Peterson Flake

(3.55)
Brown Virginia Pipe Tobacco. Pressed first and then delicately cut into fine slices.
Notes: Description from old Dunhill store catalogs: Flake (aka Light Flake): This ‘processed’ Virginia is a cut flake of medium strength, very cool, and has a pleasant, slightly sweet flavour and aroma (1959) [Lemon and Bronze Virginias, ideal for sportsmen - 1985]. Formerly known as Dunhill Flake, STG has changed the brand name from "Dunhill" to "Peterson".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Dunhill
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.55 / 4
146

67

15

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 221 - 230 of 230 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 30, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
I love this flake. I love that every so often I get a gift of sweetness from one of its puff. Great taste, it burned great. It was a calming, pleasant smoking experience.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 30, 2011 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This tobacco does seem to have changed! i always remember DF as a very straight and pure virginia and smoked a lot approx 10 years ago. This is my first tin and without wishing to jump to a premature conclusion: there seems to be a taste present that is unfamiliar - a sort of syrupy/sherbety tang that coats the mouth and pallete. Still a pleasant tobacco, but not as nutty and pure as i remember? maybe i need another tin for comparison.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Unnoticeable
I expected a little more taste with this one, but still a good mild to medium smoke. No bite. Smoked well outside even in the strong winds of southern Minnesota in early October.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Good, plain tobacco here. The tin note is fig newtons, dried cake and sugar. After leaving the tin open for several days it became more inviting. I used stuff and roll to load the pipe and once it was lit it was fairly well behaved with little bite. It probably could have used half an hour's drying time. The ease with which this flake lit and stayed burning with no dry time, and the fact that tongue irritation was minor (I could see it biting if it was pushed!) wins it major points.

The tobacco is somewhat grassy, lemony, and like burning hay. Very pleasant, somewhat sweet room note of just tobacco.

Definitely a well done virginia flake, but not nearly interesting enough to justify the price... Or maybe it is, it's better than orlik golden sliced in my opinion. I would recommend it as something to try for the straight va smoker.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 13, 2011 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A good Virginia, comes with the right moisture content and a nice flake. I just don't find this tobacco exciting or interesting and is very one dimensional. It's not real sweet ( actually it's salty) it burns well and doesn't bite (smoked in a cob). It reminds me of Orlik's Golden Sliced Red but without as heavy a citrus topping and a higher price. If I want a sweet Virginia I'd buy McB Virginia No.1, if I want a tangy Virginia , I'd buy McC 5100 Red Cake, If I want a strong complex Virginia it's FVF or Solani's 660 Silver. However , if I want Orlik's Red, I'll buy Orlik's red. This reminds me of a Peter Stokkebye product.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 23, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
Opening the 10 month old sample of Dunhill Flake I had revealed lovely compressed flakes of browns and yellows giving an overall orange cast to the tobacco. It smelled the way a Virginia flake should, faint citrus odors with hay dominating. It was very clean felling and the moisture level was just about perfect. I prefer to rub out my flakes, so this review is based on this blend being fully rubbed out.

An unlit sip brought the familiar Virginia tastes to my lips, and the initial light produced the taste of fresh hay. The overall taste was of hay, with a nice intermix of sweetness and citrus flavors fading in and out. This tobacco burned to a clean white ash, and left an oily finish at the back of my mouth. The room note was acceptable, but not wonderful.

I really love this flake, it has great taste and the nicotine hit is just about right for me. If you are looking for a straightforward, sweet tasting Virginia flake, this would be a good candidate. I will definitely be looking forward to how the other tins develop in my cellar.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Tolerable
I have to give this 4 stars. This is my first flake, so I have nothing to really compare it to. When I opened the tin, I got a nice fruity smell. For my packing method, I have a large bowl, so I folded one flake, then on top of that, I rubbed out another and packed it normally. At first, it wasn't so spectacular. No real flavor at all. But once the coal began to hit the folded portion at the bottom, I began to notice the flavor. It tasted almost as if I was smoking sugar cane. It tasted naturally sweet, like most Virginias seem to do. Although the flavor itself was not much to right home about, I knew that it was what pipe tobacco was supposed to taste like. It was like eating a really great bowl of mashed potatoes; nothing inherently special, but you can tell when it's done right. Great job, Dunhill.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2011 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Based on previous reviews and my fondness of virginia tobaccos I just got seven tins of a tobacco I'm a bit disappointed in. Good quality, easy prep and behaves well but not terribly interesting -- a good all day smoke but doubt I'll order more.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
The perfectly cut flakes look boring compared to the attractive wild variety of SG's flake presentations.  Seems a bit wet at first tin opening, but smoked great right away.

Taste nowhere spectacular, but friendly and complex enough to keep giving pleasure. Dare i say tart? Yes, in a good way. A nice companion when busy although I keep being nicely distracted to contemplate the taste of the baccy instead of the substance of my reading.

Clearly Dunhill Flake goes against my protestant upbringing that taught me that one has to suffer before reaping any reward. Smooth, sweet, fresh, complex and yet immediately smokeable right out of the tin, easy to load, easy to light, easy to smoke. Could this be true? I would never have believed it but Dunhill cracked it, highly recommended!

Relighting after a few hours rest, is not a pleasure, while this is absolutely not a problem with Best Brown. 

Still Dunhill Flake went straight up in my favourites list.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2011 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
High quality Virginia blen, composed of mostly bright leaf. Hayey and mildly sweet. It burns evenly and with no tongue bite, providing a pleasant smoke anytime of the day. Very nice, but not quite on a par with FVF, Cut Virginia Plug or IRC Flake.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"