Cornell & Diehl Night Train

(3.33)
Bright Virginia ribbon, bright Virginia flake, cavendish cut, [Virginia grown brown] burley, and perique are pressed into an old fashioned crumble cake to form a smoke as smooth as a train gliding effortlessly through the late night hours. Pressed only.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Krumble Kake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin, bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
44

31

11

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 88 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2016 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Night Train turned out to be a little different than I had imagined. I think it was a combination of some of the reviews I had read, maybe a promotional blurb or two, and the name. I was expecting a bold and powerful smoke with an onslaught of nicotine and Perique, but the experience is of a gentler variety. This is no speeding train, but rather a genuine, solid smoke.

While the tin is plain Jane, lacking C&D's often humorous art, the cake is magnificent. This is primarily bright leaf, with a beautiful yellow appearance interspersed with the dark Perique. All constituents are easily identified. It handles beautifully of coarse and can be smoked right away. A little bit of seasoning in an opened tin, resealed, really helps develop the flavor. I had the faintest whiff of strawberry when I first popped the tin. The Perique however dominates the tin aroma, and the other tobaccos are mild and sweet.

When I first smoked this I found it a little flat, with a bit of bite, but certainly not steamy. The bit of drying alleviated these issues. While this is VaBurPer, it's Virginia forward. Really, the combination of the flue cured and Cavendish dominate, with some bright fruit, some sweetness, and the barest traces of steamed sugars. The Perique is largely absent in the flavor, other than a slight pepper that is more noticeable as a feeling than a taste, but pops up on the retrohale. The burley too does not add much to flavor, but rather seems to dull the other parts some, but may contribute to a slightly doughy taste that lasts throughout the bowl. Part of my failure to get much burley may be the other blends I've been smoking lately, chiefly C&D monster burleys like Big N' Burley. The taste does intensify a little toward the end.

At times I get similar tastes to Briar Fox. Like that blend, this is quite smooth. A very nice tobacco, and a welcome interlude relative to some of their bigger products. In just about all respects this is of medium characteristic: body, strength, and taste. I'll visit this again, but later down the line, as the train I'm on is through their vast product catalog. A solid three, but just not enough steam to stand out as a four star blend.
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: 3 months
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 14, 2014 Strong Medium Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
After aros, vapers, vabers, ropes, flakes, and cakes, I prefer to ride the Night Train. She is soft and sweet brown sugar with an intensity that builds through the ride. Once the conductor drawls out the "all aboard" and pulls those boarding steps in I find myself excitedly seated in the club car waiting, anticipating the sound of that 4-8-8-4 heading out into the night. The Southern Bell won't let you down. Sweetness, sultry strength, every ingredient functioning according to its design and purpose. Dancing, moving, undulating through the night, leaving the world behind. Smoke billows as we compliment one another. Slowing, can this be? She is so intoxicating, can it be over? New Orleans station, wheels barely turning, club car, only fractional movement, vibration, a sense of minute vertigo. Going to have to schedule this trip again. I know she'll be ready. I think I can handle her.
Pipe Used: Briars, Cobs
PurchasedFrom: 4 noggins
Age When Smoked: 3 months
45 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
The bright Virginias are a little citrusy with a touch of grass. The cavendish cut Brown Virginia is earthy and mildly sweet with a little dark fruit tanginess. The burley is toasty, nutty, and earthy with a few hits of oats. The Virginias are supporting players, and just a shade less noticeable than the burley. The perique is very peppery with some raisin, date and fig notes, and more often than not, dominates the other tobaccos, although you’ll always get some of the other flavors. Won't bite, and has only the slightest harsh hit. Fairly well balanced with an ample nic-hit, it burns cool and slow (as crumble cakes will do) and will require relights. Burns to a fine gray ash and leaves little dampness in the bowl. The after taste and room notes will linger. Not recommended for the inexperienced smoker, but if you like a lot of perique, you’ll enjoy it. It does lose a little sweetness toward the finish. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
42 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 18, 2008 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I'll take a ride on the Night Train any time.... I opened mine after reading Mo's review (had the tobacco for awhile, just had never gotten around to trying it).

I like the sweetness and the Burley/Perique presentation along with the Virginias. It is easy to rub fully (which is my favorite way to smoke Night Train), and it burns easily.

I do think there is a little too much perique in this blend for me to consume it on a regular basis.... But, nothing wrong with choo chooing on the Night Train every once in awhile.
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2011 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
FUN WITH C&D SAMPLES, VOL III, No. VI

My 2 oz sample contained 4 small "bricks" of pressed tobacco that was pretty easy to crumble and load but did require a bit of dexterity. The tobacco was a nice mix of light and dark color.

Again, the earthy burley flavor that C&D is noted for comes through in spades. The perique lent its usual commentary and the VA's remained firmly in the background, although they jumped out at various intervals. Very nicotine-laden but interestingly I didn't OD on this as I occasionally did with C&D's Krumble Kake. This was, however, best after a meal. I'd call this a robustly flavored tobacco, but all natural.

The only problem I had with this one was an occasional ashy taste as the bowl progressed. It would show up for a few puffs and then recede, but it generally came back with a vengeance at the bottom of the bowl. It wasn't horribly off-putting but it was noticeable enough to keep this one from a 4th star. I enjoyed my time with it but there are similar blends that I find more worthy for my regular rotation. But this is one to try if you regularly smoke strong nicotine blends and enjoy that nice earthy burley flavor coupled with perique. I'll stick with Burley Flake #3, thanks.
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 27, 2017 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
At times Night Train can be somewhat difficult to find, especially in bulk or in two ounce tins, so my first purchase came in the form of a single eight ounce tin. I know, kind of a gamble, but now I am wishing I had bought two more.

The tin note has a light dried apricot and zesty citrus aroma, both sweet and slightly sour. The firmly pressed cakes break up easily and the tobacco burns perfectly with little to no dry time. The flavor is burley forward; it’s deep, earthy and toasty, but there's a certain unexpected light freshness to it that defies its strength. There's also a definite sweetness from the bright Virginia which fits nicely within the fullness of the flavor. The spiciness of the perique gradually builds down the bowl but the effect is pleasing and in no way overdone.

The nicotine is noticeable and I wouldn't want to smoke a huge amount of this at a steady clip, but there's no need to because there's a lot going on and each gentle sip has plenty of intense flavor. The room note is almost pleasant, even my wife mentioned that it smelled pretty good and that the aroma is an improvement over what I usually smoke.

An excellent, full bodied, strong, yet very well balanced mixture.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 19, 2016 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Night Train.

I love Krumble Kakes, love Perique, and Night Train was one of my favourite Guns n Roses songs!

For a loosely pouched blend, it's still a touch too moist; I think that's due to it being pressed quite firmly. I ordered just a 1oz pouch and I'd say about 85% of the blend's still in kake form with only about a pipe's worth already broken.

The flavour would warrant the name VaPer rather than the current VaBur title on here; the Perique's the leading flavour. That's not saying the other flavours are virtually redundant, they're not, they just seem softer compared to the brutish Perique; it's very sharp! The others compliment the flavour nicely; the Burley's fairly formidable, and the Virginia and Cavendish work together to form more of a sweet base; this sweetness seems to develop as the bowl burns, by the final third it's beautiful. The fact this has no added flavours makes it a perfect blend for a smoker like me, who enjoys natural blends, more-so than cased ones, to sit and savour the rawness of the smoke. It gives a good burn that only needs odd re-lights and sparse tamping. I wasn't sure what to expect with the room-note, it seems to get a few tolerable results, but I enjoy it. The nicotine's a bit above medium; better in the morning, for me.

This is a brilliant blend, I love it!

Highly recommended.

Pipe Used: Levent Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: New
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 10, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
A wonderfully fruity and spicy smoke. The Perique leads with it's dark fruit and spice. At first the nutty, earthy Burley tries to keep up then fades to the background with the sweet Virginias. I'm a bit of a Perique junkie and I find this blend to be a nice fix. Very satisfying on multiple levels. Burns cool, quite often with only one relight toward the end. A lovely smoke.

Medium in body and taste. No added flavoring. Burn is near perfect.
Pipe Used: MM Little Devil Cutty, Little Devil Acorn, Marcus
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 30, 2018 Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable
Thanks to a fellow pipe smoker I had the opportunity to ride that train. Very strong blend, with it's cavendish fraction almost not detected. Still, it's somewhat buttery taste combined with the peppery perique, gives a sweet smoke all the way through the bowl. It tends to smoke better towards the end. Highly recommended for perique lovers.
Pipe Used: Briar
Age When Smoked: 3 years.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2015 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I first bought this a couple of years ago and when I opened the pack it smelt a bit acidic, almost vinegary.

With trepidation I filled my pipe and didn't enjoy it one bit but I persevered with it a week or so later and it was sort of OK but nothing to shout home about.

A week or so again I tried it and WOW !! This tobacco was absolutely lovely.

I don't know if it's me and it takes a couple of pipefuls of it to get used to it but this tobacco is absolutely a first class blend

Taking the Night Train is not just a recommendation but a must.

This is First Class Travel ! ... and no-one with a pipe should be without it!

This tobacco is so, so lovely, I fall in love with Lady N all over again every time I smoke it.
PurchasedFrom: Rich at 4noggins USA
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2014 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
What a surprise! And what a crumble kake. I cut it with a sharp knife, then I rub the tobacco. Wonderful smoke. I can define this "a full smoke experience", a perfect blend for me, with the cavendish almost unnoticeble. There are few tobacco that once the tin is open you cannot alternate with others. This is one of them: I have smoked the entire tin bowl after bowl. Essentially this is a VaPer blend, but the burley and cavendish are giving it a PLUS in terms of taste. While the Briar Fox is a starting point , this is a final point. Very very good!
Pipe Used: lubinsky
PurchasedFrom: Dubini, Chiasso Switzerland
Age When Smoked: unknown
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"