Cornell & Diehl Epiphany

(2.98)
We have a delightful new light English blend called Epiphany. Epiphany is reminiscent of the original Revelation blend that was said to be the favorite of a certain renowned thinker named Einstein. Epiphany is another classic Tarler/Runowski blend of Va, Burleys, Latakia and Perique in perfect balance and harmony.
Notes: Reminiscent of old original Philip Morris - Revelation (not the House of Windsor version).

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler / Bob Runowski
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type American
Contents Burley, Latakia, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Fruit / Citrus
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2oz Tin, 8oz Tin, Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.98 / 4
45

65

24

12

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 45 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 06, 2009 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
This is my go-to English blend. What makes it so? It can be smoked all day without tiring of it. Once again, C&D hits the nail on the head. Maybe I'm a bit partial because my 3 favorite blends are C&D, but this one is a winner in my book.

Nice rich, smooth smoking blend. It has just enough Latakia to notice and enjoy, a touch of VA for sweetness, some Perique to balance that sweetness out and Burley to round the whole thing out. The Burley provides a nice rich nutty flavor that works well with the Latakia, and IMO the VA and Perique are subtle background notes.

Overall this is a great blend. There is nothing I can say bad about it. Will stay in my rotation and my cellar. 4 stars for sure.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
LV9
Sep 19, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Tolerable
I usually complaint when tobaccos re not consistent from bowl to bowl but with this tobacco I don't seem to mind at all for the most part in the first third of the bowl you get a sweetness I don't think is cherry or peach but maybe molasses that really bring out the sweetness of the virginia use on the is blend the latakia weaves in an out never overwhelming what's going on the bowl the second third of the bowl burley takes control although the virginia still noticeable; the flavoring agent is still there but the latakia is mostly gone; the last third of the bowl is nothing but burley almost like smoking lucky strike of two timer. Is almost impossible to get tongue bite but the burleys will get bitter if you;re puffing to hard. the inconsistency is that sometimes there is no latakia on some of the bowls that I've smoke but if you are like me who likes latakia in very little doses you would not mind this at all. I have stashed a pound of this and it has make me consider buying the other 2 brands that I know that claim to match the old revelation which I never try.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 01, 2008 Medium Mild Full Tolerable
UPDATE: I've gone back to this one after a year or so, and am now smoking it in warmer Mississippi spring temps. It's found a home here. Warm weather makes me appreciate the coolness of this smoke- something I didn't notice during my previous winter trial. Plenty of smoke, not too fast a burn rate. Raised to four stars - it deserves every one..

ORIGINAL REVIEW: Not much to add to the other excellent reviews here, but I did want to make a couple of points. The burley seems quite pronounced to me. I find it a very refreshing change from my usual blends.

The applied topping is very well done, not at all over the top. It adds a delightful top note that blends very well with the fruity notes of the perique. The latakia is fully present but not overbearing.

There was a little bitterness at times in some of my smaller pipes, but it was a black coffee sort of thing, not at all unpleasant. This was much less apparent in larger bowls, or with a lighter packing technique.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 19, 2008 Medium Very Mild Full Tolerable
Epiphany is said to be an accurate copy of the original Revelation mixture. Never having smoked that particular blend, I can't make the comparison but can say that this is one very tasty smoke.

In the pouch, Epiphany is a pretty finely chopped ribbon that has an aroma that reminds me a little of apple cider with a Latakia aroma in the background. This probably comes partly from the topping and also from the VAs. It has an acceptable room note, not particularly aromatic but not pungent, either. Due to the cut, it packs, lights, and burns very well.

Flavorwise, the burley nuttiness and the slight sweetness of the VAs are the first things noted, with a bit of sweetness also coming from the topping. Farher down the bowl, the Latakia shows up with its' smokiness in a supporting role. To me, the topping has been done exactly right, letting the natural tobacco flavors shine through.

C&D's prices have gone up since Feb. 1st, reflecting increasing costs for both tobacco and taxes. I still consider their blends a bargain compared to many other premium blends on the market.

Scores for Epiphany: flavor- 17 of 20; lighting and burn- 9 of 10; value- 8 of 10. 34 points equals a good **** rating. This has become another one of my regular smokes. Nice work, Craig and Bob!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2023 Medium to Strong Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Tobacco blends have moods. Epiphany has a complex one that is not easy to pin down. It is thoughtful, but more like a relaxed walk through busy city streets than laying in a hammock on a beach. There are moments where you have to watch for traffic. There are notes that show up while smoking Epiphany that call for attention and make it lively amidst the calming journey. This one left me dizzy when I started out. I am used to smoking home grown Florida-Sumatra, cured on the plant in the field and removed when the leaf dries. Since I don't remove the flowering stalks, it is lower in nicotine, so Epiphany hit me good. It is a complex mix and irregular so packing a pipe takes care, time and attention. The three layer method has worked the best for it. I wanted a good strong smoke and I think I got it. I am however rating it medium to strong, since I have adapted a bit and wiser reviewers seem to consider it medium to strong. To really say what I think of this tobacco blend, I just bought another eight ounces. I will need it, since heavy constant rain has ruined my expected crop of home grown tobacco. I will try to shade my plants and control the water that reaches them next year. A complex and reassuring blend like Epiphany, goes a long way toward relaxation despite the crop failure caused by what has made other plants rejoice and thrive. Epiphany does not provide, happy lotus eater relaxation. Instead it is active. The worry is there, the thoughts are active, but you can distance yourself.
Pipe Used: Mesquite pipe, inexpensive white clay pipe
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: 1 month
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2023 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This blend is the gift that keeps on giving. The flavours change throughout the bowl, sometimes offering the Virginias, Periques or the Burleys, and especially the Latakia towards the end. It is always harmonious and never unbalanced at any point during the smoke. The orange flavouring persists throughout and offers an anchor to the blend. One can see why Einstein contemplated over this tobacco.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 11, 2020 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I've had my ups and downs with this blend. Sometimes we fight and I leave it for couple of weeks, but then I always come back. And when I do, we're inseparable.

While you immediately notice the Latakia, it only plays a true condiment role, just to add a smoky piece to the full picture. The sweet and dry-fruit Virginias also come out from time to time. But the main profile is of the cocoa nutty Burley and the spicy Perique.

If there are any toppings they must be extremely mild because I don't detect any. Strength is a notch above medium.

All four ingredients add to a medium-full flavored piece of art that despite a certain complexity and some strength, it can be smoked and enjoyed all day.

And I mean all day. When we get back together, I smoke her first thing in the morning and last thing before I close my eyes.

"C&D" ribbon cut with random broken flakes, easy to pack and smoke, doesn't leave moisture, and doesn't usually require relights.

I have no idea how other people smell it, but my guess is that this is what people mean when they say that it smells like pipe tobacco.

We're not a perfect couple. But I'm gonna keep her for a long long time.
Pipe Used: Brewster billiard
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 24, 2019 Medium Mild Mild to Medium Tolerable
I want to preface this review with a couple notes. I am not a big fan of burley tobacco, at best I tolerate it. However, when a blend uses all of its ingredients to create an experience that is greater than the sum of its parts, anything can become enjoyable. So starting off with the burley, this blend uses it masterfully as a main player yet simple baseline for the condiments to build on. The slight nuttiness and unmistakable earthiness provide the foundation for the other ingredients to thrive upon. The Virginia's are present as an oh so critical balance to off set the flavors of the burley, while also adding a very welcome fruitiness that compliments the complex and surely flavors of the tobacco. Where I believe this blend truly shines is in both the perique and Latakia. As you smoke this fine tobacco, the perique slowly wafts in and out providing a nice additional earthy savory flavor and unmistakable spiciness, while not ever overpowering the smoke. The Latakia differs greatly from most English blends by remaining constantly in the background. It provides a delicious smoky leathery taste that serves to constantly remind the smoker that this is an old fashioned blend. Together all of these components create a beautiful unique smoke that will always serve to satisfy me when I put it in my pipe. The smoking qualities are that of Wich any pipe smoker desires. It packs and burns very well and the smoke has just enough body without overwhelming the smoker with a rich velvety texture often plagued by most English tobacco's. It is very much enjoyed both in the morning and at night and it never seems to burn too hot. On the retrohale the smoke can seem a bit harsh, as is common with a lot of burley blends, but it is well worth it to really get an extra kick of Latakia flavor. Overall this is a top tier blend perfect as an all day smoke and I can see it being easily enjoyed by both the English lover and someone looking to try one for the first time.

A few notes to add:

This blend pairs excillent with tea and is best enjoyed as such. To really get the most out of the flavors it is crucial to smoke this blend slowly as I find it is better smoked on the dryer side.

Room note: while I find the room note to be pleasent, I can see why it could bother some.

One more thing to note is that for me I always find the strength of the nicotine to be a bit higher than what is commenly reported for this blend.
Pipe Used: Unknown antique briar
PurchasedFrom: Local B and M
Age When Smoked: 1 year
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
ap
Mar 30, 2013 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Not a complex blend but a great smoke in its own simple way , Burley is the main player the other leafs just make everything works and the Perique gives the smoke a little bit of spice!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 21, 2013 Mild None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Becoming one of my favorite English blends. Up there with squadron leader. I'm a fan. No bite at all. A decent nic kick. And delightful all around. No idea what revelation was like, but this is wonderful in its own right.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"