Peterson Standard Mixture

(3.20)
A balanced blend of Virginia, latakia and Turkish tobaccos, fine rich flavour.
Notes: Descriptions from old Dunhill store catalogs: A blend of the choicest matured Virginia and selected Turkish tobaccos, each specially imported by Alfred Dunhill, the Virginia gives a rich flavour and touch of natural sweetness while the presence of the Turkish leaf imparts a grand aroma, this mixture possess a soft mellow flavour difficult to define but recognized at once by every pipe smoker: probably best described as ‘nutty’. [Latakia and Oriental tobaccos blended with flue-cured grades from east Carolina and Georgia, lightly toasted in our drying drum-1985]. Formerly known as Dunhill Standard Mixture, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.20 / 4
92

77

34

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 25, 2013 Medium to Strong Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
If you enjoy a full, balanced English, look no further. This is superb. The hint of Turkish rounds this off ever so pleasantly. Filtered or unfiltered you'll find that this hits the spot with a good nicotine kick (should you enhale). It is full on the pallet and delivers satisfaction and relaxation in it's beautiful aroma and wonderfull taste. It is not cloying or overpowering, but pure smoking pleasure and something you'd do well of keeping stock. It burns cleanly and easily although you my need to tamp every five minutes or so, which proves that it is clean, pure tobacco, masterfully blended and delivers on it's promise. If you enjoy Nightcap or Dunhill 965, be sure to try this. You won't be disappointed...
38 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
I often think there are two types of Dunhill aficionado -the Nightcap man, and the 965 man; and if the former gentleman delights in the oriental splendour of London Mixture, then Mr. 965 should also find much to appreciate in Standard Mixture.

Like 965, Standard Mixture has a dark and almost bitter nutty quality that lends the latakia a rich, woody depth. There is a hint of cigarettes, and a spiciness on the exhale that makes my nose react as though there were perique present -although I can imagine this becoming harsh in a large pipe.

I love every one of the current Dunhill blends, but when I first tried Standard Mixture I didn't think it would be a favourite -I am a Nightcap man 😉 However, the delicately flavoured spice has a balance that is everything I love about the Dunhill blends, and I can't help smoking it.

BTW I needed to rest this tobacco for a week or so after opening it, as smoking the fresh tobacco was like smoking a blowtorch.
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 03, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is more or less my everyday’s mixture. I call this "honest tobacco," for the smell does not deceive you in terms of what you can expect from it. In my personal opinion this tastes best in a meerschaum pipe, but you can truly enjoy it in any briar. The latakia bit in it is not overwhelmingly present as it is in other mixtures (think of Balkan Sobranie), but it is still in the background empowering your smoke at every puff. This is a tobacco you can smell as you smoke it, and this is one of its features I really appreciate. Some lady companions or wives might not like the smell of it in the house, but an experienced smoker will probably appreciate it. I personally like it best when 1/3 of the bowl is gone as its taste really cures in your pipe. This mixture has hints of some aromatic woods when you burn them in your fireplace, which is something that really adds up to your smoke. Easy to fill in your bowl, this mixture will burn more or less evenly if you pay attention to it. I give this tobacco a 10 out of 10 because of this features and its flavoursome rich taste.
Pipe Used: meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: John Hollingsworth's
Age When Smoked: Probably 1
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2007 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Very nice, well balanced Latakia blend of the highest quality. Smells musty and smokey in the tin, as Dunhill latakia tends to, not so rich as nightcap but that sort of smell. Its a medium fine ribbon cut, lots of dark leaf, it looks tasty! Packs easily, lights easily and burns steadily and completely.

The flavouris full, not so smooth as 965, but with a toasty taste from the virginia leaf. Some spiciness from the Turkish, and plenty of Latakia flavour, which I enjoy. The flavour is complex, but does not really change much through the bowl, maybe getting just a touch richer at the end. The aroma is full quite heavy, but definitely enjoyable. I enjoyed it a lot, as far as I can see the tobacco is of the highest quality, and I can reccomend it to all latakia lovers.


UPDATE


I've added a star as this blend is just so damned good. It really is what it says on the tin: the standard english mixture. One on which all others are just variations on a theme. I have a few old tins of this, whether the age improves them or not, I don't know, but the old Dunhill tobaccos are about the best English Mixtures out there. I could smoke this all day: plentifully rich, but not overpowering, never bites, burns cool, dry, all the way to the end. It doesn't change in character much through the bowl: the flavours are too well integrated for that. What a blend.


update 2018 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I'm now smoking the Orlik blended Standard Mixture, thought it would be a good time to update my review. Its still excellent quality tobacco, although the quality of the packaging has taken a real plunge: all the Dunhill tobacco is in giant tins for no good reason, with labels applied unevenly, and the obligatory health warning scaremongery.

The tobacco is latakia prominent (but by no means overloaded) , on a rich bed of Virginias, with the Orientals in the background. It's a mix of browns and black on the tin, with toasty bready aromas and campfire smoke on opening the tin. The fermented odours of Orientals are very subtle. It lifts with a single match and burns evenly, the flavour is medium, the nicotine is medium, and it is delicious! Bready toasty, grassy notes are prominent, with latakia smoke. There's a hint of resin and evergreen sap in the smokey aroma, with some herbal notes. It smokes like food, if you get my meaning, and could be smoked all day. It is the standard, and it is medium.
Pipe Used: Briars and Meers dedicated to English Mixtures
Age When Smoked: New
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 19, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Dunhill- Standard Mixture.

The blend itself is a lovely mix of different shades of brown, right from some very light (almost yellow) to some very dark. It is of an excellent moisture level and gives off a smoky, straw-like aroma.

This mix takes to the flame superbly, getting lit on the first attempt and once lit the burn is brilliantly even giving off a lovely cool smoke. The flavour of the smoke is simply delightful, with a good nicotine amount. I get the Virginia acting like the backbone of the mix with its simple hay-like note, a smokiness coming from the Latakia and some Oriental pizzazz. If you inhale the smoke it goes down with ease and does not make your head spin from the nicotine amount. The burn is fairly cool and very steady, leaving a pure white ash at the end of the bowl.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Rattrays
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
I have been smoking Dunhill Standard Mixture Medium for near-on 30 years, at least 3 times daily, and I believe that it has no equal anywhere on earth. But it is gone now, and so I begin a quest for my Holy Grail: A substitute to replace the standard on which all English tobaccos are based. Having smoked in the neighborhood of 1400 tins of the stuff, I believe I might be able to provide some insight.

To this end I have ordered in 40+ different varieties of English / Balkan Types, including all of the usual suspects such as Squadron Leader, Penzance, Margate, et al, as well as contacting G.L. Pease & Cornell & Diehl and having them each send 5 blends that they deem the closest to my treasured SMM.

Over the next few months I'll be going through all of them and posting results under it's own blend page (click on Briarpatch under By Reviewer to see all reviews), but when I am finished I'll sumize the results here in the hope of benefiting someone else in similar straights. When SMM was discontinued I had no idea where to turn, and I eventually ended up here. Perhaps others will as well.

Update 7/09: The winner is Samuel Gawith! The short of it is, Samuel Gawith's Skiff Mixture is the closest. But what really comes close is mixing up about 60% Skiff and 40% Full Virginia Flake. Skiff lacks the richness of SMM, which FFV has in spades. Mixed together it makes for a very nice full & rich smoke. The down- side is all the mixing and the lugging of two tins around...

In the evening after dinner a mixture of Skiff and Brown Rope No.4 is extremely enjoyable!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2002 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Very similar to the old Standard Mixture Mild in my opinion. Different from the original as there is a lot more Virginia and less Latakia, although that leaf is certainly noticeable. If you want a smokey flavor lingering in your mouth, grab a tin of this stuff. There will be a very refined and smooth smokey flavor that lingers delightfully.

From checking out all of the reviews of this blend, it is obviously one of those love it or hate it types. Further testament to how the real gentlemen in our hobby understand the vast taste differences we have!
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 18, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Standard Mixture is like your favorite rugged pair of boots: Sure you have better shoes to wear, from your fine leather Italian dress shoes to your French suedes, but nonetheless, your boots are what you turn to first and continually wear daily. When you get tired of wasting all your $$$ searching for the “ideal tobacco”; whether it is some hipster ‘artisanal blend’ made by the ancient monks of Bhutan or trying some ‘3 aged burleys from the sacred Malawi jungles picked by imported multicultural soccer ball kids of Brazil’: Standard Mixture will always be there, waiting for you inside your tobacco cabinet, waiting for you to open it with an “I told you so grin” on his face, as you go back to smoking this consistently good and reliable tobacco.

Is it better than London Mixture or Aperitif? No.

Is it a high quality, premium tobacco: Yes, absolutely.

Is it the most affordable Dunhill blend: Yes, the same price as London Mixture.

The steadfast, medium strength Latakia always does its duty, the Orientals spice up your mornings and nights, and together with the Virginia’s, this blend fulfills all your cravings and gives you exactly what you want, when you want.

Personally speaking, Standard Mixture is all you can ask for and expect in an English blend. It doesn’t get any better or more consistent than this. However, if “a good tobacco” involves Brazilian soccer ball kids being sent to the Malawi African jungles to pick your tobacco for the next contrived and overdone modern blend; Then don’t be surprised if you’re disappointed with it and the soccer ball kids run off with your wallet afterward (both literally and figuratively). Standard Mixture will never disappoint and would be my daily smoke for years to come if Dunhill wasn’t shutting down this year. I give it a 3.5, because you’ll be smoking a great English blend every time you light it up.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I notice that the word "balance" appears in many, many of the reviews of this blend. I see it also appears in the description. I couldn't possibly agree more with that sentiment. This is about as well balanced as an English gets. This is one fine smoke. All three components contribute very nearly equally. The Oriental lags a little at first, but doesn't take long to begin pulling it's weight. Overall I get near equal notes of smoke, wood, sweetness, hay, and spice with slightly lesser notes of butter and salt. It's very smooth and the burn is cool and near perfect. I can't find a single criticism to level against this fine tobacco.

Medium in body and taste. No added flavorings and the sweetness seems to be all natural. Hits all the right buttons for me.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2002 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Appearance: A slighly broad ribbon cut, about equal parts medium and dark colors. Ribbons are quite uniform, typical Dunhill attention to detail

Aroma: Lots of Virginia base, with Latakia and Turkish in the background. The aroma leads you to believe that the balance is the star.

Packing: Packs easily in most pipes, group 3 and up.

Lighting: Typical lighting procedure, not too quick or too slow.

Initial flavor: The Va comes across first, with authority and some strength. The Turkish and Latakia add their flavors soon after, and the balance I expected is there..

Mid-bowl: A classic English/Oriental blend with good layering of the components, but nothing too dramatic. Actually somewhat plain tasting, and unassuming, but very likeable This is what I started smoking English tobaccos for.. No gurgles noted.

Finish: Well behaved right to the end, leaves a gray ash and nothing else.

Summary: Not as complex as some of the newer blends, but not as challenging to get into the zone with. A real classic with unique charm, probably one of Dunhill?s oldest.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"