Samuel Gawith St. James Flake

(3.44)
Genuine perique is added to an already delicious and flavoursome blend of fine bright Virginias to give St. James the light peppery characteristic enjoyed by so many pipe smokers. Medium strength.

Details

Brand Samuel Gawith
Series Kendal Mayor's Collection
Blended By Samuel Gawith
Manufactured By Samuel Gawith
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, 250 grams box, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.44 / 4
126

51

20

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 20 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2021 Mild to Medium Mild Medium Pleasant
St. James Flake is a unique take on the VaPer and it is absolutely delicious. I really just can't say enough about how fantastic this stuff tastes. Unfortunately, this amazing flavor comes with some huge caveats that need to be discussed, and which ultimately bring the overall experience down significantly.

Basically, St. James Flake bites and it can bite HARD. The only way I can even attempt to enjoy this blend is in a System pipe, and even then it can be a struggle to go easy enough on it. This issue is hugely exacerbated by it being very difficult to light and keep lit, which also forces you to puff harder than you might otherwise. Drying it out helps a bit, but it literally takes HOURS, by which time the flavor is clearly negatively impacted. Add to this its tendency to clump together into an incombustable ball at the bottom of the chamber, and you have a perfect recipe for frustration. Be prepared to take several days off from smoking anything while your mouth recovers.

All this is a shame, really, because like I said at the start of this review, St. James Flake is tremendously tasty. Even with the massive tongue bite I know I'll experience every time (and I am NOT at all prone to tongue bite), I do still smoke it occasionally. But more and more I think It's just not worth the pain and suffering.
Pipe Used: Peterson 2s
Age When Smoked: 3 Years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 03, 2020 Strong None Detected Overwhelming Tolerable
I opened a tin I had cellared for two years. Inside the tin there were spots of rust and the tobacco itself had a considerable amount of crystallization. The flakes are mostly brown with some black and yellow striations throughout. The flakes were also very pliable so I let them air dry for a couple of days to allow some of the moisture to evaporate.

I rubbed one of the flakes out and stuffed it all into a bowl, lit it, and WOW! Talk about being Periqued. This blend definitely has a generous amount of peppery Perique. I did manage to finish the bowl, and I really do enjoy VaPers, but this blend is over the top with Perique. As a matter of fact I wouldn’t even consider this a VaPer. It’s more like Perique blended with a little bit of Virginia (PerVa?).

I won’t be buying any more of this tobacco and unless someone really, and I mean REALLY loves Perique, I wouldn’t recommend it for anyone else either.

Just a bit of a sidebar: Even after 2 days air drying ( left lid off of tin ) there was still significant pipe gurgle. There are two distinct pipe designs that never gurgle. These are the Tyrolean pipe and the Calabash gourd meerschaum pipe. Both of these designs have the bowl exit hole directly dead center at the bottom so moisture never pools in the bottom of the bowl. Needless to say, I'll be finishing my SJF with my briar Tyrolean pipe... Pipe gurgle can be rather annoying.
Pipe Used: Briar
Age When Smoked: Aged two years
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 07, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant
And here we have another of my favourite tobaccoes! This morning I was buying another tin of 1792, rising my supply to 300 grams, it is a tobacco that must always sit in my living room! I was skipping tins searching for something to go along and I spotted one last tin of St.James Flake, Kendal Mayor Collection, which I already tasted and was enthusiastic. So I bought it! Simply as that! The flakes are woody, thick and smelly of fresh virginia's, I cannot detect any perique from the tin, I know it's there, but it is overwhelmed by Figs and Leather and a hint of Choco from the virginias. The smoke is thick and satisfying, Perique starts making its way out after a few puffs, adding depth and fullness to the taste, rounding it, yet it stinges a little, like some tobasco sauce sprinkled on scrambled eggs. A great great great tobacco

UPDATE! After one month in air tight jar, it developped awful taste and aroma.
Pipe Used: Brebbia Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Scarlatti, Pisa, Italy
Age When Smoked: Fresh from the tin
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 08, 2019 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant
A tin note of chamois leather and caramel. Some say this is a perique bomb but I'm really not getting that. I see this as a Virginia blend, rather than a VaPer. Some slight pepperiness, pleasant retrohale, not overly complex and rewards a slow, gentle draw.

Needs careful rubbing out and packing if multiple relights are to be avoided.

Not particularly memorable but it does have the most pleasant room note I've come across.
PurchasedFrom: CGars Ltd
Age When Smoked: New
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 12, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
this was my dirst virginia-perique tobacco.i can say it dissapointed me .didnt like it too much.i noticed im not a perique man!this was similar to FVF but with perique taste .i liked FVF much more.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 29, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant
As far as VAPERs go this is a good one. I detect some sort of flavoring, but truly not sure what it is. Either way it does not detract much from the nicely added perique and tasty VAs. I don't know about you folks, but I find SGs flakes can be quite yummy while offering so much of a challenge with initial light, continued light and smoke production. This will be the last SG flake I'll try most likely, but it has been a fun ride. TLJCSAWA
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 15, 2009 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Medium Tolerable
First I have to state is I am not a big fan of flakes (you know: all this rubbing or unfolding job is quite boring for me... and I have noticed many many times that flakes normally offer less bowls per tin)

Of course, some flakes give you delicious undertones and overtones... but just prefer good mixtures on ribbon cut. I preferred them 25 years ago, and I still do prefer.

St.James Flake is a decent combination of Virginia and Perique. Good taste, a little bit peppery... and nothing more.

I am not especially fond of Perique, so this is not a regular for me. Just a change of pace. With Perique, I prefer the style of Artisan`s Blend (because the other components are strong and tasty enough)

So finally, I think this can be recommended for fans of VAPers in the mild to medium side.

Rdx score: 85.90 (I regularly smoke tobaccos over 90)
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2009 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Sweet natural virginias, with a nice amount of perique (not overwhelming) make this blend a must have to perique fans. The perique comes and goes, giving space to taste all the glorious sweetness of the virginias, making it very interesting and not boring at all. Perique is not really my favorite leaf, thus the 2 stars... Looking forward to taste it aged.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 18, 2024 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Pleasant
Finally got a tin after trying for four years. Opened one right away because after a failed foray with FVF, if this was not good, all my SG is going on Tinbids. I'm a quarter through the bowl so this is a first impression.

Like FVF the Virginias are largely tasteless. I'm guessing the SG quality is dropping off. I had my first Wessex Gold Brick last week and those Virginias were infinitely more flavorful. The perique is light and fruity. Older reviews describe the perique as "too spicy" for some, but not in 2024. I would not describe this a spicy in the least. The fruity flavor is most similar to Dorchester although Dorchester is more consistent, the Virginias are tasty and the perique has more depth (not spicy, depth). I consider Dorchester to be a mild blend.

I'm about half way through now and the flavor has filled out a bit. The smoke has become a bit fuller. You have to retrohale if you want to pick up the flavors. While I haven't had to relight, it's benefited from a light touch of the flame now and then.

So far it is pleasant, but for a newer smoker looking to fill out there cellar I'd recommend not overbuying. Put a tin or two away at most until you're sure you know it's worth it.

There is a real danger in reading older reviews and skipping newer ones because manufacturing changes. A lot of times the older reviews, listed as the most helpful, don't even seem like the same tobacco after you try newer tins.

I'll update this after a few more bowls.

Pipe Used: Deep, wide meerschaum.
PurchasedFrom: TobaccoPipes
Age When Smoked: Spankin' new
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 04, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium Tolerable
I must say I am not a fan of this VA/PER. On a different topic, SG tobaccos have started to seriously annoy me because of the high level of dampness of their products.

Aging their tins is difficult because of the rust that will develop in the inside of the tin, due to the too high a level of humidity.

Preparing them and smoking them requires patience, compromise and various strategies I came to realize I do not want to possess. A tobacco should not be so extreneous an effort to prepare.

Also, despite this tin being roughly 3 years old (a gift from an acquaintance that was marked "2010") this flake was still too damp and, despite over an hour of drying, bites.

There are too many good offerings out there that do not require specials skills and deliver an awsome, satisfying smoke.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"