Mac Baren Capstan Gold Navy Cut

(3.32)
This blend is a composition of select, bright, sun cured Virginia leaf. Pressed, stored and cut into flakes. Capstan Gold Flake with the natural Virginia sweetness is a must try for everyone who appreciates a good, straightforward Virginia Blend.
Notes: Formally blended by Orlik and originally by W.D. & H.O. Wills. See W.D. & H.O. Wills for reviews of the original Capstan Gold Navy Cut. Produced by Mac Baren since 2006.

Details

Brand Mac Baren
Blended By Mac Baren
Manufactured By Mac Baren
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Very Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.32 / 4
34

23

10

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 51 - 60 of 68 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 20, 2014 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Unnoticeable
Wow!....a straight Va. that smokes with sweetness and spiceness, I am pleasantly suprised.

Tin presentation is impeccable, more bright colored leaf than OGS, well pressed and uniform in cut.

Smell is hayish, but sweet- cant identify any casing myself, like say University Flake or Erinmore.

If respected my patience pays off with sweet sugary sips early to mid bowl. I do get peppeey spice toward.the end-not unlike I taste with perique in a blend.Of course it can burn and bite but I rub it out well and pack it firm. Highly recommended from someone not hyper-fond of straight anything in the baccy realm.
Pipe Used: Sav Bent
PurchasedFrom: Pipes&Cigars.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 21, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a mild, golden Virginia flake with notes of natural sweetness and hay. Has more going for it than MacB's VA Flake, but not quite as sweet and satisfying as MacB's Virginia No 1. Still, it's hard to criticize a blend that has so much light colored VAs that doesn't bite.

I like it, but the Cap Blue has a little more going for it.

Govern Yourself Accordingly
Pipe Used: Radice Twin Bore Dublin
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars, Southfield, MI
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 26, 2013 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
With a slow smoking I really enjoy my smoking experience with this blend. When I pack it into my Stanwell 163 sand, it is really easy to pack, burn slowly and with consistent taste and flavour. I really enjoy this blend from 1st light until I finish the whole bowl.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 16, 2013 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
My tin was marked as made in Denmark by MacBaren in 3/13 and this is one of their more enjoyable flakes even though it hadn't aged much. As usual, the flakes are nicely prepared and ~ 3" long. The moisture content is ideal and makes the flakes pliable for my fold and pack method. It burns cool and dry and the sweet VAs come thru. If you like VA flakes, give it a try.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 14, 2011 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Upon opening the tin, I get the classic smell for a Danish flake, figs and honey. The tobacco burns slowly and to a white ash from the tin. The taste is sweet with fig tones. A perfect all day flake that delivers a consistent flavor that might be boring for some but not for me. This is exactly what I want in a Danish style Virginia flake.

Update: the new Mac Baren version is not as tasty and the topping is applied differently for my taste buds. It's still a good Virginia flake, just not as good.

Virginia Lover
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2010 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Amazing tin. Very beautiful and perfectly allocated flakes inside the tin. Visually winsomeness. I tried it in various ways (ground, whole flake, brocken flake, etc.). At first it struck me, probably influenced by its "historical" name. It is quite heavy, with a honey-like, stable flavor throughout the bowl. I wouldn't agree with the “subtle flavor” indicated by the manufacturer. It was hard to light in every way that I smoked it. It also needs to be left open to dry. Maybe in its earlier years this Virginia tasted better. Neutral flavor in the room and it causes no cough. I have another tin and I most certainly do not feel ashamed, anymore, of the reason that after 20 years of pipe smoking I had not tried it.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 24, 2010 Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
1-I agree with many reviewers: this tobacco is not spectacular. But... For that very reason, it's a great tobacco if you need something very simple sometimes: pure Virgina. 2-Another way I use it: I mix this tobacco (2/3) with "Pure Latakia" by Robert McConnell (1/3). For me, its' a wonderful balance as I love Latakia being present in a mixture. Give it a try 🙂
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 31, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The high quality leaf shows itself with its wonderfull smell in the tin. The flakes have a medium moisture degree. So you may dry them at your own choice. This will change the smoke in a nice way.

I smoke this tobacco without rubbing the flakes. In this way it offers a long lasting smoke. If you are looking for a strong Virginia flake this may not satisfy your needs. The mild to medium nicotine dosage and cool, fresh smoking makes this tobacco ideal for summer days.

The flavor is a true tobacco, sweety taste. Highly recommended..
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2024 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Simple sweet consistent honey hay citrus...just a treat
Pipe Used: Various
PurchasedFrom: Vancouver
Age When Smoked: 1
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2024 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
Tin note : Tin note is very faint... though if i try to smell closely, There are hints of citrus and grass. Very little pineapple.

Cut : Thin, Neatly cut flakes. Very nice presentation. easy to rub out and pack. Really straightforward to work with.

Mechanics : stays lit relatively well.

Flavour Profile : More grassy and hay notes compared to the ready rubbed. There is citrus and lemon notes but not as much as the ready rubbed. Jim Inks stated they are the same blend. It could probably be the aging of tobacco at work. Perhaps this tobacco is quite young. Not much of a complex blend. Easy all day smoke on a hot day.

Tongue Bite : Upon opening the tin, there was some bite. Rarely bites now. Advise to keep the tin open or perhaps let it rest in a mason jar for a week.

Will I buy this again : glad I got 5 tins on offer and hope it last me for quite some time. Will go for the ready rubbed version next time.

My thoughts is it might need more age. Might try to keep a tin or two to age for atleast 5 years before coming back to review this blend.

3.5 stars

Pipe Used: Tekin topkapi meerschaum, al pascia meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 1 year
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"