Arango Balkan Supreme

(3.75)
Full bodied and latakia laden, Balkan Supreme combines the aforementioned with fine Orientals, Virginias, black cavendish, and Turkish Samsun to produce an award-winning smoke.
Notes: Arango Cigar Co, out of Northbrook, Illinois, are distributors of not only cigars, but also pipes, lighters, and pipe tobacco, including their own bulk blend, Balkan Supreme, which was named best English blend at the Chicago show in 2014.

Details

Brand Arango
Blended By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Black Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.75 / 4
48

7

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 59 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
PKT
Sep 27, 2019 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
A fully satisfying Balkan with full flavor and a creamy smoke. The black cavendish makes a difference. Taste most satisfying in a good sized pot. Arrived a little on the dry side but very smokable.
Pipe Used: Wilke pot, Wilke bent bulldog, Everyman billard
PurchasedFrom: Tobacco Pipes
Age When Smoked: Bulk
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 16, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Life’s like a box of chocolates – ya’ never know what you’re gonna’ get.

After reading all the nice things people had to say about this Arango Balkan Supreme, I just couldn’t wait to try me some Arango Balkan Supreme. So I got two pounds of it.

It says in the notes for this Balkan Supreme that it won Best English Blend at the 2014 Chicago Pipe Show. After I tried some Arango Balkan Supreme I can see how it won a prize for Best English Blend at the 2014 Chicago Pipe Show – it was just that good.

Some people say this Arango Balkan Supreme is actually made by another man with the name of Mr. Peter Stokkebye – and that this Mr. Stockkebye also calls it Balkan Supreme. Whether it’s Mr. Arango’s Balkan Supreme or Mr. Stokkebye’s Balkan Supreme really doesn’t matter all that much to me. What matters to me is what come in the box that the UPS man delivered to my front doorstep.

When I opened the box, Balkan Supreme smelled a whole lot like smoke – but real smoky smoke – the kind of smoke you get when you burn wood chips, tree bark and dried leaves all at the same time, only from a little distance. And it tastes a lot like the same way it smells, except only better and sweeter (but not sugary-sweet, the way a stack of Mama’s buttermilk pancakes all smothered in maple syrup would taste). Some people say they can taste chocolate in this Balkan Supreme, but I didn’t taste any chocolate. I did taste sweet and spicy all at the same time however. If this is what people call a “Lat-Bomb,” then I guess I must like Lat-Bombs, because I sure do like this Balkan Supreme.

Call me crazy, but if I didn’t know any better, I could swear that Mr. Arango or Mr. Stokkebye or whoever made this stuff up might have put just a teensy-weensy dewdrop of chipotle adobo into his Balkan Supreme – but I could be wrong about that.

I believe this is the least expensive pipe tuhbakkuh I have ever bought. Mama would say it's "cheaper than chips," but I wouldn’t call Balkan Supreme “cheap” because that would imply a second-rate or substandard product, and Balkan Supreme is neither second-rate or substandard by any stretch of the imagination, but rather one of the finer creations I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying in the bowl of a briar. And based on what other people say, I expect this Balkan Supreme to taste a whole lot better after spending some quiet time inside a fruit jar and stored in a very dark closet along with all the rest of my tuhbakkuhs.

I haven’t smoked all that many tuhbakkuhs compared to a lot of people on this website, but I know what good tuhbakkuh tastes like. This tuhbakkuh tastes as good as any tuhbakkuh I have ever had. So I gave Balkan Supreme 4-stars.

And that's about all I got to say about that.

5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
ATW
Sep 17, 2018 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Most of us know that Balkan supreme is a multi branded blend between Arango and Peter Stokkebye and simply being branded as Balkan supreme. This is a great blend at a great price. Latakia forward with a nice round smooth flavor. This for me is similar to Hearth and Home Ten to Midnight. But I like this blend much more vs. Ten to Midnight due to it being less sweet. Also very similar to Ashton's Artisans Blend. Even though the Latakia in Balkan Supreme is Cyprian, both blends have a similar inscent smoky quality. Middle of the road blend that can be enjoyed all day at a great bulk price.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
Great Balkan bag note, with the smoky Latakia leading the way. Nice thick cut ribbons with a few wider chunks, 60% Black and 40% brown, approximately. Good moisture level from the bag. Packing is a simple stuff and tamp, which typically leads to a 1-3 relight smoke. Initial taste is a deep, smoky sweet leathery Latakia. After the first few puffs the magic begins as the bowl warms. Notes of dark chocolate, cedar, sandalwood, and leather dominate, creating a dance of flavors as the bowl progresses. Sometimes chocolate takes the lead, and then gives way to cedar, which then fades to leather and incense. Sweetness is understated but always present at a complimentary level. Occasional whiffs of fresh roasted coffee beans and floral notes begin past midway, creating a wonderful sensation of Turkish coffee and chocolate cake. Not much brininess as with some Cyprian Latakia heavy blends. Burns cool and at a medium pace, with very little moisture. Nicotine is on the mild side of medium, allowing for repeat sessions in a day or evening. Gets much better after 3-12 months in the cellar, with the flavors melding overall, but allowing more nuanced layers of flavors, by rounding the sharp edges of youth. Overall a great mild but complex Balkan, which I highly recommend!
Pipe Used: Various briars
Age When Smoked: Fresh, 3 months, 1 year
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 04, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Cool, Tastey English, Nice Range of Flavors

[Tin/Bag - Old shoe leather, then a little smokiness. Moisture ready to go.]

Great-Full-Balkan. Smooth blue Latakia conjures in the mind upon light. Not super heavy in the smokiness. A little lemony tang and spice. No burning candles quite, which I often get a sense of with intense Latakias. Tiny hint of wood, then some pretty strong spice and nose tingle after stoking and tamping well. More spice less of the smooth latakia back and forth as it goes along, with small detection of virgina periodically in the retrohale. I really like this one.

A little more spice than Stokkebye Luxury English. Like it about the same, but a little more. Burns excellent, cool, no moisture left over, easily managed.

A little more full or roundedness than HH 10 to Midnight. Better burning too. Arango/Stokkebye = much better price too. Smoked up to one saved bowl left, which was saved to compare to the 5 pounds that are en route for delivery. Great any time smoke!
Pipe Used: Diplomat Cob, Kirsten, HWiebe, Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com, PipesAndCigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh to 5 months
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Looks like a Balkan, smells like a Balkan, kinda smokes like a Balkan.

Quite dark to look at with the Latakia and black Cavendish, a few strands of lighter Virginia, but definitely a dark Tobacco.

It stinks of Latakia, which I love, big and smokey, starts getting me excited for a Latakia laden smoke.

The charing light presents an almost flowery, pungent somewhat indescribable array of flavour, which disappears a quick as it presents itself, somewhat unique and very enticing. Once lit and smoking the same flavour is present, but takes seat next to an array of more familiar flavours.

I'm going to keep this short as I want to smoke a bit more before I formulate a definite opinion. The reason for this is I'm not totally agreeing with other commentors, and don't want to do the tobacco an injustice, but right now for me I have to say I'm really rather underwhelmed. Let me leave it at that and revisit this review after a few more smokes.
Pipe Used: Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
As its name indicates, it is a good quality Balkan blend, with a good balance between smooth and tasty. It produces a smoke with a silky texture that is very pleasant to the mouth. I have the impression that it burns faster than average. Highly recommended
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I first tried Balkan Supreme last summer after receiving a generous sample from one of our members (thebriarpatchforum.com). It lasted about a week. This review is based on that sample and many subsequent bowls.

Sometimes a smell or odor reminds me of a person or event from my past. This can be pleasant, but sometimes not so much. In the case of Balkan Supreme, the tin note took my mind on a journey that I could only describe as intoxicatingly nostalgic.

It’s a cold, clear and very quiet night. I’m alone in a rural setting. It’s likely late November. The stillness is broken when I smell smoke from a nearby chimney. That’s my impression of the tin note.

The tobacco barely contains any moisture. Upon lighting, my olfactory senses are blissfully flooded. I note wood, incense, campfire notes , and a mouthwatering citrus-sour note that’s sweet. It’s essentially smokey, leathery, and creamy.

It burns at a moderate pace. It’s full in body, and the nicotine level is slightly less than medium. It’s never harsh, even with quick puffing. It smokes well in cobs and various briars.

Balkan Supreme is not an all day smoke. It works best for me at the end of the day. I highly recommend it.
Age When Smoked: Fresh and three months
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 31, 2018 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I guess I'm officially a Balkan fan now, after falling in love first with C&D's Super Balkan, and now this one.

A full but soft and sweet smoke. Wonderful to smoke, but even better in the after taste, where I'm getting loads of lingering woody sweetness, probably mostly from Samsun -- though I'm guessing the Black Cavendish and Virginia contribute.

Comparing this to Super Balkan, I can guess at how it is different because of the absence of Perique: especially because Balkan Supreme is a bit softer and cedar-like. I love them both a ton, but I have to say that this may be the better offering (though these are both effortless 4 star blends)!

If you are wanting an approachable smoker, that is still very satisfying for the experienced smoker, you may try this before Super Balkan. If you want that Perique spice and kick, go for C&D's excellent offering. Get them both to compare.

Highly recommended. Will definitely return to this in greater quantities.
Pipe Used: Amadeus Bent Billiard
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 week old
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2018 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
A wonderful mid-strength Balkan, leans toward the English side. Big, rich flavor is the selling point. Smooth start, gradual flavor ramp-up, wonderful smoke to the end of the bowl. Arrived in bulk bag ready to smoke, no drying necessary. Upon researching the brand's media presence I would call it highly underrated. A great smoke by any measure.
Pipe Used: medium briar pot, petite meerschaum churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: new
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"