Davidoff Flake Medallions

(3.27)
Coin cut of finest Virginia and perique tobaccos with a core of black cavendish.

Details

Brand Davidoff
Blended By Orlik Tobacco Company
Manufactured By Orlik Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Black Cavendish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.27 / 4
78

53

17

9

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 31 - 40 of 157 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
By the look and only, this feels like top quality tobacco, thinly sliced coins tidily arranged and separated in the tin. Soft to the touch with perfect moisture level, the medallions need gentle handling so as not to crumble. Tin note is slightly sweet with the presence of freshly cut hay. One can pick one or two and either rub or just fold and fill the bowl. Given the presence of the Cavendish core one can also play around a little and either let it enter the bowl unbroken as the medallion folds or rub it and spread it evenly or even put the heart on top of the VaPer. In fact I did rub two Cavendish hearts and put them on top and they were anything but sweet. Actually they gave a very ‘adult’ flavored smoke, astringent and sour but nice. A friend told me that this blend is topped with wine and this recollection made me associate the astringency of the smoke with that of a bold red wine… Overall I find it has a deceptive mildness owed to the creaminess of its texture but if you inhale, nicotine might give you a substantial kick. Yet it does not bite, it does not get hot nor harsh. Flavorwise it is predominantly a dry smoke with only a faint nutty or brown sugary sweetness from the Virginia which I find that both the Perique and the Cavendish even out. Now, if you use the Cavendish at the start you get more sweetness throughout the rest of the bowl. Perique’s peppery spiciness emerges more prominently after halfway through the bowl, so taste is not flat but progresses and changes. As far as behaviour is concerned, anyway you pack the pipe it lights easily and stays lit. It burns clean and cool and draw is effortless – no need to puff hard. What is more it burns slow and leaves a fine ash. Room note is sweeter than expected. Evidently this is very high quality stuff, from presentation to substance. It is also complex and though its quality (texture, draw, burning, clarity of smoke and fine ash) cannot escape even a newbie I think it requires an experienced smoker to discern all of its flavor nuances– no charming sweetness here. An understated tobacco (apart from its immaculate presentation) of the highest quality. Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: MM corn cobs, small Peterson
PurchasedFrom: gift
Age When Smoked: fresh
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 16, 2016 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
Rumor has it that Davidoff Flake Medallions and Peter Stokkebye Luxury Bullseye Flake are the same product in different packaging. I have no hard evidence to substantiate that rumor; I can only go by what my senses tell me. But they tell me the two blends are remarkably similar in appearance, smell, and taste. I'm inclined to believe they are the same tobacco. That belief bears some significance to this review, seeing as how the two products are priced very differently.

But first, let's consider Davidoff's offering on its own merits. This is a wonderful smoke. Cleanly sliced rounds are presented in an elegant tin that speaks to old world luxury and tradition. The tobacco's aroma of freshly mown grass, sweet oats and light citrus translates directly to the palate. The Virginias are the star of the show here, supported by just a sprinkling of pepper from the perique, and sweet, creamy body from the cavendish core. Given enough time in the cellar, the Virginias will darken and deepen in appearance and flavor, becoming sweeter and a bit more tangy. The room note is pungent, but sweet, and far less cigarettish than many blends in this genre. This really is an A+ VaPer.

But let's circle back to that pesky business with the Luxury Bullseye Flake. I've probably smoked more than ten pounds of Stokkebye over the past year, and I've smoked as much of the Davidoff as my budget will allow. I find them more or less identical -- with the key difference being that Flake Medallions, a tinned product, will taste a bit more mature and refined than Luxury Bullseye Flake when smoked young. Over time, however, any apparent differences recede, and the tobaccos converge at the same place.

The only difference remaining between the two is the price. And it's quite a difference. At the time of this writing, a 1.76oz tin of Davidoff Flake Medallions sells between $11 and $13 at the major online retailers. Meanwhile, a 2oz quantity of Luxury Bullseye Flake, purchased in bulk, sells between $4.50 and $6.25. That's half the price for a virtually indistinguishable substitute.

On its own accord, this tobacco deserves 4 stars. But I am deducting a point for the price. It's not entirely fair, but hey, I feel this is relevant information.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 11, 2015 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I like it. I smoke LBF as a daily rotation. DM is what LBF wants to be when it comes of age. The virginias are sweeter and without the bright edge of the LBF. The perique seems slightly more in harmony rather than pushing for the front row.

I smoked as a sample so havent felt the price pinch others have mentioned.
Pipe Used: Mountbatten Royal
PurchasedFrom: Sample
Age When Smoked: 1 year
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2015 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This tobacco is a jewel! After removing the lid DFM is instant class in a tin, a ring of beautiful coins tidily disposed and emanating a mild but gorgeous smell of tobacco goodness. Moisture is perfect but I prefer dry them out a few hours. Once lit it keeps its promises, slow burning and cool smoking, Perique is mild especially in the first part then it comes out a bit more pronounced but still in the mild side perfectly balanced with Virginias and Cavendish. I fully agree with those using the adjective “creamy” to describe this tobacco, not strong but flavorful and satisfying, sweet and spicy but rounded off by that buttery core of unflavoured Cavendish. I need some more tins in my cellar.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2015 Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant
To me, Davidoff Flake Medallions are absolutely delicious, containing that BC core I like so much, even preferred to pure VaPer rolls (DLNR/Escudo). I simply find it more interesting on the long run, placing the BC core purposefully at the beginning, in the middle or even at the end of a bowl. Together with the excellent VaPer experience, four stars hands down.

However, I found Roper’s Roundels, also manufactured by Orlik for Dan Tobacco, to be the same (according to my taste buds, of course) and present time being considerably less expensive where I live. I find the Roundels more often on my shelf than the Flake Medallions, taking the loss in social prestige.
Pipe Used: Various
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2014 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Disclaimer: I'm new to both pipe smoking, and to reviewing.

In the tin, this tobacco smells pretty nice. To my inexperienced nostrils, I get what reminds me of molasses and hay. Sweet, but not punch you in the nose sweet.

I opted to break two coins up to dry for a few minutes, as opposed to the fold/stuff, or leadball approach. Loaded it into my Savinelli 310, and away we go.

Seemed to maybe still be slightly too moist at first, because I had a tough time getting a solid char light. Once I got a char going, and the tobacco swelled a bit to let me know it was alive, I gave it a light tamp, and I was off to the races.

Taste seemed pretty consistent throughout the whole bowl. Virginia, with just a hint of pepper/spice (is this the perique?) and maybe a small hint of sweetness. Smoke was relatively mild throughout, and the bowl burned evenly, almost entirely to ash, leaving only a tiny amount of dottle in the bottom of the bowl.

I'll be revisiting this one.
Pipe Used: Savinelli 310
Age When Smoked: New
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
In the tin, I was surprised with definite aromas of barn / hay grass and molasses. It was a pleasant smell for someone who loves Latakia / English / Balkan blends. I was at first worried about tongue bite as my experience is that high content of Virginia / aromatic chemicals may be the culprit of tongue bite. No tongue bite here (at lest in 2 smokes). On the tongue, a subtle sweet, maybe more a caramelish-sweet (molasses like) taste was evident. Also very faintly a peppery taste from the perique, but overall well balanced in such a way that I could not pinpoint any of the perique/ virginia / black cavendish as the dominant flavor. A good tobacco; could easily be a 4/5 but pricey.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JZKlvqODkk8
Pipe Used: Savinelli
PurchasedFrom: JJ Cale
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 09, 2014 Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Bought when encouraged by reviews here. First impression: the aroma was earthy and musky, pleasant, but not overpowering. I would like to say that "I packed two slices into the pipe by folding", or something equally classy, but in reality it was more like "I managed to stuff two folded slices into the pipe". And while I expected to have problems with starting it and keeping it lit, I was wrong. Needed just two charring lights and it took off, in a tightly packed pipe. The flavour is subtle and offered no bite, burning rather coolly. As a novice to perique I found it really pleasant, slightly peppery, and not overwhelming. Virginia predominates, with a solid cavendish undertone. Fine white ash, packs well on progress, and does not affect the remaining tobacco and burns happily. However, what I did not realise was that this blend looks and smells nice but also packs a decent wallop of nicotine despite mildness of flavour. I almost ended up nauseous when puffing away carelessly and only finished the bowl the next day. It relit nicely and was not bitter or ashy, and yet with the same kick of nicotine to the head. The presentation in the tin is charming but not enough a reason for me to buy it. At the same time, the quality of this blend is high, and I will keep it in the rotation, treating it with respect. Together with the much milder "Red Mixture" this is another fine example of a reliable Davidoff blend.
Pipe Used: Poul Winslow bulldog / rhodesian with 9mm filter
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: straight out of tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 14, 2009 Medium to Strong Very Mild Very Full Tolerable
Very strong nicotine and perique, like smoking hot peppers. I could only take 3-4 puffs, as I usually smoke milder english blends. I cannot recommend it for those new to perique blends, they really seem to have a niche, as shown by the few, but generally good reviews. However, one should try to sample it before paying for a tin (In Canada it goes for $40US !!).
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2009 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant
Every positive comment on Flake Medallions herein posted can be accepted at face value. Without doubt, one of the finest tobaccos of its type currently available.

However...at five times the price of Luxury Bullseye Flake, I can find no justification for its purchase. The quality, cut, and flavor are so similar that I doubt nine in ten smokers would be able to tell the difference in a blind test.

I'm not adverse to purchasing expensive tobaccos. In fact, virtually all of the tobaccos I do smoke are "luxury" blends.

When I purchased a tin of Flake Medallions, I expected to be blown away given all that has been said. The only thing blown away was my hard earned dollars that could have been better spent.

For those who have access to unlimited funds, add three stars.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"