Boswell Pipes & Tobacco Mild English

(3.38)
A blend of Burley, Golden VA, and Cavendish. Has a touch of Latakia to make a fuller-bodied smoke. VERY MILD!

Details

Brand Boswell Pipes & Tobacco
Blended By J.M. Boswell
Manufactured By  
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Cavendish, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.38 / 4
7

4

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 13 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 01, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I LOVE THIS BLEND!! I'VE TRIED SEVERAL "ENGLISH" BLENDS BUT MOST OF THEM HAVE MY HEAD SPINNING 1/3 OF THE WAY THRU THE BOWL. NOT THIS ONE!! THE SWEETNESS OF THE BURLEY & VIRGINIA DOMINATES THIS BLEND WITH JUST A SLIGHT BUT PERFECT HINT OF SMOKEY LATAKIA. NO BITE WHAT SO EVER!! YES...IF YOU'RE A HARDCORE ENGLISH SMOKER THIS IS NOT FOR YOU BUT IF YOU'RE LOOKING FOR A ALL DAY NICE & EZ SMOKE...GRAB THIS ONE!!
Pipe Used: MM COUNTRY GENTELMAN
PurchasedFrom: BOSWELLS
Age When Smoked: NEW
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 20, 2010 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I've tried Countryside, Magnum, and Northwoods ... all of which are very good. But for my tastes Mild English is just about as perfect as it can get. As stated, this is like a little brother to Northwoods and also I'd say to Countryside. This just might be the "one" I've been searching for 🙂 Also, you can't beat the Boswells. To me, they are what helps make the whole pipe experience so great.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 19, 2017 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
I find this blend most interesting. I bought another Boswell pipe (outstanding pipes by the way) and a one ounce bag was included. I found it the other day and I thought good for breaking in my new Boswell pipe. I like pretty potent English blends so I was not expecting much. What a really nice surprise. This is a nice mild blend but the amount of sweetness surprised me. This is a great evening blend to enjoy. Also a great blend for someone just starting out on an English blend. Nice roomnote but again very mild. I doubt there is anyone who would not enjoy this blend regardless of their tobacco preference.
Pipe Used: Boswell sitter
PurchasedFrom: www.boswellpipes.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh in baggie
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2016 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
To judge this blend on the degree to which it is or is not an English/crossover blend seems to miss the point of the blend entirely. I tend to dismiss the arguments about whether or not this constitutes an English Blend, primarily because differences exist about what exactly constitutes an English blend. I understand the desire to classify and categorize, but some blends defy (whether intentionally or not) classification, and Boswell's Mild English (BME) falls into this category (pun fully intended). I think Boswell's description says it best, and I quote: "VERY MILD for an English!" I do notice a trend with regard to latikia blends that the continuum from mild to heavy somehow correlates positively to beginner/experienced or unsophisticated/sophisticated pipe smoker. That is an unfortunate trend that I reject.

This blend has a nice hint of Latikia that, blended with the virginia, burley, and cavendish offers a subtly satisfying smoke for a slow, contemplative puff. Or, as I usually smoke it, as a working smoke that I can enjoy while doing something else - like typing a tobacco review. It is not Northwoods or Railroad Station 965, and I do not think it intends to be mild version of either. I find I enjoy it best in a large cob (a MM General or Freehand), where it always provides a satisfying burn to the bottom of the bowl.

I do tend to let it sit a while with the top off because I enjoy it a wee bit dry, although it is good freshly blended. Attempts to classify this blend as either/or with regard to an English blend (however variously defined) will only frustrate the experience, and I recommend this blend as either a working blend or as a puffing experience. It maintains its various flavors throughout, and I find the latakia to be come to the foreground more towards the bottom of the bowl.
Pipe Used: Mostly large MM cobs
PurchasedFrom: Boswell's Pipes
Age When Smoked: 1 month to 1 year
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 02, 2010 Extremely Mild Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
This is one mix that I have a hard time cathegorising and it really makes me wonder what they were thinking about when they felt the need to blend it.

If you see it as an English mix you are in for a real letdown... It tastes somewhat similar to an English mixture, but with no other real connection. It's ungodly sweet, it's one-dimensional, it has got nothing in there tastewise to arouse any attention and so on.

I began my experience in Englishes with Boswells Northwoods and for my tastes Northwoods is as mild as you ever would a faux- english to be, Mild English is just too bland and boring.

Just smoked a bowl outside and it _actually_ made me mad puffing away to hunt down something that reminds me of an English mixture, just to realize that there's almost nothing like that in Mild English.

Mild English is NOT an English mixture, it's a weak aromatic with nothing really going for it. If you're going to smoke aromatics, there are a lot better offerings... ...Boswells themselves does wonderful mixes, ALL better than this.

If you are looking for an introduction to Englishes you should seek out the "real deal" instead. There's a whole lot of quality Englishes that are mild enough to start out with. Skiff, Squadron Leader, Penzance, Chelsea Morning, Cornell and Diehl englishes, Presbyterian mixture, Boswells Northwoods and a whole heap of other brands that are not shallow as Mild English but still are mild blends.

I am sorry to the Boswells, this blend just does not cut it. An English must have depth and points of interest to keep me reaching for it. Mild English just has no points of interest and just gives me an overly sweet "absolutely nothing" with a faint hint of an English mixture. I cannot recommend this to anyone at the moment, and as I said... If you want to try Englishes but is afraid that they'll make you drop dead, DON'T BE! Mild English is just a small side-track that leads nowhere and when you are finally back on the main track again you'll never look back on that "bad shortcut" (that proved to be longer, more troublesome and not as tasty 🙂 again.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 03, 2013 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
i dont know, have no comparison about english blend, its very dry, the flavor i feel more virginia, than others like burley and latakia that is lower dose, no bite, but keep dry. It's a neutral blend. The positive point on boswell is even no bite tongue. I greatly appreciate it. 2**
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 22, 2009 Mild to Medium Very Mild Medium to Full Tolerable
I'm really surprized there are not more reviews on this blend. First I have to note that Boswell's English blends are the only English blends I've tried and I'm not a full English smoker, but they are really starting to become very enjoyable. I feel this is the "little brother" to Boswells Northwoods. It is a mild version on Northwoods with just enough Latakia to make for a bolder yet mild smoke. It makes for a similar smoking experience, just lighter. It burns cool, tastes great and smells about the same as Northwoods. I don't feel it's quite as creamy, or as "velvety" as Northwoods, but in all a very nice smooth blend. This one also seems to meld with the other tobacco flavors towards the end of the bowl. Maybe better suited for an all day smoke or for a bigger bowl compared to Northwoods. Right now I would say it's my favorite out of Boswell's 3 English blends. It's great anytime, I love it after dinner and maybe even with a few beers. That's pretty much it...a lighter version of Northwoods, but it's still it's own...and it's a good one!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2007 Mild None Detected Full Pleasant
Although there are times when I crave a strong English blend, many times I want something milder and this tobacco is my present favorite. It definitely has the proper name, as that is exactly what it is. There is a bit of a sweet note from the Cavendish and Golden VA, while the burley provides body. The Latakia is very far in the background, you have to look for it to taste it. It smokes well in a variety of pipes: I have a Tinsky Christmas pipe that works especially well with it.

This tobacco comes with a medium moisture content and the burn and lighting are both slightly better than average. I haven't tried drying any, that might make it score higher in this regard.

Boswell tobaccos are very reasonable in regard to price. J.M. has made an effort to keep both his tobaccos and pipes affordable for the average person.

Scores for Mild English: taste-16 out of 20; lighting and burn- 7 out of 10; value- 8 of 10. 31 points nets Mild English a *** score.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 10, 2020 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
There isn't a Boswell blend that doesn't have an absolutely intoxicating pouch note, and Mild English is no exception.

Appearance equal parts of black, medium brown and golden leaf. Ribbon cut with uniform strands makes this blend very evenly distributed without separation in the pouch.

The pouch aroma from Boswells Cavendish gives this such a sweet, rich aroma that's paired well with the subtle smokiness of the Latakia. Moisture content is perfect, zero humectants seem to be present. Even when pinched hard between the fingers, it doesn't clump together, and no stickiness on your fingers. Did I mention how wonderful this smells?

Initial lighting brings forward nice toasty notes from the burley, sweetness from the Virginia and cavendish, and the perfect amount of Latakia for a light English. Not only is this a great blend for cool weather, its still light enough to smoke on hot summer days with a cold and refreshing iced tea. This is also a great indoor smoking blend, as the room note is very pleasant and aromatic. Never bites, nor does it get hot and ashy if puffed too hard. I may say this is my favorite boutique English blend on the market. What a terrific blend! Perfectly balanced, and done well enough to suit new and old English smokers alike! Now, if you are searching for a complex, robust and stout Balkan/English blend, this is not it. And its not supposed to be.

Next to Northwoods, I probably smoked through this faster than any other blend. This is definitely added to my list of all-time favorites here on TR!!
Pipe Used: several
PurchasedFrom: Boswells
Age When Smoked: 1 month
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 09, 2007 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I received this in a sampler along with my newest Boswell pipe. It is simply what tobacco blenders have been searching for in the quest for a mild blend with all the characteristics of an English blend but in a more subdued manner. I really like it and for the price, it is well worth trying. Beware, it may end up being your all-day smoke. The burley, cavendish, Virginia and latakia are blended into a very good Mild English. The room note not only passes the Significant Other test but my wife actually asked me why I didn't smoke it all the time instead of that "Stinky" stuff. 3 and a half stars for sure.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 02, 2022 Very Mild Extremely Mild Very Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Bag note sweetness some Latakia the burley give it some earthy notes. Moisture level is a bit moist. Very lite smoke with plenty of sweetness provided by Cavendish and VA. Just a touch of Latakia for smokiness, with the burley to give it some chocolate/ coco notes very lightly . I think it might have a slight molasses topping as its almost an aromatic in sweetness . When I first tried this fresh from the bag it was too moist and the flavors were lost in the steam. I put it up on a shelf for 6 months and came back to it to try it again. Perfect after the rest. Nice light sweet smoke with just a bit of Latakia. If you are looking for a sweet lite non-aromatic blend with just a bit of Latakia this is it. Nic hit is very light no bite at all. This is a very consistent smoke from start to finish. Could be an all day smoke. This would be a great starter blend for those new to English blends. 3.5 stars
Pipe Used: Dr. Grabow duke tasting pipe
PurchasedFrom: Boswell direct
Age When Smoked: 6 months
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"