Arango Balkan Supreme

(3.75)
Full bodied and latakia laden, Balkan Supreme combines the aforementioned with fine Orientals, Virginias, black cavendish, and Turkish Samsun to produce an award-winning smoke.
Notes: Arango Cigar Co, out of Northbrook, Illinois, are distributors of not only cigars, but also pipes, lighters, and pipe tobacco, including their own bulk blend, Balkan Supreme, which was named best English blend at the Chicago show in 2014.

Details

Brand Arango
Blended By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.75 / 4
49

7

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 41 - 49 of 49 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Another fantastic Balkan! I love the ribbon cut that packs and lights easy. In my opinion this is more lat forward then some but nothing to worry over. Smoky, rich and perfectly blended. If your looking to try Balkans, look no further. The other reviewers have said it all so I'll wrap it up. Highly recommended.

Lager
Pipe Used: Pete's, Savs
PurchasedFrom: Smoking.pipes
Age When Smoked: New to 2 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Strong
Balkan supreme by arango,

Vanilla and oak creaminess , warm spice on the retrohale. Mid part through the bowl it started picking up some sweetness that reminded me of citrus peel and berry flavors. Latakia presence is big , but it doesn’t overpower the orientals. They both work together, orientals providing the complexity and Latakia giving the smoky depth and backbone.

I let this one dry out for 5 hours and it smokes effortlessly now. I bought 4 oz just to try the blend - but I definitely want to cellar a pound. ⅔ into the bowl the fruit flavors are rising as well as the acidity - this is such a nice smoke !

Well , overall this is an awesome English/Balkan , not even sure if age will benefit it . It might calm the flavors down into mediocrity. I will age some to see , but encourage you all to give it a go right away.
Pipe Used: Ser Jacapo bent dublin
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 2019- fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2019 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
After sampling a few bowls of Arango, I can easily understand how most lovers of Balkan blends find this mixture appealing & I concur with some of the other reviewers in that it is somewhat similar to the BSOM. However, although similar it seems to me that it does lack that certain subtle sweetness & unique flavoring of the "Original" mixture that I tasted in each & every draw. It does possess some sweetness as the varied tobaccos begin to interact after about maybe one third of the way down through the smoking session & at the halfway point is when it really begins the melding process reaching a truly exhilarating Balkan flavor.

I guess this contains some Turkish Yenidje but couldn't tell for sure & If not, whatever Orientals used seemed to act as a fitting substitute. My one half pound bag arrived with the perfect moisture content, meaning that it required some drying to be at a proper smoking level. I think many so called Balkan blends are more English than Balkan due to a Latakia overload that detracts from the flavor of the Oriental, unsweetened Cavendish & other varietals.

The aroma of Arango from the pouch is enticing & one can immediately determine that it is not overladen with Latakia but rather seems to be just the right amount for a Balkan, considering the aroma & smoking flavor. I do not consider this a Latakia bomb as others have stated. I have many additional varietals on hand to alter the taste of any blend of this nature & can add to it just about anything to alter the flavor to bring it closer to the "original" or whatever suits my taste preference... like maybe a little extra Yenidje, maybe a smidgeon of Vanilla flavored Cavendish, vintage Red Virginia Ribbon, etc.

I like it just fine the way it is but I think there is room for improvement. I always like to experiment with blending trying to make something really good a little better or more suitable to my taste preference... & the price? At two saw-bucks for a half pound it's a steal.

Pipe Used: 312 Sterling Pete, Country G/Cob, Cavicchi Dublin
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh Pouch
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2023 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Balkan. English. Who cares? This is a superb medium strength Latakia-forward blend that holds its own with the best from Peretti, C&D and GL Pease.

Tasty and yummy and in my personal top 10 blends.
Pipe Used: Ascorti
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
My first impression was "it is very intense for me", but after a while, I like it a lot. It is a very intense aroma of a supreme exponent of a Balkan mixture. With strong aromas, nice smoke, and good temperature, invite you to a complex and nice smoke. Good for an evening with nature or reading a book in a quiet room.
Pipe Used: Peterson Aran Smooth Nickel Mounted
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: 1
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 15, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
The addition of a substantial amount of latakia in a blend does not make it full by or in itself. Having said that, yes, this is a rather good and satisfying blend. The sweetened black Cavendish it contains marries quite well with the smoky profile of the latakia, and the inclusion of both Virginia and Oriental leaf adds a sweet and spicy dimension to the formula. This is a Balkan forward blend, that is, an English mixture, with sour and vanilla or chocolatey undernotes. I am finding the smoke progression sublime getting better and better every quarter of your bowl. It could be smoked all day, but I'd recommend it as an evening blend to wind yourself down after work. I cannot detect any toppings or tongue-bite, and the room note is smokey and pleasant. Because of the addition of Virginia leaf, I can see a huge cellaring potential here. In addition to this, it is easy to find and the price tag means you can never go wrong even if you do not like it in the end, so 4 stars this time.

06 August 2021 (edit):

I have added a small amount of burley to this tobacco and it has improved a lot. I did this because I thought that such a nice combination of Orientals and Latakia was somehow lacking in strength and body. Against this fuller backdrop, and taking into account the previous candied fruit notes, it reminds me a lot of the former Balkan Sobranie.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
After sampling a few bowls of Arango, I can easily understand how most lovers of Balkan blends find this mixture appealing & I concur with some of the other reviewers in that it is somewhat similar to the BSOM. However, although similar it seems to me that it does lack that certain subtle sweetness & unique flavoring of the "Original" mixture that I tasted in each & every draw. It does possess some sweetness as the varied tobaccos begin to interact after about maybe one third of the way down through the smoking session & at the halfway point is when it really begins the melding process reaching a truly exhilarating Balkan flavor. Also, is there Yenidje in this mixture? I don't think so but couldn't tell for sure but If not, the other Orientals seemed to act as a fitting substitute.

My one half pound bag arrived with the perfect moisture content, meaning that it required some drying to be at a proper smoking level. I think many so called Balkan blends are more English than Balkan due to a Latakia overload that detracts from the flavor of the Oriental & other varietals. The aroma of Arango from the pouch is enticing & one can immediately determine that it is not overladen with Latakia but rather seems to be just the right amount for a Balkan, considering the aroma & smoking flavor. I do not consider this a Latakia bomb as others have stated.

I have many additional varietals on hand to alter the taste of any blend of this nature & can add to it just about anything to alter the flavor to bring it closer to the "original" or whatever suits my taste preference... like maybe a little extra Yenidje, maybe a smidgeon of Vanilla flavored Cavendish, vintage red Virginia, etc. I like it just fine the way it is but I think there is room for improvement. I always like to experiment with blending trying to make something really good a little better or more suitable to my taste preference... & the price? At two saw-bucks for a half pound it's a steal.

Pipe Used: 312 Sterling Pete, Country Cob, Cavicchi Dublin
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: Recently obtained
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2024 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Dawning from the auspices of the Arango Cigar Company comes an award-winning Balkan compote affectionally known as Balkan Supreme; can you really be any more obvious on that one? Made by STG, this renown blend targets the elegant synthesis of boldly seasoned Latakia, singular Samsun Oriental leaf, mixed Virginian, and a helpful blessing of plain Black Cavendish. With its passage into the bowl, the tobacco strives to excel the piper into an experience of succulent Balkan excellence that originates from the distant lands of Turkish Oriental splendor.

It should be understood that the bulk processed, medium-full Balkan Supreme bestows a well-cultured mantle. Exceedingly shadowy in overcasting, the reception is staged by an expertly cut invention of delicate ribbon that is finely manicured in originality. It is in fact almost shag-like with its embodiment of wiry intricate strands. A variegated palette of experienced tobaccos shows the brilliance of olive, bronze, dark chocolate/cocoa, and an ascending scale of tans beautifully corralled by a massing of stoney blackness. Texturally, the surface is glossed by a display of incrusted Balkan armor as the very leaves wear a coat of achieved patina. Moreover, they are hewn and barbed with convincing old worldliness given their state of progression. And the level of residing moisture is categorically most optimum in a word.

In gathering a respectable position on this tobacco’s jar essence, what declares is an exceptionally bright tart and an egregiously pungent flushing within the leading push of the rested aroma. Underlying this gainful blast, waves of settled creosote and altered wood mainstream the secondary airs. Furthermore, a swilling of festered spices mount within the peripherals, eluding to a secular herbal-nutty quality as a modest tinge of churning citrus beckons in the distance. And yet there is a tethering sweetness that affords a softening touch to the overall fragrance. Expressive, yes most assuredly.

All told, in describing Balkan Supreme’s specialty, much like the depicted aroma, you meet with an encounter that centers upon a piquant spiciness. Within are provoking notes of seasoned char laced with an expanded herbal, musty pungency. Generously, there is a supportive undertone of tangy sweetness that evolves from the combined leaves that gives the standard profile a mark of crafted equity. The blend demonstrates considerable depth, moving complexity, and highlighting through its registration that is given, but in truth, the evolution of the Latakia-Samsun fusion is clearly the tobacco’s most distinguishing feature. With that, what comes to pass is a richness of character that makes it feel like it should be of the expensive sort although it is not.

If I were to simplify matters, I would have to state that the resident Cyprian yields the largest impersonation within the composite profile. It commands either independently or within the proportioned symphony of taste offering a healthy balance of choice earthy wood and date-like fruitiness. Further garnishments are revealed with darker sour charr, musty pungency like that of a common mushroom, and a brushing of tarter umami. Still, there is a reasonable demonstration of incense smokiness and a minor tinting of raw chafed leather. What stands apparent is that the quality of the leaf is decidedly excellent as it brings a lovely chord of genuine fullness and depth to the blend’s relative intensity.

As previously represented, the gathered Oriental and the absorbing Latakia become virtually inseparable in arriving at a more impeccable exotic flavorsomeness. However, when standing proud, the Oriental exhibits a greenish wispy floral that engenders a light minty-sprucy quality. You can catch impressions of what I believe to be aromatic oolong tea at times and a unique pronouncement that borrows from a bit of brown mustard herbs and almond nuttiness. Like the Latakia, the Samsun carries a degree of milder pungency yet there is an inherent brighter spicy sweetness that remarks with the impression of a diluted saccharine all be it wholesomely natural in origin.

Following the Balkan script, the combined Virginia is fairly well absorbed in a state of relegated complementing. Within the subtleties of nuance, the projected influences of seasoned Red fruitwood quietly roll up into the underlying sweetness, yet they are shyly apparent to a limited degree. For that matter, with more focused discernment the discovery of minor lemony accents and some semblance of distant aged grass emerged while the relatable punctuation tends to be bready and streaked with a hinting of caramelized floral spice.

The dimensions of the ensuing room aroma leave no stones unturned as to the excitement churning within the burning cone of tobacco. A shrilling portrayal of spiced sweetly goodness boldly blankets a standard perfume that accentuates the intricacies of the relating native components. Materially what manifests is a seasoned bouquet that is colorized with all the extremities. Dark, highly spiced, smokey and elegantly sweet afford Balkan Supreme with a tolerable to pleasing character of dignity.

Aside from an inkling of roughness that insignificantly abrades the rear upper palate, the enduring texture is mellowed in smoothness and the resonance of the tobacco’s standing feels all but buttery. In fact, I had scored this one perfectly on base mechanicals and admirably high on critical genre deliverables as well as flavor plus common leaf attributes. Given the comprising tobaccos within the recipe there should be no fear of the ill effects of nicotine residuals. But I would offer that the satiating earnestness and vivacity of its laced spirit best lends itself to an occasional charismatic partaking.

Based upon my qualifying description of what suffices as an authentic Balkan blend, hopefully I have presented a convincing depiction of just how nicely Arango’s subject entry follows the written course. If nothing else, I am optimistic that the trueness of its extended merits has been successfully conveyed. Conclusively, Arango Balkan Supreme stands as one noteworthy tobacco by all objective measurable standards. And to be completely transparent I should freely admit that, on a personal note, it is one of my most revered Balkan renditions. Given the latter omission, I can therefore unconditionally recommend it to any piper that seeks an enthralling encounter with a tobacco that is classical in its distinguished design let alone the marvel of its enjoyable achievements.
.
Objective Scoring: (basis: flavor, standard genre/leaf attributes & mechanicals): 190/206 ? 3.02 WAVG.

Subjective Rating: (factored for likeability & cost): 3.8 Pipes.


0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 21, 2023 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
First Take: This is an exceptional Balkan.

This is a rich, bold, flavorful blend. It has a toastiness that greets you on first light and stays with you the entire bowl. This blend has an umami quality that suggests it would be a perfect smoke after a big steak or backyard burger. There's a natural sweetness reminiscent of toasted wheat or roasted peanut shells. It is pleasing from first light to ash.

I found all of the flavor of this blend at the low end. All of the nuance went away as soon as this blend got hot. This smoke would be a waste on a windy day.

Nicotine in this blend matches the richness of the tobacco. The aftertaste is primarily nutty. It burns clean, leaves no moisture in the bowl, smokes beautifully, and only required a relight after I tamped.

If you like Balkans, this is a must try.
Pipe Used: Ser Jacopo Hawkbill
Age When Smoked: 3 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"