Sillem's Black

(3.42)
Extravagant is the right word to characterize this mixture. We have revolutionized the traditional old English art of blending. The main ingredient is the finest spicy smoky latakia. By adding highly aromatic black cavendish, this blend becomes smoother. A small portion of burley gives a slight toasted aroma, and a pinch of bright Virginia brings a subtle sweet note. Mellow, but yet full bodied aromas of honey and fruit essences result in a unique flavor. This tobacco will surely be a delight.
Notes: This tobacco is listed as English Aromatic on the website "Smokingpipes.com."

Details

Brand Sillem's
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus, Honey
Cut Ready Rubbed
Packaging 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.42 / 4
63

30

12

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 30 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 12, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
The smoky, woody sweet Cyprian latakia tends to lead the other tobaccos a little, but the nutty, toasty, earthy, lightly molasses sweet burley plays an important second position. The description mentions that there’s spice in the latakia, which had to be added by a topping before being blended into the mix. It’s prevalent all the way through to the finish. The rich vanilla from the black cavendish acts in a support role. The grassy, citrusy Virginia is a background player. It’s hard to define all the toppings, but the ones I notice are, in order of importance, dark berry, cherry, honey, mango and marshmallow. I suspect there’s another fruit essence or two, as well as an obvious incense/floralness that reminds me of rose. These toppings sublimate the tobaccos quite a bit, but doesn’t totally drown them out. The strength threshold is a little closer to medium than it is to mild. The taste level sits squarely on medium. Has a mild to medium nic-hit. Won’t bite or get harsh. The tobacco is a little moist, but doesn’t need much, if any, dry time. Burns cool at a slightly slow pace with a mostly consistent flavor, though it does occasionally have a very light syrup note. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires a few relights. Has a very pleasant, sweet, floral, spicy, lingering after taste. It’s a filling all day smoke for the experienced aromatic smoker.

-JimInks
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 03, 2014 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I saw this in my local B&M and decided to take a chance on a tin. The first thing I didn't like right after opening is the plastic bag the tobacco is in and the second is the tin doesn't come vacuum packed. So I was surprised when I lit this up and there was not an overpowering taste to it, in fact it is on the underpowering side (if there is such a place). There is no tongue bite and the taste and room note are quite pleasing for the smoker and those nearby. You should get some compliments from passersby. The combination of tobaccos is first rate and whatever they use for a flavoring is done with moderation. It lights and stays lit easily enough and there is a fine ash at the bottom of the pipe when you finish. Overall, recommended.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
I am going to begin by saying I don't really enjoy aromatics, the artificial taste, the sugary sweetness, and those pungent floral scents are not really my cup of tea. I want to taste natural flavors when I smoke something, and aromatics always seem to have two layers to me, the actual tobacco taste and a superficial layer of whatever has been added.

However, as aromatics go this has a lot of flavor to it, a strong full bodied creaminess courtesy of the Latakia and a natural sweetness from the Cavendish, a truly bizarre medley but it seems to work here somehow.

The tin smell is still that ghastly waft you get from aromatics that reminds me of an air freshener in a public restroom, but it calms down and becomes pleasant and well mannered when you actually light it up.

It doesn't seem to burn as hot and definitely bites far less than its other fragrant cousins, and has a good tobacco flavoring. But most importantly, whatever was added to sweeten this manages to incorporate itself well and doesn't just sit on top like a candy crust.

This is still not something I will smoke often or am likely to purchase again, but it is excellent for what is and perhaps something for me to enjoy when I want something different.

This tobacco is different enough to justify trying once for any pipe smoker and a must try, I would imagine, for someone who enjoys Latakias and aromatics.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 21, 2008 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
By all means, this is a very classy tobacco. Its packed in a square, shiny black box with an ornate silver cross on the lid. Very nice! This aromatic tobacco doesn't overdo it on any level. It's not too strong, not too flavoured, not too sweet. It's a very balanced blend where not one of the four different tobaccos overrules the other. Veeeeery smooth! It's a real pleasure to smoke this. The humidity is perfect. You just have to put it in your pipe, light it and the blend almost smokes itself. The aroma? Well, I can't put my finger on it, to me it's just a very sophisticated smell, nothing artificial. Nothing but positive notes on this one, except that the tobacco is just a bit too mild for my taste. Only in the last quarter of the bowl it gets a bit more punch. All in all certainly a tobacco I can recommend.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2022 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin note is pleasant albeit a little bit odd. It smells like a very fine latakia blend kept in a jam jar...with a bit of the jam left in it. The smoke is a nice smoky, leathery latakia, and the fruit flavor I pick on is that of blackberry. However, there is most likely more fruit essences included because it took a while for me to put my finger on that one in particular. A very flavorful smooth smoke, and amazingly balanced and homogeneous blend considering the wide and highly contrasting flavors it contains.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 24, 2010 Mild Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
A smooth, easy going blend with a toasted marshmellow aroma. It burned easy with almost no bite. The latakia gives it a smoky body that lies under the sweetness of the cavendish. As others have said, a true English aromatic
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 18, 2023 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
A YouTube presenter I watch, Bremen Pipe Smoker, enthused about this being one of his favorites, so I thought I’d try it. I waited until the biggest sale of the year, Black Friday, and even then it cost me $21.06. So this doesn’t win any points on being a good value.

Does not arrive in a vacuum sealed tin but the tobacco comes in a cellophane wrap. When I first tried it I found the blackberry topping too much, and after about fifteen minutes I’d had enough. I tried it a few more times but decided to put it in a jar and return to it at a later date.

Now, 18 months later, I’ve tried it again in several different pipes and have an increased appreciation for it. First off, the blackberry and vanilla , while still the dominant of the four flavorings, has receded enough that other flavors can be discerned. Besides Latakia, I also get honey, marshmallow, and whispers of Burley and golden Virginia now and then. The bowl is consistent throughout and the structure of the blend (apart from the toppings) is, I think, in better balance than something like Plum Pudding. There is a pleasing harmony and “sophistication” to this blend.

Still, three stars rather than four, because I think in the English Aromatic category, both Solani Black & White, and SPC Mississippi River Rum Barrel are even better. The tin also makes a nice container for matches or filters to keep on the desk, but I’m not sure that makes up for it being essentially an expensive novelty item.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2022 Mild Medium Very Full Pleasant
Bear in mind, this is my first review of a tobacco but as a new pipe smoker I have to say that this is wonderful. Full of flavor, easy to keep lit and enjoyable from first to last puff.

Right from the tin I got hints of citrus, floral nuances and a what I imagine is the latakia. The smoke is something else. Sure there are still floral tastes and maybe some fresh fruits but the taste is much rounder, mature and a top of spice and honey.

As I said I’m new to this so do t take my word for it. Maybe not one that I could smoke each bowl but a great aromatic.

And it doesn’t hurt that the tin looks bloody fantastic!
Pipe Used: George Jensen
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2022 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
Tin note is exactly the same as Reiner prelesional. But unlike Reiner the flavors are in the tobacco when smoked. Lots of sweet fruit and floral smells. Reddy rubbed many large chunks. Nice relatively light aromatic. somewhat sweet but not overly so. Even when dry needs quite a few relights. Gets much better as you progress through the bowl. To get the best of the flavors needs to be puffed lightly. Nic hit is light. Not sure its an all day smoke but a nice change for an occasional lite aromatic.

Review update Let this sit for a few months and as its a bit dryer the floral notes are much more noticeable the topping is more forward through the whole bowl. The floral notes are similar to a W.O Larsen blend with a bit of a musty flavor. At he halfway point most of the floral notes have burned off as well as the mustiness. You are left with what I find to be a much better smoke slightly sweet light Laticia cavendish with just a touch of the fruit essence.
Pipe Used: White elephant Briar
PurchasedFrom: friend gift
Age When Smoked: gift not sure but aged a bit
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 22, 2021 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
Grabbed some of this stuff from a friend to make this reviewl, so here it goes!

This is not and cannot be an english blend, not just because it has topping/casing, but because it lacks oriental tobacco. It could be a scottish blend at most, but it’s... an aromatic, with a pinch of latakia. There are other blends that contain latakia and yet have topping or casing, like Samuel Gawith Perfection for instance, but there you can taste the latakia, in this one you cannot.

The tin note is quite pleasant, of dark fruit and plum mostly, and just a bit of citrus.

The cut is very nice but doesn’t seem ready rubbed to me, more like a granulated cut. Presents itself with lots of black leaves and some brown and gold leaves here and there. A bit moist, so I wouldn’t smoke it right out of the tin, because drying gives it a better taste as I’ve discovered.

Taste and aroma: Black cavendish and sweetness right from the first match. A honey taste with some dark fruits and/or berries/blueberries. Very sugary! The latakia is in the background, barely noticeble, with a sweet buttery taste and only a bit smoky. As you progress, it delivers flowery notes but the sugary taste continues to be strong. There is a little sweet virginia with some citrus and hay notes that are with you all the time, but temperate.

The tobaccos as I detect them are in the following order: Black cavendish, virginia, latakia and burley.

Burns perfect, no tonguebite, no overheating. Delivers a cool smoke.

Not a bad smoke!

strength mild or mild to medium flavoring is medium taste medium room note pleasant
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"