Boswell Pipes & Tobacco Piper's Pleasure

(3.44)
Piper's Pleasure- Aroma - one of the most important aspects of any smoking tobacco. Perfect burning quality. Rich flavors of chocolate, vanilla, coffee, and a mild sweetness. A mild, slow burning, cool smoke.

Details

Brand Boswell Pipes & Tobacco
Blended By J.M. Boswell
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate, Coffee, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.44 / 4
18

10

4

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 32 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2023 Very Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
Another good Boswell aro. Cool burning, copious smoke. Flavor of cocoa & coffee lasts all the way to the end. Maybe my taster is weak, but I find myself actually wishing for a bit MORE of the mocha flavor. Great room nite of course. Give it a good 20min of air dry time before lighting and the relights are kept to a minimum and the flavor is a bit better. Pairs great with coffee or Puerh tea.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
I have smoked so many Boswell blends over the years (but never reviewed most of them), that I don't know where to begin. When I pulled out my notebook and saw how many aromatics I've tried, I narrowed the field down to my favorite of them all, Piper's Pleasure. In fact, after checking my recollections, I need to call them up and order some more.

One of the richest aromatics I have ever smoked with a very strong Chocolate and Vanilla presentation (yes coffe is listed, too, but I never tasted it). Non goopy, clean burning rate and an after taste that is to die for. There are a lot of pure aromatic smokers in our midst and I personally this cool smoking Cavendish would be at the top of everyone's list who was born with a taster.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 04, 2016 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The burley is not that noticeable, but it offers a little nuttiness when it shows. You’ll get a little more of it in the last third of the experience. The black cavendish has some vanilla, but how much translates to the taste is uncertain as the toppings really tone down he tobaccos. The vanilla and chocolate are rich with a deep flavor in a starring role, the latter being a little more prominent. The coffee does no more than underscore the other toppings, and sometimes less than that. Has close to no nicotine. Needs a light dry time, but burns at a moderate pace, cool, clean, and creamy smooth sweetness from start to finish with just a slight weakening of toppings toward the end. leaves a little moisture in the bowl, and requires a few relights. Not quite an all day smoke, though the experienced are smoker may consider it to be one.

-JimInks
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 12, 2011 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
IMHO there is a short list of “kings” when it comes to bulk American aromatics, Boswell's and Pipeworks and Wilke to name a couple of them. The newest offering from Boswells is a great example as to why they are known for some of America's finest aromatics. Piper's Pleasure is a “full on” sweet wonderful blend of Vanilla and Chocolate. There is a coffee casing too, but I detect very little of it in the smoke. The ribbon appears to be made up of nearly equal amounts of Burley and Cavendish and does need some dry time prior to smoking. The flavors are intense and remain steady throughout the bowl. Unlike some aromatics, PP doesn't become bitter as the bowl nears its end and there is no chemical taste. Feel free to puff away on this blend because there is no bite to be found here!

When I do choose an aromatic, I tend to like aro's that are a little less sweet than this one. However when I want a full throttle aromatic, Piper's Pleasure has quickly become my favorite in the large stable of Boswell aromatic blends. Highly Recommended.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 23, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Wonderful blend with cocoa top note in bag, bowl, and room note. This is a great morning coffee, end of day smoke, designated, like "No Bite Delite", a regular upon first taste.

No bite at any point, although there was a brief gurgle mid-bowl; good, steady burn with no re-light required after charring / second lights.

Boswell provides excellent, friendly service, and fast shipping.

Highly recommend.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Piper’s Pleasure is one of the newer blends to Boswell’s lineup of well-made aromatics. Over time it has become one of my favorite Boswell blends. The pouch scent is mainly chocolate, but the coffee scent is definitely there in the background. In the pipe, I find the chocolate flavor dominates with the coffee in a supporting role. This tobacco is pretty heavily sauced, but it doesn’t goop up the pipe. If you like mocha like I do, this one is a keeper.
PurchasedFrom: J.M. Boswell
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2015 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
A very good aromatic. I was given a good sample of this that I finished yesterday following Easter Dinner at my In-Laws. I smoked them in an old MM Bullcob. It was a wonderful experience and the topping was a delightful fruity chocolate type of topping that reminded me a bit of CB Royal, but much better.

The topping lasted the whole bowl and though I never really got an overwhelming tobacco backbone to the blend, something that I rather enjoy in an aromatic, I was never left with that feeling of puffing on hot air. The pleasant aroma was with me throughout whether coming from my snork or off the sidestream, it was ethereal and gave me one of those magical smokes right when I needed one. That is after stuffing myself with an easter dinner.

I probably had about five bowls of this total and the others were not as memorable, so I don't think I could put four stars on this, but it would definitely hold four stars to any CB fans out there and for those aromatic smokers who like the taste of topping more than the taste of tobacco. I am giving it three for a recommended change up sweet treat.
Pipe Used: cobs
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 13, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I was gifted some of this from a friend.

In my mind, there are two types of Aromatics. Those that are worth buying, and those that are not. This is one of the formers.

It's a little moist out of the pouch, some drying time could be beneficial. I laid mine out for a minimum of 20 minutes and got optimal results. It packs relatively easily and stays lit, for the most part (Maybe dry it for a little longer). Surprised to hear that this isn't "flavored" I'm guessing the sugars, or whatever was used, was enough to give the burley and cavendish a little push into the realm of taste.

You'll get little whiffs of cocoa, vanilla, possibly even honey. I found this blend a little similar to Cupcake (the blend not the food) actually. But with a stronger hint of cocoa/chocolate. I didn't get any tongue bite but I could see this biting if provoked.

The room note on this was wonderful. I smoked it at a bar, and while most Japanese usually hate my baccys (usually Latakia bombs) I received compliments from around the room. I wore the same jacket I was smoking in the next day and got a true scent of the piper's pleasure. It was of that quintessential pipe smoke and brought me back memories of that Grandfather I never had.

I would recommend this to any fans of aromatics and anyone who doesn't smoke them but wants to have a high quality aromatic (you know who you are).
Pipe Used: Cobs and Chacom Sport
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
This is a finely blended and balanced aromatic. It is not over the top in flavoring which generally destroys the enjoyment of the tobacco experience itself. I didn't have any moisture or re-light issues with my 4 oz. order. It lit early, burned clean and even to the very end. It was truly a good even smoke with the nuances adding the notes you are looking for in the description. This blend is as described and doesn't let you down in any way. It's another fine Boswell blend. If you want the hint of cocoa or soft chocolate note, this is a good one. It's not all artificial like so many others and is a fine blend. Boswell's obviously knows what they are doing.
Pipe Used: bjarne, rossi, la strada, red point
PurchasedFrom: Boswells
Age When Smoked: 6 mos
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2013 Mild Medium Full Pleasant
4 STARS!! this is good stuff. The best Boswell blend i have tried so far (5 of them) and i will be ordering some more of this to cellar. A must try aromatic!
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 10, 2015 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Cocoa Puffs! This has the smell of one fine breakfast cereal from my childhood, and a mild, sweet taste. It smoked a bit wet for me, but was pleasant and easy on the tongue.

Like other Boswell aromatics, this one is a little bit of a novelty, but a decent tobacco.
Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Boswell
Age When Smoked: 1 month
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"