pipesandcigars.com Scotty's Trout Stream

(3.42)
This is a mixture of golden cavendish slices mixed with a sweet black cavendish. Perfect for tying flies or stepping out of your tent on a cool misty morning.
Notes: PipesandCigars.com now lists this blend on its website as "Scotty's HPCS Trout Stream" as of Aug. 2015.

Details

Brand pipesandcigars.com
Blended By Eric Nicolas
Manufactured By Pipes & Cigars
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Cavendish
Flavoring Caramel, Other / Misc
Cut Ribbon
Packaging Bulk
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.42 / 4
57

35

11

1

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 104 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 06, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
Trout Stream from Pipes and Cigars is understated excellence. As primarily a English/Balkan blend smoker, I'm VERY critical of aromatics. This one is so well done, I'm obliged to include it as one of my very favorites, period. The only other aromatic I think is classified with it is Sunset Rum by Milan. The mild Maple casing is elegantly placed on top of very fine tobacco blending. I think the folks at P&C should be applauded. The smoke is velvety, there is no bite, it burns long and smooth, the taste and flavor are richly delicious. The aroma is so comforting, even intoxicating. I rarely smoke aromatics to the bottom of the bowl because of the sour tar and bitterness that often comes through from the sugars and flavoring. Not so with Trout Stream. It left no tar, just a grey/white crunchy ash. Trout Stream is a one of the best reasons for a man to smoke a pipe.
Pipe Used: Boswell Churchwarden
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars.com
Age When Smoked: Recent
29 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 28, 2016 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The toasty, lightly grassy and citrusy gold cavendish also has a few drops of honey. The sugary black cavendish plays back up. The rich butterscotch, mild caramel, and slight vanilla toppings do tone down the tobaccos to a fair extent. I also sense a coffee note or two, especially at the beginning. Has a very mild nic-hit. Won’t bite or get harsh. Burns at a reasonable rate with a slight inconsistency in the smooth taste as the tobacco does peek out a little more in the last third of the experience. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, and need s a few relights. Has a pleasant after taste and very pleasant room note. An easy going all day smoke.

-JimInks
27 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2012 Extremely Mild Medium to Strong Very Mild Very Pleasant
I just finished a half pound of Trout Stream and will be ordering a whole bunch more. Behind Butternut Burley, this is my favorite aromatic. The stretch between these two offerings from Albany and the next best aromatic is about five miles.

The difference lies in the negatives - both Trout Stream and Butternut Burley avoid what other aromatic offerings seem to insist - Goop plus goop, chemical flavoring, big-time cake, hot or bite or both, sourness at the end. Heck, that describes 90% of the aromatics I've tried. The ones who avoid those negatives, such as Sutliff's Navigator, have no flavor at all.

Avoid all those issues with Trout Stream and Butternut Burley. They smoke smooth, tasty, and all the way to the bottom. The flavor of both includes butterscotch. As another reviewer pointed out, Trout Stream is NOT broken flake. This is shag, with all its advantages.

I think this is the number one seller from pipesandcigars.com, and I can see why. Cavendish plus cavendish plus light, sweet toppings - you see this coming, right? This is the Bob Newhart of tobaccos. There is no need to pay any attention to it, and it won't grab you, but it is mildly entertaining. No one will rave about it, but no one will object, either. Either this or Butternut Burley would be my recommendation for an absolute newbie pipe smoker, or an experienced person like me who likes to change pace a lot.

Very highly recommended. I hope it cellars well because I am stocking up.
21 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2012 Mild Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Trout Stream is a very straight forward aromatic. It burns on the dry side and doesn't leave goop in the bowl. It is very mild to mild in strength and not overly cased, at least as aromatics are concerned. The TR description states that this is a broken flake, however I didn't see any in my one ounce bag. It is the type of aromatic that is easily an all day blend for aro smokers as it doesn't require very much attention. I could not detect any tongue bite, even when pushed. Aromatic smokers that are looking for some complexity (yes, there are aromatics that offer complex flavors) would be better served to pass this one over in lieu of some of P&S's tinned aromatic blends. Trout Stream would be a very good choice for newer pipe smokers that want to start out with aromatics. Recommended.
19 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 22, 2014 Mild Strong Medium Very Pleasant
My favourite tobaccos have always been English and Balkan blends, but recently I have been adding some aromatics to my rotation, and I have really enjoyed Trout Stream. It burns very coolly and easily with no bite. It has taken me a while to learn how to appreciate the subtle flavours in the actual tobacco taste of some aromatics (I find it much easier to taste the mix of flavours in English blends), but the excellent burning properties of Trout Stream allow one to appreciate the nutty, slightly peppery and chocolatey notes of the Cavendish.

The butterscotch aroma is quite strong in the bag, but I found it was well-balanced in the taste, and didn't overwhelm the underpinning mild tobacco taste.
Pipe Used: MM diplomat
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 09, 2016 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
The toasty, lightly grassy and citrusy gold cavendish also has a few drops of honey. The sugary black cavendish plays back up. The rich butterscotch, mild caramel, and slight vanilla toppings do tone down the tobaccos to a fair extent. I also sense a coffee note or two, especially at the beginning. Has a very mild nic-hit. Won’t bite or get harsh. Burns at a reasonable rate with a slight inconsistency in the smooth taste as the tobacco does peek out a little more in the last third of the experience. Leaves a little moisture in the bowl, and need s a few relights. Has a pleasant after taste and very pleasant room note. An easy going all day smoke.

-JimInks
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 09, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Full Very Pleasant
I am normally not one for aros, at all; this one is the exception. It smells fantastic in the package, and even better lit. It has a sweet butterscotch flavor without being cloying or leaving a bad taste in your mouth or goop in your pipe. This is as good as it gets in the aromatic world. I'm off to buy more!
Pipe Used: Mastro de Paja, Nording
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins
Age When Smoked: New
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 21, 2014 Mild to Medium Strong Full Pleasant
I am still new to noticing the subtle effects, tastes, and smells of tobacco, however, when I first smoked Trout Stream, it was beyond obvious that this was an excellent smoke, from which I learned a lot about all the other tobaccos I own. Its aroma is delicate, rich, and very addictive - it whispers in the night to be sniffed and I carry it around all day. When I smoke this tobacco, I am under the impression that I know what a quality and delicious tobacco taste like. It doesn't leave a mark/after-scent in my pipe. Its very smooth and balanced. Its butterscotch and vanilla, and kinda coffee like too, aroma is just AMAZING. Then again I am a strong aromatic tobacco lover. One of my all time favorite tobaccos (out of the 15 I've tried).
Pipe Used: Lorenzetti Constantine 24
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2008 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This one scores as close to a perfect 10 as an aromatic tobacco can get IMO. The aroma of the tobacco out of the bag is mouthwatering good with a lightly sweet butterscotch hint to it. The thinly cut ribbons of golden cavendish and black cavendish pack easily and burn consistently without the need for frequent relighting. The room note is very pleasant. The flavor is not too strong for those like me who do not prefer a strong casing and like to be able to taste the tobacco flavor. The strength is also mild.

And all of this at a low cost bulk price. Who could ask for anything more? I definitely recommend this to beginners and aromatic lovers alike. I intend to stock up on this brand. Kudos to pipesandcigars.com this is a big hit with me.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
HPCS Adirondack Trout Stream - every bit as good as the gents in my online pipe smoker's club have said it was.

I like mellow aromatics, and this one certainly answers the mail.

It is a nice mix of cavendish tobaccos (golden with black), and has lots of goodness going for it - after one smoke, I can say it packed easy, lit well and stayed lit, smoked smooth.

Has a nice butterscotch-like smell in the pouch, and had a nice mild smell to the smoke.

This one will definitely be working its way into my regular rotation.
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"