Peterson Sunset Breeze

(2.74)
This excellent mixture is a blend of first choice Virginia, burley and black cavendish. A promise for a unique smoking experiences which is crowned by a wonderful amaretto aroma.

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Burley, Virginia
Flavoring Amaretto
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Very Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Mild to Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.74 / 4
52

68

51

26

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 11 of 197 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 06, 2018 Mild to Medium Extremely Mild Very Mild Very Pleasant
This was my first tobacco, ever, purchased along with a tin of old dublin, and a tin of blue note.

The recipe has changed over the years. The older recipe was a fairly moist virginia, burley, and black cavendish mixture which was heavily scented with amaretto. It was as heavily cased as blue note, and tantalized one's taste buds as well as every nose, even from an opened tin. I bought it regularly, and really enjoyed it.

Some years ago it was changed, in that it now had less black cavendish, half the moisture, and about a tenth, if that, of the Amaretto.

The old blend was 4 stars, the new blend 1 star. No middle of the road, as it went from a grand mixture, to a mediocre mixture.

It is only worth buying now, if you want to stimulate your imagination, into what it must have been like, back when it was saturated with flavor.
Pipe Used: Many
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 01, 2014 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
For me it is very surprising to understand how variable and subjective is the appreciation different kind of people may have over any kind of experience. But how crucial is to notice these differences and distinctions into something so apparently simple as to smoke tobacco in a pipe.

It is for granted that people who prefer english blends wouldn´t like something like Summer Breeze, as this is an aromatic with caps included. Not because it is overhelming in substance or generally reticent to develop tobacco aroma, but just because in general it will deliver the experience of what it does orginally suggest, that is Virginias and burley, topped with amaretto. If the person wants to appreciate the tobacco in itself then should go with english blends and indulge himself, if on the contrary he prefers to divert into the sugary background and escence from Amaretto with overtones of virginia, burley and black cavendish then i think this is the best choice hands down.

And it does because it has all the characteristics that will fascinate the palate with something mellow and flavorful. The burley stings politely, the cavendish soothes the delivery and the virginias enrich the sugary vapours of amaretto with intense sweetness.

I would say it is not a demanding smoke, that is for granted, it is not "subtle", nor does incredible journeys of much versatility in terms of flavour intricacy. But it does have it´s own subtlety as an aromatic, that is to delect in the tin aroma, the room note and the appreciation of the flavour that gradually interchange role plays with the soothing effect from the cavendish, the intensity spice of the burley or the increased caramelization given by the virginias. As it consumes it is apparently stronger and more tobacco like (if you prefer) at the beginning is a child party of sweetness, it ends adult like, bodily sweet with bits of stinginess.

Now, technically as most sugar based aromatics it demands slow smoke, otherways it tends to become nasty, the sugars pass from caramel to carbon, the aroma is hellish and the soothing part becomes grey ash and your pipe will be rekindled as an oven. So be careful, be slow, be patient, be kind. Amaretto is not a drink for getting drunk or to drink heavily, so does this tobacco!

Enjoy!

16 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 16, 2014 Medium Medium to Strong Mild to Medium Pleasant
There a some tobaccos which a smoker can tell will be consistent smokers. Sunset breeze is one of them. It knows its place and acts accordingly. Therefore, after only two (very large) bowls I feel comfortable writing a review. If I the blend turns out to surprise me, I will make future adjustments.

Sunset breeze is similar to other euro style aromatics. The flavor remains smooth and mild throughout the bowl and the topping is evident in both smell and taste. It is heavily cased, but the casing is very different than that found in traditional American aros, Think Lane Lmtd.

Smooth cavendish is at the forefront, followed by a bit of burly, completed with a bit of virginia sweetness and the delicious (tasting and smelling) Amaretto. Dont expect a sip of straight Dissarano here, but instead a hint of it in the exhale and aftertaste. The Amaretto becomes more and less prominent throughout the smoke and always lingers in the aftertaste.

I think this is a great aromatic for anyone who does not regularly enjoy aromatics.

It comes a little moiste, and leaves a somewhat soapy mouthfeel, but it is not at all a turnoff in my opinion.

Fantastic, mild, smoke!

This is a very smooth yet flavorful tobacco. It is the only tobacco so far whose smell my girlfriend enjoyed
Pipe Used: Nording freehand, nording blowfish
PurchasedFrom: Solvang tobacco shop
Age When Smoked: unknown, freshly opened tin
14 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Apr 21, 2002 Mild Extremely Mild Mild Very Pleasant
This is indeed an excellent aromatic blend full of natural flavor such as the Virginia, Burley and Black Cavendish employed. The enhancer was more of an aroma producer than flavor producer but it does sweeten the blend to delightful proportions.

Pipestud
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 17, 2015 Mild Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
Peterson - Sunset Breeze.

If you enjoy amaretto as a drink then get some of this!

The smell from the tin has a good character, almonds/amaretto with a slight citrus touch. The mix comprises some fairly chunky pieces of tobacco of which look to be a fair dissemination of the varieties and straight out of the tin mine was just the right moistness to smoke.

Once a bowl is lit I find the flavour stays at the same level throughout, no fluctuations but a nice steady taste of amaretto, a nuttiness that's made greater by the burley's own nut-like quality. The other tobacco tastes seem almost nondescript with a casing of this caliber. As much as the casing is quite heavy it doesn't start to gurgle that much, only a little towards the end. At the end of the smoke all I have left in the bowl is light grey ash and a TINY amount of dottle.

Nicotine: mild. Room-note: nice.

Four stars.
Pipe Used: Markuz Purple Poker
PurchasedFrom: G.Q Tobaccos
Age When Smoked: New
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Dec 07, 2013 Extremely Mild Very Strong Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
It would be unfair to say that this is a bad tobacco, but it is by no means a great tobacco.

As you open the tin you get drawn in by a delectable amaretto aroma. It smells good enough to eat! I mean that! Of course we know where this smell comes from, the casing, and being a Peterson aromatic it is very heavily cased (side note regarding Peterson tobacco; many people regard their heavy hand in the casing department to be of detriment to the brand, but on the contrary I find it to be an good thing as every tin is the same, their consistency is outstanding).

It takes time to dry out but once it's ready this stuff packs relatively well. First light brings an explosion of flavor from the casing. Lovely. The room note throughout the bowl remains that same lovely amaretto scent. The flavor I fear does not hold however, once I had smoked half way down I couldn't taste much of anything. The casing I suspect was no longer intense enough to impart flavor to the smoke and the tobaccos are not flavorful enough on their own.

I would not make this a regular tobacco but it sure as hell is a crowd pleaser. I smoked this in a pub with a few friends once and I had a constant stream of people asking me what on earth I was smoking and where can they get some!

A must. But she ain't a the kind of girl you'd marry.
Pipe Used: Petersons Killarney 150
PurchasedFrom: Peterson's of Dublin
Age When Smoked: Fresh
9 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 07, 2011 Mild Mild to Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I remember this blend like it was yesterday... I had embarked on the beginning of a journey to South Korea. The plane flight over included a 4 hour layover in Chicago. When I was there in Chicago I saw a tin of Sunset Breeze in the window of a small smoke shoppe and decided to pick up the blend and a nice meerschaum pipe to take with me to Korea. Upon landing in South Korea, my first impression was that the women were beautiful. I had never seen such beauty in my life. In Seoul I had spent 4 months, teaching English to squishy Korean children. I had been given a break and decided to visit Busan beach, where the sexy Korean women would be even sexier.

Walking along the beach, I marveled as I always did at the amazing beauty of the women. Their perfect bodies and soft, pale skin. But there, shortly after, I witnessed a horror that was commonplace in south korea. I saw a gorgeous female walking hand in hand with the ugliest man I had ever seen in my entire life. He was so ugly that I instantly became angry. Partially because of jealousy for the women he had, but mostly just because his face was so ugly that it was offensive. Almost like if someone was to flip out a disgusting picture of male genitalia on you, without warning. That same sort of anger swelled inside my chest. How dare he be this hideous! In the middle ages they would have burned him at the stake, or at least forced him to wear an iron mask and be locked in the deepest, darkest dungeon. And to make matters worse, this man showed no humility. The way he walked, talked and carried himself, one could just tell that he thought he was the end all-be all; that his tastes were the pinnacle of all of man kind's achievements and that his intelligence was above all else.

My anger consumed me so that it "got the better of me," and without even thinking, I tore my shirt in blind rage and struck the man. His girl screamed, but i didnt care. This man had to be dealt with, taught a lesson... disciplined. Immediately after striking him, I took him and threw him from the pier on which we stood, into the pacific ocean. It took what seemed like minutes for me to calm down, but in reality was mere seconds. I turned and faced the girl that had been around his arm. Gazing into her eyes I saw fear, but only fear of what she did not know; I saw curiosity, eagerness and desire, all that she felt for me. I stepped towards her,and held out my hand, and to her I said "Come with me. (???.)"

She took my hand and we left, heading towards a secluded stretch of beach, where we were alone. Together, over a bottle of wine, we watched the sunset, as a gentle breeze swept the sea shore. And there, on Busan Beach, she laid. Laid me as if I was a King that had just rescued her from her death. And I had never been laid better in my entire life, never with such passion and intensity as we only stared into eachother's eyes as we made love. Once we finished I reached into my bag smoked Sunset Breeze as she fell asleep, with her arms wrapped around me as the gentle ocean breeze swept over our naked bodies. I felt like a god.

When I awoke the next morning, the beautiful girl had gone, leaving behind only her footprints in the sand and a garment of her's for me to keep in remembrance of the greatest night of my life.
8 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jul 21, 2014 Mild to Medium Mild Mild Pleasant
Peterson Sunset Breeze is a mild, consistent aromatic tobacco. Unlike American aromatics, Sunset Breeze is less sticky (for lack or a better term) and produces a subtle room note which is not sickly sweet or overpowering. The flavor is mild and remains consistently mild throughout the bowl. Out of the tin it reminds me of raisins, fruit and liquor and smells delicious. It burns to a fine white ash without leaving a goopy residue. Like most more complex tobaccos, Sunset Breeze needs tending. A charring light and two or three relights usually is needed for a bowl as well as a little tamping and prodding. I like this tobacco when I have time to sit, relax and sip the bowl which usually lasts forty minutes or more. I wouldn't smoke this blend while working or driving because I simply wouldn't be able to give it the needed attention. This is a classy blend that should be reserved for the right time and place. A pleasant smoking experience.
Pipe Used: Peterson Preimer 150S Bulldog
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Feb 26, 2002 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
"This excellent mixture is a blend of first choice Virginia, Burley and Black Cavendish. A promise for a unique smoking experience, which is crowned by a wonderful Amaretto aroma that also brings enjoyment to the smokers' surroundings."

My adored niece gave me a tin of this for Christmas. I don't know what posessed her. It IS a lovely container. It DOES, like all aromatics, help cake-build. It helped turn an orangey Italian pipe a nice shade darker after a few smokes. It will help colour meerschaums, too.

Is this Peterson's "Danish" blend? It is mildly elegant, delicately scented, very lightly tobaccoey, un-goopy and reasonably cool. Will that amaretto frou-frou go AWAY from my pipe after a few smokes of something manly?

A high-quality, youthful choice for aromatic lovers with keen-nosed innamoratas. They'll coo at the cool tin, too.
5 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 25, 2018 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Pleasant
In my opinion every aromatic has the proper hour to be smoked and give you the most.this evening with my cup of coffee i decided to try this blend.once the tin opens a wonderfull aroma of bitter almonds and alcohol etc Amaretto comes out.a second deeper smell and you detect some nuts too.the belnd moisture is proper so lighting is easy though several relights are needed because it is consisted of small and large ribbons so it doesn't burn smooth.while burning the flavours are nice and natural.burleys are the star though someone including me expects the cavendish to be dominant.rich taste of nuts,cocoa and earthy notes are dominating the cavendish wich have the Amaretto taste.sweet and discreet.virginias are tonned down a lot though sometimes some citrus notes come out.generally the flavours combine well each other very natural and pleasing.the blend as i mentioned doesn't burn smooth,medium hot to ash with some unburned chunks.the nicotine level is low ant the after taste is nice.the room note is plesant.generally this is a nice aromatic that differs from the common aromatics and can be an all day smoke.
Age When Smoked: When opened
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Sep 24, 2015 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Full Very Pleasant
My absolute all time favourite, quite sweet but very tasty and smells better than any ol` home baked bread. Has a better taste to it than Clan.
Pipe Used: Corncob, Falcon standard
PurchasedFrom: Lands tobacconist, Stratford Upon Avon. UK
Age When Smoked: unknown to me
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"