Cult Blood Red Moon

(3.14)
This dark, decadent blend combines fire-cured cavendish, bright Virginias and burleys with the delicious aromas of natural Royal Ann cherry and dark chocolate. A bit sweet, extremely rich, and unquestionably smooth.

Details

Brand Cult
Blended By  
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Company
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Cherry, Cocoa / Chocolate
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.14 / 4
62

31

22

11

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 22 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 13, 2015 Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Good cherry blend but a little too sweet for me. Easy to light and smoke. The Burley and Cavendish are a little covered up by the topping. Not something I would buy but would smoke again if offered to me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2022 Very Mild Strong Medium Pleasant
Curiosity and cool tin art finally got the best of me. Tin note is cloying cherry cough syrup. Thankfully, this doesn't translate to the smoke itself. I got a lot of cherry, not so much chocolate, although I searched hard for it. Tobacco is way, way in the background. Honestly, it's not horrible for this non-aromatic smoker. But I find it hard to get through a bowl, as I just grow tired of the sweetness and lack of depth to the blend. The most unpleasant part is cleaning a pipe after smoking this, the chemical smell just overwhelms. This will ghost so use a cheap cob or dedicated pipe. I'd give it one star but it earns an extra because as these super sweet aromatics go, it's well done. Just not for me.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2021 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
A little too artificial. A strong scent of marzipan and cherry welcome you when opening the tin. Very moist dark flakes that need some drying. Strong flavour of artificial cherry that makes it no a favourite of mine
Pipe Used: Briar
PurchasedFrom: CigarWorld
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2020 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
Cult Blood Red Moon. Upon opening the tin, you are greeted with a hard candy cherry aroma. The tobacco was just shy of being goopy. It delivers on the cherry flavor, but It is very much an artificial cherry flavor. Sometimes with the artificial cherry flavor, there is a bit of off-putting acrid flavor, almost like a chemical. Unfortunately, this had it for me. I won't be purchasing again.
Pipe Used: Bones Squat Brandy
PurchasedFrom: smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: 7 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2019 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The first aromatic in my return foray into Pipe smoking. I went with the previous reviews and decided to give it a go. The cherry aroma is apparent at the crack of the tin. It has a cherry cordial aroma with soft vanilla to it. Very moist. It packed and smoked well. I am not a cherry fan, but this grew on me. Four bowls later and as the tobacco dried a little I appreciate it a bit more. Not an everyday smoke but a good aromatic in the rotation. Compliments a whisky or bourbon to a tee.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Cobbit Shire
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: unknown recent purchase
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2019 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
I am quite partial to cherry flavored anything so I couldn’t wait to try this blend. Many people have said they don’t taste the chocolate, I have to disagree. For me at least this blend tastes like chocolate covered cherries. Which is a pleasant flavor however the chemical notes in this tobacco are strong, coating my entire mouth every time I smoke it. I don’t have to explain why this is problem. While the flavor and room note are pleasant it isn’t enough to save this tobacco. The Virginia’s do their part and nothing more. I guess my search will continue for a decent cherry flavored blend.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2018 Very Mild Mild to Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
Tin note extremely pleasant. Smells strongly of cherries and chocolate, with hints of other fruits and some some spice from the tobacco. Takes a light well, but did struggle to stay lit after about 2/3 of the bowl. Smoke very mild without much nicotine. Cherry flavor is maintained in the smoke, but nothing else comes through strongly.
Pipe Used: Briar
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2024 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Didn't quite live up to the hype for me. The cherry is too artificial tasting.
Pipe Used: Morgan bones
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 27, 2024 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
This blend is worth trying, especially if you like cherry flavored tobacco. I must say, it is one of the strongest flavored aromatics I have tried. Very sweet and flavor forward. I didn't believe in ghosts until I smoked this blend, then it haunted me for the next 5 smokes in the pipe I used. It's flavor could be described as cloying. It's done well in that it smokes nicely and tastes as advertised. But it's a bit to intense on the cherry flavor and leaves me wanting more of the tobacco taste. Like I said, worth a try.
Pipe Used: Cobs
PurchasedFrom: Pipes & Cigars
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 10, 2023 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
3 bowl min before review is my rule...

Good but not great for me. Out of the tin the smell was intoxicating. All the exceptions lived up to it. Deep notes of chocolate covered cherries and a bit of sweetness. When smoking I got the dark chocolate and cherry notes for sure, just not as pronounced for others. I think the tobacco smokes really well. Little to no relights after the char. Enjoyed it a little more when I paired it with a Dr. Cherry Pepper or Dark Roast Coffee with some French Vanilla Cream.

I would purchase again. And I am going to add some Capt. Black Cherry to the mix to enhance the cherry to the dark chocolate smokiness. The room note is neutral. Noting that I would hype and nothing that would be offensive. Smoke is white and heavy at times. Sipping is able to do well but will heat up if you are not taking your time.
Pipe Used: Pyrok Meerschaum, Alpha Sitting Dublin
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: Fresh Tin and within a week of reviews
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"