Peterson De Luxe Mixture

(2.90)
This black cavendish aromatic is a selection of matured Virginia tobaccos from Brazil and Africa blended with a loose cut mellow black cavendish. A tasteful flavour consisting of vanilla, walnut and honey has been added.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Honey, Vanilla, Walnut
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.90 / 4
24

30

14

9

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2011 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
A long-time aromatic smoker, this one is not overpowering in any sense. You can taste the VA and Cavendish and a hint of the walnut actually makes itself gently felt throughout the bowl. The honey is definitely there, but the vanilla is very light indeed. A very mild smoke, it lights well and burns to a clean ash.

Wife rates it as very pleasant and smells like someone has been baking something - but not a sweet, overpowering room note.

Not my favorite Peterson, but a very pleasant smoke. I will keep this on in my rotation.
23 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 28, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
Peterson - De Luxe mixture.

De Luxe is a very fitting name for it as it tastes sublime!

It is not at all overly omnipotent in the aromatic department, but for my palate just right. The honey is the most pre-eminent additive but you still get a nice hint of the others. It has a very auspicious sweetness to it which does not overpower the wonderful Cavendish and Virginia flavours. I don't get any tongue bite from it and if inhaled I find the nicotine to be at a good amount. The closest match I can think of is Sam Gawith Black Forest. I will be sure to keep some of this close to hand!

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Mr Brog
PurchasedFrom: Smoke King
Age When Smoked: New
17 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 06, 2012 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Generally I like light aromatic tobaccos (which would be called 'classic Danish'). De Luxe is one of those 'classic Danish' Peterson aromatics, which has a brilliant chocolate-roasted hazelnut-wafer tin aroma, with loads of Black Cavendish - no "broken flakes" as the blurb says, but a well-conditioned ribbon mix. The smoke is comparably unspectacular, a bit more flavoured than Larsen's No. 32, similar to Sweet Killarney, but less cased than Sunset Breeze or Connoisseurs Choice. Very low nicotine level, at least for me as ex-cigarette smoker. No tongue-bite, but some condensation. This seems to be an optimal morning-coffee smoke, as it is very decent, quite sweet, and leaves a pleasant room note. It burns down perfectly, keeps the walnut-honey taste throughout the whole bowl. Not much punch here, this is a soft, round, creamy, warm and sweet-fragrant smoking experience which I recommend to smokers who don't want to pay much attention to the smoking process, but enjoy a bowl with a cup of coffee and a newspaper. The underlying tobaccos are first class, this is a balanced, unobtrusive composition. I give it 4 out of 5 points!
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 31, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Medium to Full Very Pleasant
A very nice aromatic blend.when you open it you get alcohol citruses and a sweet nutty aroma.comes out at proper moisture pαcks easy and lights easy too.the flavours are between alcohol,citruses and honey with vanilla and nuts in the backround.burns medium and slow.the room note is magnificent....smells like a someone is baking a vanilla cake with alcohol.the taste is very natural and pleasant.the moisture while burning is proper no chance of biting.leaves total ash and a bit moisture at the end of the bowl.the nιcotine level is ok for an all day smoke.a medium to full aroma blend,in a few words a must try!!
Age When Smoked: When opened!
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 27, 2015 Mild Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
For starters, the Tin note is exquisite... The melding of (genuine, not cheap or artificial) vanilla and honey steal the show, and that ever so light walnut character combined with the first 2 ingredients, makes this smell like a candy. A candy that I want to wash my face with, or stuff into my pillow so I can smell it while I am sleeping.

While this is definitely NOT your hard-core piper's blend or a major league gamer, it is more akin to just having its own modest place, in the world of aromatic Cavendish dessert-like blends --which the maker seems to have nailed with so many of its reliable blend varieties.

The Virginia's ribbon cut is classic Peterson. Clean and near perfect quality cut, while the Black Cavendish bits look delicious. Have to hand it to the Scandinavian Tobacco Group for blending this one so nicely. The balance of Black Cavendish to Virginia is spot-on, for this tasty little number.

Moisture upon opening the tin, is right where it should be in my opinion (although some people i know found their tins were a tad dry). once transferred to a hermetically sealed jar, I was good to go.

She packs nicely, but takes a bit of effort to get evenly lit in the bowl. I had to relight a time or two after tamping too. As with many of these Peterson Aromatic blends, she can burn a bit hot, and can bite if you start hauling like a chiminea- so use your piping skills to curtail the aforementioned.

Once I settled down, it mellows out, that lovely honey flavor starts to shine through. The vanilla--ever so faint, and walnut not there as a distinct flavor, but I think its enhancing the honey. I would not recommend taking this one all the way down to the end of the bowl, as it can start to raunch-out around 3/4 the way through. Room note is mellow, and vanilla cuts through. Low nicotine methinks, and it leaves a kind of a nice light vanilla taste on the tongue for a while.

Overall Impression: What a nice, mellow and tasty smoke. Liked it so much, that I bought a second tin... This is an anytime of the day smoker, and a nice change-up tobacco to alternate from, if you're into stronger more straightforward smokes. (I treat it as somewhat of a nice, light palate-cleanser...)

This one will be in my regular rotation for a while.
Pipe Used: Brigham System
Age When Smoked: New
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 17, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
Peterson De Luxe Mixture belongs to a rare type of aromatic, that will allow you to enjoy tobacco taste and a fair amount of strength in coexistence with the added aromas. It is creamy, nutty and slightly sweet, but not annoyingly so. The mixture may develop some edge with the char light, which is going to smooth out after a couple of calm draws.

I liked it infinitely better after I aired it out a little and but it away for a couple of weeks. Pairs nicely with a hot cup of coffee in the afternoon.
Pipe Used: Various with and without filter
Age When Smoked: fresh to 2 yrs
7 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2018 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Well if I had to pick an aromatic, this (or maybe sunset breeze) would be it. The roomnote makes girls sit on your lap, not in a sexual way, but to tell you what they want for christmas. It is balanced and very nice for the occasional smoker, or for an all day blend. It's my go to aromatic, but I don't smoke aromatics that often.
Pipe Used: French mostly
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 11, 2016 Very Mild Very Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
As a novice, I found this a thoroughly enjoyable smoke. It has a sweet, subtle tin note, and pretty much smokes like that for the whole bowl. I had no tongue bite and no lingering aftertastes.

You won't be disappointed, unless you are one of the steely-eyed 'elite smokers' who chew burley and smoke it at the same time.
Pipe Used: Peterson Kinsale
PurchasedFrom: Tobacconist
Age When Smoked: New
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 13, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
This was one of my first ventures into the Peterson line. A nice little aromatic that can be enjoyed right out of the tin without waiting for it to dry. Of course YMMV. Leaves a nice room note during and after smoking this nice blend. Recommended.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 13, 2017 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Deluxe Mixture is a great-smelling and great-tasting aromatic from Peterson that took me 3 weeks to figure out. In fact, based on the pay-off, I’m still messing with it, hoping to get still more and pay still less, as it were. In the tin, Deluxe Mixture is cut to short, moist ribbons that run gold to brown and black, and they are tightly packed. It looks like the Cav and the VAs are about 50/50, and the VA looks like 50/50 portions of flue and air cured leaf. Tin note is a little much initially, featuring dark chocolate, cherry cordial, almond extract, vanilla, walnuts, coconut, and citrus over medium, grassy VAs and dark, sweet/sour Cavendish that I suppose is Burley based. I liked this stuff right away, at least off the match. It’s not “fruity” like the other Peterson aros I smoke, rather it’s “warm” and “nutty”, including the grassy and slightly earthy, savory tobacco. I had trouble keeping it burning straight from the tin, also the burnt walnuts were too much for me too soon, so I let it rest, and I dried it out, more and more, until I got what I think is the best balance of combustion and tastes. For me, this means 3 weeks rest and crispy, also a gravity load in a large, “open” pipe. Given all this, I like to smoke Deluxe Mixture outdoors, under some trees, when the air is still! It lights OK, then I take it very easy, with regular, long, slow draws, poking and tamping very gently, avoiding re-lights. It burns down through most of a bowl with this attention but, for now, I’ve given up on smoking all of it, since my present “technique” still doesn’t get me through an entire bowl without encountering some latent residue from the toppings. For most of a bowl I find Deluxe Mixture simply delightful. It’s somehow honey sweet, ephemeral and bready at the same time, like the lightest imaginable sticky bun, with great interplay between delicious tobaccos and the toppings, especially the walnuts. The VAs are sweet, meadow grassy, and slightly earthy/tangy, and the CAV is sweet and very slightly sour. It’s also nutty, with just a hint of bitter, buttery tannin. There is plenty of smoke, according to the burn rate. Smoking DM, I find both the aromas and the tastes to be more delicate and fragrant, and generally better all-around than the tin note, and the lot is certainly better than the sum of its tinned parts. I suppose this means it’s synergistic. Strength is mild. Tastes include myriad, delicate nuances, yet the whole is medium. Room note is very pleasant. Aftertaste starts with burnt walnuts, slightly bitter and metallic, then it smooths out to the best of the smoke, with a long, sweet, buttery VA finish.

My guess is, most smokers will not be as fussy as I am about the burnt walnuts, so YMMV on this score, also ease of smoking will likely vary, smoker to smoker. I still recommend rest and drying as one option for overcoming “problems”, and I conclude with a qualified, 4 star rating for Peterson’s Deluxe Mixture. I should add, I can see where some would smoke this every day until it was gone.
Pipe Used: various briars; larger preferred
PurchasedFrom: 4 Noggins
Age When Smoked: fresh rested 3 weeks
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"