of Cornell & Diehl's excellent blends when I'm in a burley mood and, very occasionally, when I get a wild hair, Celtic Talisman. But Jock's is the blend that's in my 'cellar' (bottom desk drawer) and the one I'll come back to day in and day out. I give it four stars only because five aren't available.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"