Lane Limited Black Cordial

(3.40)
Highly aromatic. A new generation of pipe tobacco. A blend of four new and unusual black fire cured grades with added highlights of sweet Virginia. Dramatically new and different in taste and appearance.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Limited
Manufactured By Lane Limited
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor, Cherry, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.40 / 4
15

13

1

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
The cherry topping is deep and rich, and there's a little vanilla mixed in, too. You won't taste much of the Virginia or sugary black cavendish, but then again, you buy it for the creamy smooth toppings. Has little nicotine and won't bite. Burns at a moderate pace with a consistent flavor. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, but no dottle. Needs a few relights and has a very pleasant after taste. I'm pretty sure this is Sutliff's Z-50 Black Cordial because they both taste the same.

-JimInks
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Well folks, I have to come clean here. I received my latest order today from pipesandcigars.com , and found that they had included a sample. It was Black Cordial.

After the initial bout of cursing,(you see there were no aromatics in the order), I resolved to give it away to some aromatic lover.

I opened the pouch and took a whiff. It was very appealing. Cherry, vanilla and something else that I just can't pick out. But, my history with aromatics is not a great one. I want to like them, but always end up being disappointed. Too light in nic., to light in tobacco flavor, ...on and on. I was beginning to believe I just wasn't an aro smoker.

That all changed today! The pouch sat on my tobacco table for a few hours while I packaged my order in jars and stocked my tins. I went to work and came home to it sitting there. Calling me. Like Lucy taunting Charlie Brown with that damn football.

I packed up one of my cobs and fired it up. More moist than I generally care for is what I thought. But after the char, I was off to the races. Initially I did get a little undesirable flavor in the very first 1-2 draws. That went away immediately to leave a fantastic flavor that was balanced very well in my opinion. Just enough strength to hold my attention and some real tobacco flavor mingled in with the topping.

I have to give credit where it is due. Altadis of all people were the ones to create this little gem. And the only time I didn't pay for an aro, it was great! go figure. Thanks to the people at pipesandcigars.com for knowing me better than I know myself apparently. 3 solid stars.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 09, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
This is one of my go to aromatics along with Butternut Burley,this being not as mild. I have noticed some changes in between batchs but they are quite acceptable. Pack this tobacco loosely & you won't have to worry about a soapy taste. Don't be put off by the pouch/bag appearance. It is sticky and does appear goopy, but once in the pipe,packed correctly, it transforms into nivarna IMHO. The tastes is a cherry one that changes in intensity.The aroma will recieve compliments. This was my Christmas blend but now I smoke it year round. It has a rich thick creamy taste like an english but with an aromatic flavor,quite a soothing blend,morning noon or night. Can be exhaled through the nose to enhance the flavor. I can smoke this comfortably with a throat tickle that might lead to a cold if not medicated in time. I'm enjoying it now with two to three feet of snow outside. Highly recommended for everyone. I smoke all types of tobaccos.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 11, 2005 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Since the pipe is something new for me, I didn't know what to expect. I had smoked a variety of tobaccos trying to get a feel for what I liked, but mostly the less aromatic blends. This is the first tabacco that made me smile. It seems to have a perfect balance of flavors, and if you like breathing in the smoke through your nose, it's fantastic. It doesn't burn hot, and I noticed no bite, even with a low-end pipe. This is also the first tobacco that I felt equally happy with the taste as with the smell.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The smooth, creaminess of a fine black cav escorts the sweetness of a medium Virginia through an orchard heavy with ripe black cherries. Wow! Was this delicious. This from a guy not all that fond of fruit-cased tobaccos. Go easy on the pack and plan on frequent, quick relights. Don't huff and puff, but sip it like a fine brandy and you'll enjoy a consistent, creamy, sweet bowl all the way to the bottom. It will ghost a pipe in a New York minute, so I recommend a throw-away cob for the first outing. Room note is fabulous. I tried drying a few bowls which improved the burn characteristics but dulled the flavor. Not worth it. Load up your match case and indulge. Recommended!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 08, 2010 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
If you like aromatics, give this one a try. Smooth, excellent flavor, easy to keep lit, outstanding room note. Smoking a bowl is like eating chocolate followed by a sip of benedictine.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This is a very tasty tobacco. The room smell is just wonderful. I got this as a free sampler in my order from pipesandcigars. It was marked as Altadis Z50 Black Cordial, but appears to be owned by Lane now. I would order more. A bit of a wet bowl cleanup afterwards but thats true of almost all aromatics.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 23, 2009 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is a very nice sweet aromatic tobacco that faintly reminds me of another Altadis tobacco I like called "Creme Brulee".

I have always had to dry this out some before smoking it, otherwise it is too wet to burn well and will bite pretty hard. When properly dried, this is a wonderfully sweet smoke with a hint of "fruitiness" to it. The pouch aroma is quite similar to the room note.

While not my all-day smoke, I do find myself reaching for this blend quite often. It's sure to please anyone within smelling distance, and when smoked properly, it's sure to please any pipe smoker who likes aromatic tobaccos.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2008 Very Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Excellent aromatic with great taste and room note. Dark and moist with a good burn and very little bite, if any. As far as i know, this is currently an Altadis tobacco. Buy it in bulk for practically penies and ounce.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 19, 2008 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
If you want a strong fruity, berry taste in a surprisingly mild aromatic, give this one a try. About the only aromatic blend I've ever liked was, Sir Walter Raleigh Aromatic. But the Walter is a Burley blend, and can get a bit warm if puffed too hard. This stuff seems to stay mild, no matter how you smoke it. Surprisingly, with all of the casings in this stuff, it didn't gunk up my pipe, but it does leave it's ghostly flavor, when you load up with something else. I'd recommend dedicating one pipe to this blend. I have a yard pipe, which I smoke anything and everything in, so that's my suggestion for this blend. My wife actually likes the room note of Commonwealth Mixture, over this stuff. And on that note, I can't complain...
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"