Cornell & Diehl Exhausted Rooster

(3.24)
C&D's annual blend for the 2008 Chicago Show. A tasty flake of Virginias, dark fired burley and a dash of perique.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Toney / Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Virginia/Burley
Contents Kentucky, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Alcohol / Liquor
Cut Flake
Packaging 2 ounce tin, 8 ounce tin
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.24 / 4
48

35

12

6

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 101 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 29, 2019 Medium Medium Medium to Full Strong
I’m a big fan of the way C&D does kentucky tobacco. But this is different. I do love the name and tin art. My tin is two years old. Flakes are broken and tin note is very strong. Sweet liquor and black pepper aroma. Burns the nose. Adding fire brings out the same notes. The flavor is citrus Virginia and pepper spice with a topping that reminds me of a cheap liqueur. Definitely an aromatic blend. The flakes smoke hot but don’t bite. The smoke irritates my sinuses, and half way down the bowl I get a sore throat. (No I don’t inhale). I let this sit in a jar for almost a year after cracking the tin and the topping did dissipate somewhat. But the blend is still harsh and obscure.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 20, 2008 Medium None Detected Medium Very Pleasant
Wow, Mr. Tarler hit a home run with this blend. The name itself is worth putting in the Hall of Fame. The Burley comes through strongest with a peek every now and then from the Virginia and Perique. It smokes slower than I thought it would, even after further rubbing the broken flake.

VA/Per fans may wonder if this one qualifies due to the Burley. It is... well, different (in a really good way).

Finally, if strength worries you then avoid Exhausted Rooster. This one sticks out its chest and fires off a stout "cock-a-doodle-do" as it is being consumed.
58 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 11, 2014 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
The Virginias have some tangy dark fruit, a light tart and tangy citrus note, a hint of grass and bread along with some earth and wood. The dark fired Kentucky offers an earthy, floral, slightly nutty, woodsy, vegetative, herbal, sour, spiciness and is aided in the latter category by the plumy, raisiny, peppery perique. The burleys are earthy, woody, toasty, and nutty, and not very sweet. The various flavors are more noticeable at different times here and there, but the spice, Virginia sweetness, wood, earth and nuts are omnipresent. It does seem to smooth out a little after the half way point. The nic-hit is stronger than one usually finds in a medium strength product. Won't bite or get harsh, but it does sport a few small rough edges. While there are several ways to pack a broken flake, I find this performs better when rubbed out a little. That helps the burn rate and lessens the degree of moisture left in the bowl, which isn't much. Most of the time, it burns cool and clean to a fine ash at a moderate pace, and requires just a couple more than an average number of relights. Has a pleasantly lingering after taste, and slightly stronger room note. Not an all day smoke. Three and a half stars.

-JimInks
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 23, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
When I first popped this tin and took my initial whiff, I thought they had mislabeled one of their aromatics. Sure, perique blends have the tin aroma of figs and such, but who are they kidding with this stuff??? This smelled like Granny's kitchen at Christmas!

The good news is that the aroma doesn't transfer to the taste nearly as much as I feared. It burns off fairly quickly except for an underlying sweet flavor that definitely heightens the experience. The virginia is the lead player, followed by the burley and the two mesh wonderfully, giving us a nutty, sweet taste. The perique is kind of a jack-in-the-box that adds some spice periodically and noticeably, then retreats back into the mix. That final third of the bowl, the burley and perique square off with the virginia subsiding. But the sweetness remains and I think it's due to the expert blending of the casing with all the tobaccos.

Well done! I liked this well enough that I will revisit from time to time. It's different, and in a world of sameness, that's a good thing.
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 18, 2014 Medium to Strong Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
EDIT 2/26/2016

I am not writing to change anything on this, but more as an affirmation of my earlier review in light of some later experiences from C & D with regard to consistency in some of their aromatic offerings. Shortly after writing my review I ordered a couple 8 oz cans of ER which have yet to be opened. When I had the inconsistency problems with the aros, I was concerned about these two cans. Last summer someone surprised me with a bunch of samples.

Unbeknownst to my benefactor I had already tried ER, but was happy he sent it to me nonetheless. I am happy to report the sample still carried that fantastic tin note and had that great taste. I believe in my earlier review I cited Burley as the primary taste in this one and would say that the flavor components actually probably favor the Virginias more than the burley. In any case, it is still a fantastic smoke and still highly recommended.

ORIGINAL REVIEW 7/18/2014

I really enjoyed this blend. A good and strong Va/Bur/Per with an aromatic topping of some sort. Perhaps I am assuming a little with that, but the tin note tells me there is something there. It has one of the nicest tin notes I have ever smelled. To me, it smells like cranberry juice.

I bought this at my local J & R Cigar for the sole reason that it looked like the tin was about to explode. I figured that had to be good stuff inside. lol The tin date was 2011 and I bought and opened it in November 2013. Like many C & D blends this is (a) strong in nicotine and (b) stars Burley as the primary player. This one also has a good amount of perique in it as well. The Virginia, IMO, plays a minor role adding its natural sweetness to compliment the whole.

I have a hard time finding anything that compares to this and I do like it. This would give it an easy three stars in my book, but in the case of the rooster, I have recommended this to several forum friends and everyone seems to like it. For these real world results I am adding a fourth star and I believe anyone who likes these components will enjoy this even for just a change of pace.
PurchasedFrom: J & R Cigars, Southfield, MI
Age When Smoked: 2 to 3 years
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2016 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Very Pleasant
Cornell & Diehl - Exhausted Rooster.

Brilliant name, amusing tin art, and a sublime smoke. It's that good, when I first put it into comparison with some of the blends in my favourites list it made me think about re-considering them!

I popped the tin open and was met by some 'only very slightly' broken flakes; Broken Flake can't half be a misleading name sometimes (it says Broken Flake on this site, yet it only says Flake on the tin). Even though they're still pretty much un-broken, they rub with brilliant ease; this is made easier by the good amount of hydration.

The hydration also assists with the ignition and burn: easily lit and very steady. And then I love it!

It says there's Perique in this, but I only get a gentle plummy sweetness with absolutely no spice; it works nicely alongside the other flavours, but I doubt it would suit a proper VaPer lover.

The Burley and Virginia are in charge here: slightly grassy, a little fire cured, and somewhat nutty; it's a lot more like a VaBur.

I know a few of the other reviews suggest that maybe a topping of some kind has been used, but this is an attribute which eludes me; the only tastes I get are the ones that would emanate from the tobacco's themselves.

The ONLY negative from my point of view comes partly down to technique: if it's puffed vigorously it can become a touch warm; it doesn't bite, it just gets a little hot.

Other than that though, I think this is absolutely great.... Highly recommended.

Four stars, straight into my favourites list!
Pipe Used: Stanwell 2016
PurchasedFrom: Gauntleys
Age When Smoked: Two months
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 02, 2017 Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Cornell & Diehl's Exhausted Rooster presents as a gently broken flake of medium to light browns. The tin note is bready with lighter notes of hay and candied fruit. Moisture content is just right and the blend arrives ready to smoke. The flavors of the initial lights match the nose, with the fruit flavors deeper and less candied - stewed fruit typical of VaPer blends, some spice, mildly woody, with subtly sweet Virginia in the background.

In the first third, the stewed fruit flavors are dominant with the Virginia mellowed a bit by the burley which provides some nut, basswood and parchment tones framed in that mild but distinct smokiness that is the hallmark of dark fired leaf. In addition to the famous VaPer stewed plumminess, the Perique provides just a touch of spice and pepper on the tongue to keep the blend multi-dimensional and interesting. By mid-bowl the Kentucky elbows its way past the Virginia for the starring role, providing lightly smokey, woody flavors that become deeper, more earthy and leathery in the final third, largely overwhelming both the Virginia and the Perique.

A very enjoyable and complex blend that starts off with flavors of Christmas baked goods ranging from sweet bread to stewed fruit with a touch of salted nuts in the background - but a blend that strengthens as it is smoked, concluding with earthier, more woody and smokey notes. An outstanding interplay of fire cured burley and Virginia with the just the right condimental dash of Perique. Burns exceptionally well with few relights. Will smoke a bit hot if pushed. Ends in a dry ash with no mess in the pipe. Robust with vitamin N.

(I've read comparisons to GL Pease's Haddo's Delight, but I don't find them apt. A better comparison would be to Pease's Cumberland, though Exhausted Rooster presents significantly more fruit on the nose and in the first third of the bowl.)
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 07, 2015 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
A very flavorful smoke. I get the Virginias and Burley with nearly equal influence. The Perique lags behind, but provides ample spice. The flavors include raisins, plums, earth, with a mild touch of nut. There is a wonderful sweetness, some of which is topping. Burns slow and cool. Comes a bit dry and needs no drying time. This is a great tasting flake.

Medium in body and taste. Flavoring is mild. Burns very well.
Pipe Used: MM Country Gentleman, Mark Twain, Diplomat Apple
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 25, 2013 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
It's described as a broken flake, though it seems more of an untumbled ribbon cut as the 'flakes' are maybe 2-2.5 times the width of a normal flake.

Tin note is odd but very pleasant. Tangy but effervescent, kind of like the sherbet you make in year 7 science with sodium bicarbonate and citric acid but less citrus and more...ooh! Like a rum and raisin sorbet!

I rubbed it out into a ribbon and after about 20-30 mins loaded it into a new Barling bent billiard.

Charring light doesn't reveal anything that wasn't present in the tin note, maybe a touch more nuttiness, so now it's rum and raisin and nut sorbet.

After a true light down to half way through the bowl while the burley dominates, the VA does lend a sweetness. There's a hint of Perique but not much. Nuts, hay and still some definite raisin.

At about the halwfay mark the Perique started too pick up. Not peppery but spicy like hot cinnamon.

It's a very simple tobacco but no less enjoyable for it. Burnt to a powdery, white ash.
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2012 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
Gentlemen, this is one hell of a tobacco! Exausted Rooster is a one of a kind tobacco with the addition of DFK with the VAs and Per.

Even though it has an eggnog like aroma in the tin, as well as when it is being smoked, it is, nonetheless, not intrusive. The sweetness of the VAs marry beautifully with the smoked/spiciness of the DFK and the peppery & plum flavour from the Per which provided me with an excellent and flavorful moment.

This tobacco is rich, tasty and strong in nicotine in an acceptable way.

Like all C&D and G.L. Pease blends, this tobacco gains to be aged at least 1 year before opening.

If I had the option of only 1 tobacco to smoke, ER would be the one.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2016 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
This is one of C&D's better blends IMHO. For one thing the nic hit is solid, and a bit over medium. It reminds me a bit of Haddo's Delight, in that its the same kind of smoke. Smokes pretty cool, but its best puffed patiently. I think there is a very very mild casing, but its not intrusive at all. But its there. The perique is noticeable but not as strong as in Haddo's I dont think, or a number of other vapers. The burley is classic cornell & Diehl burley. Its sharp and nutty and altogether there is a smooth slightly sweet and tangy taste. Im rounding off to four stars though really, its not quite in the classic realm. But Ive ordered more and I expect it might age pretty decently.
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"