Mac Baren Virginia No. 1

(2.78)
In 1955 Virginia No. 1 was introduced to the world’s pipe smokers, and today Virginia No. 1 is one of the Mac Baren Classics. The natural sweetness from the carefully selected Virginia tobaccos, are to be enjoyed every time you light up this magnificent blend. In addition to a slow, cool smoke this ready rubbed blend gives you the slightly sweet smoke. Try the Virginia No. 1 and find out for yourself why Virginia No. 1 is reckoned as a Mac Baren Classic Blend.
Notes: Introduced in 1957, according to Mac Baren's website. Introduced in 1955, according to the tin description.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Sweet / Sugar
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 100 grams tin weight, 100 grams pouch weight
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.78 / 4
71

108

55

38

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 271 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2020 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
If you are a lover of Virginia tobacco and you don't like this, something is wrong. It is the epitome of a wonderful Virginia tobacco. Sweet with slight tastes of fruit and sugar without being cloying or wet. The best smoke is derived from smoking gently and slowly and savoring the incredible aroma, just as with any good Virginia. I currently buy it in bulk and have used it for decades from the tin and I can not notice a difference in taste or quality between the tin variety and the bulk.
Pipe Used: Many different sized pipes and bowls
PurchasedFrom: Sherlocks Haven and 4Noggins
Age When Smoked: From fresh to several years old
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 14, 2019 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
A mild, sweet, aromatic straight virginia. It is topped with various sugars, PG, rum, licorice, and unknown flavoring as per the German BMEL website: https://service.bmel.de/tabakerzeugnisse/index2.php?detail_id=104932&site_key=153&stichw_suche=Arnold+Andr&zeilenzahl_zaehler=164&NextRow=50

I think it is all bright virginias and they are very good. Flavor is mild and some added sweetness from the casing/topping. You also taste some of the added flavors in the background throughout the bowl. The virginias are a little muddled by the added flavors, but it is still a pleasant, smooth, mild smoke with a touch of spice. Very mild nicotine.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2018 Medium Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant
Hay, Grass. I was searching for a no-nonesense, no pretence simple clean tobacco. Far away from the snobby other tobaccos. And this is it. It's like a Fender Stratocaster.
Pipe Used: Corn Cob, Stanwell Canadian 60's
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
This is a very good Virginia tobacco. It loads well into a pipe. It lights well and burns smoothly. It has the sweet taste of a very good Virginia and is refreshing after smoking heavy Latakia blends.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 06, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Every time I smoke this I wonder why I do not try this more often. One of my favorites using the ole corn cob. It has a wonderful aroma and a nice sweet taste that mellows out to a pleasant grassy note. Slightly bites but not really enough to matter. My Nov 2012 lb bag says it was introduced in 1955 vice 1957 as stated in this web's description.
Pipe Used: General Corn Cob
Age When Smoked: 5 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2017 Very Mild Very Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
This was one of the first blends i smoked. One of them. I mean, it wasnt my very first bowl of borkhum riff original, and it wasnt one of the myriad aromatic house blends i picked up from the tobacconist when i asked for something "smoother than borkhum riff original" either. It wasnt even frog morton (mind=blown). So, come to think of it, i guess it wasnt one of the very first blends i smoked. What i mean to say is that i smoked this blend in my very early piping days, back before i knew my castellos from my caminettos (or comoys, for that matter). Before i had a pipe or three dedicated to my favorite blends, before i knew you should dedicate pipes to similar genres, or that there were genres of pipe tobacco. So i mean, a while ago. At that time, i thought that this was a cigarette like, hot, bitey catastrophe. Into a mason jar it went. Life went on. I kept smoking my latakia bombs and reading pretentious reviews of nightcap here. Suffice it to say, that if one is lucky, with time and experience comes growth. I learned to smoke so not to scorch myself. I learned that sometimes simple and inexpensive are not synonymous with crap. I learned to follow my interest and tastes where they led me. I tasted Carter Hall! Long story short, i picked up the jar again. So glad i did. I find it now to be fairly cool burning for a mac baren va product. Certainly it could bite if puffed, but i have not been bitten. It is very nearly my favorite straight virginia to date. A mild, hay like plum and spice experience. Perfect moisture content, very easy to stuff and light, very enticing odor in the jar. It is quite sweet, but i feel some of these reviews overstate its sweetness by a good deal. It is not cloyingly so, overall the spice note seems to balance the sweetness nicely. There is a sourish fresh piquancy that i adore, like the dryness in one's mouth from biting into a tart crab apple. Its not an over the top smoke, it is subtle, sweet, pleasant. A year of age makes it a thing of beauty, so much so that i have a pound aging presently. If you appreciate such a classic offering as Orlik Golden Sliced, i cannot imagine you would not be satisfied with this. I will hopefully never be without it.
Pipe Used: Cobs, meerschaums, briar
PurchasedFrom: Smokers Haven
Age When Smoked: New to 3 years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2017 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
Oh how we forget the good ole basics. This blend uses some really top quality Virginias in its blend. The tin opening reveals a beautiful palomino color hard cast Virginias. The aroma is that grassy earthy aroma. After a good rubbing the tobacco breaks down very easy. Light up was fine and as you would expect burn is quick and fairly hot as you would expect. Taste is that slightly sweet hay and grassy taste. This is like it was back in the good ole days before all these fancy aromatics and super blends. This is just a good ole basic Virginia blend that must be smoked slowly not to destroy the flavor not to mention a huge bite if you lose control of the smoke. You usually don't need a relight but that's OK 👌🏻 if ya do as it means you smoking nice a easy. The room note is outstanding with a light sweet smoky hay aroma that is very pleasing. This is how it was five decades ago when there were just simple straight forward blends. I truly enjoyed this smoke. Would it be in my rotation? No but it is worth a nice slow smoke from time to time.
Pipe Used: Meerschaum
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 05, 2016 Very Mild Very Mild Mild Tolerable
A revised recipe or different components are used to make this blend from what I recall. It has been at least 10 years or so since I have smoked this Mac Baren/Sutliff offering. I agree with Pipestud it is topped with something but for me it doesn't diminish the quality of the Virginia's too badly. I give it a thumbs up and I think it's a pretty fair offering though a bit expensive. Yes there are better and more economically priced Va's available but I would smoke this one in a pinch Perhaps a few years down the road if it's still around I'll pick up another tin.
Pipe Used: Briar
PurchasedFrom: P&C and Smoking Pipes.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Experienced pipe smokers will recognize that the sizes of a pipe's bowl and packing methods, in their wide variety, deeply affect the smoker's ability to take pleasure from a blend of tobacco.

Most Mac Baren blends, and Virginia no. 1 is certainly no exception, are usually best smoked in medium to large-sized bowls, so as to allow for very loose packing of the blend. I believe that the overall impression that this and other blends from the same manufacturer produce tasteless, hot smoke comes from an inability of finding a suitable way of packing the pipe.

Because Mac Baren produces blends with an unusual diversity of cuts, often the inability to recognize the best packing method immediately condemns the blend for the smoker who is thus incapable of obtaining any gratification. This is a disgust I know first-hand, having wasted several ounces of their tobacco as a result of similarly poor experiences.

Virginia no. 1 has long been presented as a broken flake, perhaps too easily rubbed. The most pleasurable bowls I had with this blend were those where I did little rubbing. Depending on the size/height of the bowl, two to three generous portions off the tin or packet should suffice, with little or no pressure of the finger applied between layers. Perhaps a sprinkling of crumbs from the bottom of the packet on top may make it easier to light the bowl.

The packet version of the blend comes most of the time with the right degree of humidity, requiring little or no control of this factor upon opening it. When packed correctly, the blend offers a modest but pleasurable and sincere range of flavours; between hints of honey and hazelnuts for the first half, to a more grassy tone near the very end.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Apr 15, 2014 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Very good VA. A touch of sweetness, particularly when sipped, with the spice most noticed on the retrohale. VA/brown notes more pronounced than Royal Yacht, which comes across as consistently sweeter, more full, and stronger. VA No. 1 burns clean and smooth through the bowl. 4-*.
Pipe Used: Italian Basket 35+ years old, MM
PurchasedFrom: CI
Age When Smoked: Tin dated SEP 2013
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"