Lane Limited Captain Black Cherry

(1.62)
The cherry blend combines sweet-smoking cavendish leaf with a sound kick of cherry casing, for a very flavorful smoke. Exceptionally mild, delightfully aromatic.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is now sold in some European countries as Ruby.

Details

Brand Lane Limited
Blended By Lane Ltd.
Manufactured By Lane Ltd.
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish
Flavoring Cherry
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 1.5 ounce pouch
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

1.62 / 4
6

13

28

69

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 116 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 02, 2021 Medium Extra Strong Overwhelming Pleasant to Tolerable
Code Red Cherry Mountain Dew frozen Slurpee from a 7-11 at 3am.

When a pipe tobacco does not need a humidor, you know it's been heavily sprayed with chemicals and it's here. The cherry flavoring is very strong, maybe the strongest I've ever tasted, even more so than the chemical onslaught of CAO Cherry Bomb. Lingering after-taste and pipe-ghosting. Luckily I have a pipe dedicated to cherry aromatics so it's not a catastrophe. Cherry is not unlike eating Sucrets cough drops by the handful.

Smokes hot and requires sipping to a whisper and it's not too bad and eliminates pipe-bite that way.

Stays surprisingly lit as if they added something like flash-paper shreds.

I almost exclusively smoke aromatics so I'm not as horrified; I prefer Sutliff and MacBaren. This is not a completely miserable smoke if you know what you're getting into. This is sort of trailer-trash stuff but sometimes it can be fun. It's not unlike eating 1985 Spencer's Gifts cherry edible underwear topped with cherry body whipped cream that numbs your tongue and senses. Like a cherry fruit roll-up that's been sitting under a car seat for 10 years and it's over 100 degrees outside and you "go for it" as it melts all over your hands and you question your life choices.

I bought simultaneously Lane Limited Very Cherry in comparison and LL's VC is notably better and less obscene. I was suspicious if LL (who makes CB) just copy-pasted their VC and sprayed preservatives to keep it "over the counter" quality.

I'd recommend this if you REALLY want a LOT of cherry flavoring and know how to SLOWLY smoke this thing. I mean, sometimes aromatic fans want a face punch of politically incorrect Funny Face Chinese Cherry from 1971 and zero tobacco flavor.

I'd recommend for the aromatic connoisseur in need of cherry: Mac Baren: Cherry Ambrosia Cult: Blood Red Moon Peter Stokkebye: Cherry Bon-Bon Sutliff: Cherry Cavandish Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. - Kendal: Top Black Cherry

..and if you're immune to chemicals, CAO Cherry Bomb.
Pipe Used: Meershuam Cob
PurchasedFrom: Smoker Friendly
Age When Smoked: New-ish
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2014 Very Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The cherry topping is too chemical-like, and is the dominant flavor. There's a light vanilla note or two here from the sugary black cavendish that lurks throughout the smoke. The grassy, citrusy gold cavendish can be tasted, though it's toned down from the topping by design. The strength is very mild, while the taste is mild. Hardly has any nicotine. Burns too hot, and can bite if you are puffing beyond a moderate pace, which is the burn rate. Leaves too much moisture in the bowl, and needs some relights as it’s moist and burns wet. An all day smoke with a very consistent flavor.

-JimInks
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 03, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Tolerable
Just coming back to pipe smoking after 25 years away from it, and after about 2 months, I'm so far happy with experimenting with different tobaccos. Experimentation with this blend will definitely not happen again.

I pick up a pouch of the stuff as I was low on money and out of my Davidoff Blue. The smokeshop I went to (first timer there) had pretty much only sisha, hookahs and cigars, but they did have Captain Black cherry, gold, white and royal. So I said "Sure why not, I'll try the cherry".

Out of the pouch, it smelled good.... a bit like candy....not over the top, but I was hoping the smoke would have a similar taste. After lighting, I was disappointed. Another reviewer here described the taste as similar to cherry chapstick and that's a good description. I actually thought the taste was reminiscent of the nasty cherry flavored penicillin my doctor used to give me as a child.... Tasted like I bit off a chunk of cherry chapstick and washed it down with the cherry medicine. It seemed to smoke hot with me and had a slight bite to it, no matter how slow I smoked. I gave it a chance to get halfway through the bowl to see if the flavor would change. Nope.

I was driving at the time, and the car smelled okay, but something about the lingering scent gave me a slight headache as inhaling furniture polish might. Later in the day my car didn't smell anything like how it did when I smoked it....it made my car smell stale....sort of like a cross between wet dog, cherry chapstick and cheap tequila.

As a lady pipe smoker, a few guy friends of mine assumed I would try this stuff. "Don't gals like aromatics?" one of them asked. And while I do like aro's, I'll probably never buy this again.
18 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2015 Very Mild Medium to Strong Very Mild Pleasant
Smoking Captain Black Cherry is like struggling to train a wet angry biting but nice smelling dog that you managed to buy for a small price. Not Recommended.
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Tolerable
Tastes and smells like a cheap stale cherry chap-stick. Sort of plastic smelling. Cherry cough syrup maybe too. Very thick, sweet and syrupy pouch note. A tad bit dry. Overall, an unpleasant experience.

Update 1-30-2017: I'll up it one star. My original review might be a bit harsh, but still not as harsh as this blend can be haha. Far better cherry blends out there for sure, but this is tolerable if I'm in the mood for it.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 30, 2013 Extremely Mild Extremely Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Not a good choice for a real pipe smoker. This is the worst cherry i've ever smoked. No taste, smells like linctus. Hot burning tobacco.
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 08, 2014 Strong Strong Overwhelming Unnoticeable
ABSOLUTELY THE MOST LOATHSOME PIPE TOBACCO I'VE HAD THE MISPLEASURE OF SMOKING. I WOULD HAVE THROWN IT OUT IMMEDIATELY AFTER OPENING THE PACKAGE, BUT MY WIFE, IN AN EPISODE OF LUNACY BOUGHT ME THIS TRASH, AND FOR MARITAL HARMONEY I SMOKED VERY FEW BOWLS BEFORE FLUSHING IT DOWN THE TOILET. I'D RATHER SMOKE DRIED OAK/PINE LEAVES AS ME AND MY FRIENDS DID IN OUR EARLY ADOLESCENCE. ABSOLUTELY/POSITIVELY REVOLTING (AND THAT'S AN INSULT TO THE TERM REVOLTING)!!!!
Pipe Used: Canadian; meerschaum
PurchasedFrom: Smokin' Joes
Age When Smoked: ????
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2015 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
I wanted to try this blend because I like cherry aromatic blends and Captain Black is a very popular commercial blend. It is made of a mixture of Cavendish and Black Cavendish with a cherry casing. The appearance is of mostly reddish brown color ribbon cut with a very few black pieces. The tobacco is not overly moist or goopy at all. The aroma is a pleasant cherry smell, as one would expect. It lights easily right out of the pouch, no additional drying time is necessary. The flavor is a pleasant sweet cherry taste, nothing complex or of great depth here. This is a light/medium tobacco in terms of smoke intensity and light in terms of nicotine strength. The high point of the bowl is the first ten minutes after lighting when the cherry flavor is at its peak. Thereafter the cherry flavor wanes progressively as the bowl burns down. I smoked it in a Missouri Meerschaum corncob pipe and it burned cool and dry.
Pipe Used: Missouri Meerschaum Washington
Age When Smoked: 1 year
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 13, 2017 Very Mild Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
A really disappointing blend.like other C.Black blends i tried the philosophy is the same.full cavendish blends with chemical smell and not a hint of tobacco flavour.the smell when you beeak the seal is somewhat pleasant,the moisture is really high and even if i left it several hours to dry out it just didn't.while smoking the taste is bad and not natural.seems to me like chewing a cherry gum.no tobacco taste at all.burns really hot and ghosts the pipe very easy.one bowl was enough to destroy a 9mm carbon filter.even when i went hard on that i got no nicotine but only tongue bite wich is weird..the aftertaste is bad.the room note was pleasant but very tense.for someone who likes the C. Black's blends it can be an all day smoke.not recommended
Age When Smoked: Dried out for 2 hours.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 24, 2014 Very Mild Extra Strong Full Extra Strong
I like to do a review of a tobacco once I've smoked a tin/pouch to get a fair assessment based on a couple dozen bowls. I can't do that with CBCherry. I can't bring myself to load another bowl with it. This stuff is nasty. Overpowering sickly sweet pouch note that you can smell across the room and permeates all tobacco it is stored with. Burns hot, terrible flavor, no appreciable nicotine, and for your trouble it ghosts your pipe like Halloween night. The saving grace is room note but by the time you get that far into it you are overpowered by the scent already and just want to be done with it. Got the pouch for $1 and I get the feeling I've been taken. Unfortunately I'm too cheap to discard it and I don't know any other pipe smokers to "gift" it to so I guess I'll use it to make an insecticide in the garden or chicken house.
Pipe Used: Dr Grabow grand duke
PurchasedFrom: local yokel
Age When Smoked: new
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 22, 2013 Overwhelming Extra Strong Overwhelming Overwhelming
I thought this would at least be tolerable but after giving it a good try (a full pack), I have to say that it was complete disappointment.

It smelled like a very strong chemical topping, smoked hot with an extreme tongue bite and had the flavor of hot ash.

One of Captain Blacks extreme disappointments.
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"