Mac Baren Black Ambrosia

(2.25)
Ambrosia is just savoring the word elevates your expectations, because ambrosia was the food of the gods and goddesses in Greek mythology. In 1983 when our tobacco masters first tasted the new, mild cavendish that they had developed, ambrosia was the only proper word to use to describe the taste experience. They had been experimenting with a variety of raw tobaccos for a long time before they finally came up with the right blend. Virginia tobaccos from the third world were selected, each with its own unique qualities. Each one was an excellent tobacco in its own right, but only when they were blended together into a mild cavendish did the pipe smoker experience something out of the ordinary. A rounded taste composed of the finest taste nuances, the natural sweetness supported by a completely new Mac Baren taste. This cavendish was truly something extraordinary, and from its completion in 1983 right up to today it has been used in numerous new Mac Baren blends. The rounded, slightly sweetish cavendish is widely known as: Modern Mac Baren Cavendish. As the name suggests, Black Ambrosia contains a very high proportion of Modern Mac Baren Cavendish, with only a little loose cut light Virginia added. This blend consists solely of Virginia tobaccos, which is rather rare as the majority of blends contain a little burley tobacco. But not Black Ambrosia, which is made of 100% Virginia tobacco and yet the taste is still exquisite. As the last person to add to the taste, the tobacco master has been no less genial. Of course, the precise composition of the tobacco is a secret, but here is a hint: to complete the Modern Mac Baren Cavendish, the tobacco master has carefully added a blend of different fruit oils, and topping the finished blend is a touch of [?}. Taste it for yourself and discover what an extraordinary taste experience it offers. With a little prudence, Black Ambrosia could almost be described as: food for the soul and the tobacco lover.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By MacBaren
Manufactured By MacBaren
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 100 grams tin, 50 grams pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.25 / 4
11

34

41

28

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Mac Baren - Black Ambrosia.

The balance of aromatic taste to tobacco taste is just right and there's lots of thick smoke with no bite. Also a pleasant room note. It will suit lovers of Cavendish tobacco as the Cavendish in this is sublime!

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: pleasant.

A quick review for a top blend!

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Comoys
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2016 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Ok , know up front that I enjoy Black Cavendish tobacco .. at least as much as I enjoy all the other styles/genres of pipe tobaccos . There are numerous black cavendish blends I enjoy , but I really , I like this best and am thrilled it's a blend that is offered in bulk . Dont ya just love when great blend is sold in bulk 🙂 Anyway , the flavoring [ whatever it is ] isnt over the top but rather on the mild end . I find it smokes dry in any pipe and the Black Cavendish aroma is crazy nice . I dont knwo if this helps but the flavor is obvious Danish as opposed to an American styled Black Cavendish , like say Lane BCA , which is also good but a different approach , imo . So , if you like/want quality black cavendish ... go toss a 1 oz sample on with your next order where ever you shop and try it . Ya just may love it
Pipe Used: Many
Age When Smoked: Fresh or aged a bit .. it doesnt matter
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 23, 2002 Mild Very Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
I'm giving this one four stars because while it is not my personal cup of tea (I had to keep an eye on the bowl to make sure the stuff was still lit while being consumed), It is a great tobacco for light aromatic fans. Upon opening the tin, you will have a hard time deciding whether to smoke it or eat it. The smell is wonderful. At the match, the smell remains sweet, but frankly, there is very little taste. The casing is unusual in that you don't really know what it is. It reminded me of berries, honey and nuts. Quality leaf all the way and burned very clean and dry right down to the bottom of the bowl, unusual for an aromatic with this much casing. And that's testimony to the experience of this famous blending house.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2018 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
I am a huge Mac Baren fan for many reason but the number reason is for there high quality in fine tobacco. When it comes to the top dogs of awesome pipe tobacco blends Mac Baren hits it right on the head and for Black Ambrosia I am very impressed if your looking for a good all black cavendish based pipe tobacco. Mac Baren makes modern cavendish and I love the stuff its what makes most of there blends so unique, it has a wonderful fruity undertone that does not rule the mixture and the tangy Virginia tobacco shines in it ever so lightly but you lnow its there. I know burley is used but I am assuming its to help with the burn rate because I do not detect it but Mac Baren says its in there. This blend is very smooth and smokes on the lighter side but as you carry on it has depth to it and will become robust near the end but does not become over powering. I love there liquor toppings they use because when you smoke Black Ambrosia that is also present, I cannot make out what it is and I could not even guess because I know there is actually quite abit they put into there topping but I'm ok with it because the taste is right on the dot. I first purchased this blend because I enjoy there modern cavendish so I wanted to smoke something that they used a majority of that type of tobacco and Black Ambrosia provides that, they purposely made a pipe tobacco that one could savor there Cavendish so that alone is a reason to smoke this of your a fan. Sweet, smooth and tangy this hands down is one of Mac Baren's smoothest blends they make and the bite factor is very low but then again I do not have a bite problem with there tobaccos because if you smoke your pioe like a gentleman the lady that is Mac Baren will dance with you and kiss you right back (catch what I'm sayin) as with most Virginia's or certain types of pipe tobaccos the key is always just take it easy, no rush and enjoy, tounge bite is mostly always 95% caused by the smoker not the tobacco, Mac Baren is not the tounge bite kings there the kings in high quality pipe tobaccos that taste and smoke awesome!!! Even a novice pipe smoker can enjoy these superior blends if you just take it easy and smoke it slow, cool and like a gentleman the tobacco will absolutely behave itself with proper technique and to each there own. I highly recommend this fine pipe tobacco blend and so will those around you because the room note is unique amd smells awesome!!! The nicotine level is moderate as with most Mac Baren products so it will creep up on you but this blend is pretty forgiving and carries little weight in that regard. To find a good deal and purchase a tin of this today, no matter the bogus reviews you have read this blend is one of a kind and taste great, I just simply love the stuff. Thanks for reading my review and God bless you greatly and God bless America (where making it great again) stand up for your smoking rights and support your American tobacco growers.
Pipe Used: Peterson CnS Pipes
PurchasedFrom: cigarinternational.com
Age When Smoked: 39
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 04, 2009 Mild Strong Medium Very Pleasant
For those who enjoy extremely sweet aromatic, this is the best you can find, sweet black Cavendish CASED WITH HONEY, VANILLA, toffee and Caramel, it is delicious! very sweet and very mild, dry and easy burning, with no bite, wonderful aroma, and very social smoke.

only for those who enjoy sweet tobacco.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 29, 2017 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
About a decade ago, when I lived another state, I would purchase BA, Symphony, Plumcake,Roll Cake and Gold of Denmark. Of these BA and Roll Cake I smoked most often. I got away from the MB line and started exploring Newminster and really fell in love with OTCs like Velvet and Blenders Gold. Only recently did I return to Black Ambrosia. My second impression of it was that it was way too sweet,rough and perhaps a little nippy.After jarring a tin full for several months I cracked it open tonight and gave it a go. All I can say is wow. This mixture mellows considerably well and didn't overpower the senses. Very smooth, hint of sweetness with the right amount of smokiness and very pleasant mouth feel. A little nutty, but the Virginias really shine without dominating the experience. Behaved well and didn't wane in flavor. Rubbing out before packing really brings out the sweetness and nuasences. It also kept the spiciness in the black cav at bay. Very good indeed. Air before jarring reccomended. UPDATE 6-29-17 I was thinking about ordering some more BA, but when checking P&C the MacBaren classic tins are nowhere to be found. What is available is in bulk (ie Original Choice) or tin selection is slim. Is Black Ambrosia going away. If so grab whatever you can before it's gone. I did find a Sutliff bulk that might be similar called Black Cordial which I'll order next pay period. Until then this will remain a mystery.
Pipe Used: Corncob
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 23, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
If you've suffered through my other reviews, you may be trying to purge from your memory that Davidoff's Scottish Mixture was my first premium/tinned tobacco after being cruelly abused by aromatic bulk brand jarred tobaccos from unscrupulous tobacco shop counters. Dunhill's Nightcap was the English mixture that I clutched to my chest as having showed me a pipe smoker's glimpse of paradise.

Mac Baren's Black Ambrosia is the tobacco that let me forgive aromatics. Sweet, yet smooth. Yes, you can get a third degree case of tongue bite from it if pushed too hard. Just try to be smarter than the tobacco & your box of matches!! I wanted something with a sweetness and yet didn't want to smoke Kool-Aid. I needed a room note that wouldn't send the dog or wife running for cover, or banish me to the back porch. ( Well, too late on that one...). When I lit Black Ambrosia, the neighbor actually looked over the fence & said , "She might let you back in the house with that one."

Can praise for an aromatic be any higher? So smooth, your wife may let you BACK IN!!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2008 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
This is a wonderful smoke that has a uniquely bold taste. I say bold with hesitation because it is a delightful taste without being overwhelming. A wonderful mix of sweetness, yet not wimpy. Burns well and does not bite. This is not entirely aromatic as the burley is blended with the Virginias very well. Casing has a slight burnt, salty, moca taste but again, by no means a negative. Flavor consistently remains unchanged throughout the bowl and IMO is a great ?all around smoke?. Room note is pleasant but lingers. I will definitely order more of this to keep around for a change.

Upon opening the tin, the aroma is pleasant. But the smell should not be so heavily judged, as pipe tobacco is to be smoked....not snorted or huffed! I really like this blend as I am not a huge fan of strong English blends or strong latakias. This blend is how I like my coffee to taste. Just the right amount of cream, sweetness and flavor without being bitter.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2021 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I ordered this on a whim - a fascination with the name. What I found was a solid Black Cavendish tobacco. Sweet, tangy, fruity, but smooth smoke. A little hard to keep lit, but it did not seem too moist in the can, Burns a little quick and to a fine ash. The pouch and room note were quite pleasant.
Pipe Used: Capri Bent Apple
PurchasedFrom: Cigarbid.com
Age When Smoked: new
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2011 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
In the past few years I have tried many tobacco brands and for me this Danish tobacco maker has found the secret formula. For me what the description says this tobacco has it and more. It is surely one of my favourites.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"