Lane Limited RLP-6

(3.07)
Blended with just the right proportion of golden Virginia and burley, the basic blend of toasted cavendish tobaccos takes on a zesty dimension. This mixture gets better as you smoke it all day long.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Cream, Honey, Molasses, Nougat, Sweet / Sugar, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.07 / 4
48

46

27

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 48 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 16, 2010 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
A solid four stars on the aromatic chart for me. RLP-6 is called Ram at my local tobacco shop and is the shop's number two seller. It produces a nice sweet taste (chocolate/vanilla), and absolutely will not bite. A slow smoke produces little dottle. Rev up your smoking cadence and you will need to swab the lower deck with a paper towel once the tobacco has been consumed.

The cut is rather thick (broad cut), but it burns very evenly and stays lit extremely well for an aromatic blend. If your veins hunger for nicotine you'll starve them with this blend.
66 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2013 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
My all time favorite aromatic smoke... I am more of an English blend smoker, but when the urge to smoke an aromatic strikes, I always reach for this.

A bonus to smoking RLP is the room note... Anytime I am smoking this whilst walking in public, positive comments on the aroma are always offered up by multiple passers by. AND, at home, El Dictator not only allows me to smoke indoors, she actually encourages it!

It is consistently very smooth, no bite whatsoever, smokes evenly down to the bottom of the bowl with very little dottle. A nice thick white smoke throughout the bowl, with mainly vanilla notes at the beginning, then mellow pure tobacco notes toward the end.

This is very similar to Captain Black, but minus the overwhelming stickiness from the propylene glycol additives Captain Black no doubt uses to preserve moisture for years. RLP also has more true tobacco taste.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a really smooth smoking aromatic and crowd pleaser.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 26, 2010 Mild Mild Medium Pleasant
After smoking this fine blend for several years, I was brought up short by Pipestud's review to the realization that I have never reviewed it. Dang!

This, to me is not an aromatic; just a fine, friendly, rich and tasty blend that can hold your attention without being pushy. It comes in a combination of light and dark flakes that are a little too moist as received. No sticks! After a little drying, packs and lights extremely easily, stays lit well, smokes cool, and starts out with a smooth and flavorful taste that lasts to the bottom without gaining any harshness. The pouch smells strongly of chocolate and I can not discern any other flavors other than good, honest baccy. However, after lighting this up, the chocolate disappears and all that is left is a good, mellow aged burley taste that hangs in there with you to the very end. Pushed by Pipestud's comment about the lack of bite, I started from a half bowl down and tried to get it to bite and just couldn't get it done.

This is, IMO, a good, honest smoke that is one of my very favorites and will be kept on the shelf regularly. Also, highly recommended for newbies. If you haven't tried it, you should!
26 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A real classic amongst the aromatics....never hot, stays lit, and has an aroma that everyone absolutely loves. On top of all that, it has a tobacco taste that keeps me buying it. It is good tobacco with a very acceptable casing. If I smoke an aromatic.....and I do about a third of the time....it is this one.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 17, 2017 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Lane Limited - RLP 6.

When I purchased this from 4noggins it was one of my more random choices. I never read the description, I just checked I hadn't reviewed it and popped it in my basket! But as it goes it's a good smoke.

My pouch contains about 50% black Cavendish, and the moisture's decent. It looks as though it's a fairly coarse cut mixture, but gladly there's no twigs. The aroma from the blend is quite sweet, although I wouldn't call it heavy.

The smoke has lots of flavour to it, but it doesn't seem too false or cloying. I don't get the sticky feeling that chocolate can often instil, and the honey/molasses are at just the right volume to give a sweet touch, without taking over. The vanilla works brilliantly alongside the black Cavendish: it raises the flavour and gives a custard note. RLP's burn is fantastic, and I get no tongue bite from it.

Room-note? Superb. Nicotine? Hardly any!

I find this an excellent quality aromatic.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Dr Plumb Quintex
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: One month
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2015 Mild Medium Mild Pleasant
Great tobacco, dumb name. One of the better aromatics. Very mild. Great taste: nouget, vanilla - all that great stuff. My only complaint is that Lane has dumb names for their tobaccos. BCA, RLP-6: dumb, unremarkable names. Here are some great pipe tobacco names in my view: Distinguished Penguin, Cross Eyed Cricket, Hobbit's Weed. Some other exotic names: Lagonda, Milonga. So, Lane, hire a marketing guy to dream up great names for your otherwise great pipe tobaccos. This one: Name: 0, tobacco: 4. When someone asks me what I'm smoking, I'd rather say, "Why that's Cross Eyed Cricket." Incidentally, if a cop ever asks you, don't say, "Hobbit's Weed" if you don't want to be strip searched and spend the weekend in the pokey. Say, "RLP-6". That will end the conversation and label you as the most boring person on earth.
Pipe Used: Dunhill Red Bark 4
PurchasedFrom: Pipes and Cigars
Age When Smoked: 3 months.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Of all the aromatics I smoke, this one is my dominant choice. A very consistant blend. Sweet, but not overly so. The moisture level can be a pain on the first light, but after a tamp and relight, it burns smoothly to the bottom of the bowl, with a very small amount of dottle left behind. The room note is nice as well. I've heard others say things about a vanilla taste. I'm not sure about that one. I can't put my finger on the exact flavor. The pouch scent is akin to raisins or prunes. You have to puff aggressively to get this stuff to bite, and it can if you smoke like a freight train. Puffed gently, it's really smooth. Exhaled through the nose, you catch some wonderful flavors. I smoke this all day, and after several years of smoking this, it is still my favorite aromatic. I added some latakia to it one time (big mistake) turkish might have been a better choice. Not as sweet as 1Q, give it a try, you might be mildly surprised.

My one peeve for this blend, are the occasional twigs mixed in with the leaves.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2018 Very Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Is RLP-6 the same as Captain Black White? Yes....if you could take the CBW, strip away about 80% of the humectants, you'd have RLP-6. This is not open to debate or speculation: Scandinavian Tobacco Group says this is the case, so you armchair quarterbacks need to stuff your gob with a pipe and shut up about this one fact.

This tobacco is excellent when talking about mouth feel, smoking dry and lack of tongue bite; if you're getting goop and gurgle from smoking RLP-6, it's because a.) you're puffing on it too damn hard, b.) you're using the wrong size bowl for the blend and/or c.) you're smoking it too wet out of the ziplock bag. If you're getting no taste, it's either due to your bad smoking technique or your dead taste buds.

I am not an expert, and my smoking technique is terrible and amateurish. Even so, RLP-6 will not bite me, not even with vigorous puffing. Puffing too hard and fast will however, reduce the flavor and make the tobacco taste flat and even a little bitter. Smoking too hard and fast will also increase condensation (i.e. wet goop in the bottom of the bowl). If smoked slowly and gently, this burns to a fine grey ash with very little dottle and even less sludge.

I have been smoking this all evening into these wee hours of the morning. I have smoked it in a Group 3 size briar billiard, a Missouri Meerschaum Elf churchwarden and a Falcon with a meer-lined brandy bowl. After what was intended to be the charring light, I didn't need to put fire to tobacco a second time in any of the three styles of pipe I used. As another reviewer mentions, just tap out the loose ash, tamp gently and the tobacco will continue to merrily burn its way to the bottom of the bowl with no further relights. I suggest drying the tobacco for about an hour at 38% relative humidity. In all pipes, a loose initial pack worked best; packing too tightly can cause this tobacco to yield odd flavors near the end of the bowl.

Nicotine? As Pipestud mentions, your nicotine cravings will not be sated with this tobacco. I for one am glad of this; while I can and do smoke very strong ropes and flakes, there are times when I want a "set it and forget it" sort of smoke, good company for a long workday or long evening with friends. In fact, RLP-6 yields slightly more nicotine than its equally popular brothers 1Q and BCA, but that isn't saying much.

The odor around you as you smoke this will offend only the most rabid anti-smoker. Most people make very positive comments about the "room note" of this blend. The smoker doesn't suffer either; there's a lovely, sweet mild tobacco flavor with hints of chocolate, nougat, caramel, vanilla and something vaguely fruity....and these aromas translate to taste. The flavor improves to its best by mid-bowl, and after that begins to lessen until you get to the bottom, where the taste can be a bit flat at best, ashy and bitter at worst (but only if you've smoked it too vigorously).

Mechanically, everything is right about this tobacco. It behaves well in most sizes of bowl, it doesn't really care how you pack it, it takes fire readily and will burn with gentle coaxing all the way to the heel. Again, a bit of drying helps particularly when this blend is fresh.

Don't expect the intensity of flavor that you'll find in a CAO Cherry Bomb or Sutliffe Vanilla Custard, but don't be surprised either, if this lacks tobacco flavor to the level you might desire. This is a compromise, which manages to combine the very best aspects of a mild aromatic with a pleasant, round and satisfying blend of tobaccos beneath.

Treat this tobacco right, and it will bless your smoking time. Best in a cobb or meer, but it won't ghost a briar, if pipe maintenance is done shortly after smoking it. Highly recommended for novice pipe smokers or for any smoker who wants an easygoing, companionable smoke.

By the way, returning to the Captain B. White vs. RLP-6 controversy: I just purchased a pouch of the CBW for the sole purpose of comparing it with the RLP-6. The 1.5 ounce (?) pouch of CBW cost me $10.99 plus sales taxes at my local RYO/Vape/Hookah/cheap cig shop. The equivalent weight of RLP-6 was purchased online, in bulk for less than $3.00. Thanks, but I won't pay the extra eight bucks for the PG. . I'll stick with my RLP-6 when I want this taste profile. Oh, and it burns a hell of a lot better and with much less goop than the Captain ever could. 4 stars with an exclamation point. Buy some, and if you hate it after trying it, you may send it to me. I'll gladly take it off your hands.
Pipe Used: Meers and cobbs mostly.
PurchasedFrom: Online retailer
Age When Smoked: Old enough to know better
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 19, 2013 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
An excellent, honest blend with just the mildest hint of aromatic essence and a cool, smooth profile. I was pleasantly surprised to have found it as enjoyable as I did, favoring as I do either woodsy, leathery aromatics or strong Latakia blends. I would characterize RLP-6 as a pure tobacco simulation for those who really don't favor the experience of pure Virginia and Burley tobaccos. Lane has tossed enough Cavendish in there to polish off the hard edges typical of Virginias and make one imagine briefly that he's a bit more rugged than he is.

Not too much moisture, lit easily, burned all the way without a relight, pleasing aroma (as many have mentioned), and a smooth, uncomplicated flavor. I can't imagine that this would top anybody's list overall, but if this is what passes for average, then we live in a terrific world.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
RLP-6. One of the first pipe blends I fell in love with.Perfect for beginners and a must try for anyone that ever fires up an aromatic. A wonderful aroma and taste that never bites no matter how badly its smoked. Just the right amount of a light vanilla/spice sweetness with a mellow tobacco taste in the background. Combine these attributes with the fact that it can still be had for $2.00 per ounce in my neck of the woods and you've got yourself a classic blend at a bargain price!
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"