Mac Baren Vanilla Cream Loose Cut

(2.89)
This colorful blend consists of loose cut Virginia tobaccos, light brown Burleys, a sweet and soft Modern Cavendish. It is finally mixed with small plugs of flake tobacco. After processing, the tobaccos are gently mixed together and an exceptional vanilla flavor is added. This selection creates an outstanding blend with superior flavor, unique aroma and a distinctive taste experience.
Notes: Introduced in 1999. Due to EU regulations this is now re-named in those countries as "Classic Loose Cut".

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cream, Vanilla
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 100 grams tin weight, 100 grams pouch weight, bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.89 / 4
103

113

63

37

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 113 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2013 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
A creamy vanilla smoke that burns at a moderate pace, and isn't so sweet that it overpowers the smoker. I get a little honey and very light fruit taste that adds a very mild balance to the mix. The brown sugary black cavendish is a little more than a condiment. The grassy, tart and tangy citrusy, sugary, bready, bright and gold Virginias are the base of the blend. They also provide light tangy darker fruit, earth, wood along with slight honey, floral, spice notes. The nutty, earthy, woody burleys are secondary players. It's a mild all day smoke with not much complexity as by intentional design. Has little nicotine. The strength is mild. The taste level almost reaches the center of mild to medium. Burns cool and clean with a very consistent flavor from top to bottom. Leaves little dampness at the finish. Requires a tad more than an average number of relights. No chance of bite or harshness. Has a very pleasant room note, and lightly lingering after taste. Can be an all day smoke. People will like to be around you when you smoke it, so expect to be social when you're out and about in public.

-JimInks
64 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 29, 2016 Very Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I always like to look at the negative reviews when I am ready to review a tobacco to see what experiences other people had. Many times, and there is no exception here, the qualities that people complain about are due to a lack of smoking experience and/or ignorance. I in no way mean to sound like an elitist, but many, many people simply do not know how to smoke a pipe, and especially virginias. I have been there, so let me tell you how to do it so that you can stop suffering and start enjoying more blends.

The two main complaints about this tobacco are that (1) it is very mild in flavor; and (2) that it produces tongue bite. With respect to the first issue, yes, this is a medium to mild tasting aromatic. Everyone tastes things differently, so some people may not be able to pick up on the subtleties of flavor that this blend offers, but the flavor, albeit medium to mild, is there.

Most likely they are experiencing a poor flavor experience because of the second complaint, which is the tongue bite. Let me state with absolute certainty that if you are smoking this blend at the correct humidity, and not puffing overly hard, that there is no tongue bite. Zero. Both puffing to keep it lit, and tongue bite, happen because people smoke their tobaccos, especially virginias, too moist. DRY IT OUT. DRY IT OUT. DRY IT OUT!!!!! This particular tobacco is not especially moist out of the tin, but I still let it sit spread out in an old milkglass bowl for 30 minutes or more. IF IT STILL FEELS MOIST TO YOUR TOUCH, IT IS FAR, FAR TOO MOIST TO SMOKE!!! I promise that if you let this dry out to the touch before you pack your pipe, you will (1) have no issues keeping it lit once you establish a good char from the false light, and (2) will not experience tongue bite, both because you have removed the excess moisture, and because you no longer have to puff like a madman to keep your overly wet tobacco lit. This is also an excellent test of what your tobacco has been coated with, because cheap blends coated in excess PG will never dry out (at least not within a reasonable period of time, less than an hour).

You do not have to take my word for it, put me to the test. If you have been bit by this tobacco, or any mixture, smoking in your regular way, spread a bowls worth out on a plate or bowl and let it sit for 2 or three times longer than you think is necessary, at least 20 minutes. When you go to smoke it you will find that even though the tobacco feels very dry (a sign of a quality blend not saturated with PG) the ribbons will still have plenty of spring and will not just crumble, meaning that they still have plenty of moisture for smoking purposes. Then literally, put it in your pipe and smoke it! Don't over-pack it, and don't make the packing process too complicated. Just put a pinch in, tap the side of your pipe a few times, and repeat until your within 1/8 inch or so of the top of the bowl. It will take a few false lights to get it going, but once you do you will find that the it burns readily, stays light without heavy puffing, and the bite is gone.

Maybe I am a dummy but it took me years to figure this out. Of course, some blends are going to take far less time to dry out. Any good non-aromatic blend should be ready to go in no more than 5 or ten minutes. And some blends do have a tendency to bite (but this is not one of them). Sometimes it is the condition of the leaf used, such as very sugary virginias, and sometimes there is a casing, such as any high sugar topping, that is going to create some additional bite potential. Regardless, by doing this I assure you that you will have reduced the propensity for tongue bite from whatever you are smoking by 75% or more, with a similar increase in smoking pleasure. If it dries to the point where it crumbles into dust when you rub it between your fingers, you have gone too far. Let my years of trial and error, and ignorance, be to your benefit!

Ok, with that said, on to the real review. This is a lovely mixture of virginias, burley, and the Mac Baren Cavendish, which in my estimation is one of the best available. The tin aroma is wonderful, as many have noted, and smells of vanilla and perhaps a little fruit. It is easy to pack and burns very nicely if you do not pack your pipe too firmly.

When properly dried it takes a flame readily after a few false chars. The vanilla flavor, while never overly strong, is most present in the first half or so of the pipe. This makes sense as it is most likely being stoved/evaporated off as you smoke and draw the heat and smoke down through the unlit tobacco. The blend has a medium-mild flavor profile, and if one can offer a critical note it would be that the blend lacks a little backbone due to the absence of more substantial leaf or any condiment leaf like perique, latakia, or orientals. With that said it is true to type and offers a smooth, creamy, consistent smoke from top to bottom of your bowl. The tobacco flavor and strength (not that this is in any way a strong blend) increase somewhat as you move down the bowl.

Overall I prefer the flake to the loose cut. It seems to have that extra richness which this is missing. Not that this is bad, but the flake is better. This is a solid three star light aromatic, and is a very enjoyable vanilla smoke. For a little more flavor and tobacco richness move to the flake. For ease of use and multiple bowls throughout the day this is fine. This is also very pleasant with a cup of coffee.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Autograph, Kai Nielsen Pot
Age When Smoked: new, less than a week old tin
44 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is a tasty blend that smells of vanilla and a little honey in the tin. It appears to be about 1/5 black cavendish. I found it to be slightly moist for my liking but have smoked it as it came from the tin will no ill effects. I tended to use charring light/tamp and relight with this blend, and I think that was a function of the moisture.

When first lit, there is a good bit of vanilla and I can taste the black cavbendish. This settles down quickly, and the smoke is mildly aromatic with a solid golden Virgina foundation. It smoked cool for me, and the Virginia became increasingly dominant as the bowl progressed. The smoke does have a creamy, smooth quality to it that I think is more than the power of suggestion.

I get hints of fruit as well as the vanilla in the flavor. The room note is pleasant. This is a solid 3 on the rating scale. It is probably a 4 if you are looking for a vanilla blend that is subtle and smooth.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 13, 2014 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Strong
I didn't smoke a all pouch because i've been given a sample by a friend. So it's not a review of a long time smoke. The taste and smel are very good. The room note has been very appreciated. The only negative point is the dryness of the mouth by the end of the bowl, wich is normal for an aromatic tobacco. I recommend this tobacco for those who are searching a not strong and nice taste tobacco. Not necessarily for beginners.
Pipe Used: Butz-Choquin Formula 1601
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I have no idea how old this sample is but it was sealed in a Mac Barens factory pouch. Any how it starts out sweet with a nice aroma, by the mid point it really develops a nice flavor w/out the MB bite you hear so much about. Smokes dry and clean with very little moisture. The flavor lightens up at the bottom of the bowl but still holds it's richness from the VA to the end. Anyone looking for a quality aromatic VA (the casing is light) or is just a VA fan needs to give this a shot! Smokes best in a larger bowl!
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 28, 2018 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Mac Baren Vanilla Cream (loose cut)

First off I need to start this off saying that I am ok with English blends, there not my front runner tobaccos but I do enjoy them on occasion, the next thing is I do not understand why one gives a review on a aromatic when they start off by saying "I don't like aromatics but" and then gives a typical bogus review, why this happens? I do not have a clue and can throw off a new smoker badly BUT I do love aromatics so this review is sound and honest. One must understand Mac Baren tobacco blends in that the design mix is never to top in a way that puts the flavoring as the front runner so when it says vanilla cream it means premium tobaccos with a hint of vanilla and cream to compliment the blend not this is a vanilla bomb and is sweet like candy. I have read many reviews where guys are super bummed but because this is not what they thought and another situation I read is the dreaded tounge bite (ouch)!!! This danish pipe tobacco blend is 100% Virginia tobaccos and Cavendish in a non processed way so it will burn hot if smoked hot, in order to enjoy this blend you must smoke it like a gentleman and it will behave leaving you with a awesome taste and white clean ash at the end. Mac Baren is quality not quantity so one must enjoy the tobaccos and savor it to the last end of the bowl, the reward is a smooth natural taste of Virginia with a slightly sweet Cavendish that has the slightest hint of vanilla and the liquors used gives the impression of the ever so slight cream taste that's it. If your looking for something that is on the moist sweet side of things with a heavy topping of vanilla that covers up the taste of tobacco then this would not be your cup of tea. Mac Baren is excellent at what they blend and how they process there tobaccos and adhere to a strict European no toxic additives you gotta realize the laws Denmark must follow so the product you will get is pretty natural and the tastes you will get in there blends are up to that standard resulting in a fine pipe tobaccos. The 7seas line is the closest they come to a full aromatic blended to be more on the American line of things but still with the danish touch. Mac Baren has always strived to deliver high quality pure tobacco taste and lines of pipe tobacco blends to deliver just that and there aromatics are know different. The lightly sweet but tangy goodness of the Virginia's is what draws me to this blend and I love the fact that the vanilla is in the background and just enough to let you know its there, it burns clean and the nicotine level is moderate, it has a nice room note and will not offend others. When I first started smoking Mac Baren products I used to get so flustered that it burnt the heck out of my mouth and the bite was awful but over the years I learned to smoke it correctly and now I absolutely enjoy Mac Baren for all it is and especially this blend. This pipe tobacco is not for the novice pipe smoker unless you can keep your pipe cool and I enjoy ALL types of pipe tobaccos so either you like something or you don't, I'm not a pipe yuppy and focus on chemicals and the OTC goop factor trip or what's popular and what s drug store trash WHATEVER to all that junk, I'm a pipe smoker that smokes tobacco and enjoys it in all is wonderful forms. I recommend this blend because its good.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 39
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2008 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
NB: If you can?t stand aromatic blends, this one is definitely off limits. If, on the other hand, you don?t mind an aromatic every once in a while, this might suit you. Finally, if you are an aromatic die-hard, this one is a must. In any case, don?t be put off by the rather pungent vanilla essence exuding from this tobacco (noticeable even with the pouch sealed and wrapped up). Give it some time. You?ll be surprised.

I must admit I was fairly alarmed when I first got a pouch of VLC as a gift from a former student. Initial reaction: does this guy hold a grudge or something? As I walked away, suspiciously sniffing the pouch, my second reaction was: Oh my! This smells (nay, stinks) exactly like one of those Middletone?s chemical vanilla concoctions (at best, one might also compare it to Peterson?s De Luxe mixture).

Throwing all caution to the wind I decided to open the pouch, but not being the daredevil youngster I once used to be, I thought it safer to leave it open for a couple of hours before I approached it with any serious intentions. Well, to be honest, I was pleasantly surprised both by the cut and the aroma.

This is top-grade MacBaren craftsmanship at its best. Nothing to do with Middletone?s factory-cut. The jet-black Cavendish strands (Burley?s? Though there is no mention of this leaf in the tobacco description), thick Virginia plug chunks, and golden and medium brown Virginia ribbon look wonderful, solid, and inviting. After being open for an hour or so, the excessive aroma had dissipated, allowing the blend?s natural mildness and sweetness to emerge (in fact, the typical MacBaren Virginia honey-on-toast aroma was very much in evidence). The vanilla casing was there all right, but not in a cloying, enervating fashion.

Now, for the ultimate MacBaren challenge: would the legendary tongue-bite signature (described by some?Lustra for one?as napalm-on-the-tongue or, at the very least, an incendiary affair) be present in the smoking experience?

Well, good news in this department, too. No Osamas here. This is a fairly cool and surprisingly mild, slow burning melange. Rather than producing a military assault on the senses or taste buds, the flavour is pleasant, slightly sweet and almost elegant. It is a perfect blend to smoke in an open-air cafe (yes, Mexico City too has fallen prey to the fascist anti-tobacco movement, and smokers are now banned from doing so anywhere in indoor public gatherings), where more often than not innocent bystanders and fellow smokers will compliment you on the wonderful aroma.

Another plus: it doesn?t seem to leave any gunk or syrupy residue in the pipe, nor does the flavour cling to the inner stem or bowl. However, I wouldn?t use my Virginia or English only pipes to smoke this one. Virginia Lose Cut is a quality aromatic, with excellent burning characteristics. Yet, as I?m not a diehard aromatic fan, I cannot rate it more than three stars.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2004 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Definitely one of the best vanilla aromatics in existance. Unlike blends such as RLP-6, this blend allows you to actually taste the tobacco while not sacrificing the flavoring and visa versa.

All aromatic smokers should try this blend. It's a big step up from what you normally find at the tobacconist shop.

But watch out! It can bite if smoked too fast.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 09, 2017 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
I do not consider myself an experienced pipe smoker. Even though i have been smoking pipe for 3 years, i often fall back to my cigarettes addiction only to stop and start smoking pipe again.

Mac Baren-Vanilla Cream Loose Cut is a well made vanilla flavored aromatic. It has such an attention to detail that its pretty surprising its a drug store tobacco you can find at a reasonable price. The flavoring is mild and by no means does it have an artificial taste to it. The vanilla is blended in nicely and there are occasions where i detect a nutty flavor. It is an extremely tasty tobacco. The taste stays with you till the last puffs.

It doesnt bite the tongue unless you go on fast puff mode, but i guess that is the case with almost every tobacco. The room note is really pleasant. The wife loves it, so much that she actually encourages me to smoke loose cut during the day instead of other aromatics.

Only drawback would be its uneven burn. Especially after the first half of the bowl, the re-lights are pretty constant. But then again it might be just me. Three years in pipe smoking might not be enought to teach me how to pack tobacco properly.

Enjoy Mac Baren Loose cut with a cup of coffee in the moring. Even though its an all day smoke, i find that the taste gives its best in the early hours of a cold morning, accompanied with a hot cup of your favorite coffee. I wouldnt recommend it with spirits. Its sweetness and vanilla flavor does not match well with any kind of alcoholic beverage.

Dr. Leonidas
Pipe Used: Capitol Bruyere
PurchasedFrom: Tobacco Shop Thessaloniki
Age When Smoked: Fresh from the pouch
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2015 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I've seen this one at my tobacconist and I thought I'd give it a try. I was convinced by it's lovely sweet vanilla smell when unlit. Tobacco has a good moisture and it burns really well and even. It has a very gentle creamy vanilla flavor, and at first I was almost a bit disappointed, because it seemed almost to mild, but I've grown to appreciate the subtle flavor and I love to combine it with a cup of good macchiato - with its creamy taste it combines really well. It's a good, sweet and creamy smoke, and I'd recommend it, if you're looking for something light that can be easily smoked throughout the day.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"