Sillem's Councilor 1695 Flake

(3.53)
Red and light Virginias combined with a good dose of Louisiana perique.

Details

Brand Sillem's
Blended By  
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.53 / 4
9

5

1

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Based on about 1.25 oz gifted to me. Nice looking light brown with some blonde mottling. Flakes were neither too thin nor too fat and even a fumble fingers like myself could easily fold and stuff or rub out. I did not taste any difference in the two loads but of course it smoked slower when folded. The tin note offered up a non-descript aroma that gave no clues as to what was inside. As an interesting sidebar, this dried out pretty fast in the tin once opened. I transferred to a small glass jar early on but drier is usually better for flakes and this one was no exception.

I knew nothing of Sillem's prior to this, having smoked none of their blends, as none of them really interested me. But this one was a surprise. My reference VaPers are GLP Telegraph Hill and McClellands St James Woods, if that provides any insight. I prefer my perique on the heavier side, and this blend provides it. Instead of the stewed dark fruit presentation, the perique here is more briny and spicy without losing depth of flavor. The Virginias had just the right amount of tang and citrus but the perique was the star of this show. Condimental spice was first and foremost, and I can certainly see this one having too much for many VaPer fans. And while this won't replace my references, it's definitely a four star blend in my book.
Pipe Used: meerschaum and morta
Age When Smoked: New
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2017 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Sillem's - Councilor 1695 Flake.

To be fair, the previous Sillem's review I did: Commodore, was to potent in the Kentucky department for my liking. This, Councilor, is an improvement, though.

The tin holds two rows of medium brown, perfectly moist, fairly thin, flakes. I like to give my flakes a full rub, and this is one of the easiest I've encountered. Lighting Councilor is quick and simple, and then it's on with the smoke: to be best enjoyed 1695 takes a little time, savouring, and deciphering. The Perique is strong: spicy, fruity, tangy, and vinegary, but the Virginias give 1695 some lemony/citrusy zest. For the first third it's a full on blast of Perique, but given time the Virginias join in and complete the picture; the citrus from the Virginia plays off with the tangy Perique impeccably. I find the temperature medium, and it only bites when puffed ridiculously hard; and even then it's not that bad.

I quite like the room-note, and think the nicotine's above medium.

To me, Councilor isn't the best blend in the world, but I'd feel uncomfortable awarding it only three stars:

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Friday, so Altinok Van Cleef
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Four months
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2016 Mild None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a very nice VaPer from Sillem's. To my personal taste it it in the top two or three VaPer's available, right behind Escudo. It is funny how few people are familiar with many of the Sillem's blends as they are an old company and these are truly some of the best blends out there, and are my personal faves coming from Germany (most are from Germany, and while the description above says Denmark, my tin states that it was made in Germany). Sillem's London is highly regarded, and their aromatics are fantastic, especially Sillem's Black, which is totally unique among a field of hundreds of aromatic mixtures.

Councilor is a beautiful medium to dark brown flake of VA's and perique. It offers a very natural tobacco flavor and to my knowledge this contains no cavendish, which I enjoy when present, but appreciate the difference here.

In my experience this benefits from some aging. When I first opened my tin it was a little more grassy and lacked complexity. Now, about a year and a half later it is truly stellar. The VA's have mellowed and sweetened, and the flavor is richer with no bite whatsoever. I may be crazy but the flakes also seem to have darkened - I remember them being a lighter color, and now they are a deep mahagony brown.

The flakes are packed very neatly in the tin and would probably work well to just fold and pack. I prefer to rub it out, and this does so nicely. It rubs out into short pieces of a thin ribbon cut (shag, but shorter) and packs super easily. It burns cool and slow and once lit stays so without much fuss.

This has more flavor and creamy smoke than something like Golden Sliced. While it does not reach the lofty heights of Escudo, I would put it third behind Davidoff Flake Medallions. All three can be enjoyed as this offers a more VA forward flavor which highlights the condimental perique, and is slightly less sweet than the other two mentioned. That puts it in very good company indeed.
Pipe Used: Armellini Pot
Age When Smoked: 1 yr
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 13, 2021 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Virginias dominate, with Perque giving a little fermented spice that's readilydetectable. Salted caramel is the taste that comes forward toI really enjoy this blend me, which is a taste I definitely enjoy. Plum, and a medium strength that makes it enjoyable more than once a day, but a bit heady for more than a couple of bowls a day, for me.

I have enjoyed quite a few bowls of this blend which has very little age on it. I think it will be superb with some cellaring. It's rather too moist when you pop the tin, and I have found that leaving the tin open to dry for a good while makes it even more flavorful and then burns smoothly without a lot of relights. VaPer lovers should give it a try. 3.5 to 4 stars. A couple of years will probably make it a slam dunk for top ratings.

2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 02, 2013 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
been a long time since i checked any reviews.Only saw one on the councilor and was suprised! for selfish reasons i hope you guys start smoking this so they dont discontinue! the councilor deserves to be in the discussion when talking vapers!Very good no drying out needed ! Natural sweetness and theperfect amount of that heveanly spice in my opinion!Good news ! you dont need a sillems old boy to light it1 Matches work just fine! My first offering from Sillems mabey I will get around to the blue or black everybodys talking about ! Vincenzo will keep some of this on hand! If you like vapers get some Vincenzo
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 29, 2024 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I'm really surprised that there are only 14 reviews as of this writing. More than most tobaccos, but I fully expected Councilor to be more popular.

The tin was a royal mess the first time I ever tried this. The flakes had matted themselves together, and the wax disc of the tin had become a part of the flake; paper fibers mated to the delicious smelling amber flakes. I made a mess of the flakes in cleaning them up, but that was going to happen anyhow. Besides, the fruity smell coming at me while working at it was a reward in itself.

Councilor is my Go-To tobacco nowadays. I simply cannot scald my tongue no matter how hard I work the ember in my pipes. It is the most consistent-burning tobacco I have ever smoked. I would proffer a sort of magic is at work here, but then it's more likely careful German engineering at play. I will typically rub the flakes and then let them air for 10 minutes before packing. This ends up requiring a few starting lights, and maybe another mid-bowl. Otherwise, it just burns steadily along. Even when the pipe itself feels hotter than I prefer, the tobacco still delivers a steady, cool smoke.

The initial light of the 1695 is sweet and fruity. Citrus notes are a great greeting. After that, the tiny little addition of perique is never a surprise, but always lightly present throughout. The overall flavor remains utterly crisp throughout the entire bowl.

The room note is... divine? Honestly, it smells equally clean and occasionally brings me to church with a sort of holy incense lingering in the room, which makes the Sillem's logo appropriate.

The strength is a bit higher than I prefer - I like milder tobaccos. This one brings a bit more euphoria than a grumpy old man like me prefers.

All in all, this is the most balanced, most reliable, most reached-for tobacco I know of to date. It's typically "on sale" and readily available. I keep it stocked and ready at all times.
Pipe Used: Vauen, Peterson, Graco
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This was my first experience with Sillem's and I enjoyed it. Nice balance between the sweet VAs and the spicy Perique. Nicely present flakes fold and pack easily. Burns evenly and cool without condensation. If you like VaPers, give it a try.
Pipe Used: various briar bowl sizes
PurchasedFrom: pipes & cigars.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Packs and burns nice. A cool smoke as well. A typical Va flake which has some substance, but can be an all day, any day smoker. Compares to Orlik GS, but a little fuller, more spiciness from perique and a little more money. Finishes slightly sweet. If you are a fan of Va Pers, I think you should try. Based on the number of reviews, this one seems to be under the radar. Worth a try.
Pipe Used: Algerian briar, Castello
PurchasedFrom: P & C
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 08, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Sillem’s
Councillor 1695

Blend notes: “ Red and light Virginias combined with a good dose of Louisiana perique.”

A very good VaPer. The Virginias are of the slightly tangy, citrus variety, providing a creamy background. The Perique is mildly spicy with a bit of fig and plum, without sour notes. This is easily an all-day smoke for those who smoke all day.

The flavor profile is mild-medium in overall strength. In my view, it is slightly more interesting than Escudo, and slightly less interesting than Haddo’s Delight. It is as good and on a part with Marlin Flake and Viprati.

Despite being around for a long time, Sillem’s doesn’t seem to get a lot of press coverage or that many reviews, which is too bad because all of their blends have been top notch. Their Linea Antique Epoch is a delicious Aromatic, though I am less impressed with the Copenhagen aro.

This is an easily approachable, tasty Virginia/Perique blend.

3.5 stars out of 4 rounded up.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"