Hermit Tobacco Works Co. Captain Earle's - Ten Russians

(3.46)
Capt. Earle's Ten Russians is a true delight for lovers of latakia. Rich and full bodied, Ten Russians is pressed to deliver a perfectly balanced blend to the true aficionado of full English tobaccos.

Details

Brand Hermit Tobacco Works Co.
Blended By Cornell & Diehl
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Cavendish, Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 2 ounce and 8 ounce tins
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.46 / 4
52

31

6

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 21 - 30 of 91 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2018 Medium None Detected Very Full Strong
This mixture screams of Balkan when smelled but comes out as a full English. A delicious mixture where the Cavendish imparts sweetness, the Virginias some tanginess and the Orientals give a discreet sourness. All those flavors actually manage to tame the Latakia that cements this mixture together with fire camp and exotic spice notes. For lovers of full Latakia/English mixtures, a potential replacement for Nightcap.

Virginia lover
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 02, 2018 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Strong
Hermit Tobacco Works Co. - Captain Earle's - Ten Russians.

I love a nice English as the first smoke of the day and as I've finished my jar of Germain's Special Latakia Flake and my order to replenish it's been delayed by the bank holiday I went to my cellar and grabbed this.

The smell of Ten Russians gives a perfect impression of what kind of smoke's on its way: strong Latakia. It's a loosely compressed kake so a pipes worth can be gently rubbed from the block. Once rubbed it's a good idea to give it a short airing.

'You say you like Latakia? Well, try this!' It may say it contains Oriental, Virginia and Cavendish, but the only flavour I get is Latakia......STRONG Latakia. I like English/Balkans but this is too much. The Latakia tastes harsh, acrid, bitter, astringent, caustic, acetic and severe! That's me out of descriptive words, lol! I can't smoke anymore than a quarter bowl before I get Lat-Overload.

Nicotine: very strong. Room-note: strong.

A decent enough Latakia but better as a blender than a straight smoke. Somewhat recommended:

Two stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson Around the World China
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: Stamped 09/22/17
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2013 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Very Pleasant
Okay folks here we go. This will be my third or fourth review. I usually smoke the blend I'm reviewing while I type. This is the first time that I will not do that. I have smoked this earlier this day. It was such a pleasant and notable smoke that it has compelled me to come to my computer. As you may, or may not know, I have been puffing for years and my early favorites were Sullivan's Gentlemen's Mixture and Bengal Slices. Having said that, I must say I may have found a tobacco that is at least, in the same league! You may be thinking, what did he just say, okay I'll say it again. Same league! Ten Russians has really impressed me. The earthy body, heavy thick smoke and very rich pleasant taste of yesteryears spender! To me it was not just like going back to the house you grew up in, but getting to go in and walk through the house and feel the warm feeling you got when you go back to a time and place when everything was easy and effortless. A safe place where things were comfortable and worry free. Well by now you must know that it was quit and experience for me! That's why I'm sharing it with you. The proverbial holy grail, for me, maybe. It put me in a good frame of mind, that's for sure. I feel a good tobacco, like a good song can do that. If you have had the good pleasure of smoking one or more of the greats I've mentioned and have not tried Ten Russians, then please try it. You may want to have a handkerchief handy.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 18, 2015 Strong None Detected Very Full Strong
A very nice surpise. This is, by all means, a very good Latakia laden smoke: strong, manly, perhaps a tad overwhelming. But it is very good: meaty, hearty, full of flavour. The Virginias are quite dry, with all their natural sweetness gone. The orientals (Turkish) and Latakia predominate. The strength is obvious. One draw and the palate is immediately greeted by a blast of a heavy English taste that lasts long after you've put the pipe down. I would not recommend this as an all-day smoke, but every once in a while, specially when it's cold and windy, it's an exhilarating smoking experience.
Pipe Used: Peterson's System
PurchasedFrom: N/A
Age When Smoked: N/A
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 31, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
This tobacco is truly a masterpiece. I am a huge fan of English blends and this one is by far one of the best I've had so far. As soon as you open the tin the latakia hits you right in the nose, but ironically you really don't taste the latakia till later. When first lit the blend has a very light almost sweet yet savory taste .The turkish is more prominent in the beginning however towards the middle and end of the bowl the latakia takes over and transforms the entire flavor profile of the blend. In my opinion that is the best part though. The smell is incredible as well, like a campfire fueled by the trees your grandfather cut down himself. I can't speak highly enough of this blend...if your a fan of latakia and English blends and like tobaccos a little stronger anyway. Try this you won't regret it.
Pipe Used: Roma Canadian, la rocca poker, mauro #314
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh out da mailbox
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 05, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Ten Russians comes as a single briquette of two ounces, comprising largely dark leaf with specks of lighter tobaccos. The tin aroma is rich, inviting and full of promise. Cutting a slice and crumbling it to produce a pipeful takes no time at all. As with any crumble cake it is best to pack it lightly.

The tobacco takes a couple of lights to get going, but thereafter burns steadily enough. After a slightly bitter start it settles down to delivering a latakia heavy but still complex smoke in which the orientals and virginias do not get lost. The mouth feel is weighty - a heavy Algerian red wine comes to mind. The taste is consistent right down to the last shred.

I did not find it to be particularly strong. Alternating between FVF and Ten Russians, I found the former to be noticeably stronger.

On the whole, Ten Russians is a dour, heavy evening smoke. It is highly satisfying, even though it does not sparkle like Nightcap or Penzance.
Pipe Used: various briars
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: two years
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I've tried and tried, but all I can taste is latakia. I can't get anything else out of this. The one plus here is that it's good for use in tweaking other blends.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
This is a wonderful tobacco! Heavy on the latakia, a bit sharp at times, but full of flavor.

The cake breaks easily, loads well and lights easily. I had my first bowl in the Dunhill group 5 Shell Dublin, which I feel is the perfect bowl for this blend. There was a tiny bit of dottle at the end, expected with a tapered chamber.

I'll certainly stock my cellar with more of this. After all, THE RUSSIANS ARE COMING!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2005 Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Ten Russians. Very easy to light and didn't require a second light. The taste of latakia is noticed straight away,and it's first class quality is enjoyed immediately.As I smoke my way on I find I'm enjoying this superb blend,more and more. It contain's a full robust flavour that remind's of a really good cigar at time's. Beyond the half way mark of the bowl the rich spiciness begin's to kick in,and I find myself loving this tobacco more and more. To me it's thoroughly delicious and the more I have smoked it,the more I love it. If you ever loved Balkan Sobranie,and enjoy Dunhill's Night Cap,or,balkan's and latakia,then you should definitely try this. Give it time to really get to know it,I did,and I certainly don't regret it. At the bottom of the bowl you are left with a very clean white grey ash,and a dry bowl. It's a really great companion! 10 out of 10.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2019 Medium None Detected Full Strong
Ah, Ten Russians; my favorite lat-bomb. There is some Tang here, but the star of the show is Latakia. Smoky, leathery, peppery Latakia. I'm starting to think my palate doesn't take notice of orientals, or that they get interpreted as "Diesel Fuel". I actually like that note quite a bit, but it goes to show how difficult it can be to describe an impression of sensation to another person. The smoke is heavy and creamy (if smoked in a short pipe, as I favor, it actually sticks to the hollows of ones face when exhaled). Smokes bone-dry and cool to the very bottom. The room note will not please most bystanders, but my wife actually enjoys lat-heavy room notes. She says this one is "Brighter, more energetic" than most of my heavy favorites. I'm not sure what that means, but it fits. Side note: Some of the reviews for this blend rank with the best of classic literature. Especially Matsutake Slayer's. Addendum 12/18/21- In the grip of boredom, I decided to try mixing this 50/50 with Bayou Night. That's it, I'm done; I have found my "Unicorn" tobacco, and will never be the same.
Pipe Used: Big Ben Pipo, Wimbledon Author
PurchasedFrom: B&M
Age When Smoked: 1-3 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"