G. L. Pease Union Square

(3.40)
A blended, sliced cake of high grade flue cured leaf, from beautiful, sweet brights to deep, earthy reds, without the added sugars and flavorings common to many Virginia flakes. It's rich on the palate, evolving in layers with the clean, natural sweetness of pure tobaccos. It offers a pleasant room note, and a delightful finish. For those seeking the pure Virginia experience, try Union Square.
Notes: Union Square was released in May, 2009.

Details

Brand G. L. Pease
Series Fog City Selection
Blended By Gregory Pease
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Straight Virginia
Contents Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.40 / 4
84

50

13

5

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 50 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 03, 2011 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
I'm all about variety, I'm all about quality and my palate is wider than many. Tobacco moisture, tongue bite, mood, smoking circumstances and other controllable variables won't be covered. This review is based on multiple bowls over time.

This is a favorite straight VA thus far. Union Sq. grabbed me right from the first bowl and held onto me. It's so sweet, but not in a cloying way, and I find the figgy/raisin note is very present in the taste. Usually I'm disappointed that the flavor doesn't come through as much as the aroma, but Union delivered. I consider this a very good tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This blend was a very new experience for me, I thought I'd had Va before, but when I tried this I realized that those other blends were not a pure as I thought. It is a very interesting smoke, very bitey for me, I found that it smoked best in clay or meerschaum. I like it a bit on the dryer side, I found that when I smoked it fresh it tasted like wet grass, but when I let it dry a bit it likened more to freshly cut lumber or sawdust, but with a nice sweet honey finish, all interesting flavors to me! I like this blend and I'm curious to see what a five or ten year old tin tastes like, I've got one aging, so with any luck, I'll be able to have that experience!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 27, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Mild Tolerable
Union Square is probably the best Virginia blend by GLPease. Sweet, subtle, and hayey, like all good Virginias, with a citrus flavor given by the bright leaf component.

That said, US lacks the taste that I love in GREAT Virginias, like FVF, IRC Flake and the like. Maybe this is the less "bland" from the GLPease Virginias line, but still not quite on pair of the great ones.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2009 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Very Pleasant
I was excited to try this as it's a new blend to me (nobody imports this into the UK AFAIK) & I love VA like nothing else.

The tin was a little moist, so I let it air 2 hours. Packed lightly into a small Peterson. Rubs out nice & easy into ribbons of long leaf - so far so good and as expected from a GLP product.

The intital few puffs were very light, like breathing air, but this improved into a good, dense, rich, voluminous smoke. I enjoyed the taste, which is like hay, vanilla top notes, richening out into almonds & nougat, toast, oats (oatmeal is present throughout), sometimes cocoa, othertimes tannin- like a merlot wine- all good and complex. not boring, as it changes as you smoke the bowl, almost with each puff. It burns reasonably cleanly and demands go go slow, threatening to bite a bit, but maybe I'm being too greedy and puffing too fast 😉

I am going to be really picky now. The tobacco was a slight disappointment insofar as I expected a smoother, more rounded, more mature taste and this is at times a bit tangy and atworst slightly sour, like it's a bit green or immature. I'm comparing it to my gold standard VA, Full Virginia Flake. I think maybe my GLP tin could do with cellaring for a year as the FVF has been left to mature 2 years, so perhaps this isn't a fair comparison. My point is that FVF is half the price, so I excpected more from Union Square right from the start. But don't let that put you off. The tobacco is very good, and would be excellent given a little maturing.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 17, 2022 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tin note of stewed Rasins, spice, and hay. Tobacco broken flakes are not too moist, no drying needed. The yellowish-brown flakes have a little dark brown and tan leaf. It rubs out fairly easy. Burns slow with a few extra relights. The strength is medium to strong and nic is medium. No flavoring detected. Taste is medium and consistent, with notes of strong spiced bread, wood, mild earth, mild sweet grass, mild floral, very mild tart lemon, very mild orange bitter and a mild peppery retro. Virginia is leading, supporting and providing backup. Room note is pleasant to tolerable, and aftertaste is good.
Pipe Used: 2015 XX Ashton Sovereign Prince
Age When Smoked: 4 years
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2022 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
Average American straight virginia. Certainly enjoyable to smoke but it doesn't give me much of the pleasure I associate with SV tobaccos. Good entry point to discover GLP VA blends.
Age When Smoked: New
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 27, 2012 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
My second tobacco from G.L. Pease - thanks to the excellent Gauntley's of Nottingham (UK):

I have not been fan of straight Virginias, preferring English mixtures recently, as well as Irish Flake, & Peterson 3Ps. Recently I tried Pease's JackKnife - the finest tobacco I'd ever smoked. I hesitated ordering a VA but wanted to try a flake from Pease.

Well, the first impression was certainly good - lovely, warm tin-note and easy to handle & pack. Smoking this straight out of the tub - I could feel the potential to bite, but nothing like Erinmore or MacBaren's or Dunhill Virginias. This is something entirely different. With other VA's I've tried you get told off for rushing. With this one, you are cordially invited to take your time. It's a far friendlier gesture. After two bowls, I now feel I've finally been given a good example of what a Virginia can be - dry, sweet, a great early-to-mid-day smoke. At £16-odd a tub, it's expensive, but you get slightly more baccy and the quality is worth it.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 16, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
It is dried-prune-y and a little sweet as I like my va flakes, but I can only achieve that taste for a short time in the middle of the bowl. During the beginning and at the end of the bowl, it is less sweet and dried-prune-y and has a very savory tobacco taste.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 15, 2012 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This one took some time to grow on me, or something. The first 13 smokes were uninspiring at best. Very little flavor, and bitter at that. Then it got better; some fuller flavor with a nice subtle sweetness appeared for the final 8 smokes. Always deceptively strong on the nicotene given the light flavor, or maybe I just pulled too hard trying to get more taste, or maybe I inhaled it a bit inadvertantly. Anyway, for the last 1/3 or so of the tin it was good. No bite. Don't know if I'll re-visit, but I did enjoy it toward the end.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 05, 2011 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
Wonderful VA flake mixture. This, I think, shows that GLP can compete with the traditional European VA flake blenders, and compete favorably in my view. I flirted with 4 stars, but 3 for now, as I typically prefer some perique in my VAs.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"