Manifatture Sigaro Toscano Comune

(3.05)
A quality mixture, medium strength, based on Italian Kentucky tobacco appreciated for its pleasantness and balanced intensity.
Notes: Ente Tabacchi Italiani (ETI) has been bought by British American Tobacco (BAT) in 2003, which was sold to Manifatture Sigaro Toscano the pipe tobacco production along July 2006.

Details

Brand Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Blended By Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Manufactured By Manifatture Sigaro Toscano
Blend Type Burley Based
Contents Kentucky
Flavoring
Cut Shag
Packaging 40 grams pouch
Country Italy
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.05 / 4
7

8

6

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 21 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 19, 2024 Strong None Detected Full Strong
The Trinciato Comune is an educating tobacco, it's the tuscan kentucky grandpa that will not hesitate to smash your tongue if you, a young smoker with few experience, puff too fast.
It's not a fancy smoke, it could hurt you like a mad donkey if you don't pay attention BUT, after the first bumpy rides, you'll learn how to smoke it, and it is quite rewarding.
After a generous meal, with a grappa, it's the full italian experience: intense, unapologetically fat and proudly old style.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 01, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
If someone believes that price is an accurate indicator of the product’s quality well… he’s going to rethink the whole thing about this tobacco!

I’m one of those who crave for this blend, and for his stronger brother, Forte, as well. What else can you expect from a Toscano cigars lover?

This is my go-to, all day ‘n all night long tobacco. It’s ridiculously cheap and taste raw, unspoiled, true amazing tobacco, both in the nose and in the pipe. I love to smoke it especially when it’s cold outside : I find that Kentucky/Burley-based blends and English/Scottish/Balkan blends taste better in these conditions. Or it’s just me appreciating them a lot more…

Overall it tastes great! It has a pronounced character and just enough strength to perk you up from the first puffs. Puff slowly for f#@k's sake, or you’ll lose the sense of taste for a good hour!

This tobacco (and Forte) has escaped what I use to call “the modern times’ paradox”. You see, when an old-fashioned habit, product or style pops out in these days, it tends to become a trend really fast, and its price (in the special case of a material product) raises sky high, literally. Quite often, it becomes even difficult to get a hold of it! Luckily, it’s not the case of this tobacco : it’s still really cheap and common to find on the tobacconist’s shelf.

I’m afraid this trend will no longer be in the long run : it will become more difficult to find it, and its price may raise. So : cellar a ton of it!

Cheers Everyone, Brandr ODS
Age When Smoked: Always fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Toscano cigar in a pipe, this tobacco is haven. The Italian Kentucky is easily one of the best pipe tobaccos available on the market today. For smokers who prefer a natural, earthy, toasty, slightly bitter taste, this is for you. It is on par with Belgian Semois and I would say more smoker friendly pertaining to strength. The price is low compared to other offerings, a no fuss, fast burning tobacco that will satisfy all cravings at any time of the day.

Virginia lover
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 02, 2014 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Strong
A real natural tobacco. It is composed only with dark tobaccos: mainly with Italian Kentucky, but there is also Beneventano (a kind of Brasil) and Nostrano del Brenta (a native tobacco, a kind of Cigar leaf). Natural and unflavored this tobacco belong to the natural native (indigenous) tobaccos (such as Semois, Gris, Burrus Landtabak ecc.). Excellent for the natural tobacco lovers. In my personal rating (from 0 to 10) my score is 7 and two stars.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 08, 2019 Very Strong Very Strong Very Full Extra Strong
Oggi parliamo di uno dei tabacchi storici italiano, costituito esclusivamente da Kentuky italiano.

ll tabacco si presenta al tatto un asciutto, forse troppo. Per la sua costituzione non è propriamente indicato una riumidificzione troppo spinta, A crudo si apprezza la tipica ruvidezza del Kentuky italiano: note legnose e leggermente affumicate del; se umidificato si possono anche apprezzare accordi fruttati.

Il taglio è un Ribbon/Shag, possibile trovare dei piccoli frammenti di nervatura della foglia simile a legnetti.

La carica della pipa è facile si può pigiare il tabacco nel fornello, comunque porre attenzione alla inseparabilità dello stesso.

Questo tabacco va acceso molto bene, poi spiegherò il perchè.

Fumato si esprime tutta la ruvidezza del kentucky, facendo si che questo sia un tabacco molto particolare o piace o lo si respinge. Potremmo definirlo un tabacco povero, nel senso contadino del termine, come un rustico formaggio di baita o come un pane contadino appena emerso da un forno e sporco di brace. Non emette doppie personalità è Kentuky, punto e basta. Povero non vuol dire rozzo, infatti va saputo fumare. Sempre e solo in fil di fumo, allora la gamma terrosa, di concia e persino stallatica tipica dei nostri tabacchi sapranno venir fuori.

Ripeto bisogna fumarlo a fil di fumo, allora la sua ruvidezza che colpisce gola e lingua si mitiga per lasciare posto all’aroma tipico del tabacco che sa di tabacco, del kentucky che se di kentucky, coerente con se stesso dal primo all’ultimo puff. Chiudendo gli occhi io rivedo mio nonno colla sua pipa e il suo trinciato perennemente acceso che rimanda ad un mondo oramai passato.

E’ piatto, certo, ma è la sua grande forza.

Non perdona lo spegnimento. Alla riaccensione si è assaliti da un groppo ammoniacale, la vendetta del vecchio fumatore che aveva la pipa accesa sempre.

Va fumato secco, per esserne avvolti aggrediti e poi diventarne amici e in una bella pipa ampia.

La forza è medio-alta e l’aroma ambientale è quella del kentuky: pessima o celestiale.

Se alle fumate non si riesce a diventarne amici, al 50% con un signor virginia si ottiene una miscela variegata che può soddisfare molti palati. Secondo me il massimo lo si ottiene con lo stortignaccolo sbriciolato al 50%, rilascerà odore pi concia di pellame che è il rimando alle antiche osterie di campagne.

Io l’ho provato anche con un 20% di latakia, così assume il sapore del sudore del montanaro spaccalegna, il che è una esperienza da vero intenditore che non ha paura di essere sopraffatto dalla nicotina.

Voto? 5stelle su cinque, ma dovute al fatto che è sincero.
Pipe Used: Savinelli, Armellini
Age When Smoked: 57
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 26, 2019 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
The Comune is a classic italian tobacco based on simplicity and strenght; this Kentucky is intersting for the quality, but I can't say the same for the fragrance: is only earthy. The cut is extremely regular - but is a shag, is normal- the colour is uniform. The tobacco is quiete dry, is easy to load, to light, to smoke: it is for neophytes. The first puff have an acidulous entrance, then there is an evolution to typical Kentucky aromas: earthy -persist from beginning to end- leather and wood on background . This is a cheap tobacco and does not perform miracles: is not pleasent and balance, but the quality is sufficiently high. I do not recommand this tobacco for smoking it straight, smoke hurt so is better to smoke other; I reccommand Comune only for the beginners and for the home belnding.
Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Tabacconist in Italy
Age When Smoked: 1 year in pouch
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 02, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
Steden was kind enough to provide a pouch for me to try, I think placing me in a small group of Americans to have had the pleasure of this OTC Tuscan tobacco - suitable for pipe or cigarette.

My first few bowls were curious but not convincing. Eventually, I began to take it for my first pipe of the day with my tea. A fresh mouth and cleansing tea really opened Comune up for proper examination.

The Kentucky, a fired tobacco, is very full of tobacco flavor and the other tobacco blended in keeps the tobacco from being completely flat and dull. There is a natural sweetness to the tobacco, that is illusive yet when noted, it the key that unlocks this blend and I believe this small sweetness completes the experience. If you aren't lucky enough to detect it, which seems to be happenstance, you miss the entirety of the potential experience. Unfortunately, I was half way through the pouch before I nailed it down and and before I could consistently catch this fairy.

Perhaps "Comune" means common or ordinary and it may well meet those definitions in Italian but Comune is somewhere above my understanding of "ordinary" since discovering it's secret.

I suppose Prince Albert is America's common/ordinary cut tobacco but these two tobaccos have nothing in common outside of the cultural aspect. I believe Italy wins this one.

It is cold here now with snow on the ground and while smoking Comune I imagine the vineyard workers with soiled hands eating their simple noon meal quenched with local table wine and topped off with a bit of Comune while chatting under the warm Tuscan sun. That is a good winter dream isn't it?

My wife dreams of visiting Tuscany and now I'm beginning to as well.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 01, 2017 Medium None Detected Full Pleasant
That's a genuine tobacco, probably one of those closest to the early stuff folks used to put in their pipes. It's simple but not banal. It's raw but also soft, it's compact, robust, sometime I have the temptation to bite it. It's not the strongest of its family, probably that is the reason why I prefer it. It's ready to used just open a new pouch and fill the pipe without too much care. You light it and you smoke it, it's very difficult you need to relight. I always have a pouch of this tobacco with me and I usually smoke it pure, but it is also great to cut other mixtures or to add strength to the flimsy ones. If you find yourself in Italy you must try it, or tell a friend to bring one, you won't regret it.
Pipe Used: Recommended Corn Cob, Peterson, Al Pascià Curvy
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacco shop, Italy
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Good quality Kentucky: dry, well burning, unflavored, with leather and wood notes (it harshes a bit). It reminds me the Toscano Classico cigar (or, otherwise, the Garibaldi one - try it in an olive wood pipe). I have always a pack at home (you can try this mixure, if you want to try it blended: 50% Comune, 30% Latakia, 20% Orientals - something like a Kentucky-based EM). However, I prefer Forte.
Pipe Used: Many briars and olive wood
PurchasedFrom: local tabacconist
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
There is a heated debated going on in Italy about this baccy, which has been around for ages apparently. On one side are those who love this stuff, buy it in bulk and smoke a lot of it, pure or mixed with other tobaccos. On the other are those who can't stand it, either because they say it's not the same as before, or because they just find it disgusting.

The main point raised by critics is the use of reconstituted tobacco inside this blend, which many say did not happen before. In effect, this baccy is made of dark brown stripes of Italian Kentucky, and light brown recon, which could be basically anything. Proportions, I would say 70/30.

I confess I picked out and threw away the longest stripes of recon. However, I must say that this blend is not bad at all. There is definitely some nice tobacco aroma here, and some nicotine too. Not too much, but noticeable. The taste, of course, reminds Toscano cigar, but more dry. This is what I find a bit annoying. Being quite dry (especially if the pouch is a bit old) it can scratch the throat (but nothing compared to cigars). It definitely needed rehidration in my case. However, it burns very cool and doesn't bite. I enjoy it pure or mixed with a light VA. Smell is strong, so it's good for smoking outside. So if you're in Italy, give it a try, it's cheap and you may like it.

****

Update: I have to upgrade my rating to 3 stars. I find myself craving for this tobacco more often than for other, more expensive ones. Definitely a good no-frills, unflavored, medium-strength Kentucky. Earthy with a moderate sweetness. Recommended.
Pipe Used: Falcon, Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: Local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 07, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Bought in Italy in 2013, this is the cheapest tobacco in the market... a real plus, for a so good Kentucky; maybe the problem is to find it: only rare, selected and clever tobacconists has this stuff available, it's too cheap, and the most prefer to sell more expensive and lucrative ones. Dark, earthy and woody, perfect to smoke immediately when you open the pouch, it goes to become too dry in a little time.

Scent: earthy, full, no casing... good.

Taste: natural, full bodied, but so soft... you'll love it! No biting at all.

Room note: non so pleasant as some aromatics, but surely ok.

Burning: the only problem of this tobacco, too fast. It lights in a while, and is a little too fast when fresh opened, when dries only a bit becomes really too fast.

Best briars: nearly all, from corn cobs (a must, please, try it!) to best italian thick walls Castello briars (...try it, by Jove!)

"Comune" in italian means common, ordinary, but this is true only about the price, so cheap: if you smoke naturals, it's really good. His only weakness, it's too fast, and you would like a longer time to taste it. Recommended.
PurchasedFrom: Noli, Milano, Italy
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"