Solani 113: Sweet Mystery

(2.57)
This is a blend of coarse cut sweet red Virginia, bright broad cut Virginia, broken Virginia flake and sweet black cavendish. Two toppings are used, black currants treated with Bacardi and coco cream, resulting in a wonderful tin and room aroma.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is renamed and sold in those countries as "Mystery".

Details

Brand Solani
Blended By R.L. Will
Manufactured By Kohlhase & Kopp
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Blackcurrant, Cocoa / Chocolate, Rum
Cut Coarse Cut
Packaging 50 grams tin, 100 grams tin
Country Germany
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium to Strong
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.57 / 4
7

14

6

8

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 20 of 35 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 16, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
The tangy dark fruit, earth and wood notes from the red Virginia are often noticeable in a minor way. The other Virginias barely show themselves; hints of citrus and grass. The black cavendish is sugary smooth and always makes itself known to various degrees during the smoke. The very sweet toppings mostly sublimate the tobaccos. The sweet black currant is lightly tart with a deep berry flavor, and is the star flavor. The coco cream offers some creamy coconut and a minuscule cocoa hit. The rum is a minor player, not always very obvious, but you feel its presence. The strength is a couple of steps past the center of mild to medium. That taste is medium. The nic-hit is in the center of mild to medium. Burns cool and clean at a little less than a moderate rate with a very consistently richly sweet flavor from top to bottom. Leaves very little moisture in the bowl. Requires some relights as the tobacco is a tad moist. I recommend sipping it for best effect, and also because puffing fast will make it a little hot on your tongue, though I experienced no tongue bite. Has a very pleasing, lingering after taste, although there is a distracting feel of syrupiness at times, mostly around the half way point to the finish. It doesn’t spoil the smoke, though it is just a little annoying. Has a pleasing room note. It is just shy of being an all day smoke because of the sweetness level.

-JimInks
15 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 22, 2004 Very Mild Medium Very Mild Very Pleasant
I received a free sample of this Solani blend with a recent tobacco order. It smelled wonderful and sweet through the pouch.The golden and black leaf was coarse cut and moist. Upon lighting up, the smoking experience was also, well, to my surprise, wonderful! The blend smoked cool and actually very dry for an aromatic. My wife absolutely loved the room note and the lingering smell on my mustache - Now that I reflect, perhaps I need to buy more of this stuff! (-;
10 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 11, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Very Pleasant
Solani Sweet Mystery X is a quality full aromatic, providing a mix of fruit (not distinguishable to me), alcoholic notes, hints of coconut and the taste of Virginia of course. Down half way I additionally get the impression of cinnamon. The wide cut works fine in larger, wider bowls. Easy handling and no bite at proper cadence. I find it satisfying enough for the morning hours, as a lighter dessert and also enjoyable using a charcoal filter. The room note is described as very pleasant to me, however, I don’t smoke to please others… .

A good and recommendable (not outstanding) aromatic in the line of many others. Very similar to the Winslow line (maybe also Reiner Professional or Peterson Connoisseur’s Choice in strength and fruitiness).
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 12, 2014 Mild Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
While I don't doubt that this blend is an excellent experience for some people, it wasn't at all for me, and I therefor can't give it any stars of recommendation. The interaction between the tobacco and the flavoring kind of reminded me of Lipton's raspberry iced tea. And while there are lots of people who love Lipton's raspberry iced tea, it is one of the few things that I absolutely will not consume-- it will literally make me throw up, eventually. So, if we share similar tastes in tea, we may share similar tastes in tobacco, and you too may not be able to finish an entire bowl of this. Hopefully this is the only blend that I will ever not be able to finish an entire bowl of due to flavor alone.
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 23, 2011 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
A Virginia blend consisting of red sweet Virginia, gold Virginia and double-mashed sweet black Cavendish. Its aromas are beautiful and distinct: a pinch of black currant combines beautifully with Bacardi and CocoCream giving a sweet treat. As for the room scent??? A-MA-ZI-NG. This specific mixture has several different types of cuts. One morning I woke up fancying a smoke right away. It bit me a lot, which lead me to the conclusion that you have to be careful with it if you don't want it to hurt you. It lights up rather difficultly
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 03, 2011 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
If our beloved government know how good this stuff is they would either ban it outright or tax it ten fold.

I didn't taste the rum or coco cream but the currant flavors came through very nicely. The flavoring was perfectly applied by the blenders - it didn't overwhelm the tobacco taste and it didn't fade away in the course of smoking the bowl. It was sweet without being cloying. Great stuff!!!!
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 16, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Medium Pleasant
This evening I found my self in a nice cafe with view of Akropolis and 2 other co smokers enjoying the view and smoking some aromatic blends as we are entering Christmas mood.one co smoker brought this blend and shared a few bowls with me.once i stuck my nose in the tin i thought am i in a bar??a nice and tense smell of rum and coconut came out.a deeper smelling revealed me some cocoa nuts too.the blend moisture was a bit more than medium but no drying time was needed.packs and lights ok.some relights are needed.while smoking the rum topping was dominant from the beggining till the end with some creamy notes escorting it.the tobacco flavours are very sublimated by the topping and come out less than i desired.the virginias give mostly some dark fruits and sour notes.rarelly i got some citrusy notes.the cavendish appear more being mostly sweet and a bit nutty.the flavours don't feel always natural and in my opinion they don't combine well.burns fast ,medium hot to hot with a lot moisture being created.the nιcotine level is low to medium but i cannot consider it as an all day smoke due to the tense topping and the bad aftertaste.the room note is pleasant and no tongue bite appeared.the worst thing about this blend is that one bowl is enough to ghost the pipe.in conclusion i could smoke one or two bowls per week on evening hours with a cup of jot coffee.
Age When Smoked: Straight from the tin
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 31, 2011 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
A quality, cool smoking aromatic with a very nice flavor and room note.

I probably won't buy this again, as there are many aromatics that I prefer to Sweet Mystery, but depending on your flavoring preference, you might really enjoy this one.

A must try for aromatic lovers.
3 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Pip
Sep 22, 2020 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This one contains quite a bit of bright leaf and the tin note is a very fruity and boozy. The tobacco is quite moist so needs a little bit of drying time. The smoke is very flavorful, and the toppings do translate into the smoke in a very nice and pleasant way, but it can bite if you smoke it like a freight train. The room note is sweet and very heavy. I only smoke outside and when I went inside for 15 minutes and came back outdoors I could still smell it lingering in the air. As far as fruit flavored aromatics go this one's pretty good.
Age When Smoked: Fresh
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 23, 2017 Medium Medium to Strong Medium to Full Pleasant
Recently I got hold of 2 tins of Solani sweet mystery dated 8/11 still packed and unopened. Since I use temper with the flake cuter I inserted the round edge of cuter into the coin insert of one of the tin and it woosh opened means vacuum pack was intact and contents still fresh. The top white round cover was stained brown due to long term compressed with the tobacco. I brought the tin to my nose and boy I can smell sweet cocoa coconut creamy and liquorish smell but it was very very pleasant. I immediately filled my nose warmer pipe with the sweet mystery and did the charing light... Oh man that burst of flavors specially the cocoa and coconut captured the whole room it lit very easy and on the second light I was puffing like a train and cocoa turn to more into coconut and cream and after few minutes I feel like chewing my pipe stem for that creamy coconut taste which is my favorite. I really enjoyed smoking this blend more over I left that pipe for two days after smoking this and I can still smell the sweetness. Overall a very good experience and I definitely recommends this for aromatic smokers out there.
Age When Smoked: 6 years of age
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2013 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Reminiscent of Peterson Sunset Breeze, Larsen Signature and Stanwell Melange. Fruity (black currant, which is somewhat plum-like, and I taste apricot too), with some coconut. The mystery note is rose, very lightly done. The tobacco taste does shine through but only on large puffs. The room note is of baked confectionary -- this is the kind of aroma non-smokers find delicious. I would have given another star if less bitey.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2011 Mild Strong Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant to Tolerable
I've got to agree with the previous reviewer on this one. Hot and nasty sums up my thoughts on Sweet Misery. In fact, I think this crap just might earn a place on my 25 worst pipe mixtures of all time.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 21, 2011 Mild Very Strong Very Mild Pleasant
* Update 12/28/2011 (Changed all the review to express better my opinion. The stars remain the same)



Worthless tobacco in my opinion. "Why that?" some of you might ask. Well, for the following reasons

1) Nice, but pungent tin aroma

2) TOO MUCH CHEMICAL FLAVORING. To get an idea, the surrounding paper of my tin was yellow. I haven't seen that in other blends.

3) EXTREME tongue bite in my first bowl.

4) No taste at all in my opinion. And I have smoked this 3-4 times.

Really, I cannot see why tobaccos should be chemically flavored so much. Artificial sweeteners and aromas alter the taste of the tobacco. With the heat they decompose, polymerize, oxidize and god knows what else... So don't expect this tobacco to taste like Blackcurrants and Bacardi.

If you want something sweet, go buy a cheesecake. It will taste much better.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 26, 2010 Mild Medium to Strong Mild Very Pleasant
The best tin aroma I had the pleasure to smell.

Beautiful tobacco composition, obvious high quality.

Too mild for a salty dog as myself. But perfect for the beginner looking for a high quality starter!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 05, 2010 Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I'm not a big fan of most aromatics, but this is definitely an exception. It's a great easy clean light cool smoke. Especially the blackcurrants come through gently but nicely, peaking about half way through the bowl, with a mild background of earthy tobacco taste.

I enjoy this most out of a corncob with a pretty small bowl. I'm hesitant to put it into any of my favourite pipes (or devote a good pipe to the rare times I smoke this), but I feel like the cob lets the low-key flavours in this one come through decently. Just when it starts to get a bit cloying, the bowl is done.

As I keep stressing, this is not a heavy hitter in any way -- mild flavour, light nicotine, easy going. The room note is quite appealing to my lady, she much prefers this to my usual english blends!
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 07, 2004 Very Mild Mild to Medium Extremely Mild (Flat) Pleasant
Sweet Mystery is built of beautiful wild-cut Virginias and Cavendish. It is a remarkably cool smoke and it finishes with a nice white ash. It burns well. It has a wonderful aroma. In fact, Sweet Mystery is so obviously a quality offering that one may, for a few moments, somehow miss that for this tobacco, as with Gertrude Stein's Oakland, there is no there there. At the top of the bowl, this tastes mostly like nothing. In the middle, it tastes like nothing plus maybe the hint of a taste that is not quite identifiable. At the bottom of the bowl, it is nothing, still nothing, but there is a taste, perhaps, that comes and goes, and it may be sort of fruity. If you smoke this in a briar, over a few dozen smokes, maybe a tin, you might be able cobble up the impression that you're smoking tobacco. Then again, you might not. For fans of Erik Satie only.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 10, 2020 Very Mild Medium Mild Very Pleasant
Very nice-smelling and sweet-tasting aromatic. It gives me tongue bite, and using a 9mm filter makes me enjoy it a lot better. Why even bother to smoke it, you ask? Well, with the filter, it smokes cool and dry and smooth. And there are days when I just crave an aromatic over my rich Latakia's and strong Va-Burs. So, my advice is, to smoke this in a filter pipe.
Pipe Used: Big Ben with 9 mm filter
PurchasedFrom: SmokingPipes.com
Age When Smoked: 3 years
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 30, 2014 Very Mild Very Mild Extremely Mild (Flat) Unnoticeable
Upon opening this tin I had high hopes for this blend. Good cut and color, intriguing tin note, a well regarded brand, I loved their aged burley flake blend 656. I believe I am a well rounded pipe smoker, 50/50 aros and non-aros, and I'll try just about anything once.

IMHO this stuff was crap. Tasteless, impossible to keep lit even when fairly dry, room note was almost nonexistent (sez the better half who likes the smell of Dunhill 965, Momoyama II, as well as Hobbits Weed and Red Sky), so I trust her implicitly in this.

The only redeeming factor was the lack of tongue bite, but if that is the only good thing you can say about a blend you might as well dump it in the trash, which I did, only keeping the tin because I always have uses for empty tins. Don't waste your hard earned money on this loser. If you want a complex smooth fruity aro get some Hobbits Weed and don't look back.
Pipe Used: Jorgen Nielsen bent billiard
PurchasedFrom: Smokingpipes.com
Age When Smoked: 6 months
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 14, 2014 Mild Mild Mild Pleasant
Sometimes I have the impression that I give a lot of dedication to the tobacco I don´t "understand", or the one which I don´t like, more than the one I like the most (which is given for granted will always please me), always doing this with the aim to find the breaking point where I can understand or like it. This happened with Sweet Mystery with no chance for reconciliation.

I opened the can, the smell was fantastic, sweet and at least intriguing, i wouldn´t dare to say mysterious, fruity, rum like, peachy, but after that the factual test of smoking that dissaproved the initial impression.

Rum and vanilla notes are noticeable with variable accents of undetermined fruit flavour, peach? currant? and even though the initial quarter of the bowl remains palatable and indulging, then the ordeal of the "ashy" and "goopy" kingdom starts to proliferate and you have to fight with it via slowing down the intake or driving the smoke into a different portion of the mouth. But nevermind, it will always return, granting this sensation of ash taste as contour of the flavours. It´s not pleasant at all.

The liquor notes tend to accent from the middle on and remain prevalent. It has a great room aroma though, the kind that people will admire, but hey, even if we can please others that is not enough if what we are smoking is not really pleasing us. That being said, after several months rotating this can, giving a try in different places, at different times of the day with different weather in different pipes i came to the conclusion that I wouldn´t buy another. Something to notice, even if this tobacco burns easily it tends to be goopy and oily after smoked, leaving your pipe filled with greasy tar and nauseus smell, not the kind that after smoked leaves your pipe perfumed with fragrance that is pleasant to smell.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 29, 2013 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Pleasant
just tried the blue label - same issue for me - nicotine - quite the sweats - how much nicotine in this company's blends ??

nice flavor & aroma though - mild & sweet

remains lit - tip out ash each third for nicer flavor.
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"