Hearth & Home Viprati

(3.61)
Sweet bright and ripe red Virginias are the base and a fair dose of perique and a touch of special fire cured burley complete a unique package.
Notes: From P&C's website: One of Russ Ouellette's favorite pipe makers is Italian impressario, Luigi Viprati. One thing he learned early on is that Luigi loves Virginia/perique blends, and he asked Russ to try to make something that would remind him of his favorite: Escudo. Russ began by finding three different types of matured Virginias, each with a slightly different flavor profile. To that, Russ added a fair amount of zesty perique, but it was lacking some body, so he found a fire cured burley, with a rich, but subtle flavor that added just enough depth and "kick" to round out the blend.

Details

Brand Hearth & Home
Series Marquee Series
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Burley, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.61 / 4
31

9

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 44 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 20, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Just want to add my voice to the choir here. Russ Ouellette is already my favourite blender, especially when it comes to Balkan style blends. I'm glad I got my hands on some of this stuff though. This seems to me kind of like Haddo's Delight in that it's a Va/Per/Bur that hits all the sweet and savoury tobacco notes you can wish for, and has a mouthfillingly full flavour, but I'm not a huge fan of Haddo's because of the topping, which is a little artificial tasting to me and sublimates the true tobacco flavour somewhat. With Viprati, you get a rounded very natural tasting tobacco. I get a good dose of spicy, peppery Perique, which kind of bobs in and out with the deep, dark, fruity, juicy, earthy, delicious Virginias, while the dark-fired Burley hums away in the background, providing a steady undercurrent of woody, smoky depth of character. It's all very harmonious and seems to be the perfect combination of flavours if you like the taste of TOBACCO. The only other blend I enjoy on this level is Solani Silver Flake. Hard to tell which one I prefer. Anyway, Viprati immediately became a go-to smoke for me, pretty much after the first bowl. Wish I could give it 5 stars!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I was fulling expecting the contents to smell of Virginia's tell tale barnyard hay, but what I got (if I'm being polite) was a whiff of ripe armpit sweat {if I'm being crass... it was closer to a ladies nether region}. At this point, I'm sure my loyal readers are bracing for another negative review, on the contrary, I actually liked the stuff.

The overbearing tin aroma settled after a week and developed into a nice easy-smoking, sweet smoker. The cut and moisture was just where you wanted it be for lighting up. It was an easy no manage, pleasant tasting, and devoid of any prominent flavor (which may or may not be a good thing). The "zesty Perique" was not on my radar and likely was working in the back for the more refined smoker to discover.

In the end it was a good Virginia based blend, just not my favorite. If I wasn't such an aromatic fan, I could see it being an easy 3 stars.
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2018 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Smells nice in the tin and a nice cut. There's clearly a topping on this and its a bit distracting in the initial part of the bowl, but fades quickly. The smoke has nice body and the taste of the perique is a bit different here than you get in a standard VaPer. Some sweetness adds to its depth, and in some bowls that grew as the bowl progressed. Overall, a good VaPer that I'd recommend trying, but not something to unseat other favorites and benchmark blends.
Pipe Used: cob, meer, old brit briar
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
I totally disagree with Mr. big's review and totally agree with the JimInks' review.

Mr. big claimed that it is with "a light Vanilla topping." "the topping gives a slight "bitter" background to the smoke. " "I feel this burns hot and turns ashy"

Actually I and all others who give the four-star rating definitely never smell any Vanilla topping. It smokes very cool and deeply smooth.

It is rich, tangy dark fruit sweetness with a touch of earth, grassy and citrus. The dark fired is spicy, nutty and woody.

One of the best Ribbon VaPer in the world.
Pipe Used: churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: 2 oz tins from pipesandcigars
Age When Smoked: three monthes
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2018 Medium Extremely Mild Mild Unnoticeable
I purchased this along with two other VaPer blends as part of P&C's step ladder pack. I'm trying to get reacquainted with Perique. This blend burns very well, down to ash, but sometimes wet depending on the pipe. It can actually be puffed quickly without burning your tongue. What I have found that brings on the bite is while clenching the pipe letting the smoke linger in your mouth. If you blow the smoke fairly soon, puffing cadence doesn't really matter. It can definitely get "peppery" if you are not careful. Also, it does have nicotine kick, so it's best to have had at least a light snack before and a cool drink while smoking this. The flavor is plain tobacco. Nothing really distinctive besides that "peppery" quality, if you allow it to happen. Meh, 2 stars for ease of handling, but I won't buy this again.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 06, 2017 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
A singular VaPer. Absent of spice, this one is all sweetness. Great Va base, and the Perique here adds big fruit sweetness. IMO the single best thing Russ O. has made. If you took the best light Va ribbon you could find, and blended it with a fruit-y sweet Perique, you could not come up with this. It's absolute perfection as VaPers go, IMO.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2024 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Hearth & Home
Viprati

Blend notes: “Sweet bright and ripe red Virginias are the base and a fair dose of perique and a touch of special fire cured burley complete a unique package.
One of Russ Ouellette's favorite pipe makers is Italian impressario, Luigi Viprati. One thing he learned early on is that Luigi loves Virginia/perique blends, and he asked Russ to try to make something that would remind him of his favorite: Escudo. Russ began by finding three different types of matured Virginias, each with a slightly different flavor profile. To that, Russ added a fair amount of zesty perique, but it was lacking some body, so he found a fire cured burley, with a rich, but subtle flavor that added just enough depth and "kick" to round out the blend.”

Wow. Hearth & Home’s Viprati is one good VaPer. The Virginias form the background and structure. The Perique is strongly felt but still subdued. The condiment of dark-fired Kentucky adds complementary sourness with the addition of nuttiness.

The tin smells are redolent of raisin bread. The cut loads easily and requires few delights. Down the bowl the Perique reasserts itself and adds to the hay-like, grassy but not citrusy selection of Virginias.

Think of Viprati as Escudo brightened up. This is more VaPer than VaPerKy but the dark-fired is still there too.

4 stars out of 4.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 20, 2024 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Amazing! Mild, very low smell after, nic is good. Very apricot plum taste. Mild smell plus higher nicotine plus flavor complexity. This is great stuff.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2023 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
My recommendation for those wanting to see what the Va/Per hype is about. Smooth, mellow taste is even better than the tin note suggests. This one never leaves my rotation.
Pipe Used: Multiple cob & briar
Age When Smoked: 2 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
The sweetness of the virginias in the aroma and taste is very pleasant, but I really didn't like the pepperiness of the Perique, I had some tongue bites and nick kicks.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"