Peter Stokkebye Luxury Bullseye Flake (No. 403)

(3.33)
A blend of ripe Virginia tobacco spiced with pure Louisiana Perique. The distinctive aroma of Perique combined with the natural sweetness of Virginia tobaccos provides a wonderful characteristic taste. The center of mellow, fermented Black Cavendish serves to smoothen the general impression and rounding the taste. It is all a handcrafted process from selecting the best tobacco, blending, rolling, cutting, and packing. The result is an unparalleled smoking experience.
Notes: This replaced "Luxury Curly Cut" in the P.S. lineup in 2006, and is now one of their best sellers in the American market.

Details

Brand Peter Stokkebye
Blended By  
Manufactured By  
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Black Cavendish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Curly Cut
Packaging Bulk
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.33 / 4
147

120

32

7

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 306 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 11, 2019 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Tolerable
So, my first Virginia blend was Orlik Golden Sliced, and I absolutely loved it, the citrus and freshly baked notes were fantastic. A couple months ago I wanted to try a Virginia/Perique mixture or a 'Va/Per', and see if I'll like it. After some recommendations and the nice price point, I ordered a couple Oz of Peter stockbye luxury bullseye flake.

So, my first smoke was a disaster, a complete turnoff. All I was getting was tongue bite, it was a nightmare to fill the pipe with, it clogged the whole bowl chamber and draft hole, never wanted to light or stay lit at all. I wasn't getting ANY flavor whatsoever.

So, I experienced with this blend a little bit. Once I tried the fold N Stuff method and it epically failed. The other time I tried to 'lightly' rub the coins out, and the results were similar. Never wanting to light, or stay lit and giving me tremendous tongue scorching. I said well damn it, maybe the stuff isn't for me. I left the tobacco in a jar that has been sitting probably a couple of months.

So tonight, and after I ran out from my favorite burley, I was in the mood for something different. I thought, I might try something a little different with Luxury bullseye flake. After all, it's coming from one of my favorite tobacco blenders, Peter stockbye, whose turkish no.84 and black Coffee are some of my favorites.

So, I grabbed out the jar, opened it, and it really smelled way stronger than before. Dried fruit/pungent citrus kind of note, along with a subtle note of black tea (if you've ever sniffed a loose black tea pouch you'll get the point).

So wanting to try something different, I grabbed a couple coins, and gently rubbed them out till they've become basically thick ribbons. Instead of using the three pinch method, I dropped a couple strands at a time into the pipe and let gravity do its work, and only SLIGHTLY tamped it down. Checked the draw, all great, sounds promising.

I let the pipe up, I admit it took a while to get evenly lit, but it was way easier than before. And as the true light got going, I immediately got an explosion of clean, natural and deep Virginia taste, along with a little sweetness and a touch of spice. I was intrigued and excited, tamped extremely gently, and sat back and puffed.

Oh my! The way I treated this blend definitely made a huge difference! After tasting nothing but hot air and tongue bite through my earlier attempts, I was getting almost a bite free, smooth, tasty Virginia taste and could actually pick up the distinguishing sweetness from the Cavendish. I'm definitely enjoying it right now!

It stayed lit pretty well, no clogging up or any hassle. Just a medium bodied slightly complex and quality tobacco.

The main flavors you're getting are some dark citrus, a hint of a baked bread, and a touch of black tea. Sip this slow, and you'll get a very interesting fruit note, probably a natural element of the perique. The room note has a lot of natural sweetness.

Highly recommended.
Pipe Used: Savenilli Roma
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2013 Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
An excellent tobacco and a fanastic value, let me start by saying this is nothing at all like Escudo in tin note, taste or aroma. Should not be approached as a bulk substitute for Escudo as, from this perspective, the Escudo smoker will be disappointed. The coins are far more loosely pressed than Escudo coins and some crumbling will occur in bulk packages during shipping. Does not effect the flavor and, if anything, makes the coin easier to rub out. From the first puff I was impressed with this blend. Very smooth-smoking with the sweetness in the background - there just enough to balance out the blend and, as the description reads "round the taste". That description is apt.

The Perique is very mild in this tobacco, the Virginias smooth and non-biting, and there is a subtle sweetness from the Cavendish core. Not an aromatic, by any stretch. Not a true VaPer. Certainly not a Virginia flake. This is a wonderful combination of the best of all three worlds and I would highly recommend this tobacco, destined to become one of my favorite all-day, everyday smokes. Definitely one to stock up on and cellar.
118 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium Pleasant
The Virginias are a little more grassy than they are earthy and woody, which makes for a nice contrast. They also have some tart and tangy citrus, and light tangy dark fruit and honey, in addition to a mild rough edge, which I attribute to the youth of the tobacco. The perique is spicy with raisin, plum, and fig sweetness as an important second lead. The lightly vanilla-ish black cavendish in the center is small, so its smoothing effect isn’t a consistent one no matter how you prepare the coins. The strength and nic-hit are in the center of mild to medium, while the taste just reaches the medium mark. Won't bite, but fast puffing may result in a harsh note if the tobacco is not aged. The coins are easily rubbed out, and burns at a moderate pace, clean and rather cool with a fairly consistent flavor, except for when you hit a spot where the black cav is. Doesn’t require many relights, and easily burns to ash. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl. Has a short lived, pleasant after taste and room note. It’s fine fresh, but benefits from age, and I recommend you do that if you can.

-JimInks
105 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 19, 2006 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium Tolerable
Up front, what you need to know about the reviewer:

I'm a lover of VAs, Burleys, Englishes - this tobacco should be right up my alley.

I'm a very slow smoker - typical bowl takes 1hr45min. I sip my pipes, I don't guzzle the smoke.

I'm a complete nicotine whimp. Yup, when it comes to nicotine, I'm a girly man.

The pipe I tested this in was my oldest. Its not a high priced pipe but its well seasoned with a strong cake buildup and it always smokes like dream. The last tobacco smoked in it was Wessex Burley Slice - there shouldn't be any noticeable cross over after the first few minutes.

I'm typically bad at folding flakes and stuffing them into pipes - takes me too many relights for my liking ...

ok, lets get to it:

Even though I'm bad at folding and stuffing flakes (heck, the coins are big enough to be treated like flakes in this tobacco folks) I took two coins, folded them and stuffed them into my Bjarne Viking Classic Bent Bulldog. The pipe is a good group 4+ size. I rubbed a little of the tobacco out fully to top the bowl with to make lighting easier.

This tobacco is a no nonsense half dollar sized coin of VA with (apparently) a 1/4" spot in the center of uncased Cavendish. It smells of a hay field on a dewy morning - quite inviting to a VA smoker.

Initial char, tamp, and relight: This tobacco is perfect moisture-wise! It lit with ease and there was absolutely NO tongue bite whatsoever. The flavor is kind of bland at initial lite up. The room note seems to be as expected just a pure VA tobacco so it is not likely to be a wife pleaser, but its not bad at all to my senses.

First 1/3 bowl: the tobacco kept up a nice, pleasant, yet unremarkable VA flavor for the first 1/3 of the bowl. Its nothing to write home about so far, but not bad for a VA. I'm sure this is the same VA component used in Luxury Navy Flake so if you like LNF, you're going to love this tobacco as well. There is NO tongue bite at all so far.

2nd 1/3 bowl: the flavors are blossoming nicely now. The VA tobacco is filling out and getting much sweeter than in the beginning. Somewhere in the middle of this third of the bowl something noticeably sweet crossed my palate. I know this sounds weird, but I think the ember just reached one of the Cavendish bullseyes. The flavor lasted for only a minute or so, but it was a wonderful explosion of sweetness that was totally unexpected. There is still no tongue bite at all, this stuff is as smooth as silk but the nicotine levels are rising and my head is starting to spin. I put the pipe aside for about 15 minutes to stop the spinning ... lets see how this tobacco does DGTd (albiet, a short DGT).

Final 1/3 bowl: This tobacco just keeps on delivering. No ashy flavor, just sweet, mellow fields of hay and again, another blast of that something sweet (the 2nd bullseye dot from the 2nd coin????). Its such a surprise when it comes that I absolutely enjoy it. The bowl is starting to need numerous relights - this is my fault! Remember, I told you at the start that I'm not very good at folding and stuffing flakes into a pipe ... but even now, after about 3-4 relights there is no tongue bite at all. Oh, by the way, the room is spinning, my temples are pounding, I'm fairly loopey - the nicotine has made me slow down even slower than my usual, I'm just barely sipping on the pipe now. The flavor is wonderful.

Dottle: Well, I have nothing but a dark grey ash left. Again as I said at the outset, the moisture level was perfect for this tobacco. My pipe never gurgled once and it's a bent pipe!

Overall perceptions: If you're a Stokkebye fan, you're sure to love this tobacco. The appearance is stunning in a DSK kind of way with the bullseye being a different colored tobacco center dot in the middle of the coin. If you're a VA fan, this should hit a home run as well. When it comes to VAs I'm a lakeland fan smoking predominantly Samuel Gawith tobaccos (BBF / FVF) and find the VAs here are tasty but not as sweet and fulfilling as the lakeland tobac. Those little dots of cavendish - if that is what I tasted - are worth a test drive even if you don't like this kind of tobacco. Its probably just a slight bit stronger than "medium" on the nicotine side ... but enough that it made my head swim. Stronger than Wessex Burley Slices, weaker than Escudo if that helps you. Soooo, do I recommend this tobacco? Heck yes. On a scale of 1-10 I'd rate it a good 6 - would have been a 7.5 if the nicotine level were more managable. Will I buy it again? Maybe. I really like my lakeland tobaccos so maybe not. But, I'm sure glad I had the chance to test drive this tobac.

Total smoking time: 2hr15min - minus 15min needed to recover from nicotine overload.
95 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2007 Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
There are several Stokkebye offerings that I enjoy, but none as much as this one. With so many good Va/pers available, I'm a little surprised that I enjoy LBF almost to the exclusion of others. The 1.5 lb box looks like a tray of poker chips. The coins rub out easily and the smoke is sublime...more natural than Luxury Twist Flake, less harsh that Luxury Navy Flake and stronger than the now defunct Luxury Curly Cut. LBF and I have become fast friends........

Addendum: They Stokkebye website recommends rubbing out this flake and packing it lightly in the pipe. I have tried a variety of pipes and packing methods, and I have to agree that their recommendation provides the best result.
50 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 27, 2012 Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is a great blend for a great price to boot. The presentation is wonderful and proves to be a nice conversation piece whenever anyone sees you playing with the discs to prepare to smoke. As for how I smoke it. I simply rub it out and enjoy.

I actually prefer this to Escudo, but I like my tobaccos a little sweet. This is by no means an aromatic, but it is smoother to my tastes than most VaPers.
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 19, 2009 Mild Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Puff Daddy nailed it for me. Not much to add except to reiterate that the virginias tasted and smoked "youthful". This tobacco has the makings of a very good blend but it needs some aging. I've cellared a couple of pounds and I'm going to sample a bit in a year, two years, 3 years, until I think it's matured.

I did take out a small batch and added a dash of perique, which improved the taste slightly. I honestly think this just needs some time to simmer.

As it is, it's a decent smoke - not objectionable. Reminds me of a somewhat spicier MacBaren's Virginia Flake. Nothing offputting, just no "zing" if that makes any sense. If you like a nice mild VaPer with no bite, try this one. It's "good enough" but I think it might get better with age.
37 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 25, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I love this stuff, in fact I love most of the Stokkebye VA offerings.

This is the type of stuff that real experienced pipe smokers enjoy. There are no fancy packages here, just great quality at a great price. These little round beauties offer the same quality as their counterparts that come in nice tins, for a greatly reduced price.

I am a Virginia lover at heart and so I really like this blend. It kind of reminds me of Orlik Golden sliced with the high citrus notes toned down a little. There is a nice balance of perique here too, just enough to give a good flavor and a little tingle in the nose. I am not really sure if the black Cavendish adds much to this blend in terms of flavor, but it sure does make those little round coins look very handsome.

One of the real advantages of these Stokkebye blends is their superior agebility. This blend is nice fresh, but it is outstanding with a couple years on it, and the bulk pricing allows you to stock up and wait for the magic to happen. Get some, it is good.

Highly recommended.
34 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 26, 2007 Mild to Medium Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I almost didn't try this because of the "center of cavendish" -- which isn't my cup of tea. I like the Virginias, the vapers. Serendipitously I ignored my prejudices and ordered 4oz. of this beauty. It gets points just for presentation -- swirled disks that look like, well, yes, bull's-eyes. The cavendish center is exactly enough to give a flavor tint without it becoming a cavendish -- just a slight modulation to the normal vaper taste. What a beauty. Careful -- its light flavor disguises a healthy nicotine kick if you're not ready for it.

I've already developed a working technique for it -- fold a disk in half and rub it into the bowl. Okay, two of them if it's a big bowl. Lights exceptionally well, doesn't require huffing to keep it puffing, and gives a satisfying, tasty, clean, and dry smoke to the bottom. Well done, Mr. Stokkeybye!
31 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2014 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Mild to Medium Pleasant
I have been looking forward to this blend since I began my pipe dream two years ago, based primarily on your reviews.

So the baggie note is fresh, hayish, and sweet, as in black Cav sweet. Its appearance is more....natural if you will then say Escudo. Rough spun edges, less density in construction. Kind of akin to comparing a machine made Petit Corona to a Backwoods Twist.

These descriptives aren't meant to deter from this review, as the flavor profile correlates to these 'raw' descriptives. What it may lack in refinement LBF more than makes up for in bright, fresh flavor.

The Vas gave absolutely no bite at all, albeit at the expense of the vitamin nicotine.

The perique, which is to me unusually spicy even for a perique, benefits from the smooth interaction of the black cavendish. I tried these coins shredded, but that density of sweet smoothness was lost to me when not stuffed whole.

Cobs and billiards did best for me, nice slow burn. Now take into account the value of LBF, and it makes it that much more desirable.

So for me this is a 4 star blend: I will begin cellaring jars of this, not being concerned that it would overtake Escudo's role, rather it will provide me with a different taste in VaPer coins.

Highly Recommended..to everyone, including aro lovers, as an all day smoke. Wish I would have tried this sooner.

Pipe Used: Billiard, Cobs
PurchasedFrom: pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
30 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 17, 2014 Mild None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
This is a very nice blend. I got 16oz of it based on the brethren reviews here. I am glad I did. It came in a large zip lock so the "bag" note is nice. Subtle sweetness and spicy side notes from the perique. The medallions are nice to look at and make portioning a snap. I fold two and lightly stuff into the bowl. Char .....light...tamp...and go.

I found the initial draws to be filled with the blended leaf. I tasted the perique and hints of the cavendish. That wisp of sweetness from the cavendish really goes well with the perique and virginia. From top to bottom bowl, this was a delight to smoke. Roll it around your tongue and exhale through your nose and you will get the depth of the flavour. French inhaling is a joy since this is so mellow and mild.

** note ** I tried several bowls by hand rubbing two medallions then smoking. They smoke beautifully however the flavours blend too much and meld. To truly enjoy each flavour layer try folding and lightly stuffing.

I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good smoke with no bite. I'm glad I bought a pound.

**2015-01-28 UPDATE **

6 months in a large sealed mason jar aided in the flavour of this tobacco immensely. After 6 months I opened the jar and loved what I smelled. Pinot noir wine with a very sweet yet deep aroma. It is smoother and nicer than when I first tried it. I have enough to be able to do a 6 month updates for a few years to come.
Pipe Used: Several Pete's
PurchasedFrom: Smoking Pipes
Age When Smoked: New - Bulk
24 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"