Sutliff Tobacco Company Match Field & Stream

(3.00)
Sutliff's match of the House of Windsor Field & Stream. This semi-aromatic blend is made with smooth, white burley, sweet, bright Virginia and a touch of black cavendish with a mellow top note that is truly one of a kind.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blended By Carl McAllister
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Other / Misc
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
5

11

5

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 01, 2021 Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
Sutliff Field & Stream Match is a excellent blend and one that i keep about a pound of at all times. It comes as a course cut of chunks, ribbons, and "fish flake" texture with a medium moisture but benefits from a bit of fry time In my opinion.

The flavor they say is Anise and i agree, although it doesnt taste like Black Licorice or strong Fennel notes, rather it is a sweet anasette flavor somewhat similar to Mixture 79 but find the flavor of F&S a bit stronger and better to my taste. I would highly recommend this blend to anyone that likes old school OTC's like Granger or SWR, Micture 79, Sutliff Great Outdoors, or Holiday Mixture Match as they all seem to share a similar quality of flavoring.
Pipe Used: all sorts
PurchasedFrom: P&C, TP
Age When Smoked: new, and 3 years old
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Both the House of Windsor and Philip Morris productions were fairly soapy and even more perfumey with an anise/licorice topping. While all of that lingered to the end, it became a little less intense by the half way point, and a nutty burley became more prominent, though still a bit sublimated. I barely noticed the black and gold cavendish outside of a hint of vanilla and honey. The citrus Virginia notes were small, and the grass a little more obvious. The Match has a hint of the soap, and much less perfume, and the licorice is slightly less pronounced. It has a little more maple than the original had. In the Match, the earthy, woody burley has a similar nuttiness, and I notice the aspects of the cavendishes and grassy, citrusy Virginia a little more. The topping's fairly much sublimate the tobaccos. The strength is a couple of the steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste almost reaches the medium mark. The nic-hit is a slot past the center of mild to medium. The Match burns cool at a moderate pace with a very consistent sweet and floral flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Won't bite or get harsh. Has a lingering after taste. Can be an all day smoke. The HoW and Philip Morris versions burned faster, rougher, and hotter, though they fell just short of the bite stage. I rated the original at two stars.

-JimInks
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Mostly burley with a smack of Virginia. The Cavendish adds a bit if sweet and just a hint if vanilla. The topping seems like a spice rum with a touch of anise. The cube cut packs well into my coband the blend burns at a moderate rate with very few relights. I get no bite from this match but there is a spicy note as I proceed through each bowl. I enjoy this blend and have been smoking it for the past few days as I do some Farm and greenhouse chores. Have had this jarred for quite a while and am trying to reduce my cellar of some I have had lingering. This one has really grown on me. A truly American blend in my book. Taste is satisfactory and it smells nice as well.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: Jarred for three years
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2020 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
I never tried the original House of Windsor blend, but I must say I really like this Sutliff match blend. Reminds me of a good old fashioned OTC.

A nice hearty Burley mixed with just a bit of Virginia and barely a hint of anise or liquor for a top note. It has a very pleasant pouch note. Burns very well, I didn't have to do any re-lights nor did I experience any pipe gurgle. All in all a very well behaved tobacco.

For me it's kind of a cross between Half & Half and Sir Water Raleigh. Maybe if you mixed an ounce of Half & Half with an ounce of SWR you might get something similiar to this Sutliff match. I don't know, who knows. All I know is I really like this stuff and now it's one of my favorites.
Pipe Used: Briar
PurchasedFrom: WV Smoke Shop
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2015 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Let me say that I never smoked the original. I preferred this in a cob to a briar. In a varnished cob It burned hot, but I am a heavy puffer. I didn't experience any soap or perfume taste. I did taste anise, which got stronger the deeper I got into the bowl. No sweetness. I would call this an American blend, not an Aromatic. Good moisture level, took a light easily and required minimal relighting. Burned right to the bottom of the bowl. A good blend to smoke while your hands are occupied. No goop, gurgle, or bite. 2 stars, I wouldn't buy it again.
Pipe Used: Briar, varnished MM cob w filter
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: Four weeks
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 20, 2020 Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I have never had the original Field and Stream so this is a review on the strengths and weaknesses of this match blend by itself.

When I opened the humidor I was greeted by the smell of Licorice with a earthy background that also consisted of wood, vanilla and a touch of liquor. The Tobacco was not too wet or dry and I still put it out on a paper towel for 45 minutes which I do for every tobacco, more or less depending if it is a aromatic or not.

Filling the bowl it seemed to be an odd assortment of chunks, ribbons and pieces. The tobacco seemed to burn pretty evenly except some of the chunks took longer to burn. IT burned down to a nice gray ash with no bite or even a hint of a bite. The smoke was nice and billowy even though I was sipping this slowly to savor the flavor.

Upon lighting the flavor of Licorice that was pleasant and not overpowering appeared. The Burley was a beautiful medium strength and full flavored and smooth. I could taste a hint of liquor, citrus and grass with a earthy and woody taste with some honey in the background also. A sweet tasting smoke. Now, I was enjoying this and then a little more than halfway down the flavor changed instantly. Vanilla to the forefront and the Burley became deeper and richer in flavor. A slight Soap taste with a bit of floral came through. The taste did not get harsh like some tobaccos and remained smooth and pleasant. When done there was a small amount of moisture in the bowl. Average amounts of re-lights.

There was a pleasant aftertaste that lasted a hour or so after finishing this bowl. The pipe used for this was my WEBER SHELLBROOKE.

I am very pleased with Match Field & Stream. I do wish I had some original to compare to. But, on its own this tobacco is well on its way to becoming a favorite, if not THE favorite in my rotation. It was a pleasant smoke that was smooth, gentle, with different flavors that played well with each other and at no time overpowered the tobacco flavor but enhanced it. Definitely going to buy more of this and will be a permanent part of my rotation.
Pipe Used: Weber Shellbrooke
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
I'll be honest, I purchased this tobacco because I've always loved the name: "Field & Stream." It is just a great name for a pipe blend. I never smoked the original, but did sample the re-issue version that came out in the cardboard cans around 10 or 15 years ago. I recall that version having a distinct licorice component and not being particularly good. Now on to this version.

I ordered an ounce of this and the aroma of the tobacco in the bag is very fine. There is no distinct "flavor" to me, but it is sweet and aromatic. I see various shades of leaves, indicating the white burley with touches of virginia and cavendish as advertised. It has the right moisture content for this type of blend in my opinion and packs and lights well.

The smoke is mild and pleasant. It never bites even when pushed and smokes cool. The aroma is pleasing and sweet. At times, the flavor is too subdued...almost non-existent. When it does appear, I taste nutty burleys with a honey-like sweetness. There is no distinctive top note in the flavor of this smoke. I find that this tobacco gets better as I smoke two or three bowls while mowing the lawn or pruning my roses bushes. It is at its best with absent-minded puffing during yard work. The longer I smoke it, the flavor becomes richer. I notice a slight, delicious soapiness in the second and third bowls. I feel like if I could walk around with a pipe hanging out of the side of my mouth all day, puffing away happily on a blend of my choosing, this could be that blend.

In the end, I feel that this is a good tobacco although I have no way to compare it to the original. It is far better than the majority of other aromatic or American blends I have tried. At moments it is wonderful and at others it leaves me flat. If you enjoy American-style blends with plenty of burley, I would say give this a try.
Pipe Used: Unfinished Briar
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 07, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Well as an intro to this review i have been trying as many of the "classic" reproduced - dicontinued- brands-your grandfather-smoked - tobaccos as i can. It has been fun and considering these bulk brands are less than $3 an ounce each it is an affordable hobby. Most are ok, that was fun now what? This however was different, this is an actually delicious blend that i am compelled to praise. I wish i could describe what and how it tastes but I don't do well describing. Trust me its better than you think. The smoke is smooth, mostly burley but slightly confusing. I never smoked the original but I really like this.
Pipe Used: Stanwell
PurchasedFrom: wvsmokeshop.com
Age When Smoked: new, just got
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2021 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am a mostly aromatic smoker, preferring sweet blends. However, I do like a burley blend every once in awhile. As a fan of President Gerald Ford, I tried this blend because he smoked it. I was pleasantly surprised. It is a mild burley blend. It burns beautifully and is not harsh. Nice burley flavor with a touch of subtle sweetness. I will buy this again. Just a good smoke.
Pipe Used: Dr. Grabow
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 59
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 03, 2018 Mild to Medium Very Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
This blend was gifted to me recently in a get together of older and long-time pipe smokers when we swapped blend samples that we all brought to the affair. I first smoked this blend in about 1960 or 1961 when I was in my first years of college and pipe smoking. I tried all the boxed pouches at my local Rexall Drug Store and Field and Stream was one of them. I didn't care for it. It didn't have the "punch" that other blends seemed to have and I dismissed it as too weak a mixture to be competitive. Besides, it had a top flavor that I thought to be rather strange. Today, long-time pipe smoking buds of mine are of the opinion that the topping was a birch flavoring and they opine that it is totally absent from the current Match mixture. Most felt that the Match blend is approximately like the old blend, but not as good. Then there is me - I didn't like it way back then and I don't care for it now. I thought that it smoked weakly with a thin flavor. I felt there was confusion about what it was trying to be and what it was trying to do. There was no distinct flavor in the smoke; a view shared by reviewer Satc001 2017-07-09, and I had a hard time understanding what niche this blend occupies. That last view is echoed by reviewer Manxman 2015-12-30: ...good to smoke when your hands are occupied. Again, utilizing reviewer Tall Puff 'o Burley, I can give it two stars because it isn't actually offensive or anything.
Pipe Used: John Eells squat bulldog (2008 NASPC year pipe)
PurchasedFrom: gifted from a fellow pipe smoker
Age When Smoked: current
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 07, 2021 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This blend is not only comparable to House of Windsor's version, it's actually a bit better. A nice, mild Burley with a sweet advise flavor. It just works. One of the best bulk tobaccos I've smoked.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: P&C
Age When Smoked: Fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"