Peterson The Royal Yacht

(3.00)
Truly a luxurious tobacco. Virginias are carefully conditioned to ensure sweetness. They are added to rich, heavier and cooler Virginias. A unique flavor is added to the final blend to enhance the subtle and piquant aroma.
Notes: Pure shade grown Virginias, very soft smoking, particularly recommended in cases of delicate throat. -1917 Lemon and bronze Virginia leaves are carefully conditioned and are added to rich heavy body Virginias, a unique flavour is added to the final blend. -1985 Formerly known as a Dunhill blend, it now sports the Peterson brand.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Plum
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.00 / 4
178

130

80

49

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 431 - 437 of 437 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2005 Medium to Strong Mild Full Very Pleasant
Update Jan 2005: This blend has become like a friend made while on vacation as a youth. It turns out that the only thing you both have in common is that you liked the girls working at the snack bar in the hotel game room. Context was everything. I like the tin.

The manufacturer's description says "a unique flavor is added."

What this is, I do not know. It could be an extract from the afterbirth of an hippopotamus or made from the molted skin of the anaconda. Perhaps it is derived from a civet deposit.

This packs easily, burns well, tastes delicious and smells wonderful. No heat, no bite and gives volumes of smoke and platters of flavor. It is also economical.

Despite the "added flavor," I note natural, matured, well-prepared flue-cured tobacco.

I smoke it before breakfast without much nicotine effect, though it does make my face numb and gives me, one born too late, the experience of the 60's without fear of the ATF or having to move to Santa Cruz.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2004 Extremely Strong Medium to Strong Medium Strong
I wonder if anyone would smoke this if it didn't have the word "Dunhill" scrawled in elegant lettering across the lid. This is a truly putrid tobacco, with a tin aroma like cheap--very, very cheap--wine, which, when lit, smells equally appealing as it rises from your pipe. It is uninteresting, disgusting, and, as so many have noted, has an extremely high nicotine content that makes it all the more unappetizing. I can take some nicotine (Nightcap and 965's legendary nicotine levels didn't faze me at all), but in a tobacco this crappy, the buzz offered no pleasure whatsoever.

But we all have our tastes. I adore Mixture No. 79, which received nary a positive review here, so I can't resent a man loving a bowl of Royal Yacht. I don't understand it, mind you, but to each his own. I prefer burley over Virginia tobacco anyway.

And now a proposition: I have a newly opened tin of this stuff that has had only one bowl smoked out of it. Anyone interested in trading for a tin of tobacco they'd like to get rid of can e-mail me at [email protected] to see about an exchange. We'll see if there are any takers. . . .
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2004 Medium to Strong Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
September 2004

Loved the tin aroma, loved the strength, found the flavor strange and unusual from bowl top to bowl bottom. There are too many other Virgina-based blends around to make this a keeper for me.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2004 Very Strong Mild to Medium Medium to Full Strong
Thanks to the reviews (both good and bad) of this tobacco, I decided to dip into a sample of Royal Yacht that recently passed my way. I'll preface this by mentioning that I do not often particularly enjoy aromatics or straight VA blends. More specifically, they are my *least* favorite members of the smoking tobacco family.

The pressure of this experience is tantamount to your "first drug experience" or losing your virginity in its mythic proportion. I packed a clay pipe (just in case it did in fact unleash an unholy fume and glow with a green balefire upon ignition) and....

This sample is dry. Crispy dry. And for some reason it still took several charring lights to even get it going. A good sign or bad?

The first smoke - amazingly unremarkable. I guess after subjecting myself to Durbar and Haddo's Delight while my tongue and palette were still so unrefined has toughened me up.

Not *half* bad. In fact. Not bad at all. Due to my own tastes, it is likely not something I'll smoke all the time. But I have to say - if you like...mysteriously seasoned VA blends, this isn't bad at all!

In fact, the further I go down this bowl - the better it tastes. Despite the name, there is an harshness here I don't mind. Not really Royal. But then again, neither am I! It has an odd acridity on the nose and an aftertaste that I almost think I could crave on rare occasion.

Deviltry and black magic! Even this tiny bowl is making the room shimmer a bit. Sure there is no salvia leaf in this stuff? This is no Royal Yacht, but a ship of lost souls!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 15, 2004 Strong Mild Very Mild Strong
OK, this stuff has taken on a reputation of mythical proportions and so I found it necessary to get a tin and make up my own mind. I tried it four times before coming to a decsion. Frankly, it doesn't do much for me. I can't really see why all the fuss, pro or against. It didn't cause any defects in me or my offspring and it didn't make me want to stop working so I may stay at home and smoke it all day and do nothing else. My final conclusion: It's not good and it's not bad.

Eric P
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 24, 2004 Very Strong None Detected Extra Full Tolerable to Strong
Ultra traditional [heavy english]. I noticed alot of reviews trashing this blend. This is actually a good blend if you like real traditional heavy englishes. Dunhills Elizibethian mixture is the same strength as this and usually gets the same remarks. The blend is light and dark orientals,burley, Va, turkish, and of course latakia alot of it! These types of englishes you aquire a taste for. Nobody really likes them the first time. Kind of like a fine bottle of scotch. This blend is heavy and will hit you in the gut. The nicotine content is high and you will get hiccups. I like this once in a while after a meal or when I want to make pretend Im in London. If your looking for a similar taste with less strength try the Standard medium or early morning pipe. This blend is for veterans only!
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2004 Overwhelming Medium Mild Tolerable to Strong
Good gawdamighty. This stuff is something fierce! How could the makers of 965 set this stuff out, I asked myself.

MAYBE in my Camel nails and Rot Haendle days might I tolerate a half a bowlful, maybe, but this stuff is just too strong. What's the point of stuffing a bowlful of this, half knowing you're only going to get all swimmy headed in a few, short moments.

The flavor was nothing worth the impending floating/sinking sensation, soon to come.

Any nick freaks out there, have your ways with this tin. All others, keep moving along.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"