Cornell & Diehl Da Vinci

(3.07)
Named for the famed Renaissance man of letters, arts, and science, this blend evokes the Near Eastern influence that trade brought to the docks of Renaissance ports. The base of light Virginias and burley is overwhelmed by the smoky pungent aroma of Cyprian latakia. This is the perfect blend for the true lover of latakia, but be forewarned, this blend is not for everyone. Additionally, because of the high latakia content (Boasting no less than 75% latakia) and slow-burning nature of Da Vinci, it would be a very good blend to break a pipe in with.
Notes: Mid 90's tin from the garage operation in Morganton NC sates: "A blend of specially selected and aged Latakia, rough cut Burley and bright Virginia flake. Heavy in Latakia."

Details

Brand Cornell & Diehl
Blended By Craig Tarler
Manufactured By Cornell & Diehl
Blend Type English
Contents Burley, Latakia, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 2oz and 8oz tins
Country United States
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.07 / 4
22

23

12

3

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 60 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 19, 2017 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Strong
The tin states that the blend is heavy in Latakia and that is no lie! Something like 75% Latakia in this one and some Burley too. So, it is strong and strong. I powered through a tin of this and while I enjoyed it and was happy for the experience, I will simply recommend it to other Latakia lovers but I do not see myself going for another tin. But I think it is the Burley that kind of pushes me away from this one.
PurchasedFrom: Iwan Ries
Age When Smoked: 2 years
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2012 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Extra Strong
What a difference time makes! I bought an 8oz. tin of DaVinci at the 2009 Chicago show. As soon as I got home, I tried a bowl, using a Ben Wade that I had bought on EBay and worked on, removing pits and making it look much better. Oops, sidetracked there, didn't I.

First of all, I love latakia. About 90% of the blends I smoke have some latakia in them. That said, I was somewhat overwhelmed with the amount of latakia in this blend. Hovever, I was not turned off by it. Still, something was not quite right. The flavor seemed a bit sour. Anyway, I would go back to it once in awhile. Then it just seemed to disappear from my rotation, collecting dust on my shelf.

Well, the other day I grabbed the Ben Wade, which BTW has an absolutely cavernous bowl, and filled it with DaVinci. Now, I've heard tell that if you store tobacco and let it age, it will most likely be a bit different than it was originally. I'm usually to impatient to let mine age. But,different! It was like smoking two different tobaccos. The basic taste was the same, but much smoother, like an aged scotch. It was very strong, but in a good way. In the end, this ended up being a most delicious blend. Aging your tobacco? I'M A BELIEVER!
20 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 17, 2015 Medium to Strong Extremely Mild Full Tolerable
The Cyprian Latakia is the major component, offering a very smoky, woody, earthy, incense-like, mustiness with a little more sweetness than one often finds in Latakia. The grassy, tart and tangy citrusy Virginia is a supporting player. The mildly nutty, earthy, woody, lightly molasses sweet burley is a minor player. The description does not mention a topping, but I suspect something is added because there's too much sweetness for it all to be natural. The strength and nic-hit are a couple of steps past the medium mark, while the taste is full. Won't bite, but has some rough edges, and a possible harsh note if puffed fast. Burns clean and cool at a moderate rate with a very consistent, creamy sweet and very savory flavor that translates to the pleasantly lingering after taste. Leaves little moisture in the bowl, and requires an average number of relights. Has a potent room note. Not an all day smoke. Two and a half stars.

-JimInks
16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 06, 2018 Medium None Detected Very Full Strong
Just like the genius of Leonardo da Vinci himself, this tobacco concoction is extreme, controversial, unique and brilliantly excellent.

"Three Quarters Of Latakia" sounds like an ultra-extremist statement. One may expect nobody would like such a weird mix but a few freaky Latakia Talibans with their perverted tastes.

But wait and see what's under the lid. Cornell & Diehl added just a touch of their signature good Burley (not the commonest component in Latakia blends, you know)... And voilà, the blend SHINES splendidly!

Incredibly full. Marvelously silky. Surprisingly strong (did you know, Latakia is one of the weakest tobaccos in Nicotine department). And still, C&D managed to create a healthy medium-strong mix using minimal quantities of stronger varieties.

This blend stands beyond any categories. It's not an English blend, it's not a Balkan blend, it's not an American blend. It's a Masterpiece.

I'm probably kind of an extremist guy. I love the blackest of DarkFireds, the strongest of Burleys, the soapiest of Lakelands and the turdiest-looking of Ropes. It would be a shame if I didn't love this extreme mixture as well. And I did.
13 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 15, 2016 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Tolerable to Strong
I've had this tin cellared since 3/11, tin date 2010. I have no idea why I never opened it, maybe because I often reach past it for the Pirate Kake. Anyway, I just had surgery so I'm off work from the firehouse, so I have nothing better to do than open tins and write reviews.

I love the tin aroma of the fermented Va's. Reminds me of the smell of the fruit bowl of the counter after you leave a few apples, pears and maybe a few peaches out to ferment to feed the fruit flies. Three shades of leaf in this tin, obvious enough you could separate each addition. A bit on the dry side, but typical for C&D. This blend allows easy packing, and lights fairly well, although relights are common. This is definitely Latakia dominant, no sweetness whatsoever. Campfire aroma, enough to drive the wife to the other end of the house. I understand this blend is designed by C&D to taste exactly like it does, but a touch of sweetness would've made a world of difference. Great outdoor blend, but I still smoke it inside. Paired well with JW Black in the evening, but was also terrific this morning with a cup of Jamaica Blue Mountain. Smokes down to a chunky grey ash, little to no moisture.
PurchasedFrom: JR Cigars
Age When Smoked: 6 years
11 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 10, 2006 Very Strong None Detected Very Full Overwhelming
As the tin said "Heavy Latakia", that's the reason I bought it and I am glad. For the true Latakia lover only, I have smoked about 40 tins day or night so far and seems like got hooked on it. My other milder blend are Penzance, Night Cap and Odesey, but none give me that full latakia punch like de vinci. Warnning: if you smoked this for two days, other tobacco will not taste anything any more...there is no turning back.
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 05, 2013 Medium to Strong Medium Full Tolerable to Strong
Holy smokes! If you are a latakia lover, this one should be considered. As I am writing this review I am still feeling a little woozy. Such a great blend. Good hit of nicotine that relaxed right from the start of the bowl. Rich in flavor. I did get a bit of a tongue bite but just because I was puffing on it a bot fast. Love love love it! Great latakia full bodied blend. Well done, Cornell & Diehl!!! Will definitely be coming back to this one!
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 25, 2007 Mild to Medium None Detected Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
I am afraid that I must go along with the majority of the reviewers here who found few redeeming qualities about Da Vinci. I found the Latakia to be harsh and overpowering, and the Burley element somehow detracted, rather than added, to the overall smoking experience of this blend. Dare I say the Virginia flavor, smoldering in the background, was also a disapointment? And C&D is known for putting together outstanding blends of this genre.

After reading most of the preceeding reviews, I have also come to the conclusion that there is a great variance in what greets the palate from tin to tin. I won't personally be pursuing that possibility. One tin of Da Vinci was one tin too many for this cowboy.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 05, 2010 Medium to Strong None Detected Very Full Very Strong
Square and chop cut, mostly dark in the tin with the extremely musty aroma of latakia (go figure!). Lights easily and stays lit. Burns somewhat quickly and, as mentioned previously, this will create a nice cake in your pipe.

The taste was pretty much of latakia only, but with a hint of body. Not much of the burley or VA flavor came through but I've smoked straight latakia and it's less pungent - and sweeter! Somehow the basic sweetness of this leaf was masked in Da Vinci but the campfire smokiness came through. Unfortunately for me, this was a monodimensional blend that rattled its sabre constantly but failed to excite. It left a very dusty, dirty taste in its wake, and the room note is what I would use to get rid of unwanted guests. No flavor development of any kind and no complexity - just the brute strength of latakia. But that's what this blend is about so I can recommend it to those who love their latakia to the exclusion of all else... and to those who might enjoy eating a big bowl of mustard!

I think this blend does what C&D intended; it's just not for me. But it may be for you.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
al1
Oct 06, 2009 Extremely Strong None Detected Extra Full Strong
I saw this on the C&D table at the local show last weekend and decided to make it my sample to smoke during the show. Upon my examining the tin the lady helping me warned that it was their "heaviest" latakia blend. I said good, That I liked that sort of thing and packed a bowl up.

I was pleasently surprised it was very smooth and flavorful, Not harsh at all. I was expecting something more like Pirate Kake but this is way better and stronger too. I went back and bought an 8 ounce tin.

I have been smoking it all week and I love this stuff. It is definitley a cooler weather smoke. There is plenty of volume of smoke too.

The Burley plays a nice background part and keeps things interesting. The nicotine will make you sit down after the first few bowls until you build up a little resistance, it packs a punch. I find this stuff makes the best nightcap ever. It just makes you feel so lazy and lethargic. Very relaxing smoke.

I smoke it on the slow side and find it while not overly complex to be dimensional and not boring. The latakia in this stuff is exceptional in flavor and is so smooth.

C&D has a real hit on their hands with this one, At least with the true heavy english smokers out there like me. I planned on buying a bit of this for the cellar. It really is good, I reccomend it to anyone ready for the big one.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 23, 2012 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Strong
Like a previous reviewer said...it's a "lat bomb"! (well said btw...) I love it and have devoted my new Nording to this tobacco alone. That being said, it is not for everyone and it could easily clear a room....it is a heavy smoke. It is a slooooow smoke, great for quiet evenings on the porch with a whisky or nice port. Made the mistake of loading up my little pug with this and that was a major oops....one does not smoke this whilst driving as it requires quite a bit of fiddling with, relighting etc. All in all though a brilliant blend and one I will truly savor. I appreciate the detailed reviews on this blend (like on so many others here) as it led me to give this one a bit of a burl.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"