Hearth & Home Armada

(3.20)
The name implies stately strength, and this blend delivers. A unique combination of Virginias, including a rich flake, Turkish and Orientals, lots of Latakia and spiced up, but cooled down by a judicious splash of St. James Perique, this tobacco has an almost incense-like aroma, with a surprisingly fresh, clean aftertaste.

Where to Buy

SmokingPipes.com

Details

Brand Hearth & Home
Series Signature Series
Blended By Russ Ouellette
Manufactured By Pipes & Cigars
Blend Type English
Contents Latakia, Oriental/Turkish, Perique, Virginia
Flavoring
Cut Mixture
Packaging 1.5oz Tin, Bulk
Country United States
Production No longer in production

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
None Detected
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium to Full
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.20 / 4
7

10

3

0

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 09, 2014 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
Hearth and Home’s Armada is a full flavored blend that arrives ready for the pipe with no need of dry time. Armada is a Latakia heavy blend, but there is enough Oriental that pops to the forefront often enough to keep things interesting, especially in the first half of the bowl. Armada is also a bit spicy, but not overpowering. The Perique is well done and adds support without overtaking the blend in a way that can happen when Perique is used in English blends. There is a decent amount of complexity in this blend too. The only thing that keeps this from being a four star blend for me is in the latter stages of each bowl, the Latakia takes over a little too much for my personal taste. Armada is a big, bold blend that will satisfy those that enjoy English blends.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 09, 2014 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild to Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
I like this a lot. Its like a budget version of Skiff Mixture.

I don't get the Lat as much as others seem to. It seems to play a support role, with nice and pleasant presence of some gentle Lat, followed by some rich and earthy VA's and Orientals.

The result is an unusual mixture that works very well in the same vein as Skiff Mixture does. If you're the type of English smoker who judges on the Latakia percentage, you best move on and not bother, if you like them more rounded and to taste the other component, I encourage you to take a spin on this wheel and see if you like the cocktail.

Midday, nice afternoon, sitting on a park bench with a book, this is nice to have puffing away.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 19, 2005 Medium None Detected Full Tolerable
What do I think of Armada? Complex. There's a bit of almost everything you could want in here. Spicy taste from the Perique, sweet from the Virgianias, and smoky, rich tones from the Latakia & Orientals. The aftertaste is oddly clear, like after a mouthful of warm mineral water. This is a good one for times when you don't know what you're in the mood for, just so long as it isn't a one-note tobacco. It might be almost too busy for some moods. If this were music, it'd be a Bach fugue. Sometimes I'll go for a simpler smoke, something more like Paul Horn or Steve Reich. Sometimes a big band burley or an old-time rock-n-roll cavendish. This is one for when I want Bach.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 16, 2016 Mild to Medium None Detected Mild Pleasant
I enjoy this tobacco tremendously, the rich smoky smell of the tobacco is amazingly satisfying to me. To me there's a symphony of flavors going on here. From the rich smokiness to the incense like aroma. This tobacco is peppery and earthy with tones of dark fruits yet notes of sweet brightness that pop through. All in all a well balanced smoke that never disappoints.
Pipe Used: Missouri. Meerschaum Mark Twain
PurchasedFrom: Pipes &cigars
Age When Smoked: 1 month
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 20, 2015 Medium to Strong None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
I'm new to pipes, and perhaps this wasn't a good first English blend. I'm not quite able to identify all the blends, but this definitely has a complex taste. Bold flavor on puffs, a little spicy- the most cigar-like of any pipe tobacco I've tried. It does have an interesting aftertaste- definitely like mineral water.

Very dry in bag, a few sticks and lots of small particles (Perique, I suppose). Maybe not an everyday smoke but worth a try.
Pipe Used: GBD bent billiard
PurchasedFrom: Pipesandcigars
Age When Smoked: New
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 12, 2012 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Pleasant to Tolerable
The tin description is apt--a strong flavor and clean aftertaste. It's strength is in the flavor but the smoke is not harsh or strong in nicotine. I am reminded of a good gin--the scent of pine needles and herbs--but not lingering like a whisky. It burns well and the flavor is consistent from top to bottom of the bowl. It sustains strong draws without getting hot. I will be purchasing more of this and I highly recommend it, especially to lovers of latakia and orientals.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 25, 2011 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Medium to Full Tolerable to Strong
This is a clean smoking full Balkan. I detect a certain bit of additional flavor presumably from a topping of some sort, but it's minor and artfully applied. Dry, with lots of orientals at the start and a bit of latakia, but develops throughout into something very full flavored with depth. I do prefer other English blends, notably many of the GL Pease offerings, but this is a good one and well worth trying.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 25, 2006 Medium to Strong None Detected Full Tolerable
As the last reviewer commented on, the synergy of the latakia and perique is quite unique.

This is a blast in-your-face complexity that marches to the rumbles of a different drum.

It brings out aspects of perique that oft go unnoticed and it makes for a good, once-in-awhile smoke for me.

Images evoked include membranal walls of gnashing teeth in front of a skeleton band with three fiddlers competing for a dark lord's favor.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 01, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Among the Ouellette's blends I have smoked this is the one I love the least, I think it's because of the Perique. The taste of this mixture is a little confused, the latakia is overlied by the perique. The result is surely a good tobacco, but it lacks personality.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2005 Medium None Detected Medium to Full Tolerable
Armada is blend with a variety of varitiels that despite this variety, is well balanced. The VA stays in the background affording no tartness nor sweetness. The latakia is used as a condement should be, contributing to the aroma and taste in a positive fashion but never dominant or overbearing. The use of the perique is what ties everything together without being applied to heavy as many times happens with blends using this ST. James weed. Over all a complex and pleasent taste with no one varitiel dominating the others. Packs, lights, burns clean and smokes smooth. A tasty treat for seasoned palates.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.