G. L. Pease Sixpence

(3.30)
You enter the dark paneled room, its walls lined with ancient books. An antique table stands beside a leather club chair. Upon it, next to a small silver coin, an open tobacco tin entices you with an aroma deep, rich, authentic. You fill your bowl, strike a match. The first puff stops time as the smoky magic weaves its spell... Sixpence. The mystery continues.
Notes: First batch tinned October 15, 2014 and released November 21, 2014. On that date, Mr. Pease wrote: After a longer than expected wait, I'm happy to announce that Sixpence is now wending its way to tobacconists' shelves. A rich flake comprising a base of beautiful red virginias, a generous portion of perique, and just a bit of dark-fired leaf to add body and dimension. The tobaccos are delicately kissed with a special spirit, then pressed and aged in cakes before being sliced and tinned. The taste and aroma are deep, full and satisfying, reminiscent of traditional tobaccos from long ago. I'm very excited about the release, as I'm sure you can imagine. I've been working on Sixpence for a long time, and am beyond pleased with it. It's one of those rare moments when everything comes together and the final blend actually exceeded the expectations I began the journey with. It's been a long journey. I had something special in mind when I began this project, something that would hold the smoker's interest throughout the bowl, developing increasing nuances with each puff, while not fatiguing the palate or building too much intensity. The leaf has been carefully selected and composed to perfect harmony from first light to the wonderful crescendo of the last puff. Virginia lovers craving a tobacco that is bold and robust, as well as devotées of latakia mixtures who enjoy virginias as a change of pace will find their reward in every bowl of Sixpence.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Old London Series
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 2 oz Tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.30 / 4
35

23

8

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 69 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The mildly tart red Virginias have a little less tangy dark fruit than usual, and are a little more earthy than commonly expected, though the hay notes somewhat mitigate that. They also have some bread, wood, mild vegetation, light sugar ad tart citrus. They are the lead components. The earthy, woody perique is mostly plum and raisiny rather than spicy, the latter aspect partially being undercut/enhanced by the dark fired Kentucky. It's very earthy, woody, vegetative, floral, rather sour, and mildly nutty. The DFK is a supporting player, whiIe the perique is a step above being a condiment. I can't identify the topping, but it has a slight sweetness with a sour note and a taste of alcohol. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste level is medium. Won't bite or get harsh, but it has a few rough edges. The components meld well to create a harmonious, very consistent flavor. Not very complex, but it burns clean, slow, and cool. Barely leaves any moisture in the bowl, and requires just above an average number of relights. Could be an entry level product for those wanting to venture into this territory. I consider this to be just shy of an all day smoke, but is easily repeatable during the day.

-JimInks
66 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am a big fan of Sixpence. I loved the way Greg Pease wove the Kentucky and Virginia together and topped the broken flakes with some sort of casing that was quite tasty. Sixpence burned a little more quickly than many Pease blends, and a slow draw was needed to fully appreciate all the different and wonderful flavors. I know everyone's chemical makeup is such that certain blends are loved by some and hated by others, but I can't imagine anyone not liking Sixpence.

Pipestud
49 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I must admit that I usually am strictly McClelland, Escudo and Dunhill DNR when it comes to VaPers and when of comes to Latakia... GLP. I was lucky to have a taste of this wonderful weed before it even had a name. If you have ever doubted GLP in this category, I urge you to tryus Sixpence. This is about as balanced as a VaPer can get!!! The Virginia's and the Kentucky kinda take the front seat upon lighting, giving the zingy VAs a nutty backdrop. About a quarter of the way in the perique kicks in. I don't know how to explain how this blends flavors meld but I'm going to try. For some reason.I get a taste of graham crackers when I exhale out my nose. As the pipe burns, all of the tobaccos join together creating one flavor that dances on my taste buds. This flake burns perfectly the whole way down, leaving no dottle and maintaining a solid smoke. The topping works more like a glue, holding all these flavors together without taking front stage. Age will only do this stuff wonders...I suggest cellaring as .such of this stuff as possible. For me this blend breaks all the GLP barriers and takes #1 in my rotation. All I can think of is balance......everything from room note to nicotine.. (actually the nicotine is a little more then usual GLP flakes....not quite JKP but more then Fillmore or Union Square). I can smoke this all day long without tiring of its flavor, its satisfying and bold as well as smooth. Just give it a try....I promise you won't be dissatisfied!
Pipe Used: Stanwell bent billiard, Revs reverse calabash,
Age When Smoked: 5 weeks
43 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 25, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Very much a first impression here, but it's undeniable this is a well crafted blend. i cannot imagine how many tries it took to balance the virginias, dark fired and perique so expertly. Admittedly, I'm not a fan of dark fired as a regular smoke, so I was happy it's not overpowering in this blend. The tin note was very much fermenting plums to me, and there was a grape sugar note in the background, perhaps from the "spirit" added? The topping was not detectable in the smoke to me, or at least I didn't recognize it. There's little enough perique that it barely burns the nose, and little enough dark fired that it's not burning my throat, but those two still give the primary taste, a very rich, slightly spicy one. The virginias are subdued, and definitely in the background. Greatly enjoyed smoking this in a tall straight chimney, it melds into a very rich, hard to describe flavor towards the end of the bowl that's just lovely. Hope this first impression helps anyone.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum, Briar
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6 weeks
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 24, 2016 Medium to Strong Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
G. L. Pease - Sixpence (Old London Series).

I normally like a blend containing Perique as my breakfast blend, and because I've just finished off the tin of Sunday Picnic which was my recent one, I decided this would be my morning smoke for the week.

Before I properly begin, I'll get the bad point out of the way: it's the dampest G. L. Pease blend I've had. It has to have a decent airing period, otherwise it won't stay lit for love nor money! Bad point dealt with.

The first thing to jump out at me attests just how vague the name Broken Flake can be. To me, they're simply flakes, unbroken!

The topping's a little tricky to pin-point, the tin-note implies alcohol, what sort's a mystery though. But, for me, the smoke clears this conundrum up: I'd say rum. It doesn't seem strongly flavoured, but it has a slight rummy sweetness that works impeccably alongside the fruity Perique. The tobaccos are obviously exceedingly high quality, they ooze eminence. Like I just said, the Perique's fruity, as opposed to being sharp. The Kentucky gives a smokiness, but it's not as headstrong as it can sometimes be. The Virginia's the lightest in flavour, it just gives a tiny amount to the mix. The burn's constant and even, providing it's not neglected, and the smoke's of a medium temperature from it.

The nicotine amount fits the morning slot well: above medium, and the room-note's quite nice.

This is one of those blends where it starts off good and just keeps getting better and better!

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula #221
PurchasedFrom: Gauntleys Nottingham U.K.
Age When Smoked: 6 months
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2015 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am a big fan of Sixpence. I loved the way Greg Pease wove the Kentucky and Virginia together and topped the broken flakes with some sort of casing that was quite tasty. Sixpence burned a little more quickly than many Pease blends, and a slow draw was needed to fully appreciate all the different and wonderful flavors. I know everyone's chemical makeup is such that certain blends are loved by some and hated by others, but I can't imagine anyone not liking Sixpence.

Pipestud
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2014 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
This tobacco is excellent. The Virginias taste full and smooth, and the Perique is noticeable throughout the whole smoke. The two weave back and forth with each other for the first quarter of the bowl, and then everything melds together into a perfect flavor for the rest of the smoke. One thing I've noticed is that this blend has an extremely potent amount of nicotine. Just about at my limit, I find myself putting the pipe down a couple times to give myself a break. The retrohale is fantastic, sweet with plum flavors, and a good 'sting.'

This is my first real experience with G.L. Pease, and I will certainly be trying every tobacco offered from this company. Top quality leaf, presentation, and flavor. 100% pleased and will definitely always have this tobacco in my supply.
Pipe Used: SMS Meerschaum Lattice Acorn
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 26, 2015 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Perique is figgy, fruity and mildly spicy. The Virginias are fruity and sweet. The DFK is very earthy, mildly nutty and has a touch of spice. The topping is a mystery, kinda sweet and I think I detect some fruity notes from it as well.

Altogether it's a very earthy VaPer that's heavy on the fruity notes and light on the spice. A very nice smoke. Unique and satisfying. Nice fairly bold flavors.

Medium in body and taste. Flavoring is very mild. Burns very well rubbed out or left as is.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Diplomat Apple, Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Small brown broken flakes that I rubbed out partially before loading. Smell of some sort of booze in the tin atop a bed of dark base tobaccos, and a pretty good snootful of perique. Lovely tin note.

Tough review to write. The issues I had with this are much less about the recipe than about the tobaccos used. For some reason, I have lost my taste for C&D virginias and burleys over the last year, or they have changed much more than subtly. Their virginias now taste like their burleys and their burleys taste like Kentuckys mixed with ropes. I have a lot of the older stuff in my cellar and I'm tasting the differences between then and now, and I'm liking them less. That's not a problem with the blend itself, however. When this one was "in the zone", it was a great tasting sweet boozy flavor melding with the perique, which gave off dark fruit notes rather than peppery, spicy ones. These flavor overcame the rather harsh burley tones of the red virginia. Yes, it was the virginia that threw this one off for me. The Kentucky was a nice addition and added the proper amount of earth and nuttiness, but the virginias smoked harsh and overly robust, which just as often threw the balance off for me. I'd love to try this with either someone else's red VA's or C&D's lemon. There's just too much tobacco darkness here for me, and it wasn't often enough offset by the sweet and sour topping mixed with the sweet perique. I liked it fine, but it just didn't bowl me over as I thought it would.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2014 Medium Mild Medium Tolerable
(Disclaimer: Only been smoking pipes for about a year, so take my little review with that in mind)

That being said! The tin note on this blend is very sweet! Plum, sugars, tea, hay, and some hints of a dark chocolate. The charring light/post tamping smoke was very very creamy with hints of plum, hay, and some spice from the Perique. After only letting a flake rubbed out dry for about 10 minutes, It took one light to smoke down the entire bowl! Luck probably had something to do with it, but it is pretty rare for me to only have to tamp to keep a bowl lit.

As someone who mainly smokes English blends, I can honestly say I will be ordering 5+ tins of this blend. Very full flavored, great burning, tolerable room note, zero tongue bite, and honestly the first VaPer I have smoked where I wanted to keep enjoying it the rest of the night.
Pipe Used: Cob, Stanwell bent bulldog
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 2014
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"