Stanwell Kir & Apple

(2.78)
This blend is made from black cavendish, gently pressed and fermented ready rubbed Virginia and burley together with bright wild-cut Virginia. Fruity black currant and apple flavours underline the taste of this mixture.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is renamed and sold in those countries as "Green & Indigo".

Details

Brand Stanwell
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Apple, Blackcurrant
Cut Broken Flake
Packaging 50 grams pouch
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.78 / 4
6

5

4

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 18 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 13, 2017 Mild Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
After enjoying Stanwell's "Melange" I was interested in this offering (Kir and Apple). I was nicely surprised. On opening, "Kir and Apple" has a light and unobtrusive aroma of apple, slight whiff of figs and some bitter cherry. Broken flake of tan and brown cuts, retaining moisture well. It was easy to pack, was easy to light; and gave pleasant smoking experience. Burns dry, which was a major plus. No bite despite fruity topping. The topping is light and slowly vanishes midway through the bowl, leaving only a mild tobacco taste. There was no goop left in the bowl at the end. A well-behaved aromatic from Stanwell.
Pipe Used: W.O. Larsen Rhodesian, 9mm filter
PurchasedFrom: Ginza Kikusui tobacco boutique in Tokyo
Age When Smoked: fresh out of packet
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 06, 2011 Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I bought a 100g tin of this on the spur of the moment while browsing a tobacconist in Germany and to be honest I was a little wary as I hadnt had much success with aromatics in the past. I needn't have worried though because Kir and Apple has proven to be a very acceptable and well behaved aro, it doesn't gunk up my pipes and smokes fairly cool for an aro. The tin note is very strong, blackberry comes through mostly. Easy to pack and maintain, this blend as I say smokes less hot than most aros which is one of the reasons I rate it. One reason I prefer non aromatics is that I love the taste of the tobaccos and their various qualities, with aros including this one, I find that the topping often takes away much of the quality of the tobacco. But this is a blend I go to maybe once or twice a week still and it will remain a favourite of mine when I look for a change. The room note is very pleasant even noticable to me as I smoke, others seem to adore the smell of this weed.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 02, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
This is probably one of the best of the stanwell tobaccos. It's an aromatic blend, but more on the stronger side, meaning that I recommend smoking it from small and medium pipes. No tongue bite, great smell, nice aroma, good taste. Recommended for danish tobacco lovers.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2009 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
A very special combination with a unique taste!

It has all the advantages of the Stanwell tobaccos (no moisture, burns to the end, no tongue bites, smooth burning) and it is a "clever" mixture.

It shall give that "difference" in every days smoking!

One of my faves of all times together with "Stanwell Melange"!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 06, 2008 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Tolerable
When I first read the description on the tin, I was really looking forward to smoking a few bowls of the tobacco. It didn't sound like your ordinary aromatic. At least I hadn't had any experiences with apple and black currant, whatsoever, and I hadn't heard of such a thing yet. When you open the tin, there is a strong smell of the added aroma, but you won't find any traces of a tobacoo smell, which is - in my opinion - not a very good sign. Yet, the aroma was at least interesting, so I gave it a try.

The first few puffs made it quite clear, that the tobacco flavor is minimal. The casing dominates from the first to the last puff. Its flavour would be hard to pin down. I'd say that its fresh and slightly sour, but not really intolerable. However, I didn't really taste apple or black currant, so that was a little disappointing.

Smoked slowly, the tobacco gave me some pleasure but I guess I wouldn't pick it up again. Maybe for some hardcore aromatic enthusiasts, who want simply aroma without any traces of natural tobacco, Kir and Apple might be worth a shot. For anyone who is looking for an aromatic which leaves traces of tobacco flavour: Pick up something else!

I guess I should add that I have smoked the tobacco out of a filter pipe, so everything I have said might not be true for non-filter pipes. Anyway, pretty much everything which is said in a review is purely subjective so you should take it as such. Best wishes and tanks for reading. Marco
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2015 Very Mild Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I smoke mostly English blends, but like a nice aromatic on summer mornings to accompany my coffee. This one is right up there with the best. Lovely, tasty aromatic with fantastic room note. The taste is sweet and crisp, and lasts throughout the bowl. Burns cool and dry leaving a fine grey ash. Obviously made of high quality tobacco. A hard one to find - I picked up a pouch of this in Spain and wished I had picked up a few more.
Pipe Used: various
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 13, 2015 Overwhelming Very Strong Overwhelming Extra Strong
This may be the worst tobacco I have ever smoked. I can not describe the taste other than awful. This blend tasted like chemicals to me. Could not even finish the bowl. I am glad this was a sample and not a buy.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 08, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Stanwell kir and apple is one of the better aromatics that I have smoked. The tin note apon opening is a delightful smell of currents and apple. Moisture was spot on. Not wet and not too dry. I tasted more apple than currents but I guess that's me. The room note is very pleasant.
Pipe Used: unknown briar
PurchasedFrom: pipes and cigars
Age When Smoked: new
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 15, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Life is full of challenges... so Kir & Apple is like that. If you ever smoked sisha (hookah) is just the same, for you. For people around is a strange smell with a strange consistency. But somehow is pleasant and enjoyable. Try it in party time, is not bad at all. But... otherwise....
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 13, 2011 Medium Strong Medium to Full Very Strong
When I buy it, it was an action of curiousity. Well, I went wrong! Normal strength, but from that part ahead... Extremely high room note, not pleasant for the surroundings, the taste is too full, and subjectively bad/for me/. I fully respect Stanwell's products, but this one is totally not one of mine favourites. Although, if you have money, and time to experiment, do not wonder and buy it.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2014 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is a favorite of mine. I keep Stanwell blends on hand at all times, and I must admit that I was a bit excited about this blend. The tin note smells strongly of green apples, vanilla, with a slight nuttiness an other subtle fruits (I'm guessing these are the currants). It loads very easily into nearly every pipe I've smoked it in (small bowls and large ones). While smoking, the apple makes its presence known with a slightly sweet-and-sour flavor. It mellows as you smoke it down. As with other Stanwell blends, this one has very little moisture, doesn't goop up your pipe, doesn't bite, and has a wonderful room note. As with Melange, I highly recommend this blend for anyone who appreciates a TERRIFIC aromatic.
Pipe Used: Savinelli's, Boswell, Grabow Lark
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars, Statesville, NC
Age When Smoked: Fresh from tin, 2 months aged
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"