Peter Stokkebye Luxury Twist Flake (No. 402)

(3.18)
A pure Virginia blend from the best fields of Zimbabwe and Eastern United States. Rolled Twist Flake, then Cavendish pressed and cut.

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By Peter Stokkebye
Manufactured By Peter Stokkebye
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Caramel, Other / Misc
Cut Flake
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.18 / 4
92

88

41

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2009 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
If there was an award for best looking tobacco, this would surely be a shoe-in. I like holding these flakes in my hand and staring at them. My wife thinks I'm weird too. Anyway, great smoke with a pretty heavy topping that borders on being over the top. It pushes the limits for me on that level, but stops at a very pleasant sweet complexity. The flakes roll up nicely and splay at the end for an excellent burn. They rub out to nice fine ribbons, but I usually prefer the roll and stuff method, which seems to preserve the sweet vanilla notes better. This is best smoked without relights in my opinion as the flavor drops considerably.

Update: I have been smoking this tobacco daily and it has become a favorite. I find the sweet aromatic notes to be extremely pleasant while still providing a good tobacco experience in the traditional sense.
72 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2013 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant
First off, the tin note is extraordinary. The high notes of vanilla, honey and hay overlap deeper notes of roasted malt and black tea. And this makes for a very sweet and natural scent that I can't find in any other Virginia flake I've had to date. However, this gave me the suspicion that there was a casing of some sort on the tobacco, and it made me nervous to say the least.

The presentation of this tobacco is nothing short of mesmerizing. I could stare at a single flake for several minutes and still be impressed. However, it came a little moist (as is par for the course for Stokkebye) but that was an easy fix. I just left it out for 45 minutes, and voila, great moisture for an easy smoke.

But on to the important bit, how it smokes. And that is where many smokers disagree. Let me be the first to say that this is not the traditional Virginia, so don't expect that from this tobacco. It's obvious that this is a twist on a Navy flake (no pun intended), and has a slight casing (and yes I do mean slight, not foul and overbearing like many reviewers say) of what I detect to be honey, but I may very well be wrong. It's definitely not a rum casing that is found on traditional Navy flakes.

On the initial light is where the flavor is strongest. Toasted bread with butter and brown sugar is the taste I get. Honey and molasses are present as well. The strength of the flavor and aroma may be what put many Virginia lovers at bay, and may have deterred them from giving this blend what it deserves: a full bowl smoked cool and clean.

As you progress more in the bowl, the flavor deepens and broadens and becomes very pleasant. Sweet English tea notes lay beneath high honey and chocolate notes, and this makes for a very cozy smoke. As the bowl progresses, notes of vanilla and raisin start coming in and intermingling with deeper notes of almond and french toast. Keep in mind, this is not an aromatic, and all of these notes taste organic and natural, not syrupy or overbearing.

Overall, while not what you'd expect from Stokkebye's description, it is still a top-notch blend that would be enjoyable by the most discerning pipe smoker. All it takes is an open mind. Side note: this blend does taste a little young, so I can only imagine that it will ripen with age.
45 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 05, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Peter Stokkebye - Luxury Twist Flake.

I'm slightly surprised that up until now (05/07/16) this has had 33 two star, or less ratings. Okay, it's not the best blend I've piped, but I think it's a good smoke!

Pre-light, the blend reminds me of W.O. Larsen #32 Curly: wavy flakes. As its from bulk the moisture's good, so I fill and light straight away: there's no need for drying time.

It lights easily and gives a pleasant smoke: there is a honey sweetness from the Cavendish process, but there's also a kind of oat/bread-like embellishment: it tastes really 'Homely'. It actually seems, to me, as though it contains a small proportion of Burley and this could be responsible for the oatiness.

I can smoke an entire bowl without the slightest bit of tongue-bite, and the smoke is about the perfect temperature.

I find the nicotine just below medium, and the room-note very pleasant.

Like I said, I think this is good. It wouldn't get a spot in my favourites list, but it still gets its first 'highly recommended'!

Four stars.

Pipe Used: Enricoro Big Freehand
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes.com
Age When Smoked: New
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2002 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I found this one a very good smoke, similar to PS-Navy Flake, with perhaps a sweeter aftertaste due to the absence of Perique. But in many ways it resembles its near cousin in that smooth, pleasant and distinguished flavour. It burns very well, it has all the quality of good Virginia leaf (even if some of it comes from Zimbabwe), and the cut helps to preserve it fresh. It is not a moist tobacco, but its natural oils and juices provide a rich yet discreet savour that personally I find very agreeable. It is easy to pack and light and burns slowly. The Cavendish process seems to round up the flavours of the different Virginias, and gives the whole tobacco a light brown hue with some birdseye. The aroma is very civilised. Non smokers don?t seem to complaint, though they don?t tend to get specially excited by its smell?Again, plain smoking tobacco, uncomplicated, very enjoyable and virtually no tongue bite. There seems to be no mystery in these blends (Navy Flake included), as if they were not intended to grasp your senses and taste buds in a symphony of contrasts and hidden treasures. Basically, an honest all day smoke (in my case happily accepted at work), designed to keep you happy. A good change of pace, leaving the more complex tobaccos for the evening.
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 26, 2011 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is a great flake for a smoker venturing into the world of flakes. Prepares very easy, lights and smokes with ease. This will appeal to beginners and veterans alike.

Tin note reminds me of some sort of vanilla/maple danish. That same tin note transfers over to the inital light, but diminishes after about the 1/4 mark. Never hints at biting, and smokes dry down to the bottom of the bowl.

I give this 4 stars due to the fact it is an awesome flake for all pipe smokers to enjoy.

Makes a great morning smoke with coffee.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 12, 2002 Mild Medium Medium Tolerable
Adding to the other reviews here: I will say that this is an excellent find for me...I truely enjoy it. The initial pouch/tin aroma seems more floral to me than others have noted. Too, these poor old taste buds pick up a steady assault of cocoa from start to finish - the change of pace from my usual English, Peace-y and Froggy favorites is most welcome. The burn is quite easy, even with flakes rather stuffed into the bowl to allow a slower burn when I am out in the Portland wind and slop (my job requires it so I march along with my left hand cupped over the bowl so it won't drown...trudging along with a smile on my face in the worst weather. In my poorest excuse of a pipe this tastes and burns well...seems to like my Nording and Stanwell deep-bowled free forms best...isn't enhanced much in my Meerschaum. Like my beautiful long-suffering wife, respect her and she will treat you well. Let's see...not fussy, burns well in any bowl, lovely flavor and aroma, yes - a winner indeed!
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 05, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Tolerable
====This is a 2014 update====

Considering the other flakes I've had this year (2014), Luxury Twist Flake must be reassessed. Sadly, I've underestimated this one, and must upgrade it. In short, this is one FANTASTIC tobacco! When set against all the other flakes I've tried over the years (especially this year), this one rises close to the top. Last year, this blend fooled me, it came across very low key, mild, yet a nicotine viper nested in this butterscotch-topped grass—if one's not use to its mysterious ways, one could be put off, but, lo! give it some time, and this veiled beauty will caress you with its wanton ways, it will tease you, yes, but, in the end you'll go to bed satisfied! Luxury Twist Flake is a work of genius. I'm upgrading this blend from a strong three stars to a full four. Great stuff!
Pipe Used: Viprati bent "big bowl"
PurchasedFrom: Pipes&Cigars
Age When Smoked: ?
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Full Very Pleasant
Cut: Rolled twist flake, pure Virginia blend. Pressed and cut into rope strands and then rolled into coin and square shapes. This is an aromatic. Moisture: Goldilocks. Smell: Caramel, maple, hay barn, bread. Taste: Light taste of maple, some vanilla, caramel. Very smooth body and mouthfeel. Likes: Wonderful aroma so I assume the room is delightful. Very enjoyable with abundant flavor. No nic hit. Burns well with some caution and cadence. Dislikes: None. A really nice introduction to twist flake. The aroma with this blend is so pleasant. The flavor and taste carry throughout the entire bowl. The maple is very evident about 1/3 of the way in and to the bottom. Sweet but not overly so and delicious. I highly recommend it and will add this to my list of worthy aromatics.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kenmare 408
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month from date of purchase
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is really, really good tobacco.

I bought 4 oz. based on all the favorable reviews I read, and I wasn't disappointed in the least.

Right out of the shipping box, I loaded up one of my larger billiards to almost overflowing and went at it.

Must be sipped rather than puffed this early on, as it's still a bit moist. Can't wait to see what it's like after 30 or so days in the jar.

Excellent flavor, which changes midway down the bowl.

I will be ordering a lot more of this.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Stellar 111 Biliard
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Right out of the shipping box
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2014 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I enjoyed this flake.. It is on the milder side with no spicy notes. It has a sweet taste to it, and the pouch note is sweet caramel, dried fruit. Very mild without a lot of nicotine. It's a nice change of pace when you want a milder flake on the sweet side.
Pipe Used: Dr Grabow grand duke
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes online
Age When Smoked: Fresh - 1 month old
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"