Cornell & Diehl Byzantium

(3.07)
A full strength blend with Latakia, Perique and Turkish.

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By  
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type Balkan
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2oz tin, 8oz tin, Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.07 / 4
17

29

9

2

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 11 - 20 of 57 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 23, 2018 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This is a good blend that has some very unique characteristics, especially when compared to most standard English Blends. The tin note is one of deep, smokey latakias with some tangy orientals floating around in the background. On first light, a deep and satisfying latakia comes out with just a touch of sour from the orientals. After getting settled in from the initial flavor, the perique really begins to stand out. The perique's spicy quality dances around through the entire bowl and is a welcome addition to the smoky, tangy, and sour flavors that make the main body of the smoke. At mid to late bowl, the perique almost threatens to overtake the smoke, in my opinion, and then the latakia comes back full force. It is almost like a fine drama that resolves into a peaceful scene. I especially like this blend for colder weather or for after a heavier meal. Mechanically, the blend smoked all the way to the bottom with little to no problem although I did have a little bit of trouble getting it lit up properly (that could be user error). Over all nice smoke, I can't wait to see what a little time in the cellar will do to this unique Balkan blend.
Pipe Used: Handmade Bent Billiard
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Unknown Bulk
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 21, 2016 Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I was intrigued by the fact that this reputedly 'English' blend had no Virginia component. I like to think of it as a 'Louisiana Balkan' blend. But, classify it as one may, this is a hearty (but not overpowering) blend that has found a place in my tobacco rotation. Latakia is prominent, but the Perique and Orientals are what set this Cornell & Diehl offering above the 'meh', complementing the rich taste of Latakia with a hint of spice and sweetness. The room note is typical of a Latakia blend with the addition of a pleasant fragrance that, I assume, is attributable to the Orientals. Cool-smoking. An enjoyable blend.
Pipe Used: Savinelli billiard
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 05, 2016 Extremely Strong Extremely Mild Extra Full Very Strong
By the fires of Hell here we face a strong mixture,very strong,extreme naturally flavoured and non easy to tame.I must disagree with not a few reviewers about the source of strength,for me it´s a lavishly added part of Perique.I love Perique a lot,but this doesn´t mean a lot of proportion,i.m.h.o. more than 20% is too much,at Byzantium is surpased.This beautiful beast is made to be smoked in cobs better than briars and wide bowls better than tall and narrow ones.Beware of the monster,oh brothers in holy smoke!
Pipe Used: Cobs better
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes
Age When Smoked: new
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 06, 2009 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
As an old 965 fan I was tempted to try this blend after reading these reviews. My palate found this to be slightly less rounded out than old 965 - a not quite as mellow. Or, in other words, lacking a dimension found in the Dunhill comparison - which component is missing I'm not sure. However, it will satisfy as a replacement. I plan my next taste of this to be enjoyed at more leisurely time of day when I do not have to rush the smoke and perhaps have some brandy to tone it down some. Fourteen hours later I was still tasting this tobacco. I found it very peppery, more than I had expected, and as smoky as I had hoped. I'll be stocking up on more of this before tax increase. It won't replace my everyday Finck blends (based on price), but a good find nevertheless.

UPDATE 09-09-10:

After having to amend several other reviews based on further experience and in fairness to the blenders of Byzantium I must upgrade my assessment of this blend. As 3 Stars is a high rating in my personal TR grade scale with 4 stars denoting my intent to repurchase it dawned on me last week while making my sixth repurchase of Byzantium that I am enjoying it evermore and that the slight deficiencies I noted above have abated or disappeared. This is an excellent blend.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2017 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Without having a high-sugar Virginia component, Byzantium is among the coolest-smoking blends around and it is very easy to regulate a low burning temperature to get the best flavors from the various Oriental leaf. On the other hand, you definitely miss the bass notes Virginias traditionally provide to English mixtures and the high content of Oriental leaf means the burning quality is less "long smoldering" compared to a coal working through dense, flue-cured leaf that a English blend traditionally employs - even less so without a little bit of condimental Burley for superior burning. The result is that Byzantium delivers a lot of the great flavors other reviewers have assessed, but I find it requires more attentive smoking and it tends to burn quickly. It's a great blend for a change of pace, as a definite intentional "hobby interest" blend, but not something I would always want to have on hand to just enjoy an English blend while doing something else like walking the dog, hanging out with friends, or reading a book.
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
6 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 11, 2019 Medium None Detected Medium Unnoticeable
During Labor Day there was a 15% off C&D bulk blends and I bought some. This is one of them. This has the typical at least typical to me Latakia smell from the tin note. Somewhat a little milder than others I have purchased and tried in the past. I find this blend interesting as there is no Virginia or Burley in the mixture. Smokes cool and dry and what I mean by dry is more like a dry white wine rather than a sweet red. I am sure it is due to the lack of said mentioned tobaccos. It is a good blend and I will give it some more tender loving care in the upcoming days. From Wikipedia: “Byzantium was an ancient Greek colony in early antiquity that later became Constantinople, and then Istanbul”.
Pipe Used: Comoy 2nd Royal Falcon
Age When Smoked: New
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 15, 2017 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
Byzantium contains undoubtedly choice tobaccos. It is Latakia that dominates though. In the beginning it is smoky and woodsy but soon it becomes very savoury (incency, leathery, meaty?), I guess it’s also the presence of the Turkish tobaccos which add a sour, tangy even salty note. I cannot describe better the savouriness to which I refer but it’s very tasty indeed. Further down the Perique is felt as a black peppery spiciness which as the bowl progresses becomes more intense. I sense no dark stewed fruit here.

The tobacco consists of short deep brown and black ribbons which load with ease. It burns cool and needs only a few relights. Strength-wise it’s not very foreboding nor is nicotine content very high. It burns completely to a fine grey ash and leaves no moisture to the bowl. But although it produces quite a lot of smoke I find it lacks some body and it’s also a little dry-tasting.

As I said it contains choice leafs and a very tasty Latakia. For me it’s definitely a three star blend and because Latakia is so plentiful, Byzantium it can serve as an ingredient to a four star English blend.

You wish to make a fantastic English blend with still quite pronounced Latakia flavor using Byzantium? Here’s a recipe: take an amount of a fine Virginia (FVF recommended) add to it the same amount of a nice Oriental leaf (Izmir & Basma preferably) and to them add the same amount of Byzantium. Mix and if you cannot find Penzance to buy, do not worry, your blend will be just as good! I am not joking…
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 02, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
Wood stove smoky, peppery, and a little floral, damn this is good! Did not know if this would fly with me because of the absence of either Virginia or Burley. But this blend hits the mark. I have a rule that tells me to judge blends on their own merit an not to make comparisons. That is not a problem here, this blend is unlike any I have smoked in the last 27 years. No wonder it has stood the test of time. Smooth and satisfying smoke.
Pipe Used: Cobs and briars of various size
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: New and up to 1 month
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2014 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
This is a blend that you smoke for yourself--it will make you no friends in a crowd...That being said, It is one of the most enjoyable blends I've tried...No complexity here just wonderful taste...A bowl of wonderful flavor!
Pipe Used: variuos for testing
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh when received
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2013 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I agree with some others that this seems to be missing something (Virginias?). It might have been ok with a stronger dose of Orientals, but as it is it just doesn't cut it. It has potential though so I'm going to fiddle around with it and see what I can come up with.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"