Mac Baren HH Old Dark Fired

(3.55)
A bold flake of dark-fired burleys in a well balanced unity with flue cured Virginias. This flake is hot pressed, meaning that during the pressing, heat is added by steam to the tobaccos which causes the tobacco to intensify the marrying process giving us a bolder tobacco. The robust, earthly flavour of the dark-fired burleys shines through in the taste, and you will experience a deeply satisfying smoke indeed.
Notes: One of the most fascinating parts about this tobacco that will be sure to confuse a lot of American pipe smokers is that, despite the fact that HH Old Dark Fired contains zero latakia, Mac Baren still considers it an English because of the method used in its production, specifically the steam press.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Per Jensen
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Kentucky, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin, 1 pound box
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.55 / 4
170

50

20

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 7 of 7 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 05, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable to Strong
I cannot agree with the high rating given this blend by many as I have smoked it in a few nice briars and while it is a nice burning tobacco when properly rubbed and aired, I would gladly trade away the remaining 60 grams for a bit of ordinary Virginia flake. This tobacco has a decidedly intriguing sweet & sour tin aroma I associate with pressed tobacco lightly fermenting but I must say I was mislead by this as smoking same produces a taste that I find unvarying and somewhat sour. The smoke linger reminds me of the smell that assaults one's nose when walking through a recently extinguished forest fire - a distinctive pungency I've always found unpleasant. While I know that Mac Baren tries to provide good blends, I feel this is not one of their better efforts. Continuing on that line, I would suggest any piper considering HH Old Dark Fired should try to mooch a bowl from a friend - or buy just 50 grams rather than the 100 gram tin I purchased in a weak moment. The remnants I have are now stored until such a time I can fully consider what leaf I shall add to improve its taste and room note.
Pipe Used: Comoy Canadian, Comoy Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Kitchener, Canada
Age When Smoked: 10 months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 01, 2012 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
when i saw dark fired i thought of orlik dark fired kentucky. i should have though of toilette paper. opening the tin, there was no aroma what so ever. reviewers complain of the mcclelland virginia "ketchup" smell, not realizing that virginia's ferment and that is the "smell". this tobacco was a zero. no aroma, no taste, zero. i threw the tin in the trash. and i do think mac make some great tobaccos.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 15, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Like smoking a bit of Gandhi's flip flop ! Perhaps I just don't like flake tobacco, but dear God they can't all be this bad. Not for me.
Pipe Used: Peterson
PurchasedFrom: SmokeKing.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 04, 2012 Strong None Detected Medium Strong
I dont understand the idea of this product. Worst one in HH series. Seems like Samuel Gawith XX Black Rope. But softer. Dont spend your money on this.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Extremely Mild (Flat) Overwhelming
Aaaaaargh, What happened to the lovely tin ? The lovely flakes with such an aroma when opened ? I bought this with such high hopes after reading other reviews..... I got a plastic pouch, inside was a plastic tray with a foil cover, and inside that were a collection of un-aromatic flakes with a smell of ? can't describe it . This is a processed Supermarket grade of "pseudo tobacco", akin to Condor, St. Bruno, Walnut etc. Stick with the Specialist Tobacconists, and avoid this continentally manufactured stuff that masquerades as a Four-Star ( ??) smoke. I'll quit smoking sooner than smoke this ____ again.
Pipe Used: All
PurchasedFrom: Brucciani. Carlisle UK.
Age When Smoked: From packaging
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 10, 2015 Extremely Strong Extremely Mild Overwhelming Overwhelming
Sadly, the following review is based on a compromised tin. I suppose this was bound to happen after 75 some tobaccos, so, take this review as is. I surmise the tin was compromised at the place I had purchased it from (an online baccy shop, of which I cannot name because I bought it about 2 years ago; in other words, I can't remember the name of the shop but, I can say, since I mostly only purchase from 3 shops online, it was one of them). The seal was broken on the tin, and some moisture got inside, both rusting the rim of the tin and discoloring the gold foil wrapper. The tobacco actually had some MOLD inside! (not Pflaume, or Pflume, real mold). I found an undisturbed flake in the middle of the cut stacks of flake, and, after mustering a little bit of courage, I smoked it.

I never thought I'd smoke a baccy stronger than Manil's Semois, but this flake was even stronger than that. Now, was this a result of the tin being compromised or not, I cannot say. The tobacco tasted like, well, metal, rusty metal, yet, I could tell, somewhat, that this once was a good burley, but, overall the taste was really foul. A truly bad smoking experience.

I hesitated to review this tin, but, I take them as they come, and tell it like it is. The really sad part of this really poor experience, is that I'll probably never buy this baccy again—and, it's not Mac Baren's fault, surely.

Keep on Piping! (I trust)
Pipe Used: Boswell
PurchasedFrom: Can't remember
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2022 Strong None Detected Medium Strong
Leading aroma of fresh tobacco comes from kentucky with smoothness of other components. Tobacco is smoky, sweet and with a bit of nuttiness. Presentation is gorgeous. Small thin flakes are prepared for easy packing. sweetness is support taste. I can feel mainly tangy nuttiness an peppery. Need fair amount of relights, but when you leave it half an hour in the air before packing, it is best. This tobacco is not real my cup of tea. It is too strong too spicy and too heavy. I would never buy it again. But for somebody could be 4star smoke.
Pipe Used: Jirsa Buldog, BPK, MM
PurchasedFrom: tecon-gmbh.de
Age When Smoked: new
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"