Cornell & Diehl Berry Good

(2.81)
A combination of burleys and Green River Vanilla, with a raspberry sauce. This has become one of our most popular blends.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Burley
Flavoring Raspberry, Vanilla
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.81 / 4
10

17

12

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 42 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 15, 2006 Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
I ordered a half pound of this a few weeks ago and have just re-ordered more prior to writing this review. I must say that the berry flavour is very light in this however the tobacco flavour is great. it has a wonderful burley base and is very friendly to those around you. I've been in a mood for a heavier aromatic however I keep being drawn back to this. I smoke aromatics and english blends in the winter and fall (yes I'm one of those who can smoke anything) and virginias and burley in the summertime, however I think this is an aromatic that I will be able to smoke all year long. very good.

Must update this tobacco. I have been smoking this for over a year now in all kinds of tempatures and conditions and I think that this is probably the absolute best aromatic I have ever had. It always brings compliments from those around and has a very good tobacco taste along with the berry topping. This should apeal to everyone.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 12, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Started smoking pipes after a 20 year hiatus. Read lots of reviews and felt that the "Pros" smoked English blends and the youngsters smoked aromatics. I was prejudiced. So, decided to try lots of blends and realized that I LOVE Burley. Yet, fresh berries om my cereal every morning...lol. Gave berry good a try and found a beautiful burley tobacco with a very slight hint of berry, tin note and only at the very beginning. The r last 2/3s was excellent burley that smoked perfectly, NO bite or gurgle and minimal berry, but yes, it is there! Mild Nic, just right for the morning and afternoon. I want to be a "PRO" and be a real man and only smoke strong English blends with lots of Latakia, but, I am almost embarrassed to say..."I LOVE THIS" I bought a pound and smoke some every day. I put this in a "Ruthenberg" pipe, 3 different shapes, but large capacity chamber and it is heaven! Brian makes his airway just perfect, probably the best smoking pipes I have ever smoked, and yes, I smoke my English blends in Jess and Ivarsson and Dunhills. Just buy it and enjoy it, it is a winner!
Pipe Used: Brian Ruteberg, all styles, open airways
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: 6 mos.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 26, 2015 Medium Very Mild Medium Pleasant
As with many pipe smokers, I began smoking a pipe with OTC aromatics such as Captain Black and Borkum Riff. The Borkum Riff nearly ended my pipe smoking adventures, but fortunately I ventured into the realms of trying to find stronger tobaccos (I don't inhale pipe smoke) in order to quit smoking cigarettes. I eventually realized that very high quality pipe tobacco is available, and it certainly doesn't taste like Borkum Riff. After this, I pretty much completely abandoned smoking aromatics due to most of them being goopy messes of poor quality tobacco masked with a chemical tasting topping. After years of smoking almost every stronger blend imaginable, I realized that many of these tobaccos had a room note that was somewhat offensive to those who do not smoke.

Thus my quest for an aromatic that had a good dose of nicotine, great flavor, and a pleasant room note began. I did my research and found this Berry Good No. 210 to be a good candidate judging from what I was reading on the reviews. I purchased a tin, and for whatever reason didn't touch it for over 2 1/2 years. Then I decided I would give an aromatic another shot and cracked open the tin. It had a very very pleasant tin note, and the tobacco wasn't goopy at all! It took light right away, stayed lit, and had a great Burley tobacco flavor with a very slight vanilla and berry flavor that wasn't chemical tasting in nature. The room note was fantastic, and best of all for me, it still had a good dose of nicotine! The quality of the leaf was outstanding, and absolutely no tongue bite whatsoever.

My past negative experiences with aromatics like Borkum Riff scorching my tongue like a belt sander with a chemical tasting mess of horrible quality tobacco were nullified. This Berry Good is a tobacco of very high quality, with actual honest to goodness tobacco taste, and slight hint of sweet berry and vanilla far in the background through the smoke. And it smells great to those around you if you are on a stroll or smoking indoors.

4 stars for an aromatic, 3 for a Burley blend.
Pipe Used: Savinelli Roma Bent Billiard
PurchasedFrom: PipesandCigars.com
Age When Smoked: 2.5 years
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 11, 2010 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is a delightfully light C&D blend that reminds me of the old Middleton's Cherry Blend... but, Berry Good is much better (IMO), due to the quality of the leaf and the light sweetened leaf.

As is the case with most enhanced blends, the added flavoring is strongest at first light and then settles. The Vanilla/Raspberry notes are never strong but always lurking. A nice clean burn all the way to the bottom of the bowl is also a pleasure enhancer.

It is easy to see why C&D Berry Good is one of their new top sellers. For more gusto in the smoke, try mixing it half and half with Five Brothers. Now that makes for an after dinner dessert that is yummy.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
The raspberry/vanilla toppings sublimate the tobaccos, and after you smoke a little of it, the nutty, toasted burley kisses your taste buds a little. The raspberry is more noticeable than the vanilla. Has a very mild nic-hit. Won't bite or get harsh. Burns at a moderate pace, cool and clean, and evenly with very little moisture at the bottom of the bowl. Has a fairly consistent flavor. Needs an average number of relights. Has a pleasant after taste and room note. Can be an all day smoke, or at least a change of pace from stronger blends in other genres. A blend best smoked slowly for full appreciation.

-JimInks
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 16, 2006 Medium Mild Medium Very Pleasant
This is one of those blends that is honest and seems to garner unanimous opinion. I stand alongside the four previous reviewers: this is a tasty burley blend with excellent smoking properties and a wondferful aroma. I've been smoking English blends for the last 15 years and only recently began exploring aromatics. Of the 6 I tried this is one I return to most often and have reordered. As mentioned earlier it is an 'honest' blend: no gastronomical subtleties or complexities. The ingredients are few but work well together. The topping, which is more noticeable in the pouch rather than in the pipe, seems to waft in and out depending on how hard you draw: little sips bring more of the aromatic flavor. Unlike some aromatics I haven't encountered a case of tongue bite with this one, even after 3 successive midsized bowls. The aroma it leaves is pleasant and my wife thinks it's nice (big female approval here). It burns to a clean ash and is delightful. Definetely recommended.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2010 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
To call this an aromatic is a bit of a misnomer - the name really makes one think this is going to be some fruit-drenched mess. Not so. It is a burley blend with a LITTLE topping adding for a hint of dessert flavor and a compliment-winning room-note (My wife passed by me smoking this and her direct quote was "D**n that smells good!").

The real tobacco taste is in the forefront though, especially in the 2nd half of the bowl when most of the berry/vanilla casing has worn off. This is very tasty, burns extremely well, and only bites if you get WAY TOO eager with your puffing. I'm not much of a burley-phile generally, but Berry Good! could change that for me.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 16, 2016 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
A great aromatic that I am glad I found, and would recommend. Love the berry flavor, my first of that type of flavor.

The tin note is strong and delightful, I was able to smell rasberry rather easily, and hints of others that I couldn't place but recognized. A little on the dry side, but no issues. Packed well, lit easily, and stayed lit. Not a goopy mess.

The flavor is a little strong in the beginning, but blends nicely with the tobacco, for a great, tasty smoke. The room note is very pleasant, and I received some compliments of the smell.

Did get a small amount of tongue bite, but I believe that it was more self inflicted from smoking too fast, and not inherent to the tobacco.
Pipe Used: Cayuga Bulldog, Dr. Grabow Omega w/ filter
PurchasedFrom: Paul's Pipe Shop and Pipe Hospital
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 23, 2016 Very Mild Medium to Strong Very Mild Very Pleasant
Being a fan of Black and Burley blends as well as Raspberry flavoring, I had purchased BG smoked some and packed it up in a ball jar. Recently I had some company over and decided to try this again as the room note was fantastic and would please everyone. After a year in the jar the flavoring has been turned down a notch so it's not as cloying and the young tobacco's have aged enough (as much as a Black and Gold mixture can) smoothing out BG and reducing relights. Not an everyday smoke for me since it is so mild and lacking nicotine but for mixed company, it more than makes up for any shortcomings by way of fantastic room note that the ladies just adored!
Age When Smoked: One year in ball jar
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 18, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild Unnoticeable
I'm new to the pipe smoking scene and am a fan of aromatics. This sounded delicious in the description and I was really looking forward to receiving it in the mail. Upon opening the blend it smelled absolutely delicious and I was looking forward to the taste. It is a nice smooth blend, not to wet, not to dry, easy to keep alight, unfortunately the taste was quite disappointing compared to the tobacco aroma. I couldn't find any berry taste. I have yet to experience the aroma whilst passively smoking.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh out of the bag.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 10, 2013 Medium to Strong Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Yet another update 3/17/2017

I am removing another star from this. I just finished the 8oz I just purchased and it wasn't easy. The vanilla coming from the Cavendish was all that was enjoyable to me. The berry topping just came off as artificial. So from three different trials of this blend. The first was fantastic, this 8oz was terrible. The sample sent me from a friend lied somewhere in between.

The bottom line is I will no longer order more of this as I just don't know what to expect. I think if one does really enjoy the berry topping that is on this blend, then that person would be happy with all three of these trials that I had. I only like it if it is lightly applied and that is something I can't know upon ordering. So I am dropping an additional star and will leave this one at two stars for inconsistency.

Update 11/30/2015

I am removing a star from this one as two separate trials of this blend following my review have left me perplexed.

To start, I was so enthused by this that I ordered 8 ounces and was responsible for purchases by quite a few forum friends to whom I raved about this blend. My first puff of this newly purchased 8 ounces was yuck. It was heavily topped. The burley was disguised. Otherwise, it performed similar. I still have some of this 8 ounce purchase despite giving bits and pieces of it away over time.

Enter about a month ago, a sample from a forum friend who asked if I ever tried it as he was sending me something else I had yet to try. I told him my tale and he decided that I should try his sample as it will give me a third opportunity to evaluate the blends.

I tried this third sample and found it in between the two. What did I learn from this? I don't know. My first suspicions is that this is a consistency problem with C & D aromatics as I had a similar experience with Autumn Evening, but I was reminded that all three of the samples I had tried were bulk options and it is impossible to determine what happened between when it was made to when it got to my door. Including how much time it sat around.

I guess I won't know until or unless I try some various tinned samples of the same. I don't see this happening any time soon. So for now, I am dropping a star, because It can't stand at four stars, but it is still a good aromatic, and at times, great. Plenty of nicotine and burley body backing up the sweetness.

Original Review 1-10-2013

I think this is a wonderful Burley blend that happens to be an aromatic. I don't know whether my four stars is for a burley blend or as an aromatic blend, but I think moreso for the former as I think true Aromatic fanciers may find this to lack the sweetness that the burleyphile will love.

The quality of the burley is great as can be expected from C & D, the nicotine is just right IMO and the taste is great. My only complaint, and it is quite minor, is that it tends to burn fast. It does not burn hot though and I think it may be impossible to get this one to bite. At least it was for me.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"