Peterson Nightcap

(3.46)
A rich blend of Virginia, Oriental, and Latakia tobaccos, intended to be smoked late in the day. It's a smoky, delightfully satisfying mixture, with a hint of Perique added to enhance the bouquet.
Notes: Formerly known as Dunhill Nightcap, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.46 / 4
433

158

59

30

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 680 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 17, 2017 Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable
First Latakia blend I liked! Perfect for a nice slow smoke in the Calabash pipe, sitting outside in the countryside one summer evening. Actually just like I do now!
Pipe Used: Calabash
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 24, 2006 Very Strong Strong Very Full Very Strong
Okay, okay. Yes, this isn't the same animal from 30 years ago. We get that much.

And yes, some of you had the same experience I have had: You opened up a tin of the new creature, found a lot of bright Virginias, some sassy periques and some rather vinegary-tasting latakias. Some of you even tossed it out as being too brash, too tart, not the knockout article you'd been led to expect.

Shame on you.

This is one fine blend. It just needs to settle in. Here's what you do.

Get yourself a big Bell mason jar, one of the quart-sized ones. Make sure it's a screw-top lid-seal jar just like granny made pickles and preserves in. Don't settle for fancy lever-seals or ceramic jars, they will disappoint you.

Open up your tin of Nightcap. Empty contents into mason jar. Screw on the lid for a tight seal. Shake well, to loosen up all the players.

Now stick that jar in the bottom of your closet and forget it exists.

Come back 2 weeks later, shake it up again, and put it back.

Come back in another 2 weeks and give it a good shake. Now open the jar.

THIS is the aroma you were seeking. Go ahead, fire it up and see why everyone else loves this blend so much.

Is it the Nightcap from 1975? No. But you know what? Who cares? It's a fine blend in it own right, given the proper time and space to get itself together. So fire up your magic Basement / Closet / Cupboard and stick s few jars of Nightcap in there. You won't regret it.
187 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 03, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
The very deeply rich, smokey, woody sweet and mildly musty Cyprian Latakia is the star component. The grassy, lightly tart and tangy citrus sweet Virginias form the base of the blend, and mostly plays a small role. The spicy, raisiny, plumy perique underlines the experience. The Oriental/Turkish adds some smoke, wood, earth, floralness, and dryness along with a pinch of salt and pepper in support of the very consistent flavor. The nic-hit is medium. The strength and taste levels are close to the strong and full thresholds respectively. Has no dull or weak spots, but does have some rough edges. Won’t bite, but you may possibly observe an extremely light harsh note if you puff like a freight train, so I recommend a reasonable cadence. Has some complexity, and burns at a moderate pace, clean and mostly cool. Requires few relights, and leaves just a little dampness in the bowl. Easily burns to ash. The after taste and pungent room note do linger. Not an all day smoke, but it’s certainly repeatable, unless your better half hits you in the head with a rolling pin for smelling up the house.

Is it different than the Murray's blend? It seems about the same to me, though I thought the Murray’s version had a little more depth by a hair.

-JimInks
129 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 20, 2014 Very Strong Strong Full Tolerable
This is as quintessentially english as you can get. To really understand that you need to be in england on a summer's evening where you can walk out into your garden and smell the bonfires wafting over from your neighbours. England is obsessed by tidy gardens and burning unruly weeds. You need to understand why people in england created such a complex taste - it's to remind us of those few warm days a year that linger and one yearns for. You need to know what it's like sitting in a 300 year old cottage in the countryside; to smell and sense the lush damp green around you warmed by the sun, autumn musk and the cold of winter falling when you yearn for summer again. This is the comfort that is Nightcap. A musky, smoky, soothing oak of calming tobacco that gets you through the dark and rain when you long for a summer camp and bonfire. Nicotine induced hibernating rest unto summer. When you get that rare sunny haze you can smoke a pipe of this inside, go outside and smell it for real - even in winter on Bonfire Night. This is what I have come to understand about Dunhill tobaccos - wether it be the oriental english breakfast tea taste of Early Morning Pipe or the rush of plummy english christmas pudding mixed with connotations of navel travel of yesteryear in Royal Yacht, it's quintessential englishness that only someone in england could concoct.
Pipe Used: K & P , Jolly Roger
Age When Smoked: 36
88 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 24, 2004 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Very Strong
As a Latakia fiend, I think this must surely be the most magnificent Latakia blend I have tried. When I first opened a tin of this, and took a huge sniff at the midnight-dark contents, my head reeled, and I experienced something approaching fear! The huge Latakia smokiness was there, richer than I had ever smelt it before, but stronger than this was a mysterious fermented, almost yeast-like smell. I can only compare it to smelling one of those powerful cheeses that one can find in Brno, in the Czech republic. A very savoury scent, stong and intimidating. I like these cheeses though, and was only put off for a moment. The dominance of this smell faded within a few hours of the tin being open, and became detectable as something in the background of the aroma. Lighting is easy, provided that you let the tobacco air overnight, as it is excesively moist in the tin. The first time I smoked this, I thought I had died and gone to pipesmokers heaven. Nothing compares to the huge richness of this blend, and its unpredictably developing flavour, incredibly complex. In a Virginia-Perique blend, the perique builds through the bowl, and only really announces itself in the peppery finale. This blend displays this tendency, except that at odd moments throughout the bowl, the perique may leap out for a few extra-spicy puffs, before fading again to the spicy background flavour it usually supplies. The smoke is full, puff hard and you will blow smoke rings that last like no other, they seem almost ready to sail out of the window and wander off on an adventure of their own! When you puff more rapidly on it, the Latakia will dominate all other tastes, a flavour almost like very well cooked toast may develop. I like my toast black about the edges, so this is enjoyable enough to me. Puff more gently, and the Latakia will calm down, and other flavours have room to move, the tangy spice of the Perique, and the very subtle hint of sweetness from the Virginia will peek out through the smoke. Nutty flavours, woody flavours, earthy flavours, they are all here alongside the rich smokiness. While very smooth, and totally without bite, the Perique gives a hint of sharpness, a zest that completes and complements the flavours. I am moved almost to poetry by it, better not smoke too much, or I might write something resembling Kubla Khan! It is strong, noticably stronger than St Bruno, so use a small pipe, and go easy until you get used to it. The room note is powerful, so don't smoke this in the same room as the canary! Smoke this last thing in the day, or you won't taste anything else that you eat or smoke. If you want a drink to accompany it, choose something bold, such a a really strong coffee, continental dark roast does the trick. If its whiskey, go for an Islay malt, Laphroig works. If you like beer, get out the richest Imperial Russian Stout you can lay your hands on, the Durham brewery's "Temptation" (10% abv) does the trick. The only wine that could work with this would be Port. Sit back, light up, and enjoy, relaxation is about to be re-defined! ------Update 2024------ I've recently had the chance to compare an old tin of mine (2004, made in UK, ie the last of the Murrays production) which I'd just cracked the seal on, with a newly opened tin of the current "Peterson" Nightcap from STG. I'll also say that I do enjoy the "Peterson" Dunhills and I'm glad we still have them in new branding. The first thing to say is that 20 years of age hasn't benefitted it. I had a much older (sealed) tin of the old Dunhill stuff last year and it was rather faded. This wasn't so bad but certainly it had lost some of the initial "funk" when the tin is cracked, the aroma being rather subdued. The smoking is superb nonetheless and I did enjoy it. Nextly, the tobacco is visibly different. The Murrays is a wider, shorter cut, and has a much higher proportion of dark black leaf. It looks, smells and smokes like there's more Latakia in the old stuff, albeit slightly faded with age. The new stuff smells a lot sweeter too. Finally the Murrays product definitely has more nicotine. The Velvet hammer was a mighty one back then, I'll say that the newer production sits closer to the other blends in its family in formulation, whereas Nightcap when I first enjoyed it all those years ago really was a beast, sat out in its own realm far removed from most other English mixtures. So, I do enjoy the new product, no it's not the same as it used to be, yes the old stuff was stronger. BUT, if I had any more of the old product I'd smoke it right away because it's not getting any younger and the years aren't doing it any favours now.
67 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 13, 2008 Strong Strong Very Full Very Pleasant
In my native country of Pakistan, it seemed like nearly all the pipe tobaccos sold were English blends. This was unfortunate because I enjoy the more aromatic American blends, which were hard to find. As a new pipe smoker (at the time), I tried several English blends but found them a bit too harsh and smoky tasting. A friend then recommended Dunhill's Nightcap. I had seen it in the tins in the stores but never knew anything about it and supposed it was smokey/woodsy-tasting like most of the other English blends. Not so. I fell in love with it immediately and continue to smoke today, some 20 years later. The perique and burleys help to balance out the harsher, more smokey latakia, making for a pleasant smoke. The only downside to this tobacco I found is the aftertaste it leaves in the mouth. My wife and family love the room note of this tobacco. (They hated the other English blends I used to smoke!) Some folks do not like this tobacco, but I think many of them do not know how to smoke it properly- it has to be smoked slowly, in order to burn cool, and in a pipe that is suitable. Some pipes burn to fast and too dry. This has to be smoked in a pipe that retains some moisture. If smoked too fast/hot, it will leave a bite, along with a wretched odor. If smoked slow/cool, it will leave a very pleasant, soothing aroma that is pleasing to everyone around you, and make a nice evening smoke THIS TOBACCO IS NOT MEANT TO BE INHALED!!! Now that I'm in the States, I usually buy this tobacco in bulk at the local tobacconist shop, and keep it in a humidified jar on my pipe stand. A word- let the tobacco age/weather a bit before smoking it. This will help to cut down a bit on the strength of it and will reduce the bite/aftertaste it leaves. I don't recommend this as an everyday smoke, but a good Friday/Saturday evening or special occasion smoke. For everyday smokes, I recommend an aromatic American blend.
61 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 17, 2013 Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable to Strong
Strong Latakia flavor with the Turkish close behind. Can dimly discern the Perique and Virginias in the background. By the end of the bowl they have seamlessly blended into one delicious flavor. It took me almost a full tin to fully appreciate this blend and I have come to love it. Highly recommended. Don't give up on it too early. It'll grow on you.
58 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2007 Very Strong None Detected Extra Full Strong
This blend is touted as one of Dunhill's strongest. Dunhill doesn't lie. It is a powerful concoction and wickedly so. I can easily review this blend for those of you who have smoked 965. Just turn up the flavor 7 notches and throw in a bit of perique, and you have instant Nightcap!

The older, Royal Warrant with tails tins are highly sought after for good reason, the years of aging has smoothed the elements to the point where each puff is a heavenly experience. Strength, flavor and thick, creamy smoke will take you to Heaven's door!

The 1995-through-2005 Murray's version is quite tasty, too. Just not as forgiving on the palate.
56 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 23, 2013 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable to Strong
If you're a member of this site, let's just agree to something now:

Once you log in, this site will hold your wife & dog hostage until you've written a review praising Nightcap. Personally, I'm okay with that arrangement.

This was my first proper English mixture. I found a tin that was old & dust covered on a back shelf at my tobacconist' shop. Sadly, I burned my way through the ambrosia within a matter of days. My normal cadence is to only allow myself 2 open tins at any given time, alternating pipes & tins before opening & trying other blends. However, Nightcap didn't join the rotation it BECAME the rotation for as long as those blessed 50g lasted.

With it's smoky, creamy, & full flavor it is every bit as satisfying as Dunhill claims. Now, every time I place an order for tobacco at smokingpipes.com, I order something new to try, an old favorite, and a tin of this.

There's my review of Nightcap!

Can I have the dog back now?
41 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2001 Strong None Detected Full Strong
For twenty years, I smoked Escudo or Three Nuns before 6:00 p.m., Nightcap or Rattray's Red Rapparee after 6:00 p.m. Call me a Classicist, call me boring.

Then in 1990 I moved to Paris, where I couldn't readily find any of my favourites! I was forced to experiment. I will not horrify your child-like impressionability with all the indescribable crap that I tried. Suffice it to say that, when I despairingly decided to order some Nightcap direct from London, it tasted like balm-of-Heaven to the sores of a desert leper.

Nightcap is one great tobacco.

50% Latakia, it is forbiddingly deep and flinty, with a black velvet cushioning of Orientals, and a Virginia roundness that is truly grandiose. It takes a while to get going?there is always some bitterness at the beginning?but when the overpowering Latakia catches on, there is nothing like the oceanic depth of this blend. And, just when you are about to feel that it is perhaps a little bloated, Périque raises its impudent head like a ray of light in the night, giving the whole composition liveliness and finesse. Then a sec Virginia Oriental nuttiness will glimmer in the latakia gloom, as supple as diamonds at the bottom of a cave.

This is the most contemplative blend I know, with the perfect æsthetic clarity of Gregorian chant. Indispensable to the survival of human civilization.
28 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 09, 2009 Medium to Strong Mild Very Full Pleasant
UPDATE: I've been dipping into this same tin (now in a jar) for a while now and the spices from the Orientals and the Perique are certainly more noticeable. Drier, it burns much more evenly and predictably. Flavors are more discernible and it's still an excellent tobacco.

ORIGINAL: This is based on a brand new Orlik tin that I just received from Germany.

In the tin, the sweet Virgina aroma predominates, with a very present but subdued Latakia smokiness. The weed is lighter than I expected, a nice mix of golden colors with the darker Latakia. Moisture was close to just right. Next time I may dry it for a little while before striking the match.

Upon lighting, it was less sweet than expected. It never really develops as much Virgina sweetness as some English blends, but the balance is impeccable. I can't perceive the Perique at all. The smokiness is the main player but the flavors blend so effortlessly that you can't help but just sink into a contemplative mood and smoke away the afternoon. I would characterize this tobacco as smooth, smooth, smooth.

I was surprised to find the room note toasty and pleasant, unlike most heavy Lat mixtures. The flavors intensified during the last third-bowl. I re-lit a couple times near the end to take advantage of the dregs, then allowed the final dottle to just burn out. A nice smoky aftertaste reminds you for a while of the pleasure you just experienced and makes you anticipate the next time you open the tin.
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"