Cornell & Diehl Good Morning

(3.17)
A Craig Tarler/Bob Runowski blend perfect for getting your day started or any other time of day or night. Reminiscent of a classic Dunhill blend devoted to morning puffing.
Notes: Cornell and Diehl blended Good Morning for the Chicagoland Pipe Show years back.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler/Bob Runowski
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.17 / 4
17

10

5

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 35 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 28, 2010 Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
Unlike the other C and D blends I have tried, this did not come bone dry: the tobacco was nice and springy to the touch. The tin aroma was muted. In the pipe it lit and burned well.

On its own it is a pleasant enough Oriental of no great distinction. The comparison to EMP stretches the imagination. I had a tin of Murray made EMP open and was able to compare the two mixtures. EMP had an opulent elegance coupled with manly but not brutish strength. In comparison Good Morning was insipid and weak. To enjoy this concoction one has to give up all thoughts of the Dunhill product, and consider GM on its own merits. It is not too bad.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 01, 2018 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
There are enough differences between this and Early Morning Pipe that I’ll forego the comparison and discuss this as a solo act. The tangy ripe dark fruity, earthy, lightly woody red Virginia takes the lead over the citrusy, grassy brighter Virginia. They form the base of the blend. The smoky, woody, earthy, musty sweet Cyprian Latakia is an important supporting player that gets fair competition from the very spicy, woody, mildly floral, earthy, dry and creamy buttery sweet Orientals. Often, the Orientals will take a little of the lead. The strength and nic-hit are in the center of mild to medium. The taste is a step or so past that threshold. Won’t bite or get harsh. Burns cool and clean at a moderate pace with a mildly sweet, spicy and rather savory, lightly inconsistent flavor from start to finish. Leaves little dampness in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a pleasantly lingering after taste. Can be an all day smoke.

-JimInks
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
This is indeed very close to the famous Dunhill EMP. The tobacco has a less aged taste and seemed a bit rough around the deepest edges of the smoke. Otherwise, this is an outstanding Latakia/Oriental/Virginia blend that is easy on the palate. The contents burn evenly and somewhat quickly.

A delightful four stars for Good Morning.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2009 Very Mild None Detected Mild Pleasant
I think Craig Tarler "nailed" EMP with Good Morning Blend. I am delighted that he is willing to provide a noble replacement of a famous blend no longer available.

I have always favored mild English blends. I prefer Latakia in small doses. Like I use pepper on eggs, just enough to know it is there.

I also love the larger cut of this tobacco. It smokes very cool and very tasty. This blend meets all my expectations for a light English non-aromatic. Good Morning will be an ideal blend to recommend to the first time smoker of Latakia. All things considered, another four-star blend from C&D.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2017 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Visually this is much brighter than Early Morning Pipe. All other differences are very subtle. The bright and red VA offer hay and some sweetness. The Turkish leaf is herbal and floral with some exotic spices. I find the Latakia here slightly more dominant as C&D's Latakia is a little bolder & smokier than I find Dunhill's. I get a great black pepper note throughout the bowl that I don't find in EMP. Should Dunhill leave the market again soon I would be more than happy with Good Morning as a substitute for one of my favorite English blends.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 15, 2009 Very Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I have to admit I love the Dunhil EMP, in fact I still have about 2 lbs of it left. So who better to tell you if the two are the same or not. I usually despise copy blends and wont even try them. But with the coaxing of a friend, I reluctantly gave it a shot. The color of the tobacco was very similar, but the cut seemed a bit different. As far as taste, it seems this one was close too. I do think that the tobacco could benefit from some aging. The herbal taste that EMP is famous for is intact for this one. I am very happy with that. The strength is on par with EMP. Overall with a year or so of aging this might be a very good substitute, for a tragically not available blend.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
I love this blend!

The tin aroma itself is very appealing... it is sweet and spicy, tangy, ripe, pungent and earthy all at the same time. Very strong and fragrant. I get a kick out of sniffing it again and again whenever I open the tin.

The leaf is golden in color, mixed with dark spots, and is cut in wide ribbons. Easy to pack in a medium to large pipe. Easy to light.

The flavor is sweet and spicy, smoky and creamy. I would classify it as medium early in the bowl, and gets fuller as you keep on smoking. The flavor to me is rich and satisfying.

The room note is strong for the non-smoker, typical of an English blend.

I can no longer remember Dunhill's Early Morning Pipe very well; I used to smoke it avidly when it was made by Murray's. I haven't tried the new production. But this tobacco seems richer and more flavorful than Dunhill.

It's great as a morning pipe. It also great to smoke all day. I even love smoking it at night.

One of my favorites, and it is highly recommended!
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 5 years
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 29, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I really like this blend! Order me a crate of it.

Having returned to the pipesmoking fraternity just two years ago, I consider myself a relative rookie to the panoply of blends, vendors, and brothers of the briar. I enjoyed a pipe in my post-collegiate years, but with only minimal knowledge of tobacco blends, or smokers at large. This review, therefore, is based upon the writer's pipesmoking experience within the last mere 48 months, combined with cloudy images of a misspent youth.

I have been enjoying Cornell and Diehl's Good Morning blend since the beginning of my modern pipesmoking career. I've tried it in every pipe I own, and have dedicated at least two pipes exclusively to the enjoyment of this wonderful blend.

I'm not a big fan of C&D tobaccos generally. Because of my great love for Good Morning, I have sampled many of their other blends, hoping for another winner. From Billy Budd to Havana Daydream, from Burley Flake #1 to Old Joe Krantz, I've had my share of C&D blends. With the sole exception of Good Morning, I have found all other Cornell and Diehl blends to be too harsh and strong for me. Because of this, I find my enjoyment of Good Morning even more intruiging.

From the “inner tube” smell in the tin, the reluctant smoker is not reassured. Fortunately, the tin aroma is the sole objection I have about this blend. The moisture content is always perfect. The cut of this blend was perfectly chosen. Good Morning packs easier, lights easier, and stays lit better than any of the several dozen blends I've smoked. Cool burning, stays lit to a dry ash.

Now to the taste: C&D's Good Morning is as close to the perfect tobacco for my palate as I have found. The taste is extraordinary: at once sweet and tangy, yet rich, smoky and woodsy. It's the pipe tobacco equivalent of a big campfire breakfast: bacon and eggs, pancakes, orange juice and coffee, while standing over an applewood fire. The taste is harmonious and level on the tongue, but this is not a simple blend. The flavor complexity of Good Morning startles me every time I light it up. There are layers of subtle, complex notes from this pipe tobacco that I've never experienced in a glass of wine, for example.

I don't know about the room note of this blend, but the aroma to the smoker is as rewarding as the taste. Sweet, light, and smoky. Very rich and pleasant.

In conclusion, the complex nature of Cornell and Diehl's Good Morning would not be recommended for the novice pipe smoker. However, for me, Cornell and Diehl's Good Morning gives a rich, satisfying, consistently enjoyable experience. Let me know what you think: e-mail me at [email protected].

brogreggblues
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2018 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
Note to self: Just don't bother with C&D again. Here's another load of probably quite decent quality VA and Latakia completely ruined by some vile 'oriental' leaf. Whatever this particular variety of oriental leaf they use actually is, it's the one which immediately on lighting creates an oily and very sour taste on the tip of my tongue, and which makes me want to spit. From experience with other offerings from this stable, I predict that is going to be the main (and probably only) thing going on in this 'blend', and if I don't tap out this rather nice pipe from Upshall now, I shall likely have to do a deep salt clean to get rid of that foul taste. Why in heaven's name anyone would recommend this to a beginner is quite beyond me. This has nothing to do with EMP, as far as I can tell, and I just wonder to what extent other reviewers are influenced by the similarity in name. Still, reviews, and tastes, vary wildly, I guess. This was mine. PS - please disregard the taste/strength/etc picks I made - I had to check one of the options, but they are meaningless choices (in this particular review) to me. Perhaps we should add a 'No Comment' option to these multiple choice boxes?
Pipe Used: One that I'll now need to clean
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes USA
Age When Smoked: About 5000 years from the taste
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 22, 2010 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is perhaps the best 'first pipe of the day' smoke for me I've tried yet. There is just enough latakia to please my "English" sensibilities, and the orientals are a welcome 'waker-uper' on the palate. I usually begin the day with this and finish with the 063: Bayou Night.( With an expanding variety in-between, throughout the day.)

This goes extremely well with my morning coffee: home-brewed Starbuck's Italian Roast, black with no sugar. The Virginias in this one give me all the subtle sweetness I need in the mornings. And the latakia and orientals play well with the smokey sweetness in the Italian Roast.

I put down no room note because the wife makes me smoke outdoors. But the few times I've been forced to smoke in the car on the way to work it left a pleasant aroma that lingered until my return.

Because I enjoy this one so much for a day-starter I have tried is an an all-day smoke. It is perfect for the first bowl of the day, but after that I find I need something with a bit more of, well.......everything. That's not to say that one couldn't smoke this all day, I just find that it leaves me wanting more than it has to offer beyond the first bowl of the day. I usually move onto a heavier Balkan or English blend, or sometimes mix it up with a robust Virginia or Burley blend. To each his own.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 22, 2022 Medium Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin I opened had the date "December 13, 2016" and was slightly bloated. In general, bloating, after several years, of tins produced by Cornell & Diehl is not uncommon - the company does not practice vacuuming and sterilizing so that the tobacco continues to ferment. I have seen photos of 20-year-old tins of this kind - the shape was very far from the ideal cylinder, but the tobacco in them remained in excellent condition.

Appearance: a mixture of small, almost cigarette ribbon-cut Virginias of a fairly uniform bright brownish-red hue of dark apricots, in which finely chopped latakia and orientals are mixed. There is very little latakia at all. The mixture from the tin is almost dry, although it doesn't dust or crumble.

The flavor from the just opened tin - a powerful tomato flavor, so strong that at first I regretted that I bought this tobacco. Smoking it right away didn't seem like the best idea, so I immediately closed the tin. But when I opened it again four hours later, I was surprised to find that the "ketchup" had weathered off quite a bit. Certainly, some of the tomato sauce was still there, but it was no longer dominant, but was adjacent to the smells of stale hay, citrus skins, and tanned leather. The smoked latakia note opened up in the background, which, frankly, lacked density (on the other hand, where could it come from with such a small amount?). Given the absence of perique in the mix, I'm inclined to think that the tomato smell is the result of tobacco saucing.

The taste is a woody-sunny note (with a lean woody flavor), some sweet and sour boiled fruit from the compote (most like boiled pears), a bit of earthiness, and a very slight hint of smokiness. The tobacco slowly changes its taste while smoking: the sweetness of the fruit disappears completely, and the earthiness increases, plus there is a spicy note, like a mix of nutmeg and coriander. The deceptive initial lightness of the tobacco also disappears - in fact, it is medium strength, but at first this is not felt. A slight nicotine kick can be caught in large pipes. Tobacco does not tolerate rush - due to the fine cut and dry consistency, the blend burns relatively hot. If you get carried away, the temperature in the pipe quickly rises to the discomfort, and the tobacco itself becomes more harsh to the taste, although it does not bite. The tobacco burns into a dusty ash of an even light gray color, leaving almost no moisture in the pipe. The aftertaste of the tobacco is spicy and woody.

The smoke has a woody-spicy flavor, quite light, it is almost not felt in the room.

Bottom line: The aged blend left a very good impression - it's high quality and not overly complex. It is just a very good blend to smoke. Once again, I point out that the material for the review was a mixture that is more than five years old, because some of the reviews on the web for a fresh mixture are far from ecstatic. But while acknowledging its quality, I can't help feeling that it lacks some zest. Is it similar to Early Morning Pipe? There's certainly something. But there's every opportunity to get to know the original now. Besides, despite its name, it doesn't cheer me up, but has a diametrically opposite effect. The picture on the label of the tin quite reflects my state of mind after smoking a pipe with it.
Pipe Used: Peterson 106, POTY 2017
PurchasedFrom: Online
Age When Smoked: 2016
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"