Gawith, Hoggarth & Co. Louisiana Perique Flake

(3.11)
Gawith Hoggarths only VaPer (Virginia & perique) flake and has the added twist of a chocolaty topping. The perique is used sparingly to give a light figgy taste, but none of the punchy twang found at higher levels. The light chocolate topping brings out a nutty sweetness from the Virginias and combines for a mellow and flavoursome smoke. Medium bodied and a great introduction to perique tobaccos.

Details

Brand Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blended By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Manufactured By Gawith, Hoggarth & Co.
Blend Type Virginia/Perique
Contents Perique, Virginia
Flavoring Cocoa / Chocolate
Cut Flake
Packaging 50 grams tin, bulk
Country United Kingdom
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant to Tolerable
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

3.11 / 4
38

37

8

10

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 10 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 22, 2014 Medium to Strong Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Not much of a VaPer here. More like a FloPer (Flowers and Perique) or maybe a PerPer (Perfume and Perique). The Lakeland scent just smothers the Virginias. It's enough to make you gag. Never again. Hey...the room note's great though.
Pipe Used: MM Freehand, MM General
PurchasedFrom: smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: fresh bulk
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 04, 2012 Medium Extra Strong Overwhelming Tolerable to Strong
I hate to go against all the positive reviews here but my experience has been quite different. The flavoring is way over the top. I have smoked Lakelands before and really enjoy them. This stuff however, does not taste of Perique or Tonquin to me. I can only describe it tasting like Johnson and Johnson Baby Power smells. Picture that in your pipe and you have it. This is one of the worst tasting blends I have came across.
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 23, 2013 Medium Strong Medium to Full Tolerable
This could be amazing tobacco but its been ruined with perfume!!! what ever the baby powder stink is its disgusting and i keep getting blends with it, every blend from this company has it!!!! i hate it. Perfume this awful has no place in a tobacco called Louisiana flake period.

Update: after rubbing and drying some of this out to basically dust then smoking it, the baby powder smell seems to be gone, there is a slight faint bit left but its almost not noticeable, now this is smokeable and quite enjoyable, now i get a nice perique flavor and no bite.... i wont change my rating tho because I shouldn't have to go to this extent to clean the perfume out of my tobacco that i don't think should be there in the first place, its called Louisiana perique flake not grandmas perfume nighty tobacco.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 17, 2008 Medium Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
This is not a va/per, it's an aromatic, and a nasty one at that. Smoke it in a corncob, boys, because you will NEVER get the smell out of your pipe.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 21, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Mild Tolerable
Mine arrived quite moist, in a very dark velvety flake. Delicious cocoa drinking chocolate scent. Required an hour of drying before full rubbing out and packing. Upon packing, I was surprised at a green leaf or two skulking at the back. Extra drying revealed a Lakeland floral.

No problems with the light, and no real problems staying lit. No bite. The only problems henceforth were its lack of character. I know this review is at odds the the body of reviews before it, but if this is supposed to be an approximation of an American blend, then someone tell me why Lakeland floral is in evidence? Couple that with the fact that the chocolate notes in the tin were so muted when combusted, as to be outdone by the florals that I wonder why they were there to begin with.

I was recommended this as a replacement for Edgeworth RR, I couldn't make that comparison personally. I also got no nuttyness, more dry talcum powder. Not one that agrees with my preferred flavour profile.

EDIT: I tried this again with 5 months of age on my flakes, as though I didn't enjoy my first outing with this leaf, I thought I could have been judging it a little harshly. I wasn't; folded and stuffed this time, though the florals weren't evident, the talcum powder was all over the place - dry and dusty mouth feel, terrible taste.
Pipe Used: Astley's rusticated billiard
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 27, 2004 Medium Medium Medium Pleasant to Tolerable
These are nicely prepared, predominantly dark flakes, that pack, light and smoke evenly. However, to my taste, the advertised 'nutty/chocolate flavor' is absent and replaced by the 'Lakeland soap' too common to G&H blends. Although less evident than in some of their other blends, it's still enough to spoil the enjoyment for me. Unless you enjoy these floral trips, skip this one.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 30, 2015 Medium to Strong Very Strong Medium Tolerable to Strong
For me this is a ..... scam,I was looking for a honest VaPer and I found a horrible tutifruti broken flake.People that like aromatics probably would fly away only by reading "louisiana",and by our side,non aromaticians,we fall in the trap.If GH call this something like "Tropical Surprise",all would be right.Sorry if you perceive a certain note of hate in this review but I really hate this blend.
Pipe Used: charatan trafalgar
PurchasedFrom: local tobacconist
Age When Smoked: new
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 30, 2014 Medium Strong Full Tolerable
Bought loose. Supplied as lovely large flakes that are almost the perfect dryness straight from the pack, they rub out easily and require just a few minutes drying. The tin note is overwhelmingly one of milk chocolate, it's not subtle, maybe just a hint of stewed fruit in the background.

I found the generic lakeland topping incredibly over powering for myself. I honestly couldn't taste any tobacco flavour at all, just topping. I often see lakeland described as soapy, this one isn't.
Pipe Used: MM Washington
PurchasedFrom: mysmokingshop
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 22, 2019 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant to Tolerable
Yes, I agree with previous comments: it is a VaPer for those who think they don’t like VaPers. So, logically, it is not a real VaPer! For more than one reason: perique is hardly noticeable, flavours -imho- don’t fit in with a VaPer (which is already full of natural lemons, figs, peppers..), the classical and well known interplay “ketchupy” va-per does not show, vecause of flavours. Last, but not least, the usual Kendal soap appears. (If so many Kendals are so,d, it means that the soap has its fans. But I am still sorry everytime I smell it, because some of the unscented (u/s) Kendals are oh so great! why do they keep on wasting them with flowers and soap?)?

Said that, the smell is nice, though very little perique reaches the nose. Flakes are well moisted, dark and stiff, with nice sugar crystals blinking here and there. Easy flake to rub and pack, smokes quite humid, so pack it loose. Finally, a vaper flake which doesnt look like a vaper flake, so try it if you don’t like vaper flake! (Huh? What have I just written?)
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 16, 2016 Medium Medium to Strong Medium Tolerable
Sorry to those who love this tobacco. I am currently going through a VaPer journey and thought this was worth a go. Once lit you get the usual topping like ennerdale flake but not as strong. Next there was a very strong sour taste and that was all I got. No sign of any Virginia or hints of chocolate just topping and bitterness. Plus a nasty aftertaste that almost made me sick. I will stick with SG St James flake or Halo the wynd which IMO are far superior.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"