Tinder Box Reserve 1928

(3.46)
Tinder Box Reserve 1928 is the first new addition to our tobacco bar in over three years. We went to The McClelland Tobacco Company with our criteria in hand: the tobacco had to be intriguing to the eye, have uniqueness to the nose and be ever so pleasing to the palate. In addition, this is only the second time in history that Tinder Box has introduced a tinned tobacco to our loyal pipe smokers. Because this new blend hearkens our roots, we called upon the touch of a master blender to come up with a blend so unique and so delicious, it is destined to be our top selling tobacco of all time. Tinder Box Reserve 1928 has the panache, the sophistication, the delicacy to satisfy a pipe smoker of refined taste and independent means. It is easy to pack, and has a subtle, natural sweetness. A cool, dry smoke with a light pleasing aroma. The composition of this new tobacco is red Virginia, orange Virginia, Virginia flake, and a touch of burley.

Details

Brand Tinder Box
Blended By McClelland Tobacco Company
Manufactured By McClelland Tobacco Company
Blend Type Virginia Based
Contents Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate
Cut Mixture
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.46 / 4
15

11

2

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 20 of 28 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
CTS
Nov 02, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Tin aroma - hazelnut, coconut, vanilla. Packs well, stays lit on one light post char. Aroma translates to flavor, particularly when sipped. Good base tobacco flavors. Burns clean/dry. 3+*.
Pipe Used: Christiano 405
PurchasedFrom: Tinder Box, Mishawaka, IN
Age When Smoked: Tin stamp = 192813
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 07, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
Reserve 1928 is a lightly aromatic blend with hints of cocoa. The tin scent is that of light cocoa and is not overpowering. I am fairly certain that McClelland tobacco is used in this blend as I can also smell the familiar fermentation scent that is common with McClelland blends. I can easily see how this could be an all day blend for many of my Briar Brothers as it will appeal to aromatic smokers and non aromatic smokers alike. It is a bit monochromatic and there lies my issue with this blend. For me, it is one of those blends that I find tasty for a few bowls, but then becomes less interesting as the tin nears its end. By the time I finished the tin, I had lost all interest. I am in the minority here as many reviewers are fond of this blend and I can see why, but it just isn't for me.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 16, 2019 Mild Medium to Strong Very Full Pleasant to Tolerable
Another McClelland grand achievement. I can't describe the tin aroma...chocolate caramel like smell with added spices. It smelled good to me and it was the sweetest tobacco I've ever smoked. After sniffing the tin, I thought; I'm going to get bit...not so. It's Very tasty, very sweet and easy on the palaate. It presents excellent burning qualities...not like an aromatic at all.

It simply burns & smokes like any non-aromatic might. Easily qualifies as a four star blend!!! It is not overly abundant in the nicotine department, but a bowlful will supply enough to satisfy & even the gurgle tasted sweet. For aromatic as well as non-aromatic smokers. Therefore, IMHO, Reserve 1928 merits four stars.
Pipe Used: Peterson Deluxe 9S & 11S
PurchasedFrom: Tinder Box
Age When Smoked: Fresh Tin
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 10, 2011 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Excellent. This has the tin aroma of cocoa or chocolate powder and a nuttiness like cashews. The smoke is full, with a natural sweet tone with a few recognizable burley notes with the virginia undertones. Smells great smokes down to a fine ash with no dottle and a pleasant enough nicotine hit. Tried it in a briar and a cob. The briar really worked well-pick itup at the tinderbox I guess that is the only place to find it. It is very good non aro non english just natural sweet smoke.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 30, 2020 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
If you have a sweet tooth and are a fan of chocolate then this would be right up your alley. I would consider this an aromatic blend but technically it is not, I could see this being good for a beginner or just someone who enjoys a sweeter blend from time to time. The different Virginia's add a good base with some earth and grass, and the burley adds some nuttiness which pairs will with the cocoa topping. The smell out of the tin is very pleasant and aromatic. It was a little on the moist side requiring a little drying time and it packs very nicely. I would suggest a light packing as this cut can promote a tight draw. While this is a good smoke there isn't a lot going on here, for me it's an every now and then smoke when a change of pace is needed or if I'm in the company of non-smokers. This stayed lit after the charring lite and required few relights. There was very little moisture left in the bowl. If you like a sweeter borderline aromatic tobacco and can find it, this is definitely worth a try.
Pipe Used: Peterson 305XL
PurchasedFrom: Tinder Box
Age When Smoked: 3 Years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 21, 2010 Mild to Medium Medium Very Full Very Pleasant
Another McClelland grand achievement. I can't describe the tin aroma...chocolate caramel like smell with added spices. It smelled good to me and it was the sweetest tobacco I've ever smoked. After sniffing the tin, I thought; I'm going to get bit...not so. It's Very tasty, very sweet and easy on the palaate. It presents excellent burning qualities...not like an aromatic at all.

It simply burns & smokes like any non-aromatic might. Easily qualifies as a four star blend!!! It is not overly abundant in the nicotine department, but a bowlful will supply enough to satisfy. For aromatic as well as non-aromatic smokers. Therefore, IMHO, Reserve 1928 merits four stars.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 28, 2010 Very Mild Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
The tobacco has a nice aroma, and was fairly dry in the tin. It lit well and burned evenly with a cool smoke and finished with a fine white ash in the bottom of the bowl. There was no sour after-taste, which was nice. Although I liked the tobacco, I wouldn't go so far as saying it was great, even so, I'm giving it high marks. I think it's a great all day smoke, and really a good tobacco for new pipe smokers. I would buy it again, but I am beginning to enjoy English blends more, so this goes on the shelf to share with friends.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2010 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A wonderful tobacco with pleasent sweet undertones that tantilize the palate and stimulate the senses. Upon opening the tin and giving it a wiff, it reminds me almost of a candy bar containing chocolate and coconut. The taste is pleasent and has a delightful aroma to it. Worthy of giving to a fellow friend.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 09, 2009 Medium Mild to Medium Medium to Full Pleasant
For my first review, I thought I'd stick with a simple choice.

This is a very nice, smooth smoke. It smells a bit nutty and rich in the tin, and smokes the same way. The Burley comes thru gently during the smoke, with almost no bite whatsoever. My tin was at a great moisture level, just a bit on the dry side, but still springy; it packed and smoked well from the first bowl.

I was merely OK with this after the first bowl, but in the last two weeks I've found myself hankerin' for a bowl, so I guess it's grown on me. It is a tad pricey, but is certainly worth the cost.

Tony
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 15, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Full Very Pleasant
Oh my! Simply delectible! My tin was dated 2008 & exuded a sweet, chocolaty aroma with "maybe" a slight touch of rum. I didn't know I was buying an aromatic when I purchased this blend but found it as tolerable to the palate as a straight VA blend. Comparable to Marlin Flake in that respect. The ready rubbed leaf seemed a little moist. I dried it out a little & it burned well enough...a few tamps & relights, no goop & no overwhelming detracting casing...just right! So very mild with lots of smoke, sweet flavor, very pleasant aroma with minimal tongue/palate discomfort...ie., the harder you push it the worse it bites, like a straight VA might bite. Picking & tamping indicated that it may be good for building a quick cake in a bowl but will probably leave its "ghost" offinere. A "few dollars more" through Tinderbox but well worth it...to me, anyway. If you're looking for a nicotine bomb, this isn't it. However, a full bowl delivers enough to provide a relaxing & satisfying smoke. A very, very sweet smoke that I enjoyed. Therefore, IMHO, Reserve 1928 merits four ****s!
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Oh God, this is good stuff!

And that's all I need to say.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 08, 2009 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild Pleasant
In the search for pipe tobacco nirvana, this one comes close. I wish they would not be so stingy with it. Reserve 1928 is a bulk tobacco loosely packed into little aluminum cans with pull-top lids. The can reminds me of those little cans they pack "Vienna Weiners" into. The diameter of the can is not wide enough to comfortably pack a pipe without making a mess. Keeping the same depth of the can, but increasing the diameter by about two inches would make a huge positive difference. Better yet, sell the stuff in bulk packaging and save us the cost of the tiny cans, which unnecessarily increase the cost.

As for the tobacco, when you pop open the can, the aroma is very pleasant. I cannot describe the fragrance exactly, but it has that old-fashioned "grampa's pipe tobacco" smell to it. It looks wonderful - a mixture of various shades of golden and dark brown, in a thick ribbon cut. The moisture level seems perfect, though after my first bowl, I recommend letting it dry out a little for a trouble-free smoke.

Reserve 1928 packs and lights perfectly - but take care not to pack it too tightly. And, this is a case in which the fragrance of the tobacco in the tin is a clue to what it will smell & taste like burning - "unique to the nose and pleasing to the palate." Remarkably, the smell and taste of the fresh tobacco in the tin came through in the smoke and lingered all the way through to the end of the bowl.

It did not burn clean to the end, however, like most good English blends do. I had to mix it up at the end, as the last fifth of the bowl or so became soggy. But after mixing it up, it burned to the bottom of the bowl, leaving clean grey ash and some larger pieces of carbon dottle. Again, if you let the stuff dry out just a little, I am certain it will burn clean to the bottom of the bowl without having to mix it up.

Reserve 1928 is a great mixture for those who regularly smoke English blends but would like something with an 'aromatic' room note for a change of pace. It is also a great smoke for those who prefer aromatics but are put off by the gloppy mess left at the end, the overheated bowl, and the tongue bite. 1928 just does not bite, and burns cool. And, it does not leave a "ghost" perfumey or syrupy smell in your pipe, like so many aromatics do. In fact, the smell left in the pipe reminds me of the scent after smoking an English blend without latakia.

So, although technically I would classify Reserve 1928 as an aromatic blend, it does not have the negatives typically associated with aromatic blends, which makes it almost the perfect blend. Almost.

The search continues.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 27, 2009 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
This one is just O.K. It's better than most Tinderbox blends, but it's still fairly flavoured. It has a nutty, sweet taste- it's about 75% Burley and 25% Virginia with a nice flavouring added to round it off. It tastes nice, but leaves your pipe wet and soggy. Also, the taste is very one dimensional. If you like aromatics, I'd try it, but it doesn't do a lot for me. I bought a 2 oz tin before Christmas and smoked a little and just put it away. Smells great if you want to impress bystanders.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 19, 2022 Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I've been sitting on this tin for several years. I purchased this at the original Tinder Box in LA, CA (or so the sign outside the store said). Apparently, this blend was originally blended by McClelland for the Tinder Box.

Upon opening the pop top tin, none of the trademark McClelland bbq scent was present. The blend was slightly on the dry side, but it packed well. My first impressions after firing it up, were a bit humdrum, but as the bowl progressed some very nice nuances came through. A hint of vinegar at the back end, very subtle. There were some interesting flavors weaving in and out of the blend, some sweetness, some smokiness, some alchohol flavoring, too. Quite nice, really. Some of the flavor profiles reminded me of a combination of red VA's and burleys. I don't see this baccy as a pure aromatic, rather it's a crossover blend.

Overall, this was a pleasant smoke. Indeed, I wish I had purchased another tin back in the day. It's a pleasure to experience a hidden gem from your own tobacco cellar.

keep on pipin'
PurchasedFrom: The Original Tinder Box, LA, CA
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 20, 2019 Mild Medium to Strong Very Full Pleasant
Another McClelland grand achievement. I can't describe the tin aroma...chocolate caramel like smell with added spices. It smelled good to me and it was the sweetest tobacco I've ever smoked. After sniffing the tin, I thought; I'm going to get bit... not so. It's very tasty, very sweet and easy on the palate.

It presents excellent burning qualities... not like an aromatic at all. It simply burns & smokes like any non-aromatic might. Easily qualifies as a four star blend!!! It is not overly abundant in the nicotine department, but a bowlful will supply enough to satisfy & even the gurgle tasted sweet. For aromatic as well as non-aromatic smokers. I wish it were still available.
Pipe Used: Peterson Deluxe 9S & 11S
PurchasedFrom: Tinder Box
Age When Smoked: Fresh Tins
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2018 Mild Strong Extra Full Pleasant
Another McClelland grand achievement. Tin aroma... a chocolate caramel like smell with added spices. It smelled good to me and it was the sweetest tobacco I've ever smoked. After sniffing the tin, I thought; I'm going to get bit... not so. It's very tasty, very sweet and easy on the palate. It presents excellent burning qualities... not like an aromatic at all. I got a bit of condensation in my mouth while puffing & it even tasted nice & sweet... unbelievable for any tobacco. One of the finest aromatics ever produced.

It simply burns & smokes like any non-aromatic might. Easily qualifies as a four star blend! It is not overly abundant in the nicotine department, but a bowlful will supply enough to satisfy any aromatic as well as non-aromatic smokers. I bought four tins back in 2009 for less than $30.00. If you could find one tin today, it would cost more than that.
Pipe Used: Peterson System 312
PurchasedFrom: Tinder Box
Age When Smoked: Fresh Tin
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 22, 2012 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I like it. Fine base tobacco, mostly burley and some virginias. The topping/casing/whatever is fine and doesn't bite. I smoked my first bowl in a Bjarne brandy, and followed up with the Nerrup Selection pipe, another brandy shape. That bowl shape seems to work fine with this blend. I like it that it's a bit one-note, as the one note is good and grows on you, a sign of a potential all-day smoke. Subdued is good for this one. As a previous reviewer noted, this is an aromatic for non-aromatic smokers.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2011 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I am not a big aro fan, but this is just a good blend. If it were a wine it wouldn't be too sweet or too dry. Rather than being pleasing to a few it would please the crowd.

This is the aromatic go to for a non-aro smoker.

You can taste quality of the tobaccos, and others can enjoy the smell.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 23, 2011 Mild Mild to Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
What a fantastic blend. The tin aroma is amazing, for me its of cocoa and mint. The room note is just as good. And a very tasty blend.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 10, 2010 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I tried this one simply because it received so may positive reviews on this site. I ordered it and waited with bated breath at its arrival. When it did show up (quite quickly too), I immediately opened the can. The aroma out of it was like coffee with french vanilla creamer in it. I love that smell. I grabbed a meer, filled and lit it. The taste was not what I expected. Perhaps I got my expectations up so high from the reviews, that I expected too much of it. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the blend very much, but I didn't find it to be such a special tobacco. Also, I found that it was difficult to keep lit. I relit my bowl several times during the whole affair. All in all, it is a very solid aromatic that was pleasing to the palate and the nose. I would recommend this blend to aromatic smokers.
0 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"