Peterson Sweet Killarney

(2.24)
A unique mixture of selected tobaccos including golden Virginia and black cavendish, topped with a cream caramel flavor. To make this wonderful tobacco even more attractive, it is blended with hand-rubbed Virginia flake which results in a fantastic aroma.
Notes: Due to EU regulations, this is now renamed and sold in those countries as "Killarney".

Details

Brand Peterson
Blended By Peterson
Manufactured By Scandinavian Tobacco Group
Blend Type Aromatic
Contents Black Cavendish, Virginia
Flavoring Caramel, Cream
Cut Ribbon
Packaging 50 grams tin
Country Denmark
Production Currently available

Profile

Strength
Mild
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild -> Overwhelming
Flavoring
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
None Detected -> Extra Strong
Room Note
Pleasant
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Unnoticeable -> Overwhelming
Taste
Medium
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Extremely Mild (Flat) -> Overwhelming

Average Rating

2.24 / 4
24

45

44

53

Reviews

Please login to post a review.
Displaying 1 - 10 of 24 Reviews
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 18, 2013 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
After 20+ years a pipe smoker I have tried many tobaccos and pipes. I do not sell, or work in the tobacco industry. To provide this review a base-line: My favorite is Full English Tobacco loaded in a medium Meerschaum Pipe. My second choice is Nougat blended bulk. I enjoy the slight lingering effect of Nougat in the Meerschaum Pipe when smoking the next bowel of Full English. Also, I prefer a $70.00 Meerschaum over any $200.00 Briar in my collection.

Contrary to all the Peterson hating review posted here, SWEET KILLARNEY is a wonderful aromatic with a pleasantly sweet flavor. The nut-to-nougat-to-light-vanilla flavoring is ever lasting to the end of the smoke. Most aromatics tend to bite and must be lightly puffed. My vitamin N seeking habit is to draw hard. I can easily suffer a bite from cased aromatics. However, drunk or sober, SWEET KILLARNEY has never yet bit my tongue.

I must take a stand for truth in these reviews. In my opinion: a few people on this board truly hate Peterson and have reported overly negative on more than one blend. I have learned that If they post too much raving hate of a blend than, I should rush to try some. LOL…

IMHO, a true evaluation of SWEET KILLARNEY was given by Franklin-Ryan who said, “The taste is soft and creamy with just a hint of fruit with the Virginias coming through stronger but not overwhelmingly at the end for a clean finish. No tongue bite at all even when in a hotter pipe after several smokes and the taste is consistent throughout the whole bowl. The room-note is soft and creamy too. It burns quite clean with a medium light ash and fairly little waste. Quite simply an excellent all day blend. The cool burning burly is well complimented by the Virginia flake and just the right amount of Cavendish to get the casing taste without the usual gurgling tongue biting side effects!”

Franklin said it better. And, SWEET KILLARNEY is a favorite of mine.

UPDATE: After deeper thought, my remarks about truth may be too harsh. For that I apologize. In my first paragraph I attempt to provide a baseline description of my pallet. Clearly, I am not a fan of aromatic tobacco. What makes SWEET KILLARNEY special to me is that it is not overpowering. It is not candy and does not punch you with perfume. However, It can make the English lover miss the taste of tobacco. So, SWEET KILLARNEY is a pleasant treat in my rotation.

As for the bite reported by others, it's a mystery to me. Some filter pipes will cause bite and also make the chemical or soapy taste more evident in aromatics.

A SUGGESTION: Years ago I learned a trick that can sometimes prevent bite, chemical taste, or wet gurgle: Remove the filter (if any). Line the bottom of the pipe with small amount (½ pinch) of a very dry Bright Virginia, thick ribbon cut. Top and smoke your desired tobacco but dump the ash before burning into the Bright Virginia. Reload over the Bright Virginia until it becomes unpleasant. This trick helps me smoke those failed samples we all collect. YMMV…

POSITION: 20+ year smoker. I normally like Full English, Virginia, Latakia, some uncased cav blends. I smoke 3–6 pipes a day. No tobacco sales.
36 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
May 16, 2002 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild Very Pleasant
I first tried Sunset Breeze (the other aromatic in the Peterson aromatic series) and because it was way too sweet for me, I avoided trying Sweet Killarney for several months. I recently gave it a shot and was glad I did.

Unlike Breeze, Killarney is not as heavily cased and smoked more like tobacco. The tin says the blend has a caramel topping. I guess that flavor just appeals to me when I smoke it. I also received sort of a light chocolate/vanilla taste.

This blend is easy to load, smokes mostly dry and cool, and will leave you satisfied if you enjoy aromatics with a little more tobacco backbone.
22 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Nov 16, 2012 Mild Mild Medium Very Pleasant
Having smoked several of the Peterson's Range before I was not expecting much from this blend. I find Petersons rather run-of-the mill and as others have said on this site overly strong on the Nicotine to make a really enjoyable smoke. I was however pleasantly surprised that this blend bucked the trend.

The tin note when opened is caramel and soft fruit with an apricot background. The mixed blend fills well and stays well lit even with a very slow draw which in my opinion is extremely important. The taste is soft and creamy with just a hint of fruit with the Virginias coming through stronger but not overwhelmingly at the end for a clean finish. No tongue bite at all even when in a hotter pipe after several smokes and the taste is consistent throughout the whole bowl. The room-note is soft and creamy too with a subtle smack of apricots or mandarins; I cannot be certain which fits better. It burns quite clean with a medium light ash and fairly little waste. Quite simply an excellent all day blend the cool burning burly well complimented by the Virginia flake and just the right amount of Cavendish to get the casing taste without the usual gurgling tongue biting side effects! I was very impressed by this tobacco and it will become a regular smoke for me.
12 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 28, 2020 Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Mild to Medium Very Pleasant
I know some people just want straight tobacco flavour and so no matter the quality of the tobacco, if it is ‘aromatic’ they will not like it. This tobacco is not for you. This review may not be for you either! I am very fond of unflavoured tobacco – about 2/3 of my all-time ‘favourites’ list and an even greater proportion of my current rotation is non-aromatic. But for some of us, sometimes it is nice to have a little extra flavour in your tobacco. On these occasions, Peterson’s Killarney hits the spot for me. It is a lovely and quite unusual mixture of ribbon cut and broken flake – you can really see the quality as well as taste it. In terms of flavour, Peterson definitely have a house style and this fits into that category – there is no doubt you are smoking a Peterson blend and a quality one at that.

In some parts of the world this is simply called Killarney and I think adding the term ‘Sweet’ to the name doesn’t do it any favours as it can lead to preconceptions. Yes, there is a sweetness to the blend but it is not like any of the ‘American’ style syrupy, goopy aromatics. Killarney tastes of tobacco – tangy and mature Virginias mellowed by the Cavendish and it is this that marries so well with the rounded Demerara sugar and gentle vanilla flavours added to this blend which run to a distinct creaminess in the last quarter of a small bowl; in a larger bowl I find the last quarter has an almost incense-like, slightly spicy quality to it. Very different and quite delicious.

The only drawback I have found is that the smoke can be often not quite as cool as I would prefer, however I have never experienced any bite. Ultimately, I find very little dottle and a fairly dry bowl at the end, most unlike most ‘sweet’ aromatics. You will be hard pressed to find anything finer if a light aromatic with a proper tobacco taste is what you are looking for.
Pipe Used: Peterson 304 etc.
Age When Smoked: Fresh
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jun 17, 2017 Mild to Medium Medium Mild to Medium Pleasant
One of my Saturday favorites! This sweet aromatic is my candy, I do have a sweet tooth and I enjoy the mild caramel taste and the light body of this tobacco. Must be smoked light and slow or it will give you some toungebite, but in my Jima pipe it works perfect.
Pipe Used: Jima
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Jan 31, 2017 Mild Mild Mild Very Pleasant
Again Peterson hits the mark albeit mildly with a very pleasing aromatic blend. The tin note is frankly out of this world. You get caramel you get honey you even get a fudge smell. Light up was fine and first puff or two were really tasty. Things settled down a bit and the flavors started becoming very mild. Hints of honey and caramel and something that seemed like perhaps chocolate but these flavors are only hints. Peterson has developed some nice blends and this is another one. These are all very mild blends ment to be sipped not puffed. I find smoking with a P-lip stem makes the flavor and taste last a bit longer and remain cooler. This is a very pleasing aromatic blend that just about anyone can enjoy. By the way the smoke smells delicious so the wife may accept this blend in the house!!!!
or not😔
Pipe Used: Peterson P-lip
PurchasedFrom: Smoking pipes
Age When Smoked: Fresh out of tin
4 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Mar 29, 2012 Mild Very Mild Mild Very Pleasant
I have seen this in my local shop but never got around to buying it until today. I got into my car and Broke the seal and was pleased with the nice sweet smell. When I got home I packed a bowl and lit it up and again was pleased with the smell and with the taste. It lights up very easily and stays lit. It has a creamy taste and a fruity taste to it . Also has nice nic levels from the flake that is mixed in to it. I did not get bite from smoking this tobacco but it did make my mouth tingle a bit but I think it was from the nicotine. I recommend this tobacco to anyone that likes aros. This is my new favorite tobacco along with dunhill night cap.
2 people found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 08, 2020 Mild to Medium Medium to Strong Full Very Pleasant
This pipe tobacco all i can say is wow. Just wow. Honesty, where do I begin. Once in the tin you get a mixed smell of citrus, fruits, honey and it all comes together to smell like Christmas pudding. I couldn't believe it to the point I asked my family what they thought it smelt like and they all said oohhh "Christmas pud". The texture of the tobacco is light, almost fluffy, lots of different colours being a mix of Cavendish's.once packed you light up and the room is filled with the same notes that's in the tin. Same as the tongue, now alot of you pipe smokers will agree that you usually find the taste isn't quite the same as the smell in the tin. Well my pipe smoking friends this is, this tastes just the same as it smells. It's a fantastic tobacco that I will be ordering again. I'm not sure why I have not tried peterson pipe tobaccos sooner, all I can say is. If there all like this one then they should start selling it in supermarkets, corner shops. Somewhere it's easy to get hold of. I will be ordering a few tins for the Christmas holidays that's for sure.
Pipe Used: Peterson donegal rocky bulldog 150.
PurchasedFrom: Harrison and simmonds.
Age When Smoked: 32
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Aug 21, 2016 Mild Medium to Strong Medium to Full Very Pleasant
A friend of mine posed a question "If you are stranded on a desert Island with baccy. which blend(s) would you have?" And as for english blends I had many, but for aromatics, it was this one, no competition. A really great aromatic.. smooth... , good burner, gives a lot of complements on room note
Pipe Used: Peterson Dracula 999
PurchasedFrom: 4noggins.com
Age When Smoked: Fresh
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.
Reviewed By Date Rating Strength Flavoring Taste Room Note
Oct 18, 2015 Mild to Medium Medium Medium Very Pleasant
I love this tobacco. Sweet and creamy. will be on my third tin soon.

You don't get the creamy hit until you're half way through the bowl. Very nice smoke and no moisture.

If you like dry smokes and tasty aromatics that are sweet then give it a go!
Pipe Used: Peterson Aran 80s
PurchasedFrom: thebackyshop.co.uk
Age When Smoked: straight from tin
1 person found this review helpful.
Please login to upvote this review.

target="_blank"