Sutliff Tobacco Company Match Field & Stream

(3.00)
Sutliff's match of the House of Windsor Field & Stream. This semi-aromatic blend is made with smooth, white burley, sweet, bright Virginia and a touch of black cavendish with a mellow top note that is truly one of a kind.

Details

Brand Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blended By Carl McAllister
Manufactured By Sutliff Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Other / Misc
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
5

11

5

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Both the House of Windsor and Philip Morris productions were fairly soapy and even more perfumey with an anise/licorice topping. While all of that lingered to the end, it became a little less intense by the half way point, and a nutty burley became more prominent, though still a bit sublimated. I barely noticed the black and gold cavendish outside of a hint of vanilla and honey. The citrus Virginia notes were small, and the grass a little more obvious. The Match has a hint of the soap, and much less perfume, and the licorice is slightly less pronounced. It has a little more maple than the original had. In the Match, the earthy, woody burley has a similar nuttiness, and I notice the aspects of the cavendishes and grassy, citrusy Virginia a little more. The topping's fairly much sublimate the tobaccos. The strength is a couple of the steps past the center of mild to medium. The taste almost reaches the medium mark. The nic-hit is a slot past the center of mild to medium. The Match burns cool at a moderate pace with a very consistent sweet and floral flavor. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Won't bite or get harsh. Has a lingering after taste. Can be an all day smoke. The HoW and Philip Morris versions burned faster, rougher, and hotter, though they fell just short of the bite stage. I rated the original at two stars.

-JimInks
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2016 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Mostly burley with a smack of Virginia. The Cavendish adds a bit if sweet and just a hint if vanilla. The topping seems like a spice rum with a touch of anise. The cube cut packs well into my coband the blend burns at a moderate rate with very few relights. I get no bite from this match but there is a spicy note as I proceed through each bowl. I enjoy this blend and have been smoking it for the past few days as I do some Farm and greenhouse chores. Have had this jarred for quite a while and am trying to reduce my cellar of some I have had lingering. This one has really grown on me. A truly American blend in my book. Taste is satisfactory and it smells nice as well.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: Jarred for three years
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2017 Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Pleasant
I'll be honest, I purchased this tobacco because I've always loved the name: "Field & Stream." It is just a great name for a pipe blend. I never smoked the original, but did sample the re-issue version that came out in the cardboard cans around 10 or 15 years ago. I recall that version having a distinct licorice component and not being particularly good. Now on to this version.

I ordered an ounce of this and the aroma of the tobacco in the bag is very fine. There is no distinct "flavor" to me, but it is sweet and aromatic. I see various shades of leaves, indicating the white burley with touches of virginia and cavendish as advertised. It has the right moisture content for this type of blend in my opinion and packs and lights well.

The smoke is mild and pleasant. It never bites even when pushed and smokes cool. The aroma is pleasing and sweet. At times, the flavor is too subdued...almost non-existent. When it does appear, I taste nutty burleys with a honey-like sweetness. There is no distinctive top note in the flavor of this smoke. I find that this tobacco gets better as I smoke two or three bowls while mowing the lawn or pruning my roses bushes. It is at its best with absent-minded puffing during yard work. The longer I smoke it, the flavor becomes richer. I notice a slight, delicious soapiness in the second and third bowls. I feel like if I could walk around with a pipe hanging out of the side of my mouth all day, puffing away happily on a blend of my choosing, this could be that blend.

In the end, I feel that this is a good tobacco although I have no way to compare it to the original. It is far better than the majority of other aromatic or American blends I have tried. At moments it is wonderful and at others it leaves me flat. If you enjoy American-style blends with plenty of burley, I would say give this a try.
Pipe Used: Unfinished Briar
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 06, 2021 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I am a mostly aromatic smoker, preferring sweet blends. However, I do like a burley blend every once in awhile. As a fan of President Gerald Ford, I tried this blend because he smoked it. I was pleasantly surprised. It is a mild burley blend. It burns beautifully and is not harsh. Nice burley flavor with a touch of subtle sweetness. I will buy this again. Just a good smoke.
Pipe Used: Dr. Grabow
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 59
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2018 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This stuff has a tin note like no other.. when I first opened the bag I thought I almost smelled menthol, but upon further smelling and smoking I detect none. I believe I was smelling the tobacco itself and stronger anise mixing with an alcohol of some kind (maybe sherry or cognac or I could be wrong?). It's very moist and clumpy, and like a lot of Sutliff products a little oily as well. It helps to rub out the tobacco chunks a bit, otherwise it like to settle into the pipe as a small rock at the bottom of the chamber. Flavor is very burley forward yet creamy, and honestly reminds me a bit of a much better Half and Half. The mixture even looks like burley and bright with black cav mixed in. I do like the smoke, and is something I will probably keep on hand... for some reason it reminds me of cool weather and seems it would be a good companion on a cool fall day. Maybe something to take out into the "Field and Stream", but of course not without some dry time. Provides a good amount of smoke, has a nice room note, and is something I would purchase again.
Pipe Used: Various briars
PurchasedFrom: PipesandCigars.com
Age When Smoked: right out of bag
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 06, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
If I ever had Field & Stream back in the distant past, I don't remember it. This has a lot of nutty burleys (I almost thought for a moment there might be a trace of Kentucky) and some cavendish -- I didn't much if any VA. The casing is certainly present, but I found it rather nondescript: a touch of licorice and vanilla, and something else (not quite a dark fruit flavor, but almost). I didn't find it perfumy or soapy, but perhaps I smoke too many GH Lakelands to notice it here. Fairly well-balanced, but a little bitey after the half-way mark for me; I found it a true 2.5 on the scale. Because of the balance, I tipped it up but I wouldn't rebuy it.
Pipe Used: various briars and a cob
PurchasedFrom: cup o' joe's
Age When Smoked: 2 months after purchase
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2022 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I have no experience with the old blends of this, it’s my first trying this. I remember the colorful cans on the shelves but never tried it though. After a week of smoking this in several different pipes I finally thought I would add a review. It’s definitely in the old OTC blend catagory, both in taste and aroma, which is nice. I found it a bit bitey if puffed hard, but not unmanageable. A lot of blends mention they have an alcohol addition in blending which I usually don’t notice; in this blend I did and enjoyed it! Not a rum taste but something was there but not annoying. What I DID notice is rather odd. I have been a big fan of Sutliff’s Edward G. Robinson ( much thanks Jim!) And is there ever a similarity…. Anyway I added a small amount of 1-Q and tried a few bowls, I honestly could not tell the difference. This is an overall nice smoke I am betting any pipe smoker would enjoy. This could definitely be an all day smoke.
Pipe Used: Very long Canadian
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 12, 2022 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
A soft delicate smoke. No harshness at all. Mild flavor but enough and not boring. Easy to keep lit and plenty of smoke. I taste sweeter licorice not the salty kind. Some nuttiness coated with a tad of butter. I get just a smidgeon of mustiness but it doesn't detract from my overall experience.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2021 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Over the years I’ve ventured away from predominately smoking Aromatics. However, I’ve found myself returning to those Aro’s on occasion with more of a slightly sweet & nutty touch ... as opposed to those full of fruity flavors. Although I’ve not had the opportunity to try the original blend ... if the original was 1/2 as good as this match version by Sutliff ... I’d have to say it, too, was a winner. This one is quite good. It’s full flavored yet not overbearing. The white burley used yields a rather cool smoke without tongue bite. And whatever the top notes or casings are ... it tastes great. If your an Aro smoker looking for something without a fruity kick ... I’d recommend that you give this one a try. As it can be purchased in bulk quantities you can get a small sample to give it a spin ... but don’t be surprised if you find yourself reordering some more rather soon.
Pipe Used: Briars, Cobs, and Cherrywoods
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh from Bulk Bag
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 18, 2023 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
If you're going to try some Sutliff match blends, I'd say this is one of the Top 5 and worthy of a pickup if you haven't tried it before. A bit unique from many of the other match blends in it's particular flavor and aroma, though not particularly unique it's use of Sutliff's "sloppy cube cut" mixed with various size/shape leaf rippings.

It looks rugged and it is - can be smoked without much attention and can be pushed in pace, though not quite a tobacco for a freight train puffer.

Mine came too moist and after some drying smoked with average to below average relights.

Aroma stronger than flavor, primarily anise and maple, not enough to ghost a pipe. Not an aromatic, but a solid American codger blend with light flavoring added. Not smokey or spicey, but some minor tingles in the last 1/3 of the bowl. Has some traditional characteristics and taste of Sutliff's alcohol based flavorings.

We're in a lucky time that we have these quality recreations of old codger blends, and this one shows off it's uniqueness well enough to earn it's right in a cellar.
Pipe Used: Multiple
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: 5 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"